We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Avenida 55 sur # 140 Between Calle 1 and Adolfo Rosado Salas, Cozumel 77666 Mexico
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity$50
Hotels.com$50
FindHotel$50
Orbitz.com$50
Tripadvisor$50
Traveluro
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (223)
Pool & Beach (36)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 03/25/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel
Updated 03/25/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 44 in Cozumel
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Value
4.9
Our focus is on cleanliness and your personal comfort. Our goal: Ensure you have a great vacation. We look forward to meeting you!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Snorkeling
Taxi service
Full body massage
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Massage
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / closet
Oven
Stovetop
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
78Somewhat walkable
Grade: 78 out of 100
32Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
416Reviews6Q+A48Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 406
  • 4
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kimmy E wrote a review Jun 22
8 contributions
Our first stay at a property in town in Cozumel. We usually opt for resorts on the water. What a great choice! The beauty and peacefulness of the property cannot be captured with pictures and words. You must see it for yourself! The owner, Hannah, is awesome. She makes you feel at home with her homemade breakfasts and great conversations. Bonita and Taylor, the 4-legged hosts, helped us not miss our pups at home as much. We met some lovely ex-pats who have chosen to make Cozumel their home...all gave us good/new advice about the island. We can't wait to visit again.....and enjoy the morning turtle parade.....
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We stayed in the Serenity Room...it was a good choice!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Neufeld, Owner at Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you Kimmie! We SO enjoyed your stay with us as well and are looking forward to seeing you both again. All the best, Hannah and all the girls at Baldwin's
Read more
Lex wrote a review Jun 7
San Antonio, Texas1 contribution
I stayed at Baldwin’s house for a couple of days at the recommendation of a fellow patient family member from a Hospital nearby. I had been in Cozumel for a month and a half and I’m so happy that I got to stay here towards the end. It is such a beautiful property full of life and with two lovely dogs, one which gave me lots of company at a time of need. Hannah the property manager is excellent, she was responsive and kind. I definitely wish I had stayed here earlier! If we return to Cozumel I am definitely staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Neufeld, Owner at Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you SO much Lex! It was a pleasure to have you.... and Bobo misses you! We do hope to see you again. all the best, Hannah and all the girls at Baldwin's
Read more
Sandy F wrote a review Apr 2022
13 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
We’re just headed home after a wonderful week at Baldwin’s Guest House! We found the lodgings just perfect for us - we rented the casita. It was very clean and very comfortable. But perhaps the best part was the warm and gracious hospitality provided by Owner-Hannah. We even enjoyed lots of puppy-love from the two pups who greet every guest. We feel so lucky to have found this little jewel in Cozumel, and look forward to returning. The big all-inclusive resorts were unappealing to us, and staying at Baldwin’s, with an inexpensive rental car, was perfect. Lots of sun, smiles, privacy, and excellent restaurants nearby. If you’re looking forward to experiencing the real Cozumel, Baldwin’s is a jewel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Neufeld, Owner at Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for the review Sandy! We look forward to seeing you again too. Love from Hannah and all the girls at Baldwins!
Read more
Stefan D wrote a review Feb 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I sit here outside the casita with a tranquil waterfall and fountain soothing my spirit I can only think of when I might return. This is a little piece of what I imagine heaven might be. If you want five star luxury and everything to be perfect you probably shouldn’t be here. If you want an authentic local experience this place is your launching pad. Steps away is very thing from a high end restaurant (Casa Mission) to some remarkable authentic affordable Mexican food. It’s a bit of a hike to the downtown (1.2 km or a 50 peso cab ride) but really why do you even need to go there, this neighborhood has everything and at a significantly lower cost. Our host, Hannah, has genuine interest in making your stay both comfortable and friendly. Her breakfasts are great (hot item and fruit, yoghurt, juice and coffee/tea). A communal breakfast and happy hour gives you a chance to connect with the other 8 or so guests staying on site. Stories and suggestions are exchanged and the days experiences are shared. Yes the pool is chilly, but gets some great sunshine. Taylor and Bonita, the resident pups, are great and friendly. Some other friends might include a turtle, iguana and some gecko’s. Yep want something other than that manufactured resort experience? Willing to accept that it is not silk sheets and turndown service? Then you’ll be fine staying here. Please don’t tell too many people. After all this place is unique and I wouldn’t want it over run by a bunch of people who can’t appreciate it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Neufeld, Owner at Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel
Responded Mar 2, 2022
Thank you Stef and Pat! It was truly a delight to have you both! We look forward to the day that you return. Tay and Bo send licks and kisses and I send my warmest wishes. All the best, Hannah
Read more
Penny B wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
We had a medical emergency while on a cruise and ended up disembarking in Cozumel. While my husband was in ICU the hospital recommended Baldwin’s Guest House. I was very reluctant to go but I’m so glad I did. Baldwin’s Guest House is clean and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful. I loved the hammocks and the pool had a beautiful waterfall wall. Ms. Hannah makes an excellent breakfast you want be disappointed. If you’re a dog lover then there is a bonus here. Her dogs Bonita and Taylor love meeting new guests. Hannah was very helpful with lots of information. If I ever return to Cozumel this is definitely the place I would plan to stay. Thank you Ms. Hannah
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Neufeld, Owner at Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel
Responded Feb 13, 2022
Thank you Penny! It was a delight to have you here and we hope to see you again--- for a vacation next time? All the best, Hannah and the girls at Baldwin's.
Read more
Tim G wrote a review Feb 2022
Los Angeles, California2 contributions
I never knew I had a long lost aunt in Cozumel but that's how I felt Hannah was. My family and I stayed in the Peace Room for 6 days. Hannah was great and provided great advice while we were there to make our stay pleasant. Please keep in mind she is only one one person and picture her as your aunt who will do everything possible to make sure you have a great stay BUT she still has a job that she does during the day. If you want somebody to wait on you hand and foot this is probably not the place for you but if you want to get a great deal on a place but are pretty laid back this is the perfect place. Despite being one person, she does a good job making sure you have everything you need and being available outside of working hours. She does have helpers like a cleaning lady and a pool guy who come and do things but it really is just her aside from that. The place is safe, the breakfast she makes is delicious, the beds are comfy. She takes great pride in her place and it shows when you walk in there. There is an extra plus if you are dog people because her dogs, Taylor and Bonita, are very loving. Some other suggestions: Make sure to check out Mister Taco for dinner while there since it's down the street. The place is a short 10-15 minutes walk to downtown and Aki grocery store is only a couple minutes walk as well. If you rent a car, parking is fairly easy on the street. Oh yeah and there's a medical facility down the street so it was very easy to get our COVID tests done before we flew home.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Neufeld, Owner at Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel
Responded Feb 13, 2022
Thanks so much! It was a pleasure to have you and your family here and we hope to see you again. All the best, Hannah, Taylor and Bonita (the pups send licks ... especially for your daughter).
Read more
rbrinson13 wrote a review Feb 2022
Atlanta, Georgia4 contributions3 helpful votes
We were on a cruise and my roomy got really sick so we had to get off the boat in Cozumel. i was so scared, one because my friend is in ICU and two my biggest fear is being in a foreign country by myself. i hadn't slept in 30 hrs and hadn't eaten either.. long story short the hospital told me about Baldwins, i was afraid to leave the hospital but when they told me this place had dogs I went reluctantly. when I got there Hannah was soooo nice. the place was beautiful and the dogs were darling. she made me feel right at home. the food was good and the rooms were nice even the bathrooms were great. i am going back for sure. oh did I mention there are 40 turtles on the property. way cool
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: the front room was cool
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Neufeld, Owner at Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel
Responded Feb 9, 2022
Thank you so very much! It was my pleasure to have you stay with us and we will see you sometime in the fall! XXXX Hannah and the girls at Baldwin's
Read more
Larry F wrote a review Jan 2022
Florence, Oregon2774 contributions444 helpful votes
+1
We had really high expectations based on the TripAdvisor reviews. We were disappointed and would not book here again. The property is in an older section of Cozumel and the basic layout of this property is good but the facilities are old, rundown, tired, frayed and in need of repairs and renovations. The rooms were not very clean. Rugs were dirty. Washcloth was soiled. We had three different rooms that each had water temperature or water pressure problems that Hannah just talked over. She made excuses that we learned later were disingenuous at best. For example when we had no hot water to shower she claimed the entire lodging and all rooms shared a common hot water system. As it turned out, many of the rooms have individual small hot water heaters. Our Peace room had no such water heater so we switched rooms. Our friends in the cottage also had cold showers even after a water heater element repair because those small heaters don’t prepare enough hot water for even one shower. The ceilings in the rooms are heavily patched due to spalling concrete and a small section dropped out of the entrance ceiling area while we were there. Careful examination indicates that the rebar has rusted out in the buildings concrete ceilings and we would not like that dropping on our heads while sleeping or occupying our rooms. These areas have already been patched and painted, basically a cosmetic repair. Our mattresses were comfortable but bed linens were yellowed, frayed, etc. not the type of bedding you would expect at any BnB. Last of all we freely admit that we are not dog people. We did note that Hannah has two dogs, Bonita and Taylor. She dearly loves these dogs and if you are a dog person you will no doubt be happy to have them constantly jumping up on you, pawing you, licking your legs or trying to share your breakfast. We did not. We expected that the dogs would be trained and they were not. We had to fight them off all week. As world travelers having posted hundreds of TA reviews this property is only a 2 star at best. We can compliment Hannah on some tasty breakfasts while we were there. The lodging is basically next to the Costamed Hospital so Covid tests were quick and easy for our return flight.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Book elsewhere!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
cew2A wrote a review Jan 2022
Somers, New York67 contributions27 helpful votes
Baldwin's Guesthouse is a lovely oasis in Cozumel - the gardens are beautiful with many exotic plants and orchids, there are hummingbirds and a beautiful and relaxing outdoor space for guests including a swimming pool, lounge area, outdoor kitchen plus a whole area set aside for scuba divers with a rinse tank and places to hang your gear to dry. Hannah the owner is very accommodating and even though I have been to Cozumel over 15 times - I found out so much new from her - including the cheapest car rental place on the island. Hannah is a wealth of information and this is a good place to stay to find out more of the ins and outs of Cozumel then a large resort. Breakfasts are great and the Guesthouse is located near some wonderful restaurants, including 2 taco places that have great food and reasonable prices and Casa Mission, which is a reasonably priced restaurant for a grand night out Things to consider: - Beautiful and quiet rooms. The bed was extremely comfortable. - Wifi worked great. - It is about a 15 minute walk into town - pretty much a straight shot down the closest avenue right to the center of town. Hannah will also call a taxi for you too! - There are two absolutely adorable dogs - who I still miss. - Hannah is extremely accommodating and a wealth of info. - Breakfasts are great - with fruit, yogurt, eggs and some meat if you like. Coffee was also plentiful - which is very important to me. - You will see hummingbirds which are only indigenous to Cozumel - absolutely beautiful. - There is a reading library of absolutely great books! - She has beer you can drink for $1.50 and payment is in an honor system.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Neufeld, Owner at Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel
Responded Jan 25, 2022
Thank you SO much!! Taylor and Bonita miss you too... as we all do. We hope to see you again at Baldwin's Guest House! All the best, Hannah
Read more
Sightseer155329 wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I wanted to leave a review for the Baldwin guest house . 55 Avenida Sur 140 Adolfo Lopez Mateos, 77600 San Miguel de Cozumel QR. The proprietor is Hannah Neufeild She is an expat from the US. . The facility is safe ,clean, and fairly convenient . It’s within a decent walking distance from the Centrol . Breakfast is provided and was not fancy but very tasty . The price is very reasonable 85.00 US plus breakfast . I feel that it needs to be stated that this facility does not follow Covid protocol . I arrived assuming (my mistake ) that the owner was vaccinated and expected the guests to also be vaccinated . This was Not the case . While a respect the right of others to do as they see fit I also think operating a guest house should provide a safe environment for the guests . This was definitely not the case . At the minimum, it should be stated prior to arrival that the Covid protocol isn’t followed so I could decide if I was willing to put myself at risk . I arrived and was informed that nothing was in place … no vaccination requirements . To me that was a huge negative . I feel as a guest I was put at risk . The proprietor at times was abrupt , dismissive , and argumentative. . This being said , when we discussed this she refunded one night stay which was appreciated . My take away … I would not stay at Baldwin Guest House again . My stay on Cozumel was wonderful though . The people are wonderful , accommodating and the food …. Oh my god !Delicious ! I would highly recommend a massage therapist named Fina Perez. She will come to you . 90 minutes . 60.00. Contact info: 987-107-87 18 Very professional, excellent skills! We used an awesome private tour guide several days on the island . Elvis Jeminez. You can find him on FB. Perfect English ! Local person ! Shared lots of interesting info about Cozumel . Very reasonable !
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Neufeld, Owner at Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel
Responded Jan 25, 2022
I am so sorry you felt this way Nianne! If you had asked before you booked the room I would have told you that there are no vaccination requirements on Cozumel.... .we do follow COVID Protocols for Mexico. Here is the protocol ---Resorts and hotels are also required to implement specific cleanliness and sanitation protocols established by the Mexican federal government, and monitored by local authorities -- stated on the Mexican Tourism Board website. All the best to you and Ellen Dee, Hannah
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$50 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
baldwin`s guest house cozumel hotel cozumel
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooCozumel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel
Which popular attractions are close to Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel?
Nearby attractions include Galo Art Studio Cozumel Art (0.2 miles) and Parque Arqueologico (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pescaderia San Carlos, Casa Mission Restaurant, and Mister Taco.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Cozumel.
Are there any historical sites close to Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting San Gervasio Mayan Archaeological Site (0.5 miles).