We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Ave Adolfo Lopez Mateos, Isla Mujeres 77400 Mexico
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
6 people are viewing this hotel
lovevacations
$205
View Deal
Booking.com
$183
View Deal
Travelocity
$205
$159
View Deal
SAVE $46
Official Hotel$162
Agoda.com$183
Snaptravel$198
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (4883)
360
Panoramas (69)
Videos (4)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • 24-hour minimum vacancy between guests
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 48 hotels in Isla Mujeres
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Privilege Aluxes: Truly a privileged experience
Read more
Room & Suite (1,070)1,070
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Fishing
Meeting rooms
Spa
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Adults only
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Minibar
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
120Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
21Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
3,887Reviews677Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,442
  • 957
  • 297
  • 105
  • 86
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jaleesa r wrote a review Apr 2020
76 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
I visited this resort October 4-7, 2019. I honestly don’t have many positive things to say about this resort. It is not a 5 star resort as advertised by any means! Maybe 2 or 2.5 stars. We arrived at Cancun airport around 3pm and took a private van transfer to Puerto Juarez where we caught the ferry to get to the island. In total I believe it was about $70 for two people which I believe is the cheapest you will find for a private round-trip transfer. We always use USA transfers when we go to the Cancun airport. We walked from the ferry to the hotel, which only takes a few minutes, but we stopped and looked at the vendors selling items while walking to the resort. If you have a lot of luggage I suggest taking a taxi to the resort because the roads are rugged and very bumpy. Believe it or not, this is the nicest resort in North Isla Mujeres, and that’s not saying much. The other resorts, Mia Reef & Ixchel looked even more worn down and in dire need of renovations than Privilege did. The North part of the island looked very old and poverty stricken. Some areas looked very suspect. There are nicer resorts once you go south to central Isla Mujeres. Check in was easy, they give you a glass of rose, which honestly wasn’t that bad. We ended up drinking that throughout our stay. They give you the wrist bands for your all inclusive package, if you chose that. They asked us what we were celebrating, and we told them our 2 year anniversary. I don’t even understand why they ask you that because they did absolutely nothing to make our trip special and did not celebrate our anniversary with any surprises or anything special or memorable like most resorts. Once you exit the lobby and go towards the rooms, you can see the pool and pool bar. The pool section is not that big, but this resort is also not that big. There were 3 small pools that were connected. On the right in the corner is a spa where you can purchase massages. But why spend money there when you can go to the beach and they have huts to the left of the privilege section that only charge $30 for a one hour massage, way cheaper. They have a couple vendors in front of the pool selling cigars and jewelry that is way over priced. Room- The gentleman took us to our room and carried our bags for us. We were in building two on the top floor with a balcony facing the cemetery. Who the hell wants to enjoy their vacation while facing a cemetery??!! They need to build a wall or some kind of barrier so it blocks our vision of the cemetery. How creepy! The elevator was so small it can only fit two people comfortably. There was also some sort of water leakage by the elevator and there was water everywhere. We got to our room and it was way smaller than I expected. The website said 538sqft, but that must be including the balcony because there was no way that room was over 500sqft. You can barely move in there, and only one person can walk through at once. I swear the balcony was larger than the room. The lighting was terrible on the balcony. There was only one and it was very faint. There also was only one outlet on the balcony and it didn’t even work! If you can, get one of the larger rooms, preferably the grand suite that has the rooftop private pool over looking the sea. That is the room I wish we could have gotten, but it was more than what we wanted to spend. The bed was comfortable enough to sleep in for 3 nights, and the bathroom was well kept. They had a mini bar with sodas, water, and small one shot bottles of cheap liquor I have never heard of. I guess the alcohol bottles are not refilled unless you ask for it. By the time we got back to our room they were no longer refiling the liquor in our rooms so we couldn’t get anymore. The A/C did go out on our 2nd day. I called the front desk and he argued with me that the A/C was fine. Cancun is very humid and hot, and it was obvious to tell the A/C had not been working. He finally sent someone up to my room and they fixed the A/C. I did not appreciate the argument from the front desk and feel he should have sent someone to my room the first time I complained. I had to call at least 3 times before he sent someone to my room to look at it. The hot tub on the balcony was dirty when we first arrived. I called the front desk and asked if someone can clean it and fill it and the guy told me no, they don’t do turn down service and he will have someone clean it the next day when house keeping comes. There were paint chips missing and permanent dings and dents. It took forever to fill it up and they did not provide any bubble bath, so we just used our body wash for bubbles and it did not last long at all. It was such a hassle to fill that we only used it once. Every night there was an awful sewer smell that came from our bathroom. Not sure why that kept happening, but I hope they fixed it. The TV had maybe 2 channels in English. At the end of each night we liked to watch TV until we fell asleep, but that was ruined by only have a couple English channels. Pool/Beach- The best part of this resort was the private beach. They section off a portion of Playa Centro and they put beach huts & chairs facing the beach by the beach club restaurant & bar. The water is so clear and gorgeous, I could honestly sit and stare at that beach all day. There was no trash, seaweed nothing on this part of the beach, unlike Playa Norte. The beach club service to get food & drinks during the day was slow. Some days it was hard to get anyones attention so you can place an order. There are a few beach beds at the privilege section, but you had to get up really early to reserve one or else you miss out pretty much the entire day. We spent half a day at Playa Norte, and walked from the resort. You can cut through Ixchel and get there within 5 minutes or less. We paid $20 for two beach chairs and umbrellas. We stayed for about 2-3 hours, after that I got bored and was ready to leave. The water had a lot of seaweed and was very cloudy and thick compared to Playa Centro. I guess since it’s a public beach it’s dirtier. It was really packed and honestly wasn’t worth paying $20 for chairs, just bring a towel or blanket and lay out on the sand. There are stands that sell food & drinks, but we didn’t purchase any since we had the all inclusive at privilege. As stated previously, the pool area is not that big compared to other resorts in the Cancun area. There are 3 pools connected together with padded chairs and a couple of hot tubs. The pool area had a snack center with stale & old food that just sits out all day and gets cold. The pool of course had watered down basic drinks with cheap liquor. I specifically asked for crown and coke or jack and coke and watched them poor it. They did have some mixed drinks that were good. Their version of a margarita was different, it was a salmon color and tasted fresh. One of the bartenders, I cant remember his name, was excellent! He made shots for us and other mixed drinks based off our taste buds. He made marvel character shots, iron man, hulk and captain America. He honestly made our time way more interesting and fun. They played whatever music you asked at the pool bar. I wish I could remember his name, but I cannot. I wished the pool stayed open longer, but since it got dark around 5pm the mosquitoes started to come out, so the pool closed at 6 and I think the bar closed at 7. I hate the towel card system. It is so annoying to have to stop by the pool area to get towels every time you need a fresh one, especially if we are at the beach. They need to make another towel hut next to the beach. Wifi- The wifi was very spotty and only worked well in SOME rooms and the lobby. I wished it extended throughout the resort, but unfortunately it did not. The wifi didn’t work for my husband at all, not sure why. I don’t even think the wifi worked at the pools either or the restaurants. Food- I have nothing positive to say about any of the food. Probably one of the worse I have experienced. During 4-6pm everyday there is nothing to eat at the resort except for the nasty old, stale and cold food from the pool bar. They had stale chips and guac that had been sitting out all day. The buffet (sabor) didn’t open until 6:30pm I think and the beach club restaurant didn’t open until 6pm. I am not sure what time Satay opens, but I think it is around 6pm. We ate at beach club our first night because we got to the resort around 5pm. We were hungry from traveling and there was nothing to eat at the resort until 6pm and that was extremely frustrating. We only ate at the beach club one night during our stay. The food was maybe a 3/5. I got a seafood platter that was sautéed, not fried like I expected. With the mosquitoes tearing us up, it was not worth being outside getting bit for the quality of food they serve. The only thing I liked about the dinner was they give us a bottle of wine for free to keep at our table and our server was gracious enough to find off bug spray so we could spray our legs and feet. They tried to make it romantic by adding music and lights and the natural sunset by the beach. The next morning we ate beach club for breakfast. Please keep in mind you have to make reservations for the breakfast. Again, the food was mediocre. Most of the items on the breakfast menu I couldn’t even pronounce nor knew what it was. The first entrée I ordered was disgusting and I took it back and ordered an omelet with bacon on the side. Again, the service was very slow. We ate at the beach club for lunch. The lunch menu was not impressive, but it was the closest restaurant to the beach and you didn’t have to lose your seat to get food or drinks. We got ceviche, burger, calamari, tacos, and a couple more items. The ceviche was decent and so was the calamari, but I have had better for sure. Everything else we ordered was not good. We ordered margaritas a lot and dos xx. I was surprised dos xx was included because most resorts you have to pay extra or they only give you the can, not the bottle. We ate at Sabor once during our stay and I honestly wished I hadn’t. The food was terrible and it was such a small selection. The omelet station had maybe 6 or 7 options and they were so incredibly small. The options at the buffet literally had me standing there with my mouth open. The hash browns, if that’s even what you call those, were stale and hard like bricks. I left the buffet still hungry and upset. The best part of breakfast were the mimosas. Satay food was hit or miss. You have to make a reservation in advance. The ambiance was nice, but I can careless about that, I prefer quality food. The appetizers were good. I believe we got fried shrimp and spring rolls. That was honestly the best thing they had there. The entrees looked like they microwaved frozen tv dinners and put them on a plate. We left and went to a taco restaurant off Hildago. Room service took a while and the food wasn’t good. The wings were ok, probably the best thing they had off the menu. I also ordered margherita pizza, jalapeno poppers and drinks. The jalapeno poppers were cold and tasteless, and the shameful pizza was thick slices of tomatoes on under cooked pizza dough. They should be ashamed feeding people that high school quality food. Like I said, not many positive things to say about the food. About 90% of the food at this resort was terrible. No where near 5 star resort food, 1 star at best. Entertainment- Non exist here. With this being an adult only very small resort, there was little to nothing to do except go to the pool or beach. They did have music at the beach club played by a band. No games or exercises by the pool or beach, no theatre shows. This place is a ghost town around 9pm. The only entertainment you are going to get is by going to Hildago street and walking the short strip. There are tons of restaurants, bars, and shopping huts. That’s the only entertainment you are going to get on this island. I didn’t see or hear of any night clubs or lounges. We spent majority of our time off the resort spending money on centro or hildago. I regret getting the all inclusive package, it wasn’t worth it. To conclude this long review which I doubt anyone will read in full, I would stay at a nicer resort in the center of Isla Mujeres or only come visit for the day and stay somewhere in Cancun. They advertise this resort as being 5 star which is an absolute LIE! Its not even close to a 3 star. They need a long list of upgrades and renovations before it comes anything close to a 5 star resort. The service was hit or miss, nothing memorable about this resort besides the beach it lays near. If it wasn’t for the beach, and the pool bartender I would give this resort a 1 star review and that’s honestly being generous. Would I stay on the island again, probably not. If I did, would I stay at this resort? Absolutely not. I would most likely spend the extra money and go to Zoetry.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from PrivilegeAluxesIslaM, Director General at Privilege Aluxes
Responded Jun 9, 2020
Dear Ms. Jalessa Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are truly sorry you had an unpleasant experience during your vacations. Our goal is to have loyal guest, and all our staff do them best for it. As you mention we do have different type of rooms. Superior room is one the basic rooms, but also, they area Deluxe, Honey moon and Platinum suite that has leaving area and a separate bedroom so our guest can be more comfortable. Food options, you will find it any time, that is way the all-inclusive package is a good option, with food and drinks 24/7. Unfortunately, we have a schedule time for breakfast, lunch and dinner plus Room Service 24 hrs. to provide better service to our guest. We are always improving our facilities and service and this is the main reason we do have loyal guest that visit us frequently. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience you may had at PA. We want to let you know that we have customer service 24/7 in case our guest needs any assistance. Unfortunately, we cannot find any record about your issue or experience during your vacation and you can be sure we may had found the best way to solve it Hope in the further you can give us opportunity to attend you again. Kind regards
Read more
Johan Välimäki wrote a review Mar 2020
Solna, Sweden10 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This was our fourth stay at this resort and we will return in the future. This year i even brought my parents and one of my best friends The hotel is a small diamond on the island and the main reason for this is the staff that makes your stay feel like you never left. I want to highlight a couple of the people: Jose Juan Mendoza Ruiz, was the main waiter at Sabor Bar. He always had a smile on and he went beyond to make sure we where welcomed and taken cared of. Sergio Teo, was the main bartender by the pool bar. Sergio has been at the hotel for 8 years now and he remembers us from our first visit so he even memorized our schedule and what we wanted to drink at what time. He has always went over and beyond on his service. Hugo Ontiveros, was our main waiter on Sabor breakfast buffet, he memorized where we wished to sit, what we wanted to drink each and every morning. He made our start of the day the best way possible. I can strongly recommend Privilege if you are looking for getting pampered, spoiled and just having the best time of your life!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: There is always a possibility to do an upgrade when you check in, please use this opportunity if...
See more room tips
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
mew57 wrote a review Apr 2020
Fergus Falls, Minnesota31 contributions93 helpful votes
This was the 9th stay at Privilege Aluxes with my sisters and we plan to be back next Spring. The staff is incredible! They treat guests with such care and kindness. Most of the staff have been here for many years and I consider them friends. The resort perfect for us. Beautiful beach with beach service and restaurants with good selections and great service. Thank you all for another wonderful vacation! May God bless and protect you during this time.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Happiness1077 wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
This was our 9th visit to Isla and the Privilege Aluxes. Staff make this place! Of course the beach of white sand is great, the resort is beautiful, full bar service on the beach and in the heated pool but most visitors are repeat customers and everyone credits the staff at every position! We are treated as family when we arrive and some how staff remember us. Easy to get to from US, easy ferry ride to Isla and it has become part of the fun! We get the all inclusive package! This place is a treasure. Once we found it we decided to return each year rather than try other resorts. Staff go out of their way to make everyone feel important! I have traveled with my sisters each March for the past 24 years to somewhere tropical. The past 9 years we have returned to this treasure! We go to one of the local churches for Sunday Mass. It is so wonderful to be among the local residents for Mass! Thank you Aluxes staff for sharing your beautiful island with us. God bless all of you and keep you safe during these days of the virus worries. We plan to see you you next year.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
SharonMaeckelbergh wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We had a wonderful stay. Our room was great and very well maintained. The entire staff is wonderful and all work very hard to make sure we have a great vacation. This was our 9th year here and we hope to be able to come back for many more. Thanks to everyone for working so hard for us.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
Room Tip: Had room 544 this year and it was very nice. Will request one of the same next year.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$148 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
privilege aluxes isla mujeres, privilege aluxes hotel isla mujeres
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooIsla Mujeres
NUMBER OF ROOMS
124
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Privilege Aluxes
Which popular attractions are close to Privilege Aluxes?
Nearby attractions include Playa Norte (0.1 miles), Tiny's Bar (0.3 miles), and Rock Bar (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Privilege Aluxes?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Privilege Aluxes?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Privilege Aluxes?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Privilege Aluxes?
Conveniently located restaurants include Los Tacos de Humo, Pizza & a...More, and North Garden.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Privilege Aluxes?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Privilege Aluxes have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Privilege Aluxes offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Privilege Aluxes?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Privilege Aluxes offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Privilege Aluxes?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Privilege Aluxes?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Hacienda Mundaca (3.1 miles).