We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casa de las Palomas by Sercotel

Save
Share
Calle 64 417 Entre calles 49A and 53, Merida 97000 Mexico
eDreams
Snaptravel
Booking.com
Agoda.com
lovevacations
Lol.travel
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (209)
Room & Suite (57)
Pool & Beach (35)

About

#23 of 126 hotels in Merida
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to the Sercotel Casa de las Palomas, a cozy and friendly 4 star hotel in Merida located in a classic style hacienda in the center of Merida. Its old façade, characteristic of the old city centre, stands out for its classic style combined with elegant touches of modernity. The property has 9 renovated rustic rooms distributed on the same floor. Its central axis is a patio with an outdoor swimming pool, around which the different rooms are distributed making it a benchmark of quality among hotels in Merida. Enjoy the views to the swimming pool from inside our suites, or relax watching the flat screen TV with national and international channels via satellite. Discover the wide range of hotel services and combat the high temperatures of the Mexican heat in the outdoor pool in our garden, relax in the sun or with our massage service, stay permanently connected to our free Wifi Internet connection and park your vehicle safely in the private parking reserved for our customers. In addition, the hotel offers a Restaurant service with a traditional Mexican gastronomic offer combined with a wider and international cuisine. Its proximity to the International Airport and the short distance to the Bus Station, make the Sercotel Casa de las Palomas an unbeatable option to consider when looking for hotels in Merida.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Shuttle bus service
Massage
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Car hire
Shared kitchen
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
288Reviews6Q+A38Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 193
  • 62
  • 13
  • 9
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Dorit R wrote a review Oct 2020
Utrecht, The Netherlands19 contributions3 helpful votes
After our Airbnb got flooded due to the huricane we 'rushed' to this hotel, to find a haven of serenity, nice smelling rooms (which is rare in moldy, humid Merida), dry feet and above all - a very welcoming staff. The smaller character of the hotel makes it very peaceful - yet you have more than enough private space, since the court yard is way bigger than you'd think and so nicely decorated by Paloma (hence the name). My husband's birthday literally fell in the water, but Residence Manager Vladimir pro actively asked me what I had originally planned for him and went above and beyond to make my plans reality. He drove all the way to the other side of town to buy a gift, a cake and candles. In the rest of our stay we were impressed by his skills to 'feel the room' everytime. He has a great sense of hospitality - smart, friendly and very service oriented. We got the room with the garden view on the ground floor - which had an outside shower. If it's available, book this one! It really adds a lot of value! During the weekdays we need to work and the WiFI was good enough to do video calls at the same time - both in the hotel room as on the terrace. The pool is very nice and the daybeds are super comfortable. Even so comfortable, that in the weekend we just stayed there and ordered food. The breakfast is simple, but very tasty and there's more than enough nice restaurants (go to Apoala!!) around on walking distance or you can order food through Rappi or Uber Eats). There's also a communal kitchen - in which we could cook a full meal on one night. In short - we had an amazing time! We were planning on staying 2 night and extended it twice to a full week. Thank you to the great staff!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: We got the room with the garden view on the ground floor - which had an outside shower. If...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Edgar Ruben D wrote a review Oct 2020
Coral Gables, Florida2 contributions2 helpful votes
Escaping from Delta hurricane we drove to Merida and stayed for 2 days at this great and cozy hotel. Which is very well located and with very good maintenance of the property. What made our trip AMAZINGLY good; having in mind we were in the middle of storms and close to a hurricane, was Vladimir the guy at the front desk and who’s also running the show at the hotel. He did EVERY SINGLE thing to make us feel welcome and helped us go through this difficult trip (every restaurant and Store were closed). Vladimir attitude and service is out of this WORLD! Thanks a lot for your help Vladimir!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
AdventurerDL wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom24 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Imagine taking time to read reviews, see the location, view photos of this lovely hotel only to find out when you turn up to the hotel, what you paid for is not what you get. The beautiful pool which you plan to swim in, is over-run by a wedding party of over 25+ people, since the hotel rents it’s property out to large groups for photoshoots. The beautiful pool you planned to swim in was unable to be used due to privacy. Imagine the pretty garden view rooms which you were going to stay in to be assigned a room right by the lobby, without any garden views, but a dark room with a small window located in the bathroom opening to the toilets and smelly. How would you feel when you asked for the room you paid for, were blankly told, “sorry you can’t get the garden room” - even though you paid more, you can’t get it because there is no availability - would you like to find another hotel? Unfortunately after reading negative reviews from this hotel, it appears even since 2015 the hotel doesn’t seem to improve or take it’s guests feedback onboard, the hotel’s default responses to negative reviews are "We're really sorry about all the issues”, and they blame it on “technical issues” or it was “a booking issue”. Whilst this has been happening since 2015, I fail to see that you have done anything to improve the situation of your guest experience. Please note that we spoke Spanish and spoke to the management directly on the phone and they didn’t care and their direct response was, ‘you can find another hotel’ - no sorry! No compromises. Whilst you go on TripAdvisor and write that “guests are most important”, "we do everything in our power to achieve that goal”. I don’t feel you cared about us, and if you were going to rent your property out to a whole group of people, this should have been communicated to us before we booked as if we knew this, we would have chosen somewhere else quieter or more exclusive. We booked a garden room and paid a bit extra for this, when we checked in, we were shocked to find that the hotel rented out the property for a very large wedding party, so upon checking in, the pool was unusable and there was no privacy in the communal area where there was about 25+ people. This isn’t the boutique experience your hotel promises. Whilst we complained that we paid extra for a room, the hotel were not accommodating and said that we could find another hotel. In the end, we ended up staying for one night and cancelled the other two days. Whilst this hotel did have good reviews, after reading a number of the negative reviews, it appears that when you book at this hotel, you either get what you paid for and get the room you want, or you ‘like us’ we received a room which is not what you paid for. In short: It’s a gamble. The room we received was given was located by the lobby, some guests from the wedding party even were trying to open our door as they thought it was the hotel toilets. At night we were unable to sleep due to the proximity of the room and the front street and the noise of guests coming and going into the hotel. The hotel looks great in the photos, but if you are not guaranteed what you paid for, and don’t even have any apology from the hotel when you decide to cut your stay short - it just doesn’t seem they cared. It seems like this hotel and group of hotels just don’t care and it is a commercial business with revenue at the forefront of their minds. There isn’t anything boutique about this place. A tip for management is to not rent out your property for large group photos and treat it as a boutique hotel so your guests can feel they can use the lovely pool which is shown on your site. Regarding the room which we were given, it lacked light, the only window which was in the bathroom opened up to toilets, was smelly and was overpriced for what we got. In the end, the hotel refused to give us a reduce the price of the room. They did refund the other two nights we were intended to stay, but unfortunately we wasted alot of time finding a new hotel. I would rather stay at the The Diplomat Boutique Hotel in Merida which looks like a better hotel with a personalised and authentic Mexican hospitality opposed to a hotel group treating their customers as dollars.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rather choose "The Diplomat Boutique Hotel" than this hotel to guarantee your stay
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
EuropeanVoyager wrote a review Jan 2020
Stockholm, Sweden256 contributions41 helpful votes
We had a four person suite with two double beds. Rooms are really nicely designed and furnished, the courtyard is great, little pool where you can take a dip, but one can’t really swim. It looks great though and it’s nice to sit down and read your book. Staff is very friendly. It’s 5-10 minutes walking to the very heart of Merida, and 20 minutes to the airport by car or taxi. A few small downsides that prevent me from giving five stars: - the rooms have no minibar and you can’t by a drink at the hotel, which is minor but a pity when the courtyard is so inviting and you would like to enjoy it with a beer, a glass of wine or a snack. There is a little shop 50 meters away where you can buy a cold beer and a soda plus crips, but no wine. - there is one charging point in a room for four so we unplugged the tv to be able to charge our phones. A bit odd. - breakfast is served only from 8 AM, so if you want or need to make an early start, you can’t have any breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
FuandLu wrote a review Jul 2019
New Orleans, Louisiana16 contributions6 helpful votes
My wife and I visited Mérida in 2015 and stayed at Koox Casa de las Palomas. We returned in 2019 and stayed there again. It is the perfect location to explore an incredible city. It is walking distance to the Centro Histórico and Paseo de Montejo, to great shops, galleries, museums and restaurants. La Negrita, a terrific Cuban bar with live music, is only a block away. Though “in the thick of it,” Las Palomas is on a quiet street and has a wonderful atrium and pool – the perfect escape from the oppressive Yucatán heat. The small boutique hotel is in an old building with a modern addition. The rooms are spacious, cool and clean. My wife and I fell in love with the outdoor shower. Next time we go to Mérida, we’ll definitely stay at Koox "otra ves".
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: We prefer the upstairs rooms in the back.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Koox_Group, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Casa de las Palomas by Sercotel
Responded Jul 22, 2019
We are very happy to read that your stay was pleasant. The service we offer you is undoubtedly the one you deserve. We look forward to seeing you ALWAYS! Welcome Home!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$83 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaYucatanMerida
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Casa de las Palomas by Sercotel
Which popular attractions are close to Casa de las Palomas by Sercotel?
Nearby attractions include Nahualli Casa de los Artistas (0.3 miles), Parque de Santa Ana (0.2 miles), and Uxmal de taxco (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Casa de las Palomas by Sercotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Casa de las Palomas by Sercotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and extra long beds.
What food & drink options are available at Casa de las Palomas by Sercotel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Casa de las Palomas by Sercotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Casa de las Palomas by Sercotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Cubanita, Ave del Paraíso - Cocina asiática a domicilio, and Lo Que Hay Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Casa de las Palomas by Sercotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Casa de las Palomas by Sercotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Casa de las Palomas by Sercotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Merida Cathedral (0.5 miles), El Palacio de Gobierno (0.5 miles), and Pre Hispanic Town Of Uxmal (3.2 miles).