We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Hotelera Sur Carretera a Chankanaab km 7.5 Zona, Cozumel 77600 Mexico
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
Official Hotel
Snaptravel
$244
$153
View Deal
SAVE $91
Free cancellation until 04/06/21
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
Expedia.com$244
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1602)
Pool & Beach (337)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Explorean Cozumel
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 56 hotels in Cozumel
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2020 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
GreenLeaders Gold level
The Explorean by Fiesta Americana combines relaxation and adventure with a majestic charm that makes your visit to Mexico's largest island truly unique and utterly unforgettable. The hotel offers the same high levels of quality and service that guests have come to expect from Fiesta Americana hotels, but with a whole new adventurous style and unique flair that are exclusive to the Explorean brand. This unique hotel offers a one-of-a-kind Daily Expedition & Adventure Program. Each day offers something new and exciting to do, with guided expeditions and treks in the ocean, on the beach, around the town, and deep into the tropical jungle, letting guests learn about and explore the island while cycling, snorkeling, horseback riding, kayaking, hiking and driving dune-buggies, and it's all included in the room rate.
Read more
Room & Suite (203)203
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Diving
Snorkeling
Aerobics
Bicycle tours
Entertainment staff
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Iron
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1,486Reviews212Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,187
  • 194
  • 69
  • 19
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kelli wrote a review Oct 17
Georgetown, Texas1 contribution
Loved this place! Extremely quiet. Excellent service. Roberto at the bar was absolutely amazing (and made fabulous drinks). All the staff were friendly and accommodating. The room was spacious. However, there not much bathroom privacy. Overall would recommend for a perfect get away. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Linda H wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
We highly recommend staying at this location! The activity staff (Renata,Vega,Edgar,Ruben and Samuel) are phenomenal! Their hospitality & coordination of the activities were superb! Can't wait to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Walter Cordova, Director General at The Explorean Cozumel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience with us. I'm sure will help the future travellers at the time to chose their destination and will choose us up to other options, Be sure all the staff mentioned will know about your comments, we try our best to make you feel more than happy and like in your own home. We hope to keep welcome you. Warm Regards.
Read more
Tiffany H wrote a review Aug 2020
United States49 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
First off I will say that the property is exactly as you see in the pictures. It is beautiful and quiet. The rooms are very nice as well. My mom and I had a Double Casita. I had called ahead and asked for a non-connecting room because I am a light sleeper and I was informed that they are all located on the second floor. I was glad to see my request honored upon check in. Speaking of which, it took way too long IMHO. You're outside in the heat and have to talk to a few people to register, go over the activities, and get introduced to your "personal concierge". She was nice and all, but there was nothing special she did for us. This process needs to be shortened big time. We were also offered "insurance" for $20 for our whole stay for the two of us. He couldn't really explain what it was but said something about if we needed an ambulance and he offered no brochure or anything in writing. I was hot and wanted to just get to the room so we got it. It's only $20 so we figured why not. Still have no idea what it was all about, so maybe give people something to read and some type of policy. There would have been no way to prove we had it if we needed it so that's kind of sketchy in my book but whatever. The room: We has room 207 and it was in the Marlin building which was super close to everything and were very pleased with the location. Upon entering we were pretty surprised when there was no divider or privacy screen or anything separating the shower area from the rest of the room. We laughed about it and it became kind of like a joke when one of us needed to shower or change - "Turn around, no peeking!". I can see if you're in a King room with your SO but this is beyond awkward for a family. Our safe and fridge weren't working upon arrival, and we let them know. As we were eating dinner, I saw them carry the safe out and replace it with a new one. However, the fridge still didn't work. We let them know again and they claimed it was fixed. I let it go overnight, and still nothing. Told them again the next day and they insisted it worked. It didn't. Not until after dinner on our second night did we get a working one. Also we asked for it to be stocked with strictly Diet Coke and they said no problem. Every day we asked and were promised it would come but it never did. On the last day they said they didn't have any. Well if that was the case and they didn't intend to get any, then just say so. Don't keep making promises you can't deliver on. We also didn't get our breakfast basket one morning which was disappointing because mom likes her coffee in the morning. The first day they had some type of cinnamon muffins in there and they were delicious! The other days were mini croissants which were hit or miss. Upon checking in they ask you what time you would like your room cleaned each day and we said 11:00AM. Two out of the four full days we were there, we had to let them know that no one came and we had been out of the room for hours. The second time it was 1:30PM and still nothing, They finally sent someone up. We didn't even need the sheets changed or anything, just exchange the towels because it stayed humid in the room even with the AC on and they wouldn't dry. Actually, we had clothes out that were never wet and they became damp. My swimsuit didn't dry even after 2 days and I went home with it like that. The AC cuts off via a sensor when you open/close the patio or front door and unless you move around, it stays off (like when one of us would go out and the other stayed behind, you had to stand up to trigger the motion detector in the room to turn it back on). One day there was a knock on our door and there were 2 guys with a ladder. Apparently someone told them to fix our shower door (not us). It closed almost all the way so water never got out, but I guess it should have swung both ways. Would have been nice to have gotten a heads up. The food: We had our first meal - dinner at the Explorean. It was OK. I had steak. The menu was really too "Boutiquey" if that's even a word for us, so with the exception of breakfast, we ate next door at the Fiesta which was better, yet still kind of meh. We tried them all with the Italian being the best of the three for dinner. The restaurant down by the beach on the left was our favorite which is where we had lunch. It was a beautiful view and you could even order cheeseburgers and chicken wings which we didn't find out until the last day when we saw some kids have them. No one ever mentioned that to us, they only showed us the chalk board outside. We aren't very picky eaters, but a lot of the stuff just didn't sound appealing or tasted pretty bland so we mostly ate lunch with a small dinner. I actually lost 3 lbs on this trip and my mom lost weight too. That was a first for us! The hotel itself is beautiful and it reminds me of places I stay in Honduras. I was looking for another peaceful vacation away from the crowds and this place absolutely delivered on that. But I feel the food and customer service leave a lot of room for improvement. I understand they were only open for about two weeks after reopening so some of it may be due to getting back into the swing of things, but I feel for the price I paid, it wasn't worth it. They were only at 30% occupancy so it's not like they were overwhelmed with guests. I could have stayed at another well known AI for about $500 less and I'm regretting that I didn't. We didn't do any of the activities because they all involved water and/or biking and being mom had just turned 71 and can't swim, she was unable to participate. But no big deal, that's not why I booked this place. We will be going back to Cozumel, but unfortunately, we won't be back to The Explorean. It's very nice and we loved a lot about it, but there is much to be desired especially for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Walter Cordova, Director General at The Explorean Cozumel
Responded Aug 24, 2020
I want to offer you a big apology, for all the issues you had, it is not a common thing in our hotel, as you mentioned, we are recognized for being one of the best hotels that offer the best service. We hope to have a second chance to change your opinion about us and to show you why always people recommend us. Warm regards.
Read more
lisamusic wrote a review Aug 2020
Spencerville, Ohio219 contributions51 helpful votes
I booked this hotel based upon the high ratings on tripadvisor. I'm not sure why it gets such high ratings. We were less than impressed with the food and service and won't return. We arrived around noon. Our room wasn't ready, which is a pet peeve of mine. If the hotel is operating at a 30% capacity, our room should be ready when we arrive, especially at the rate we are paying. We waited two hours for it. Room was fine, everything was good quality, beds were comfy and room was clean. There was a refridgerator stocked with sodas and beer. We only drink Coke. We always left a dollar for the guy who stocks it. On the one day we didn't leave a dollar, we got everything but Coke - passive aggressive maybe? We did not have hot water on the first or second day. When I complained, I was told to let the water run for 10 minutes first. I did and that solved the problem but 10 minutes? Really? Ever heard of water conservation? You would think they would do something about that. Maybe install individual on-demand hot water heaters. The food was awful and the wait was agonizingly slow. We ate four meals at the Explorean. The waits for food were between 30 to 45 minutes long. Even ice cream took 20 minutes to receive. I don't think it was the server's fault. I think it was probably some reason with the kitchen. Food was beautifully plated and presented but not good. When we asked for hamburgers, we were told we couldn't have them because they weren't on the menu. There wasn't a lot for the kids to eat (no quesadillas, fajitas, tacos, sandwiches, spagetti, etc.) I had to throw a hissy fit and go to the manager's office to request that my kids get some sort of food they could eat. After that, we could order hamburgers. Note the Fiesta has free room service, but NOT the Explorean. We tried the "Coffee Cafe" pastries every day but EVERY DAY they were stale and we threw them away. There was a gentleman who helped us with the hamburgers from the mexican restaurant. I left him a $5 tip. When I asked it he had gotten it the next day, he said no, so someone who works there stole his tip. It was hard to communicate with staff. We know a little spanish so we got by but not very many of them speak english. Service left a lot to be desired. My son was struggling to bring back all of our snorkeling equipment and he kept dropping things in the lobby. Even though there were five employees there (1 bellhop, 1 taxi person, 2 concierges and 1 tour guy) no one bothered to help him, or even ask if he needed help. I had my hands full with towels, sunscreen etc so I couldn't. Snorkeling was hard to do due to the current. We did see eagle rays, a variety of fish and an assortment of coral. We had to wait 30 minutes to get snorkeling fins and life jackets because the person who was giving those out was at lunch. Surprisingly, there wasn't anyone in the entire resort who could give these items out except that person. Perhaps they should cross-train someone else who could do this in that person's absence instead of making the guests wait. That is probably what bothered me the most. We spent around 2 hours each day, just waiting for stuff. Food, equipment, drinks, etc. We went on one "adventure". It was good but not worth the extra money to stay at the Explorean. The other adventures that we wanted to do, i.e. jeep, mayan ruins, were not being offered during the time that we were there. The three adventures on offer when we were there were biking/snorkeling; biking/cenote and just biking. Note that you do not have to go on a tour to take the bikes out. Unfortunately, we found this out the day before we left. Had someone told us about this we could have biked every day. There is an "environmental" fee added to the bill. It was $26 here but only $8 at another hotel we stayed at during the same vacation. The $8 hotel had one less night. I'm not sure why there was such a big discrepency but you have to pay what they tell you to pay so we did. No shows due to COVID. They do have one pool table and one fooz ball table. Arcade games and air hockey were never on and if they were, I don't think they are free as they had slots for quarters (or pesos). On the plus side, there are free washer/dryers on the fourth floor of the Fiesta. Buy soap at the front desk for $3 or bring your own. The pool that is in the pictures in beautiful and lit up at night. With the lights on it at night, you could see it was disgustingly murky. We did not go in that pool but went to the Fiesta's pool. In summary, we paid too much and received too little in terms of services and food. I would not recommend this resort.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Walter Cordova, Director General at The Explorean Cozumel
Responded Aug 10, 2020
dear lisamusic, i want to offer you a big apology, for all the issues you had, it is not a common thing in our hotel, as you mentioned, we are recognized for being one of the best hotels that offer the best service. We hope to have a second chance to change your opinion about us and to show you why always people recommend us. Warm regards.
Read more
Timmy M wrote a review Jul 2020
Spring Hill, Tennessee3 contributions
We just got back from Cozumel and stayed at the Explorean once again. This place absolutely gets better every single time. The service, the staff, the food, the drinks, the rooms, the amenities, the excursions are just a few of the many many perks. We got to see our favorite staff Roberto, Renata, Samuel, Alfonso, and Rueben!!! They ALWAYS greet us with a smile and a "Welcome home mi familia". And it truly is a home for us. They always go out their way to make sure we are well taken care of and have everything we need. Renata is an absolutely AMAZING host/tour guide. She is very enthusiastic and VERY knowledgeable about the island and the spots. We shall DEFINITELY be coming back very soon!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I would recommend to bring a small dim night light as the rooms get very dark at night.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Walter Cordova, Director General at The Explorean Cozumel
Responded Aug 10, 2020
Dear Timmy, we all want to thank you for your loyalty! Having you and your family here it's always a pleasure! We are all looking forward to your next visit, remember if you need something don't doubt in write to us. Warm regards.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$227 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooCozumel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Explorean Cozumel
Which popular attractions are close to The Explorean Cozumel?
Nearby attractions include Cozumel Bar Hop (3.6 miles), The Amazing Cozumel Race (4.5 miles), and Sergio's Silver from Taxco (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Explorean Cozumel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Explorean Cozumel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Explorean Cozumel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Explorean Cozumel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Half Senor Frogs, Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., and CRAZY KING Burrito.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Explorean Cozumel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Explorean Cozumel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Explorean Cozumel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Explorean Cozumel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting San Gervasio Mayan Archaeological Site (4.2 miles).
Is The Explorean Cozumel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.