We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 At Santa Lucía Park Centro, Merida 97000 Mexico
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$54
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/26/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$54
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/27/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Only 1 left at
$54
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/27/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity$54
Priceline$54
Tripadvisor$54
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (673)
Room & Suite (287)
Pool & Beach (117)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 06/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 06/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 159 hotels in Merida
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.9
Value
4.9
Travelers' Choice
You've arrived! Originally the historic Santa Lucía convent, now Merida's favorite Urban Retreat. We take pride in giving independent travelers and families the best location, value and hotel experience so as to easily savor the tastes and sounds of the city. See Merida like a local...Choose Luz!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Complimentary welcome drink
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Tile / marble floor
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1211Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,060
  • 121
  • 19
  • 7
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sandy W wrote a review Aug 15
Chicago, Illinois16 contributions13 helpful votes
This hotel is perfect is all ways. Great location, great prices, wonderful people and very interesting rooms. We would come back here whenever we come to Merida. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We stayed in an inside room on ground floor. There is no elevator, so if stairs are a problem,...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Paul N wrote a review Aug 9
Glossop, United Kingdom136 contributions101 helpful votes
This is the fifth time I’ve stayed here and as usual everything was just perfect. It’s in a fabulous position right next to Santa Lucia park and no expense has been spared on the property. The pool area, already a lovely relaxed place to be, now has the benefit of a new bar and a new elevated patio area with fans. Work is well underway on the new bar and cafe at the front of the property which will bring the Luz up to another level (if that’s possible). The rooms are all individual but are all clean, well equipped with great air con, fans, fridges and plenty of hot water. Wi-Fi is great throughout the property. Absolutely the best place to stay in Merida!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
iweber805143 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Felt very comfortable; friendly and helpful stuff, very central located, quiet, with a nice pool and a pool bar. Parking space also available. Recommend to stay there, a very lovely and beautiful place. Thank you!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Chefbobbydesab wrote a review Jul 2022
Margate, Florida574 contributions63 helpful votes
+1
My wife and I loved this place. Old colonial style B&B with large, airy rooms, old style furniture, great pool with a bar, and a free mini bar with local liquors by the shot available in the lobby! The owner, I believe he is American, has lived in Merida many years and he is very friendly and helpful. The place has a communal kitchen and they are getting ready to open an on-site restaurant. Our room, Las Ombra, was huge with a full kitchen. This is a great place! And near great restaurants and in the historic district of Merida.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: There is private, free parking nearby.Ask for a room on the second floor overlooking the pool....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ssher88 wrote a review Jul 2022
Memphis, Tennessee1 contribution
Love this place. Great location! Rooms are comfortable, laid out well, big, and clean. The pool is excellent. I have stayed here multiple times over the last few years and absolutely feel at home. They are efficient, kind, helpful and make your stay a joy. We'll be back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kate F wrote a review Jun 2022
Bicton, Australia343 contributions66 helpful votes
Super friendly staff, central location. Love the pool for cooling off after a day of touring the city. The room has everything you need. The free drinks cart is cherry on top. Having parking located so close is really handy too. Will always be our choice when we visit Merida.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lily A wrote a review Jun 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia10 contributions4 helpful votes
A friend and I stayed here and during our stay, an incident that ultimately involved the police occurred outside the hotel. Before involving police, we first discussed our options with the owner of the hotel. He did not express interest in the details of what happened, or how he could help - he instead told us that it's a lesson learned. I am an international trade and development professional who has lived and worked in Latín America and the Caribbean for the past 16 years, fully bilingual Spanish/English - what happened to us was not a consequence of being unaware or unprepared. The lackadaisical response to an experience where my physical safety (and potential for others to experience the same) was compromised was unacceptable. We changed hotels, and after speaking to reception at the new hotel, they immediately expressed their sympathies and connected us to the very helpful police who resolved our concerns.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Luz En Yucatan
Responded 2 weeks ago
Well, not really sure where to start with this one. As you can see from our reviews we don't normally respond to reviews because after more than 30 years as tour guides and hotel owners and receiving thousands of evaluations and reviews we feel that they speak for themselves but do we appreciate all the positive and constructive negative feedback we receive. The problem with this review is we are really not sure what it is about and is personal and has nothing to do with the hotel. The guest Lily and her friend/partner got in touch with the hotel many times before their arrival about helping them arrange transportation from Valladolid to Merida which we were able to arrange for them. This is tricky because it is 2 hours away and we have to send a driver assuming the guest will be there and if not we are responsible for the cost. All went well. The next day I was passing by the hotel in the afternoon when they entered and asked to speak to me. We chatted for a few minutes and then they explained to me how they had been out shopping and met a man who walked around with them and then been led into a souvenir folk art store. They bought several items and we spoke about this for 15 -20 minutes and I explained that most likely they paid too much because all these street hawkers take people to places where they receive a commission. This is even something we mention in our welcome info sheet so people are aware of it, they normally aren't very aggressive and sometimes very entertaining but you will always be led to a store. We spoke about this and I explained it happens occasionally and not to worry too much about it, a travel lesson, etc. Finally, she mentioned something about a shaman and not feeling comfortable at the store but never explained what happened or if something she felt was inappropriate happened. I was completely confused by this since it isn't something we have ever heard about in 15 years of running the hotel. She got up abruptly and left and her friend and I were a bit confused and not sure why. Later that afternoon my manager called and said they wanted to check out. We have always been flexible if the guests aren't happy or change plans so we refunded their remaining nights and they left. They even left behind a phone charger that we helped them retrieve. So it is very surprising to see two one-star reviews from Lily and her friend. This is an incident that occurred outside the hotel and has nothing to do with us! If she had come to me and explained exactly what happened and made her uncomfortable at the store and requested help in getting the police or tourist police to go with her we would certainly have helped. This comes down to her perceived view of my level of concern but it feels like we were talking about two different things and I didn't know any details about the other thing. She mentions in her review about living overseas and all her travel experience and being fully fluent in Spanish so I'm really not sure how she let someone lead her around and take her to a place. Then if she felt at all uncomfortable to not take themselves out of the situation and if it is something she felt required the police then there are police on just about every corner in Centro and several tourist police stations. Finally, I'm posting the same response to the review from her friend/partner Kayla listed below and hope Tripadvisor takes these reviews down because it really has nothing to do with the hotel or staff and is just a review of one guests perceived view of my level of concern about something that was never clearly explained to me. Also, I find it insulting that after 1200 positive reviews and only a 20-minute interaction her friend would say she would specifically not recommend the hotel to women or groups of women! They are obviously allowing their experience at a store to cloud their judgment about a great hotel and city!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Q9445NEmarkj wrote a review Jun 2022
Fort Worth, Texas2 contributions5 helpful votes
Went on a family vacation to Merida with family and we absolutely loved this boutique hotel. It was a quiet hotel, yet only steps away from the great restaurants, shopping and sights of the city. A true urban oasis! Staff was great and helped to make this a truly memorable vacation that our family will never forget!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Emily wrote a review Jun 2022
Boise, Idaho193 contributions73 helpful votes
We really enjoyed our two day stay at Luz en Yucatan. The staff were very friendly and helpful. This former monastery turned into a hotel is absolutely lovely! The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the courtyard area and pool are beautiful. The hotel is in the heart of Merida for easy walkable access in the downtown area, but thankfully it still felt quiet in our rooms. There were plenty of outlets, a beautiful bathroom, and great AC system to stay cool. Our family also very much appreciated having drinkable water in all of our rooms, as we have found in Mexico it is so easy to get dehydrated having to constantly seek out bottled water. We really appreciated this little touch from the hotel, and wish more hotels would do the same. The hotel does not provide breakfast, but does have coffee in the morning. We found it easy to pick up pastries elsewhere in the city and then have coffee at the hotel to make our morning. The pool also is great, a good way to cool off after a warm day wandering around the city. Sounds like the hotel has plans to expand with a restaurant and other amenities in the future, and we think this hotel will only continue to become more successful as they grow.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Pina has a pool view and beautiful outdoor terrace.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kayla S wrote a review Jun 2022
6 contributions5 helpful votes
My friend and I were very excited to stay at this hotel while in Merida based on the positive reviews from others. The owner had been very helpful with making transportation arrangements for us to the hotel, which we greatly appreciated. We were happy with the hotel itself and the friendly staff. However, our experience was completely changed when we tried to speak to the owner regarding a safety incident which occurred outside of the hotel during our stay. The owner was dismissive and, at times, disrespectful to us during this conversation. He also did not offer any type of support to us. This made us no longer feel like we could be adequately supported by the hotel, and we checked out early. This was a very disappointing and negative experience with the hotel and would make me not recommend this hotel to others. I particularly would not recommend this hotel to a solo woman or group of women traveling to Merida. However, I will also note that a helpful hotel staff member facilitated our rapid checkout and ensured that we were reimbursed for the unused nights we had previously paid for.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Williams, Owner at Luz En Yucatan
Responded 2 weeks ago
Well, not really sure where to start with this one. As you can see from our reviews we don't normally respond to reviews because after more than 30 years as tour guides and hotel owners and receiving thousands of evaluations and reviews we feel that they speak for themselves but do we appreciate all the positive and constructive negative feedback we receive. The problem with this review is we are really not sure what it is about and is personal and has nothing to do with the hotel. The guest Lily and her friend/partner got in touch with the hotel many times before their arrival about helping them arrange transportation from Valladolid to Merida which we were able to arrange for them. This is tricky because it is 2 hours away and we have to send a driver assuming the guest will be there and if not we are responsible for the cost. All went well. The next day I was passing by the hotel in the afternoon when they entered and asked to speak to me. We chatted for a few minutes and then they explained to me how they had been out shopping and met a man who walked around with them and then been led into a souvenir folk art store. They bought several items and we spoke about this for 15 -20 minutes and I explained that most likely they paid too much because all these street hawkers take people to places where they receive a commission. This is even something we mention in our welcome info sheet so people are aware of it, they normally aren't very aggressive and sometimes very entertaining but you will always be led to a store. We spoke about this and I explained it happens occasionally and not to worry too much about it, a travel lesson, etc. Finally, she mentioned something about a shaman and not feeling comfortable at the store but never explained what happened or if something she felt was inappropriate happened. I was completely confused by this since it isn't something we have ever heard about in 15 years of running the hotel. She got up abruptly and left and her friend and I were a bit confused and not sure why. Later that afternoon my manager called and said they wanted to check out. We have always been flexible if the guests aren't happy or change plans so we refunded their remaining nights and they left. They even left behind a phone charger that we helped them retrieve. So it is very surprising to see two one-star reviews from Lily and her friend. This is an incident that occurred outside the hotel and has nothing to do with us! If she had come to me and explained exactly what happened and made her uncomfortable at the store and requested help in getting the police or tourist police to go with her we would certainly have helped. This comes down to her perceived view of my level of concern but it feels like we were talking about two different things and I didn't know any details about the other thing. She mentions in her review about living overseas and all her travel experience and being fully fluent in Spanish so I'm really not sure how she let someone lead her around and take her to a place. Then if she felt at all uncomfortable to not take themselves out of the situation and if it is something she felt required the police then there are police on just about every corner in Centro and several tourist police stations. Finally, I'm posting the same response to the review from her friend/partner Kayla listed below and hope Tripadvisor takes these reviews down because it really has nothing to do with the hotel or staff and is just a review of one guests perceived view of my level of concern about something that was never clearly explained to me. Also, I find it insulting that after 1200 positive reviews and only a 20-minute interaction her friend would say she would specifically not recommend the hotel to women or groups of women! They are obviously allowing their experience at a store to cloud their judgment about a great hotel and city!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$59 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
luz en yucatan merida, luz en yucatan hotel merida
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaYucatanMerida
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Luz En Yucatan
Which popular attractions are close to Luz En Yucatan?
Nearby attractions include Plaza Grande (0.3 miles), Cathedral de Mérida (0.3 miles), and El Palacio de Gobierno (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Luz En Yucatan?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a concierge.
Which room amenities are available at Luz En Yucatan?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Luz En Yucatan?
Guests can enjoy free instant coffee and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at Luz En Yucatan?
Yes, secured parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Luz En Yucatan?
Conveniently located restaurants include Picheta, La Cubanita, and Lo Que Hay Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Luz En Yucatan?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Luz En Yucatan?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Luz En Yucatan?
Many travelers enjoy visiting El Palacio de Gobierno (0.2 miles) and Pre Hispanic Town Of Uxmal (3.5 miles).
Does Luz En Yucatan have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.