We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pyramid at Grand Oasis

Save
Share
Boulevard Kukulcan Km 16.5, Cancun 77500 Mexico
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
12 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$251
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/06/22
Booking.com
$251
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/06/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$263
$189
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/13/22
Hotels.com$251
Travelocity$251
getaroom.com$263
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2906)
Pool & Beach (467)
Dining (251)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 05/14/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Pyramid at Grand Oasis
Updated 05/14/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#68 of 263 hotels in Cancun
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Newly renovated, The Pyramid is located next to its sister resort, the Grand Oasis Cancun, and offers guests a new and lavish way to experience Cancun and connect with the Mayan spirit. Its unique building stands majestically on the longest beach in Cancun, and features the longest pool in Cancun.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Kids club
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
Spanish

Location

Full view
78Somewhat walkable
Grade: 78 out of 100
12Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
3Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2855Reviews617Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,651
  • 524
  • 250
  • 170
  • 260
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Melissa Vincent-Cruiseplanners wrote a review Jul 2021
DeRidder, Louisiana143 contributions56 helpful votes
+1
I am a travel advisor that was traveling with friends for a girls trip. Here are the key things that stood out for me: black band is everything. It gave us access to the better restaurants like White Box, Careyes, and Benazuza. Each of those meals were an experience and so much fun. We were on the 4th floor of the Pyramid with an ocean view. The grounds were clean and well maintained with lots of peacocks and iguanas. Our room was supposed to be a double and they only had a king. The room smelled musty and was dated but was clean, bed was comfortable and the balcony was nice to sit out on and drink coffee in the morning. The pools were nice and clean, water temp was great for July. Beach was hard to get to and with all the seaweed we mainly stayed at the pool. If you don’t have the black band you’re gonna get subpar food and long lines. We never had our fridges restocked or water brought to us. Only bar that had good drinks was Fountainbleu. No blended drinks and limited types of cocktails, though the mojitos were amazing! The lobby is hot but our room a/c kept us comfortable at night. It’s probably not a place I would send clients unless they wanted minimal budget and understand they are staying at a Walmart level resort. But we had some good servers and the food was amazing at Benazuza. Make your reservation for that on the very first night! It’s worth it. Definitely more of a spring break party hotel, they did have dancing/live music on certain nights but honestly it was pretty quiet by 10pm. COVID testing was easy and done quickly.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Get the black band!!! Not worth staying there if you don’t. It upgrades you to the premier...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Service, Director General at The Pyramid at Grand Oasis
Responded today
Dear Melissa, Thank you for your kind words. It gives us great pleasure to know that you had such a great time during your stay with us, it was an honor having you as a guest. Likewise, our staff works really hard to make every single one of our guests feel at home and make sure they have an amazing experience, be assured that we will congratulate our staff for the excellent work they performed. We would be honored to welcome you again on your next vacation. Best Regards, Ricardo de la Paz
Read more
Belinda V wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions
Just spent a week at this resort celebrating our 31st Anniversary. We had a really nice time. Check-in was smooth, luggage was delivered to the room. We went straight out to the pool. The grounds were beautiful, well maintained. The peacocks are beautiful! Many food choices, no complaints there. Of course there are waits to get into some but that's expected. The food was good. Spent time in the casino, it's small but we had fun. Didn't like the fact that drinks are extra in the casino when they're included everywhere else so we just went the bar and came back. One negative, the water was not restocked in our refrigerator but other than that we enjoyed our stay and will be back again!! The bartenders at Fountainbleu were great!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Service, Director General at The Pyramid at Grand Oasis
Responded today
Dear Belinda, Thank you for your kind words. It gives us great pleasure to know that you had such a great time during your stay with us, it was an honor having you as a guest. Likewise, our staff works really hard to make every single one of our guests feel at home and make sure they have an amazing experience, be assured that we will congratulate our staff for the excellent work they performed. We would be honored to welcome you again on your next vacation. Best Regards, Ricardo de la Paz
Read more
Sharpe5353 wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions
Let’s start by saying we have been to Mexico multiple times, the Dominican, and Aruba and I would give this resort 0 stars. This is the worst resort we’ve been to and doesn’t deserve the rating here or on apple trust me. Trying to find bottled water is almost impossible and even when you request it to your room good luck getting it. The main bar inside will give you one per person if they have it. One bartender per outside bar so the lines are long and slow. The guys that were offering to get us drinks we’re putting our drinks in the same dirty buckets they were using to carry dirty cups back yo the bar and they barely make an effort to clean the plastic cups they use. Not too COVID safe! We had a diabetic that couldn’t get orange juice in his room for emergencies even though multiple calls were made every day asking for it and explained why he needed it. No apology will ever make this right and the management should be ashamed. Room service said they would get him oj but he had to be in the room to accept it and they never showed. Almost every night the building I was in smelled like raw sewage in the foyer and hallway. When telling others our shower water would got hot cold hot cold on its own they said at least your water comes out clean. The only good meals we had were at the White box, the staff in there was great. Went to Bahia Steakhouse, it was full of smoke like the vent hood in the kitchen was broke, filet’s, ribeye, flank Steak, and NY strips were ordered and every plate came out with the same crappy piece of meat on it. We couldn’t even eat it. Glad I waited to submit this as a few days later we have multiple COVID cases in our group now that we are home. TRUST AN EXPERIENCED TRAVELER DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY HERE!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Service, Director General at The Pyramid at Grand Oasis
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest, First of all thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your experience, we are sorry that our services didn't satisfy your expectations, moreover we want you to know that hearing to our guest always help us to improve our services and to avoid this kind of situations to happen again, once again we are sorry for the inconvenience and thank you for helping us to improve. Rest assured that we are passing the information to each department to follow up the inconveniences that you kindly provided us. By last, you can send us a mail to info@oasishoteles.com with the name at which the reservation was made, the dates you were staying and your room number, to explain more widely the points you mention and give you a formal answer. We would like to reiterate the promise we make to all of our guests in regards to keeping them safe and secure, and we are at your complete disposal for any future clarifications that you may need. Kind Regards, Ricardo de la Paz
Read more
Macy V wrote a review Jul 2021
Minneapolis, Minnesota3 contributions3 helpful votes
IF YOU LIKE EATING, DRINKING, OR HAVING ANY SORT OF FUN.. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY HERE. This was hands down probably the worst 6 days of my life. And undoubtedly the worst "vacation" I've ever been on. Most importantly, I would just like to say that their website is painfully inaccurate. The only thing about it that is even remotely close to being true is that they are in fact on a beach, and that there is a pool. However, the pool(s) are missing tons of tiles, so it is easy to cut your feet. Which is especially alarming as the water appeared gross and dirty. There are ZERO swim-up bars on this property even though the website boasts 3. The website also advertises a golf course with unlimited golfing. THERE IS NO GOLF COURSE. The site also promises an abundance of delicious restaurants and bars. I wish I was joking when I said that the food was completely inedible. I traveled with 5 other women on this trip and we all were sick from the food. We ended up eating one meal a day and that was dinner off of the premises of the resort. (THAT'S RIGHT WE PAID EXTRA $$ TO GET AWAYFROM THIS RESORT EVERY SINGLE NIGHT) All of the "meat" being served was either grey in color or visibly rancid/expired. Even the tortilla chips were stale and like eating a piece of Styrofoam. That's right. Inedible tortilla chips. In Mexico. Pathetic. Don't even get me started on the alcohol. All of the alcohol was either watered down or like drinking straight acetone. There were no blended beverages which was another HUGE disappointment. One beer on tap and it tasted like Luke-warm urine. no wines or brand-name alcohol. Once again, would not eat or drink at this resort. Which is horrendous being that it has somehow maintained its "all-inclusive" status. The property as a whole was run-down and poorly taken care of. Rooms were musty smelling and warm. Air conditioning was subpar at best. No hot water, and forget getting anything re-stocked in your room. Including bottles of water. staff was BEYOND rude and essentially useless. Getting a covid test at the resort was a nightmare and took about 2 hours longer than it should have. No signs, no one there to help, or assist, or even point you in the right direction as the actual testing was not even in he immediate hotel. But rather the next building over. When asking a staff member for directions to the covid testing site, she merely rolled her eyes, scoffed, and gave a weak finger point in a vague direction. LASTLY, the cherry on top of this absolute nightmare. My group and i were assaulted by other guests of the resort and the staff did NOTHING. Nothing to prevent, mediate, break up, resolve, or compensate for what had happened. I INSISTED that the assailants be removed from the resort, and they were not. I requested financial compensation as I spent my last day being attacked and talking to staff members. Nothing was granted. THIS RESORT DOES NOT CARE ABOUT YOU OR YOUR SAFETY!!!!!! Lets just say the only good part about my experience in Cancun this time around was getting on my flight back to the US. STEER CLEAR. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS $H!T HOLE, DUMP OF A PLACE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Rooms in a different resort
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Service, Director General at The Pyramid at Grand Oasis
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Macy, First of all thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your experience, we are sorry that our services didn't satisfy your expectations, moreover we want you to know that hearing to our guest always help us to improve our services and to avoid this kind of situations to happen again, once again we are sorry for the inconvenience and thank you for helping us to improve. Rest assured that we are passing the information to each department to follow up the inconveniences that you kindly provided us. By last, you can send us a mail to info@oasishoteles.com with the name at which the reservation was made, the dates you were staying and your room number, to explain more widely the points you mention and give you a formal answer. We would like to reiterate the promise we make to all of our guests in regards to keeping them safe and secure, and we are at your complete disposal for any future clarifications that you may need. Kind Regards, Ricardo de la Paz
Read more
Becky M wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
I have never been to a resort where the staff was more unhelpful at best and downright hostile at worst. Anytime I asked a staff member for help or directions, they would barely look at me and then mumble something about a non-existent "information desk." When we checked in, they could only find one of our room reservations (we had three) so it took them a while to get that sorted it. They charge you $150 if you lose your plastic wrist band. I could understand that if it was linked to your room number but it is nothing other than a piece of plastic. They only have a couple of bars open so every time you want a drink you have to wait in a huge line for drinks that only has one bartender. Don't get me started on the alcohol, most of it tasted like acetone. The food was not much better. The pool temperature is pretty much bath water and there are no swim up bars. We got a junior suite and were told we would have a whirlpool on our balcony. No such thing happened. Overall the service is horrible and the amenities are cut-rate. The only people that should say here are college kids on spring break.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Service, Director General at The Pyramid at Grand Oasis
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Becky, We appreciate the time you took to share your comments with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. In the same way, your safety and well-being is of paramount importance to us and with that in mind, we would like to let you know that we are very devoted to our guests, and the staff is committed to understand, help and satisfy all of your needs. Thank you for letting us know the inconveniences you had so we can enforce and improve the service, as your comfort and satisfaction are really important to us. It is important for you to know that every time you have a setback at the hotel you can contact our managers or customer service staff to solve any setbacks you might have so we can do a proper follow-up. Best Regards, Ricardo de la Paz
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$217 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooCancun
NUMBER OF ROOMS
323
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Pyramid at Grand Oasis
Which popular attractions are close to The Pyramid at Grand Oasis?
Nearby attractions include Party Rockers Cancun (0.2 miles), Chicabal Sunset Club (0.2 miles), and Ginza Night Club (0.02 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Pyramid at Grand Oasis?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Pyramid at Grand Oasis?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Pyramid at Grand Oasis?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Pyramid at Grand Oasis?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Pyramid at Grand Oasis?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Benazuza, Condimento Restaurant, and Rosato Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Pyramid at Grand Oasis?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does The Pyramid at Grand Oasis have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Pyramid at Grand Oasis offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Pyramid at Grand Oasis?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Pyramid at Grand Oasis offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Pyramid at Grand Oasis?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Zona Arqueologica El Rey (0.3 miles) and Scorpion’s Temple (2.4 miles).