We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula

Blvd Kukulkan, Km 5.5 Lote 6-C Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500 Mexico
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
View Deal
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (10585)
Panoramas (29)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#51 of 236 hotels in Cancun
Travelers' Choice
The 24-hour All Inclusive Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula (Adults Only area - Exclusive services for ADULTS ONLY DELUXE VILLAS guests) is open all year round and is situated right on the sandy beach of Caribbean Sea, next to the Hotel Riu Caribe. RIU Palace is the most elegant category in the RIU hotel chain, with hotels that meet the highest standards in terms of luxury, excellence and sophistication, creating a unique experience. The location is ideal due to its proximity to Cancun Airport CUN (21 km) and Cancun (5 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 562 cozily furnished rooms with free Wi-Fi and offers many amenities. Relax in our spa, or get in shape at the gym. 5 outdoor pools, 1 baby pool, RiuLand Kind's Club. Day and evening entertainment. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stationsa at our main restaurant, Japanese, Italian, Mexican, Krystal restaurants and Steakhouse, as well as 6 bars.
Read more
Room & Suite (2,247)2,247
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Private balcony
Room service
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Family rooms
Good to know
Bay View
Languages Spoken


Full view
39Car recommended
Grade: 39 out of 100
990Restaurantswithin 5 miles
190Attractionswithin 5 miles
6,966Reviews1,531Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,515
  • 1,542
  • 493
  • 194
  • 224
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
vip901 wrote a review Oct 25
Hanover, Maryland1 contribution1 helpful vote
The hotel is doing exceptional in making guests feel safe in this covid world. The room is modern and fresh. The facilities are well maintained and clean. I will be staying with RIU hotels around worldwide locations.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: October 2020
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Reinier1979 wrote a review Oct 23
Miami Beach, Florida1 contribution
by far the best hotel in Cancun I would rate this hotel 4 out 5 because (not generalizing everybody just a couple of people that might harm the hotel reputation ) I would mention some of the people that made our trip special from the restaurant buffet Alicia ,Rosy best customer services ever those are the people that really care about their job and customers . pool service area (Cocom )entertainment staff chucho and alex . I would highly this hotel to my fiends and family .Thank you for this wonderful birthday trip during this uncertain times .
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: October 2020
Sleep Quality
Kyleemah28 wrote a review Oct 22
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania2 contributions1 helpful vote
I picked a good hotel for our first time Traveling out the USA. I was a little scared I didn’t want to pick a bad hotel. Food and drinks was good. Multiple choice restaurant. Room clean and nice balcony perfect pools view. The mini refrigerator had fresh bottles water and soda but no alcohol. Room service was available.I’m mad We didn’t really enjoy resort pools and activities like we wanted to because we was out everyday doing a different attraction exploring Mexico. I would definitely stay here again. My only issue was it smells like sewer water throughout the building but it was bearable. But other than that I can honestly say that during our stay the staff constantly cleaned hotel and was extremely cautious due to COVID 19. They was also keeping up with there appearances doing minor repairs do the hurricane that came 2 days before we arrived. Great job to all the staff you made our stay wonderful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
dekeitraf wrote a review Oct 22
Houston, Texas12 contributions6 helpful votes
We booked the Riu Palace Peninsula through Southwest Vacations who showed a great honeymoon package. When we arrived at the resort, we were told they would not honor the package due to Covid (free room upgrade, free bottle of tequila, $35 spa credit per person, gift in room and late checkout). Not sure what COVID had to do with any of these things. We were also told the resort was booked for the week, that's why the upgrade wasn't available. Which was a lie, the resort was well under 50% capacity, due to the small crowd. When people book vacations, they book based on what is advertised. Follow through with what you supposedly offer at your resort. Also, we had to call for 3 different repairs while there (no hot water, overhead shower was broken and tv not working). Though these broken promises put a damper on the trip, I was pleased with the cleanliness and sanitation measures put forth by the property.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us and for choosing our hotel to spend your honeymoon. Nevertheless, we are very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not what you had in mind and that we were not able to provide you a true RIU experience this time due to the exceptional situation that we are facing. Although we do everything we can to provide a memorable stay to our beloved guests, some of our services are unfortunately limited. We please hope for your understanding that all our implemented precautions are for your own protection. On our website we indicate that in order to meet each country’s hygiene requirements, there may be some changes to each hotel’s services or facilities that differ from what is described. If you wish to place a formal complaint, we kindly ask you to contact our After Travel Customer Care at complaints@riu.com. We truly hope that you will chose us once again so that we can provide you with a more positive experience! With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula Online Reputation Manager
Read more
CrazyCatLady wrote a review Oct 21
Ravenswood, West Virginia259 contributions43 helpful votes
This was my first trip to Mexico & first all inclusive experience but I will try to speak only to the resort specifics: Pros: -adults only pool -Lots of covid safety procures (masks, checking temps and giving you sanitizer at the buffet, etc) -Service was great everywhere -Plenty of chairs on the beach -Relatively quiet at the villas -Room was nice -Mini fridge always stocked -Maid service prompt with requests -Drinks were decent and lots of pool/beach service Cons: -The food. It was really not good. It had no flavor. I don’t understand how so many things had no flavor. Especially the desserts. All so bad. Breakfast was okay but lunch buffet and grill by the pool weren’t great and none of the dinners were that good. I’d take outback or Olive Garden any day if that tells you anything. I don’t consider myself a picky eater but I just like my food to have a taste. You could close your eyes and try differnt things and they all had the same nothing taste. -the entertainment was pretty lame. Just really not interesting. There was a show with dancing from different countries with a video behind it. Nothing engaging. I’m sure covid limita this -other than their piano player or whatever show this place is dead at night. DEAD. there’s some people playing cards in the lobby but no one hanging out outside which is so weird to me ??? This may be due to covid. -I think during a pandemic it would be better to have items served to guests at the buffet. Cups, plates, bread, etc were just out where people could touch everything. -this beach area is the worst ive been to in the carribean. I’m perplexed greatly with all the good reviews on it but I am assuming it was just a bad weather week or churned up. It’s sooo small with rocks on one side and a busted up old pier on the other. (I think from the hurricane and I’m sure they will fix) It’s covered in seaweed and the water is full of seaweed (maybe this is just seasonal?). There was a red flag the whole time I was here so the water was really murky and wavy so we didn’t swim much. Plus the wind made it cold (for me. I like 90 degree days lol) unless the sun was out.... (I know this doesn’t speak to the hotel itself and ocean & weather conditions change but just a side note) So in conclusion I do have to say that primarily due to the tiny beach and the tasteless food I would not consider staying at this property again. Again this is just my opinion and I know there are die hard lovers of this resort which is great ! But it just wasn’t for us. We did still have a good time doing excursions to isla mujeres and with Mayan adventure ( atv, zipline and cenotes tour).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5 Helpful votes
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our resort to spend your first trip to Mexico. While we are glad to read that you felt safe in our hotel due to our implemented safety measures and also the service provided by our staff; in particular our housekeeping team, it is disappointing that we could not convince you with our gastronomic offer as we consider this an important aspect. Rest assured that your words will be taken into account for future improvements. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back again for a more satisfying experience! With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula Online Reputation Manager
Read more
$192 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooCancun
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula?
Nearby attractions include Coco Bongo Cancun (1.7 miles), HRoof (3.4 miles), and Parque Maya Tours (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula?
Conveniently located restaurants include The White Box, Black Hole, and Restaurante Benazuza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Zona Arqueologica El Rey (4.7 miles) and Scorpion’s Temple (2.3 miles).
Does Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.