We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Carretera Costera Norte Km 5.8, Cozumel 77600 Mexico
12 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Book now on our website
Expedia.com
$243
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/18/22
Booking.com
$244
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/18/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Melia.com
$191
View deal
Hotels.com$243
Travelocity$243
FindHotel$257
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (3239)
Pool & Beach (919)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 10/21/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Melia Cozumel
Updated 10/21/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#22 of 64 hotels in Cozumel
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.3
Value
4.1
Welcome to one of the most charming all-inclusive hideaways in the Mexican Caribbean, featuring a long, shallow sugar sand beach perfect for wading or swimming, four restaurants, five bars, and unlimited amounts of fun. This beautiful beachfront resort is Located northwest of Cozumel just a few minutes from Cozumel International Airport, the port and the main shopping area and restaurants on the island.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Archery
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Badminton
Diving
Mini golf
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book now on our website

Location

Full view
39Car recommended
Grade: 39 out of 100
11Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
1Attractionwithin 0.75 miles
4490Reviews592Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,706
  • 1,580
  • 641
  • 311
  • 253
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Melissa D wrote a review Today
Pearland, Texas5 contributions
First vacation of the summer and while it started off very rainy (that last week of May) when the sun finally came out we had a lot of fun. The resort is not too big, which is a plus with kids, but there is only one pool for families. BUT for the price we can't complain! FIRST and FOREMOST before you stop reading-- the entertainment team-- ESP, Ms. Susie and Ms. Mari are the best. The guys are great too, but the ladies really stood out to me because of sweet they were to my girls (Management-- if you're reading this tell them Nico and Ale's mom says hello and thank you again!). The variety of games and activities really helped to entertain my daughter's, especially the little one. I also enjoyed playing bingo, the water aerobics and the nightly entertainment. Nightly entertainment: You should make an effort to go! Wide variety of performances and they are really great! I was so impressed by all the performers. Food: I don't know why people are complaining. Breakfast- there is so much variety, and they even have a specialty being prepared every morning. I'm very partial to a plate of chilaquiles with salsa verde, drizzled with queso and crema, topped with a fried egg and beans on the side-- and fried plantains (where were available a few mornings!). The coffee was good and I loved the assortment of pan dulce. A couple of morning I ran down to grab pan dulce and we had it in our room. Lunch options were not as amazing for me, but there was definitely enough to chose from. I would usually gravitate towards the soup of the day and then make myself a salad or have fresh fruit. Dinner was solid-- especially when they were preparing tacos!! But the best dinner option was the Mexican restaurant!! The Mexican restaurant (which is the outdoor cafe during the day) is reservations only for dinner and so good! LEGIT restaurant quality food. The meats they served were excellent. They serve a poblano pepper soup that is out of this world. One of my fave dishes we had. The service can be a little slow, but the food it worth it. Now the ambiance at the Fish House is a total vibe, but I didn't find the food to be as amazing. The Mexican restaurant felt more kid-friendly for us (although the one night we went to the Fish House our 4 year old fell asleep in their super comfortable chairs and we really enjoyed our time there). Room: Definitely nice and clean, but the bed sheets and towels just felt old, and in need of replacement. Beach: The water there is unfortunately nothing special. Grab a drink and walk left over to the Cozumeleno for a gorgeous swim. Would I come back? Yes, for the right price!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
KentuckyKen wrote a review Jul 2021
kentucky6 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We just stayed at the Melia for a week. The beach was beautiful (but no waves). The people working there were pretty wonderful; we felt safe and comfortable every moment. The head chef, Francisco, was VERY helpful with our dietary needs (celiac...it turns out that they don't use wheat very often in Mexican cuisine); he even made us a special gluten-free cake. The meals were pretty good (or great). There was always a grill and there was always a ceviche for lunch. Always very nice fruits. There were terrific Mexican dishes. A tiny glitch was the reliance on apps for getting around...we wanted to know the layout of the resort and the schedules of the restaurants. We were referred to an app (they seemed to take great pride in no paper/no waste). We downloaded the app, found it was not functioning, and pointed this out to the front desk. The front desk told us that they were aware that the app did not work (Q: Then why direct us to the app in the first place?). We had a wonderful stay and were happy with the trip. It was our first visit to Cozumel and we were VERY happy with the airport and transportation (relative to Cancun). We highly rec this very nice resort and we will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melia Cozumel, Director General at Melia Cozumel
Responded Jul 21, 2021
Dear KentuckyKen, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled to know that you had a wonderful stay at our Melia Cozumel and that you and your family were pampered and taken care of by our accommodating staff. A special mention will be made to chef Francisco for his attention to detail and kind service toward you and your family dietary needs. We also appreciate your comments about the situation you had with our inhouse application, we are testing it and will soon be fixed and running properly. We will be honored to host you again soon. Best regards Guest Service Center Management
Read more
Gregory A wrote a review Yesterday
Ely, Nevada4 contributions5 helpful votes
This is not the resort you think it is! At best I would rate it at a two star resort. The property is old and run down and needs a ton of repairs in every area. I will start by saying that I have been staying in all inclusive resorts for over ten years three times each year so I have a good idea of what a five star resort looks like and what is to be expected. I will give kudos to the front line workers they are friendly and work hard at their jobs. The management and the policy’s of the hotel are definitely misleading to the public booking at this resort. Very limited accommodations fir (level) guests Bali beds and chairs on the beach. If you are not level guests you will not have any service on the beach ie drinks food or anything else for that matter and if you are a level guest and don’t have a Bali bed you also will not have any service on the beach. Level guest drinks in the level lounge consists of about maybe 10 bottles of better liquor than is served at all the bars and I can tell you it’s far from premium top shelf liquor. Now the food I’m not really a picky eater but your choice of two restaurants Molé and the Fish House have very limited choices and the quality is about as good as Applebees at best! As for the buffet the quality of food and the choices are super limited and about as good as Golden Corral or hometown buffet. The grounds are very run down if you really look if your in a big hurry you might not notice but your paying a lot of money and they should be paying attention to detail as for construction and repairs as well as landscaping during daylight hours this is not Acceptable inconveniencing your guests while they are on vacation with any of that stuff is just wrong. Now the beach and ocean people do your homework before booking the beach has nice soft white sand and minimal rocks if any if your a morning walker or runner don’t get your hopes up! The ocean….. wait for it no it looks nothing like their webpage it’s been photoshopped the beach to the south in front of el cozumello is pretty and turquoise colored the water in front of Meliá was sewage colored for five of the seven days that we were there it did clear up for two days to a ginger ale color that was clear that’s not to say that it doesn’t get better than that at different time of year ie thanksgiving or Xmas as I’m sure it’s better. All in all the best I can give this resort is two stars but I want to give Cesar and Gerardo at the Pool concierge desk and Oscar at the bar all five stars and congratulate them with their professionalism and hard work you made a bad stay a bit better. Personally I would never book this resort again but had to because our resort burned down the day we got there and this was our only alternative…. So buyers beware! Cheers!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dream30211968579 wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
Great - very attentive staff, cleanliness of physical buildings, house keeping, availabilities of lounge chairs at pools and beach, grounds well kept, and resort is close to airport, Good- food (not alot of choice but tasty), drinks ok. Size of resort (everything close by). Bad - beach (no control by the hotel but the beach is not nice. Water is often very dark brown (not sargass related). However, you can walk over to the very crowded hotel next door for aquarium-like swimming. Cleanliness of beach (hotel control, often left over drinks, cans, plates from previous day), beds (way too soft -everyone that i travelled with complained), activities for kids 10-15. Kids club was geared for young children. Pools (very small). Kids pool had many, many kids and parents swimming. Resort is good for families with small children, or adults who want a very quiet retreat. Do not book if you want a very active resort or one with many food choices. Overall, we did not pay a fortune therefore i am please with cost/quality.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melia Cozumel, Director General at Melia Cozumel
Responded today
Dear Dream30211968579, Thank you for sharing your experience. We regret to know that your stay was less than ideal and that you and your family did not enjoy our beach and pool areas. Regarding to the water, revolving currents sometimes make this area a little murky and not clean due to the mangrove area on the far end of the beach. We will reinforce our beach cleaning brigades to make sure our guests have a relaxing time in this area. We also appreciate your suggestions on the daily activities offer to children and teens. Our activities managers are now working on proper improvements to our daily agenda. We will love to host you again to show you the improvements we will be making. Best regards Guest Service Center Management
Read more
SJP17110 wrote a review Aug 10
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania3 contributions
We spent a week at Melia and had an amazing time. There was something for all of the kids to do (ages 8-12). The property was the perfect size- large enough to have choices on where to hang out but small enough that we felt comfortable with the kids exploring on their own. A huge shout out to the activities center. Roger was THE BEST. He got the kids (and the adults!) involved in activities and made sure we were all having fun. David and Geovanni were excellent, too! Another highlight for us was The Level. We loved the breakfast in the Fish House. The servers were so attentive and spoiled us. We used the Bali beds and Cesar took great care of us. Tony, Jorge, and Julio were so helpful getting us reservations and answering our questions. The drinks and snacks in the Level building were a nice treat. The restaurants were good. We liked the Mexican one the best- the steak was so good! The kids loved the buffet and would go throughout the day to grab a snack or eat lunch. The snack bar was perfect for an easy lunch that we would take back to the beach. The servers at all the restaurants were very attentive, particularly Humberto and Gabriel. The property is beautiful and the beach was the best- large, soft sand, never crowded and always had loungers available. The ocean wasn't always clear but it never stopped us from going in. Overall, we had a fantastic time and would go back. We loved the property size and set up, the sunsets, and most of all, the people who worked there.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melia Cozumel, Director General at Melia Cozumel
Responded yesterday
Dear Sjp17110, Thank you for sharing your experience We appreciate your kind words directed to Tony, Jorge, Julio, Humberto, and Gabriel. Without any doubt, all of them were a significant part of your experience with their great attention to detail and their tailored service. Please be sure that your notes will be transferred to them as they deserve to know their daily effort is well appreciated by our guests, continuing to provide excellent service to all our visitors. We will be honored to host you again soon to continue exceeding your expectations. Best regards Guest Service Center Management
Read more
Tim Havard wrote a review Aug 8
1 contribution
Had a great week at Melia Cozumel and the children said it was their best beach holiday ever. This was in great part down to the facilities and the food and drinks services suited their needs. The basic restaurant is fine and the specialty seafood restaurant a great plus, although you do need to book nit a couple of days in advance. The room was comfortable and clean and the beach ideal for kids. I would also like to highlight the friendliness and availability of the staff in the restaurant who go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. I was particularly impressed by Jorge Barajas who made a special effort to make sure we were comfortable and well served. All in all, a great time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melia Cozumel, Director General at Melia Cozumel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Timbo20061961, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy to know you had a great time at our beautiful resort while you were pampered and taken care of by our amazing staff. We will let Jorge know about the wonderful service and attention provided by him during your stay. We will be honored to host you again soon. Best regards
Read more
Lisalark11 wrote a review Aug 4
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania3 contributions
We had an amazing week at Melia Cozumel! Will definitely return. We did the Level option and it was so worth it. The breakfast restaurant specifically for Level, the Bali Beds, amazing ocean front room, incredibly helpful people for Level guests including Cesar, Tony, and Jorge took great care of us. We traveled with 3 kids - 8, 12, and 14. All had a wonderful time all week. So many activities to keep them busy. Special shout out to the Incredible Roger who our kids loved. And we did too! David and Geovanni were awesome too. Some sargassum but we could still swim in the ocean every day and a short walk to the beach next door for crystal clear water and snorkeling. Didn’t impact our trip at all. Food was great, people couldn’t have been nicer. Definitely recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Bring snorkels and masks, level grand premium room was perfect for my family!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melia Cozumel, Director General at Melia Cozumel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Lisalark11, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy to know you had a great time at our beautiful resort while you were pampered and taken care of by our amazing staff. Cesar, Tony, Jorge, David, and Geovanni will be honored to know they were a significant part of your stay with their attention to detail and kind service. We look forward to hosting you again to continue exceeding your expectations. Best regards Guest Service Center Management
Read more
robinfro1 wrote a review Aug 2
Sallisaw, Oklahoma11 contributions1 helpful vote
As far as the resort itself, people and rooms we don’t have a bad thing to say. However. We have been to a lot of all inclusive resorts across the Caribbean and know resort food is resort food but this was the worse we’ve ever had. Nothing green and no salad at all. The food selections were the same everyday and limited. Very bland! Nothing was labeled so we had to guess at what some of it was which caused wasted food. We tried the hamburgers In the snack bar and the worst hamburger meat I’ve eaten. Breakfast is hard to mess up but instead of sausage or bacon on the buffet they had hot dogs. Not sure why hot dogs but that’s what was there. The last day we saw someone ask for bacon and they did cook them some but that was the last day and they sure don’t let you know it’s an option. After trying the buffet twice and the snack bar we had to take a taxi Into town for every meal Which got pricey. No matter how much we like the resort bad food changes the whole experience. There were 5 of us so it wasn’t like just one didn’t like it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melia Cozumel, Director General at Melia Cozumel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Robinfro1, Thank you for sharing your experience. We truly regret to read that your stay was not ideal due to your experience with the food options at our restaurants. We have shared your useful comments and suggestions with our food and beverage managers and chefs for them to start working on options for our breakfasts and lunch buffets. On the other hand we are happy to know you were pampered and taken care of by our amazing staff. We will love to host you again to show you the improvements we will be making. Best regards Guest Service Center Management
Read more
Don B wrote a review Aug 2
2 contributions
This was my first trip to Mexico. We had a wonderful time. The rooms were nice and comfortable. There are 2 pools, an adult pool (with a bar) and a family pool. There are activities for the children as well as the adults. It’s only a 10 min ride to town for shopping. The town has plenty of activities as well. We did a chocolate and wine tasting, also swimming with rays and sharks. They have a buffet, snack bar, and 2 restaurants. (The restaurants require reservations) I liked eating in the buffet because Jesus was wonderful, taking care of all our needs. He was very friendly and helpful. WHEN I return I will be heading to the buffet to see Jesus!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melia Cozumel, Director General at Melia Cozumel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Donboothroyd, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy to know you had a wonderful first visit to Mexico and that you have enjoyed the kind service and great attention provided by our staff. We will be more than happy to host you again soon to continue exceeding your expectations. Best regards Guest Service Center Management
Read more
rdeitz wrote a review Aug 1
Placerville, California55 contributions43 helpful votes
We stayed at the Melia the last week of July and had 4 people. They put our rooms next to each other as we requested. The resort is the northern most one on the island - no hotels or business's next to it north. So not many crowds except for the hotel guest. Great snorkeling next to it, great isolated no crowd walks north. The food was very good at the buffet, the other choices where a reservation was required were good on one (the Mexican), average on the other (Fish Market). Always able to get a seat, great staff. My one bedroom was plenty big enough with kitchen, nice deck with hot tub on it, two TV's (had to get them to program English on them when I checked in which they did promptly). But spent most of the time outside anyway. Great restaurant walking distance the Lobster House 1/2 mile down the road. Highly recommended.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melia Cozumel, Director General at Melia Cozumel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Rdeitz, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy to know you had a great time at our beautiful resort while you were pampered and taken of by our amazing staff and enjoyed our delicious restaurants. We will gladly shared your comments with all our staff who will be thrilled to know they were a significant part of your stay. Be certain that we will continue offering the level of service our guests are accustomed to in your visits to come. Best regards Guest Service Center Management
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$197 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
melia cozumel all inclusive golf & beach hotel cozumel, melia cozumel all inclusive golf and beach resort, sol melia cozumel, cozumel sol melia, resort melia cozumel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Meliá Vacation Club Cozumel All Inclusive
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooCozumel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
147
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Melia Cozumel
Which popular attractions are close to Melia Cozumel?
Nearby attractions include San Juan Reef (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Melia Cozumel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Melia Cozumel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Melia Cozumel?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Melia Cozumel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Melia Cozumel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Buccanos at Night, Fernando Junior's Lobster House, and Beachclub Buccanos Bar & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Melia Cozumel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Melia Cozumel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Melia Cozumel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Melia Cozumel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Melia Cozumel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting San Gervasio Mayan Archaeological Site (3.9 miles).