We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gamma Merida El Castellano

Save
Share
Calle 57 513 Entre 62 Y 64 Centro, Merida 97160 Mexico
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$49
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Official Hotel
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (259)
Room & Suite (84)
Dining (25)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 01/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Gamma Merida El Castellano
Updated 01/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#25 of 133 hotels in Merida
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Located at the historic center of Merida, the Gamma by Fiesta Inn Hotel, whose 10 floors and 153 rooms, presents an architecture that combines the colonial and modern style; inside, details and decor, invite you to spend some time relaxing, taking a break from modern life. The spacious rooms will make you feel relaxed, no matter whether these leisure or business making the perfect place to stay. The most representative cultural and architectural richness of Merida is in its historic center. A few steps from Gamma Fiesta Inn, you can admire our architectural, cultural and gastronomic richness that both identifies us.
Read more
Room & Suite (84)84
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking garage
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian
1,074Reviews6Q+A33Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 436
  • 403
  • 153
  • 47
  • 35
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
DL D wrote a review Apr 5
1 contribution
Yesterday night we had extremely unpleasant incident at the reception desk of your hotel. Around 23:00 my wife and I asked to extend our stay at your hotel for 2 days more . Young man at the front desk ,whom we never saw before, said that it is "impossible" and did not make any effort to even try to enter our request into computer. We told him that we have been staying in this hotel already 2nd week and did extent our stay few time and never had any problems. He said that he cannot do it. When I asked him what his name is he refused to give me his name saying that he "does not have to give me his name". When I told him that such a front desk service is unacceptable he started to threatening me that he will call police. When I told him I will make a complaint about his disrespectful and rude attitude he said that foreigners like my frequently insult local people because they feel they can. I told him that such a statement constitute discrimination against a person of foreign origin. I also told him that if he discriminates and disrespects foreign clients then he should not be working in international institution like hotels. I told him that I will address this with the management of the hotel and that for his attitude and behavior he should quit or lose his job as a person unfit to deal with international clients. Next day I addressed the above situation with the lady at the front desk who extended our stay for additional 2 days. I also spoke with the manager of hotel who listen to our complaint but did not even offered one word of apology. We have been staying in this hotel almost 2 weeks and prior to this incident we have never had any problems with the staff who work here are usually very pleasant and helpful. The man responsible for this incident appears to be a new employee as we never seen him before ; his behavior however is totally unacceptable, rude, scandalous.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Esther Montiel , Director General at Gamma Merida El Castellano
Responded 5 days ago
I am truly surprised to read your review since I am the Hotel's General Manager and in no way you tried to contact me after this unpleasant event happened. I am also surprised to read this since for a very simple administrative matter that you did not accept the hotel´s response, you decided to insult our front desk staff in a very racist and discriminatory manner. It was in such an aggressive way that he had to advise you that he would call the police if you did not behave yourself and stop threatening and insulting him). Our security personnel testified to that. The front desk man has been working for the hotel for 15 years and this is the very first time that he gets insulted like he was, and the very first time that a guest reports him as rude. We totally respect our guests at all times, all of us, but we definitely not accept that our guests insult our staff the way you did and that is why I was expecting to talk to you the next day but we checked out without asking to speak to the General Manager. That is unaccepjtable and scandalous for us too. Our reputation stands for itself for all other guests reading this review.
Read more
Jakob10033 wrote a review Jan 2021
Zurich, Switzerland88 contributions63 helpful votes
very well managed hotel in a great central location. large, nicely furnished and comfortable rooms with all amenities. very friendly staff und excellent service. well designed safety concept regarding hygiene and sanitization procedures. i will definitely stay here again on my next visit to merida. definitely recommendable!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Esther Montiel , Director General at Gamma Merida El Castellano
Responded Feb 15, 2021
Thank you very much! We appreciate your kind comments and preference and we look forward to serving you again next time you visit the city. Once again, thank you! Sincerely
Read more
Alan wrote a review Oct 2020
Abingdon, Maryland1 contribution1 helpful vote
Gamma is rated a 4 Star, it may be a 4 Star in Merida, but it would be a 2 Star in Cancun. I couldn't get a soda at 6 am because the kitchen is closed until 7. Food is served 7 to 10, 12 to 3 and 6 to 9 pm and there is nothing in between. There is no refrigerator in the rooms, on the 3 rd or 4th use, there was rusty water from the sink, I didn't ask, but I don't recall seeing an ice machine. If you like a soft bed this is the place, we were on the 7th floor with 2 queen beds and a view of the city, there was nothing spectacular about the room, but it was clean and comfortable with ample hot water for a nice shower. One of the dining room waiters told me I was drinking too fast when I ordered another round for my self and my Wife. We had been on a bus for 5 hours after being evacuated during Hurricane Delta last week. The Guys at the front entrance outside were friendly and very helpful in answering questions about local attractions and shopping. We were sent to this property by our hotel in Cancun during Hurricane Delta, per the local Governor, all alcohol was banned, not the hotels fault, but something to consider if you are traveling during this season.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Esther Montiel , Director General at Gamma Merida El Castellano
Responded Oct 14, 2020
Thank you for your review. I am glad you were satisfied with the service of our staff. Please allow me to give you some information you might not have had while staying at GAMMA MÉRIDA last week. Since it was en emergency due to the Hurricane, we were advised with a very short notice that the group was coming to our hotel. We certainly rushed to have everything ready and according to the emergency, decisions had to be made. We served breakfast, lunch and dinner as per requested by the group leader since we are NOT an all Inclusive hotel as I am sure everybody was aware of this fact. Also, since we are going through the Covid-19 contingency, the state of Yucatan has several restrictions in place so we have to close our restaurants early so the staff can go home (people cannot be in the street of Mérida before and after some hours). This has been in place for serveral months now, we do not get to decide on them. As we do not get to decide about the alcohol ban that was placed during the pass of the Hurricane through the Yucatan Peninsula. We do get to decide if we have to stop serving alcohol if we consider someone might endanger themselves or other guests. We are responsible for everyone safety. The waiters understand that. I understand these were difficult days for everyone, but we all did the best we could to accomodate the groups in such a short notice. We were pleased to receive the appreciation of many guests who where also here during those difficult days. We appreciate your nice comments about our staff and we hope the information provided will help better understand the situation at the time of your stay with us. Kind regards,
Read more
Roy M wrote a review Sep 2020
Las Vegas, Nevada4 contributions4 helpful votes
The Gamma Hotel was a great buy. The cleanliness standards do to COVID were impeccable. The staff was very kind, and helpful with all our questions. The location was excellent for walking. Extremely safe.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Esther Montiel , Director General at Gamma Merida El Castellano
Responded Sep 29, 2020
We appreciate your review and your visit very much. Thank you for choosing Gamma Mérida El Castellano and we sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Kind regards,
Read more
WhiteMouseBurrow wrote a review Mar 2020
Moscow, Russia2,343 contributions58 helpful votes
We arrived at the hotel after midnight, right from the plane. I wanted to relax before exploring Yucatan. But our plans were not destined to come true. Nearby is a nightclub ... with all the ensuing consequences. At the reception, shrugs ...
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Esther M, Gerente at Gamma Merida El Castellano
Responded Mar 17, 2020
Thank you for your visit and for your review. We are very sorry about the noise, as it is not coming from the hotel and we cannot control that, we can offer our guests another room if they wish to do so. We are sorry for the inconveniences. We hope we will have another opportunity to serve you. Sincerely,
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$52 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
el castellano merida, el castellano hotel merida, hotel el castellano
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaYucatanMerida
NUMBER OF ROOMS
163
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gamma Merida El Castellano
Which popular attractions are close to Gamma Merida El Castellano?
Nearby attractions include Catedral de Mérida (0.3 miles), Plaza Grande (0.2 miles), and El Palacio de Gobierno (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Gamma Merida El Castellano?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Gamma Merida El Castellano?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Gamma Merida El Castellano?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Gamma Merida El Castellano?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gamma Merida El Castellano?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Cubanita, Ave del Paraíso - Cocina asiática a domicilio, and Lo Que Hay Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gamma Merida El Castellano?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Gamma Merida El Castellano?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Gamma Merida El Castellano offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Gamma Merida El Castellano?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Gamma Merida El Castellano?
Many travelers enjoy visiting El Palacio de Gobierno (0.2 miles) and Pre Hispanic Town Of Uxmal (3.5 miles).