We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Carretera Costera Sur Km. 12.9 Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77664 Mexico
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$477
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/07/22
Official Site
$477
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$292
View deal
Booking.com$477
Hotels.com$477
Traveluro
View all 22 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (7192)
Pool & Beach (1869)
Room & Suite (1642)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 07/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Secrets Aura Cozumel
Updated 07/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#33 of 64 in Cozumel
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.2
Value
3.8
In a perfect blend of luxury and excitement, Secrets Aura Cozumel is the ultimate adults-only, all-suite resort located on the island of Cozumel. Sitting just 12 miles off the coast of Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula, Secrets Aura has it all. Bask in a world of Unlimited-Luxury® while staying in one of 266 contemporary, stylish non-smoking suites complete with private terraces or swim-up access, stunning views, 24-hour room service, daily refreshed minibar and more. For added luxury, guests can upgrade to the Preferred Club and enjoy additional amenities and inclusions. The experience continues with limitless gourmet dining at gourmet restaurants plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at the Coco Cafe or stay in and order room service all without reservations and top-shelf spirits at three bars and lounges throughout the resort. Light up the night with live nightly entertainment and activities. Or enjoy land and water sports, three sparkling pools, live entertainment with pool and beach wait service throughout the day. Dive into the Caribbean at nearby world-renowned dive sites; explore the natural wonders of the second largest coral reef system in the world, the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System. Learn to dive deep with the help of the fullservice, on-site dive operator, Dive House. Indulge in specialty treatments at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia®, located right next door at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, the most complete spa on the island, or simply spend time with the ones you love. Secrets Aura Cozumel – Light. Luxury. Love. We’re committed to redefining your travel journey with our best-in-class CleanComplete Verification™ practices. While health and safety have always been our top priorities, these new protocols further elevate our standards of quality and cleanliness, enabling you to vacation at any AMResorts® property with the ultimate peace of mind. Our 360-degree quality, safety and hygiene system takes into account every aspect of resort operations, backed by the highest-level third-party certification. We will be evolving and innovating our procedures continuously and will share the newest developments as they are implemented. Our protocols begin the moment you start planning a vacation to the time you return home! To learn more about our quality, safety and hygiene practices, please search for AMResorts CleanComplete Verification™ in your favorite browser.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Swimup bar
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Game room
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Nightclub / DJ
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Adults only
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
VIP room facilities
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
5925Reviews908Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,427
  • 1,672
  • 960
  • 510
  • 357
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sooner Soul Man wrote a review Yesterday
Piedmont, Oklahoma37 contributions14 helpful votes
There is a lot to like about this resort. The location is great, the entertainment was solid, and there was a variety of pools . My wife and I have been to several Dreams and Secrets resorts, this one has a lot of cool features, but is in need of some updating, repair, and maintenance. I'm sure they are just still catching up from being closed for a year and a half during the pandemic. The bad: In our room we had a light that strobed constantly. The remotes to the tv were nasty, no worries, I always bring alcohol wipes, and our shower leaked on to the bathroom floor causing slip hazard that caused me to slip but not fall. The good: Nice spacious room and other than the remote was fairly clean. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and we slept well. The preferred suite is the way to go with a living room, full bath, and master bedroom. All that being said, we would go again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Helpful
Share
Dalton A wrote a review Jun 26
Houston, Texas10 contributions
+1
On day 2 of my 6 day trip. Room 4231 This is my 5th time staying at a Secrets brand resort, but first time at the Secrets Aura Cozumel. I have been to Mexico 10 times now at a variety of resorts, but overall Secrets have been my favorite closely followed by Excellence resorts. With that being said here is the Bad and Good @ Secrets Aura The bad: -As a lot of the other reviews stated the rooms are very dated and could use a good upgrade. -Mold in the shower. -Large amount of dust in the AC -Rust on things through room and bathroom -Wall sockets are dangerous and very lose -Cosmetic mirror doesn't work -Hot water from shower cuts in and out The Good: -Great service, absolutely no complaints so far about Service. -Everyone is friendly and go out of their way to make you happy. -The beach is amazing here. If you are a beach person you will not be disappointed. -The resort grounds are very luscious with plant life and well maintained -The rooms are spacious -Very comfortable beds -The toiletries provided seem great quality and smell good (soap, shampoo, toilet paper etc) Overall it is a decent resort however the quality of the room is very disappointing compared to other Secret Resorts, and especially for the price paid to stay here. The current state of the room is something I would expect from a 2 star hotel. If the rooms were improved and updated this would truly deserve 5 stars however with the current state of my room I would hesitate to recommend this Secrets resort to others.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Irving A wrote a review Jun 26
1 contribution
The staff is very generous, concierge Fernando was very nice and welcoming. The beach is absolutely next level! Beautiful and peaceful beach that looks as if it was a lake. The beach and staff would definitely be two important factors that I’d consider to come back. However, food is really bad. Not bad as the taste itself, but the presentation is not MEXICAN AT ALL. If you think you are coming to Mexico to try their Mexican authenticity, this is definitely not the place to be in. I was quite surprised how in a Mexican restaurant called El Patio, they would serve TEX-Mex food only. For me this was an insult for the Mexican culture. Primarily because you are in one of the greatest place of Mexico having food from Texas!! Same in other restaurants, rather than have a nice ceviche with lime and spice, you’d find in their menu “fajitas de pescado”. Does Mexicans ever have fajitas? Not really! We never have fajitas. Anyways, shame about their menu at all their restaurants because they have an incredible beach and the staff is very generous. Great place for staying if you like to scuba dive, their port is on the way to the best places for dive so your dive master can literally pick you up in front and in matter of minutes you’d be diving.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Jordan H wrote a review Jun 25
1 contribution
+1
I’ve never written a review for a vacation that I have ever took but also I’ve never taken this type of vacation with just my wife and myself. So I kind of feel it is necessary to explain and give a non biased review of how our vacation went. Firstly we are celebrating our 10 year anniversary but 2 years later as Covid derailed our first attempt. We chose secrets aura based on family recommendations of just coming to Cozumel. We landed at Cozumel airport and had no trouble getting through customs. We had clearly outlined directions right from the company we booked through (apple vacations) on who to meet, and where to meet, once we landed. After talking with the people that were in charge of our transportation we waited about 5 minutes for our shuttle. After about a 20 minute ride from the airport to the hotel we arrived. There was a small line of people being checked into their rooms at the front desk. We got checked in and a señor took our luggage and showed us our room. After getting all set in our room we went back down to the front desk to ask about the excursion’s that we had reserved but didn’t set a date. We had an ATV excursion with wild tours. (Another review I will write) and an excursion to go visit Chichen-Itza.( another review). All of the directions for the wild tours were simple and laid out for anyone to be able to follow. The Chichen-Itza excursion was a very long day but all of the directions given to us were perfect and had literally no questions all day. Through our week at Secrets we found ourself exploring the multiple options of food that are available through your resort, there different options for everyone. We also found ourselves just walking around and getting into activities they have planned around the resort all day. We have participated in quite of few activities throughout the resort and enjoyed each one, water volleyball, water aerobics, bingo, blackjack, Jenga on the beach, and other performances that the resort puts on such as Mayan diner, fire ceremony on the beach, and others. During these events and you get to meet a lot of different personnel throughout the day, but non stand out as much as Margarita. She is excited and happy to be apart of everything and is just enjoyable to be around. She was our dealer for black jack, she was the MC for water aerobics. She had no issues getting into the water to play water volleyball. She has something about her welcoming personality that just makes you want to do the activity as long as she’s there. Overall I recommend anyone that’s looking for a getaway as a couple or a group to come check this place out we have had a ton of fun. I don’t have anything to complain about other then we were only here a week.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Nichole F wrote a review Jun 22
8 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
My husband and I have been coming to Cozumel for many years and decided this again would be our great destination for our honeymoon. We booked it and upgraded to preferred to spoil ourselves a bit. This was the absolute best time we have ever had in Cozumel. Service was amazing, rooms clean and beautiful, and the food so delicious! I especially enjoyed the entertainment team including Heydy who kept energy high and also Aaron who was so sweet and funny. The lobby bar tender Angel was amazing too, he remembered us and had our favorite drinks ready in no time. Also, he helped with experimenting new fruity drinks. Sergio was our favorite server. He was so kind. He even was our server for our dinner on the beach, he gave us the best night with lots of our favorite drinks, service, helped capture photos, and just had a great time talking with him. And Bety was our housekeeper that made sure our room was also in top shape with clean linens and towels as needed. Secrets definitely went above and beyond also with the accommodation of it being our honeymoon. We received multiple complemtery services such as free fruit/wine, mimosa breakfast in our room, a free facial/tension massage, and dinner on the beach. Don't hesitate to book with them! Highly recommend. Also, if you dive or snorkel, Gabriel with Scuba Du is the best as well as deep Sea Fishing with Catain Edwin Nunez and David to catch some big fish!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Schrodinger Cat wrote a review Jun 20
Eastern USA200 contributions76 helpful votes
Spent a week there; had been to this same resort several times before, but not at "Secrets". Cost/performance (over cheaper part of resort) not outstanding. Room was nice, but spartan - no lamps in living room, no chairs, no bureau. Numerous burned out bulbs (over bed, in shower, in livingroom, on makeup mirror). Two lamps in bedroom, one could only be turned off/on by unscrewing the bulb - the switch was broken. Glass wall by bed leaked during a storm - 1 x 3 meter pool of water on floor. Glass sliding doors to terrace had a 1 cm opening to the outside from the ceiling down to the latch. Food quality at Marketplace has declined somewhat. Food quality at other restaurants in Secrets area was OK, but not outstanding. Personnel were cheerful, responsive, and well-trained. Although fully-masked, the Mexican staff had apparently given up on getting tourists to mask (understandable?). Be prepared for large gatherings of people, unmasked. Potential solution for resort - insist on a vaccination card at check-in? Large amount of construction of new rooms & restaurant expansion on the other side of the resort. Not clear how this may have impacted food & maintenance. All-in-all, a good stay, but avoid over-paying for these accomodations.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Seacz E Concierge Eduardo Betancourt, Director General at Secrets Aura Cozumel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear SchrodingerCat On behalf of the entire team, we would like to thank you for choosing us as your hosts on your recent visit to the Mexican Caribbean and for sharing your comments with us. The valuable opinion of our guests always helps us improve the quality and service we offer. We have taken note of the comments about the room situations, food and the Covid protocols which you refer and rest assured that we will give the due follow-up. All comments from our guests are invaluable, and we appreciate your comments regarding the areas of opportunity you mention, these will help us to provide a better service to our future guests. We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back, allowing us the opportunity of providing you with a truly wonderful and memorable experience. I remain at your service Eduardo Betancourt
Read more
Sarah T wrote a review Jun 20
Vero Beach, Florida7 contributions
The property is extremely rundown. Mold was literally growing on our headboard. However, the location was phenomenal and the staff was exceptional. Fransisco and Julio Pacheco we’re just a few of the wait staff that made the trip. Go for the safety of the island, diving, and friendliness of the staff, not the food or amenities.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Seacz E Concierge Eduardo Betancourt, Director General at Secrets Aura Cozumel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Sarah On behalf of all the staff, we want to thank you for choosing us as your hosts on your recent visit to the Mexican Caribbean and for sharing your comments, this allows us to improve our levels of service and product. We appreciate the time that you have invested in writing an overview of your stay with us. There seems to have been deficiencies encountered,Our new general manager is already taking action in all the areas and we can assure that guests will love the improvements but at this point we can only renew our apologies and assure you that we are going to be able to improve all areas. I remain at your service Eduardo Betancourt
Read more
Gene and Kathy wrote a review Jun 16
5 contributions4 helpful votes
Went to Aura last December and really liked it. So we went ahead and booked a week in June and a week in September for 2022. Just got back and something there has changed. We booked a swim out room but the pool was green and there was no way we could use it and they did not offer anything such as a different room only a massage. The food did not come close to the quality of Decembers trip. The overall attitude there has changed. We will cancel our September trip and go to another resort.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Seacz E Concierge Eduardo Betancourt, Director General at Secrets Aura Cozumel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Setxind We would like to thank you for selecting our resort as your host on your recent getaway to our destination. It was a pleasure receiving you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. As a resort, we are totally aware of the tremendous responsibility of offering impeccable food and areas to our valued guests. Rest assured that strict policies and procedures are in place from beginning to end to safeguard all food and areas. Thank you for sharing your feedback through this means. Your comments are truly valuable for us, as this allows us to improve our service levels and product. We would also like to mention that due to the high volume of rain our filter have not being able to filter all pools, but we are happy to mention that we have already installed to more filter to improve this process. We are humbly sorry for the inconvenience encountered, it is never our intention to tarnish your stay with us. Once again, please accept our apologies, we have in the meantime briefed the team at great length of your comments and we are sure our new general manager will find the best way to improve all our areas and services. I remain at your service Eduardo Betancourt
Read more
JimD22 wrote a review Jun 16
Green Bay, Wisconsin8 contributions
Relaxing, fun and educational on a beautiful island. Resort located where we could snorkel right off the beach and see some cool things. We explored the island and it’s rich Mayan history. Will definitely return. Loved the resort staff and choice of entertainment.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Melissa D wrote a review Jun 15
Floyds Knobs, Indiana, United States56 contributions9 helpful votes
My husband and I had been here before, choosing the property because of our budget at the time. We knew it was older and run down but chose to return for the fabulous snorkeling and lower price, and we love the Secrets brand. However, I guess I never noticed the first time how truly bad the food is or has gotten. This is hands down the consistently worst food we have ever had at a resort. We have traveled Mexico, Jamaica, and the Dominican. Some is merely so-so. Much of it is not edible. I do love the Preferred check-in however I have never been hounded to sit through the Club Vacation presentation like I was this time. We said no we aren't interested; no we sat through this last time; no we don't have the money...she just wouldn't let up. It was honestly too much. Also the liquor selection is much more limited than any other Secrets we have visited. We stayed in the newer Preferred section. The room was comfortable and maid service was consistent daily. We only got turn down service 2 nights of our 5-night stay. Almost all staff are fabulous, friendly and helpful. It was my understanding we were supposed to have a concierge. We did not. We knew the vibe here is super laid back, and we like that so we were ok with the limited daily events, however some pm entertainment after dinner and prior to the late late club opening would have been appreciated. We did not receive the attentive service at the Preferred area, especially on the beach that Secrets has accustomed us to. Service was infrequent beach and pool side for sure. We will not return here. We may go to another Secrets property on our next vacation, but we won't be here. If you have a super low budget and you want to take excursions for food and activities OFF property, this is your place. But if snorkeling is not your thing, there is really no reason to come here. Also for a brand that touts sustainability, I wonder why toiletries aren't in dispensers on the walls instead of the small, plastic bottles they give you that have to be replaced so frequently.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Buildings 1-9 are the newer rooms.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Seacz E Concierge Eduardo Betancourt, Director General at Secrets Aura Cozumel
Responded 4 days ago
Hello Mrs. Melissa d. On behalf of the entire staff of our resort, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. It was a pleasure being your host during your recent getaway to the Mexican Caribbean. We have taken note of your comments, which will be passed on to our area managers, to strengthen our service training with each of the teams.Once again, we humbly apologize for the inconvenience and we can assure that our new general manager is taking all action to improve. We hope you redeem your trust in us, as it will be our pleasure to offer you a newly renovated experience. If you change your mind and want to return, do not hesitate to contact us, we will do everything possible to exceed your expectations, pamper you and provide you with excellent service. I remain at your service Eduardo Betacnourt
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$258 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
aura cozumel grand hotel cozumel, wyndham cozumel, cozumel wyndham
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Aura Cozumel Grand Resort
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooCozumel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
266
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Secrets Aura Cozumel
Which popular attractions are close to Secrets Aura Cozumel?
Nearby attractions include The Mayan Cacao Company (0.7 miles), Palancar Reef (3.7 miles), and Chankanaab Reef (2.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Secrets Aura Cozumel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Secrets Aura Cozumel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Secrets Aura Cozumel?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Secrets Aura Cozumel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Secrets Aura Cozumel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Alberto's Beach Bar & Restaurant, The Money Bar Beach Club, and SkyReef Cozumel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Secrets Aura Cozumel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Secrets Aura Cozumel have airport transportation?
Yes, Secrets Aura Cozumel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Secrets Aura Cozumel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Secrets Aura Cozumel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Secrets Aura Cozumel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.