We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Retorno Del Dey Km14 Mz 53 Lote 37-1 Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500 Mexico
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (7186)
Pool & Beach (1690)
Room & Suite (1153)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sandos Cancun
Updated 07/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#47 of 271 hotels in Cancun
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Special diet menus
Gift shop
Room types
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Charming

Location

Full view
84Good for walkers
Grade: 84 out of 100
27Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
3Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
8134Reviews501Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 5,500
  • 1,477
  • 595
  • 289
  • 273
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mary Helen H wrote a review Aug 7
1 contribution
Juan was a million 2 Juan! so much for being so attentive , nice and patient! Ty Juan for being so nice to us even though we came in late . We could not even tell how it was the end of his shift because he worked so stinking hard
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
kimtjack wrote a review Aug 5
Coventry, United Kingdom4 contributions
Great service from the lovely cecilia in the zango restaurant, pleasant and polite,very helpful. Beautiful hotel , lots of entertainment in the day and evenings, food not the greatest in the evenings but restaurants are lovely,
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Web Relations Cancun, Director General at Sandos Cancun
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Kim,

 We appreciate the time you have taken to write this review regarding your recent stay in Sandos Cancún.

While we are very appreciative of your positive comments, we would like to extend an apology for any inconvenience that may have arisen during your stay, rest assured that all the specifics on your review will be taken into consideration and immediate proactive action will be taken in order to provide a better experience to future guests.

Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your stay with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable.

Hopefully you will give us an opportunity to host you in the future.

 Sincerely, Nely Santana Web Relations Sandos Cancún
Read more
Caroline S wrote a review Aug 3
1 contribution
This is by far the worst experience I had in Cancun. I travel to Cancun at least twice a year and stayed at so many resorts. Sandos is the worst I have experienced. The service was horrible - they cater to elite members only. It takes forever to get your food or drinks at any of the restaurant or pool service. Food is horrible, steaks undercooked, full of fat, very thin and tough to cut through. Buffet was non-existent, hardly any food options. No ceviche or chips and guacamole offered at any of the restaurants. 3 of my family members got sick from the food at this hotel. Staff were rude and not very helpful. Asked for an iron, never received one, asked for an umbrella - it took them over 2 hours to get one. Everything was outdated and needed to be replaced. Throw Up left in the pool and not cleaned. Daniel - at the concierge desk was extremely rude and not helpful at all. Kept giving us looks and looked like he hated his job. Entertainment staff were excellent - Jair, Sergio, and Jisel were very friendly and great entertainers. Honestly they were the only ones that made our stay enjoyable. The only other people that were friendly and helped us out were: Manuel and Martha at the Concierge desk, Erick (doorman) and Andreas.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Web Relations Cancun, Director General at Sandos Cancun
Responded 5 days ago
Dear guest, I take this opportunity to thank you for the time you have invested in sharing your review with readers of this website. I am sorry to see that related to the details you mention, our hotel and services did not meet your expectations. I assure you that we are working very hard to correct details and raise the quality of our services. At Sandos Cancun that it is not our policy absolutely. We don’t give preferential treatment to any guest over another. There are certain areas/benefits that our Royal Elite members have since they are paying a monthly membership. If we gave you that impression, I apologize. Do we offer Guacamole, Ceviche and french frieds at St. Trop restaurant near to the pool/beach area everyday. And as well at our main buffet Zango. Regarding the inconvenience with some members of your family sick, we don't have any kind of report from the guests around the hotel about something similar. We also regret that the food offered in our restaurants has not been completely to your liking, all food we process goes through the highest standards of quality control, our hotel has certification from “preverisk Group" they audit us every month, ensuring our guest the quality and hygiene of our all of our products and services; We can assure you that all food is prepared with the best and fresh products available. Thank you again for your comments and constructive criticism. Rest assured that we will continue to improve the condition of our facilities and the quality of our services. Yours sincerely, Nely Santana Web Relations Sandos Cancún
Read more
hops1972000 wrote a review Aug 2
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Ok so this place was awesome!!! Staff were fantastic. Sofia, Daniel and the team of entertainment were boundless with their energy and main staff could not have been more helpful. Rooms were cleaned well and it was a truly an all inclusive experience. Food, drink, the lot. Great trip
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Web Relations Cancun, Director General at Sandos Cancun
Responded 5 days ago
Dear guest,

 Thank you very much for your review, we are so happy to hear that the efforts and dedication of our staff made such a positive impact on your vacation. 

 Our team is truly motivated and we love to know that our guests are having wonderful experiences. 

Your comments made us so happy and so proud to work in this little piece of Paradise.

 Let us know as soon as you are ready to come back; our great team will be ready to exceed your expectations again. Sincerely, Nely Santana Web Relations Sandos Cancún
Read more
mia c wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Cecilia very helpful, while we were coming for the dinner we didn’t know what to drink. She was able to make a selection for us. She was very, great server, very politely. I will recommend her to assist us for our next vacation here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Web Relations Cancun, Director General at Sandos Cancun
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest,

 I would like to thank you for posting this kind review and sharing the wonderful experience you had during your stay. 

 We are glad to know that our services exceeded your holiday expectations. We thank you for highlighting our attributes as well as your recommendations.  

We hope to have the honor of serving you in the future.  

Kindest wishes, Nely Santana Web Relations Sandos Cancún
Read more
Travel Queen wrote a review Jul 2022
Katy, Texas9 contributions2 helpful votes
Let's start by saying if you enjoy luxury, stay far away from this place! The service was horrible and the rooms are disgusting. I never unpacked my bags I was so scared. Cracks in the walls, stains on all the lamp shades, mold near the balcony, everything needs updating. There's no entertainment at this resort so we had to leave the property to enjoy the nightlife. People who were there with kids were miserable because although they could bring kids they did nothing to entertain them. We had to get our own drinks even while in the pool, there was hardly any service. The breakfast buffet was "ok" I did enjoy being able to fix our own mimosa but there were hardly any options for non-meat eaters for sure. The hibachi was the WORST I had ever experienced and I was very disappointed. It felt rushed and you hardly could say it was a true experience. This is just a BIG NO!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Even my friend Presidential Suite was terrible
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Web Relations Cancun, Director General at Sandos Cancun
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest,

 We appreciate the time you have taken to write your review regarding your recent stay with us.

We regret that your stay was not to your liking and read that we have not met your expectations.

Sandos Cancún's mission is to create unique experiences for our guests, which we achieve by guest service and quality service that we provide constantly to make sure you enjoy your vacations.

Once again I would like to thank you for your review, it is valuable for us.

 Sincerely, Nely Santana Web Relations Sandos Cancún
Read more
Naydine L wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions4 helpful votes
Morning- I do hope most people read this. This hotel is trash! Lol. Honestly, it is. It’s a small boutique outdated hotel that seems to only cater to their “elite members”. Why someone would buy elite membership to this hole in the wall is beyond me. We spent 1 hour checking in, extremely rude staff, food is subpar, and again, unless you are elite, you’d be lucky if they offer you a glass of water at the table. I’ve traveled around the world and have never been so dissatisfied with the service and “entertainment”. Do better. We all spent money to come here. SMH.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Web Relations Cancun, Director General at Sandos Cancun
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest,

 I am very sorry to see that our hotel fell short of your personal expectations.

It is pitiful to see that nothing seem to have worked for you in our property during your stay. 

 We will work with every single head department and the staffs in general to prevent from having in our house things similar to the ones you describe which in no way are reflective of this organization.
 Warm regards, Nely Santana Web Relations Sandos Cancún
Read more
samantha m wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
we had fun at the the stretching with gisel in the morning she was nice and had a good time talking. all the games they have to play to include all the family is really good. a great family environment
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Web Relations Cancun, Director General at Sandos Cancun
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Samantha, 

I would like to thank you for posting this kind review and sharing the wonderful experience you had during your stay. 

We are glad to know that our services exceeded your holiday expectations. We thank you for highlighting our attributes as well as your recommendations. 

We hope to have the honor of serving you in the future.  

Kindest wishes, Nely Santana Web Relations Sandos Cancún
Read more
Stacey NY wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
We came with two tween girls. I was so afraid they would be bored, but the activities coordinators, Jaier, Daniel and Sofia were amazing!!! I’ve never wanted to participate in these types of activities but I’m so glad I did because I had such a blast! They paid special attention to the kids and made them feel very special! I was really worried after reading a lot of negative reviews but I can’t say enough good things about the entertainment!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Web Relations Cancun, Director General at Sandos Cancun
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,

 Thank you for those great comments and we are glad your vacation was a wonderful experience.

We make sure that our guests always receive the best service, thanks to the efforts of our employees who work diary with dedication and passion.

 We hope that it won’t be too long before you let us give you again an unforgettable experience.

 Best Regards, Nely Santana Web Relations Sandos Cancún
Read more
Pedro C wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Everything was awesome, the food , the music, the people, and the events. Came here for a family event but to be honest, I couldn't have asked for a better place to visit. I highly recommend. Shout-out to Daniel, Sofia, and Sergio for making the nights so fun!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Web Relations Cancun, Director General at Sandos Cancun
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Pedro, Thank you so much for your generous review. We are pleased to hear that you had a great time and that you found our staff to be so engaging and friendly... Specially the Entertainment team. They are exceptional members of our team and we will be sure to relay your kind words to them. It was our pleasure to host you and exceed your expectations. Once again thank you for choosing Sandos Cancun. We look forward to your next visit. Best wishes, Nely Santana Web Relations Sandos Cancún
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$276 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooCancun
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sandos Cancun
Which popular attractions are close to Sandos Cancun?
Nearby attractions include H Roof (0.2 miles), Club 91 (0.3 miles), and Playa Ballenas (0.1 miles).
What are some restaurants close to Sandos Cancun?
Conveniently located restaurants include Harry’s - Cancun, Porfirio's Cancún, and Fantino.
Are there any historical sites close to Sandos Cancun?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Zona Arqueologica El Rey (1.3 miles) and Scorpion’s Temple (1.4 miles).
Does Sandos Cancun have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.