Occidental Costa Cancún

Occidental Costa Cancún

Traveler (6997)
Pool & Beach (1540)
Room & Suite (998)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#29 of 40 all-inclusives in Cancun
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.2
Value
4.0
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Occidental Costa Cancun is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Cancun, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

While staying at Occidental Costa Cancun, visitors can check out Parroquia de Cristo Resucitado (0.2 mi) and Malecon Tajamar (1.7 mi), some of Cancun's top attractions.

Rooms at Barcelo Cancun offer a flat screen TV, a minibar, and a refrigerator providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with wifi.

A concierge and room service are some of the conveniences offered at this all-inclusive resort. A pool and free breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Barcelo Costa, parking is available.

During your visit, be sure to check out one of Cancun's popular lobster restaurants such as Lorenzillo's, Thai Lounge, and La Parrilla, all a short distance from Barcelo Costa Cancun Mexico.

Should time allow, Torre Escenica is a popular attraction that is within walking distance.

Enjoy your stay in Cancun!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Boulevard Kukulcan Km. 4.5, Cancun 77500 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 76 out of 100
76
Cancun Airport
Aerodromo de Playa Del Carmen
40.7 mi
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles12,008 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Occidental Costa Cancún offers spacious rooms, though some travelers have reported maintenance and cleanliness issues, alongside bothersome noise levels. The hotel's location garners mixed reviews; its beauty is acknowledged, but the small beach and closeness to the dock are drawbacks for some. While the range of activities and dining options are a hit, the beach size and some amenities can disappoint. Opinions on service and value also vary, with both commendations for staff attentiveness and critiques of food quality and extra costs. The vibrant atmosphere is a highlight, yet it may be too lively for guests seeking tranquility.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Affordable
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Noise level
Noisy
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
12,008Reviews666Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 6,400
  • 2,929
  • 1,297
  • 692
  • 698
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Travelin_Bear wrote a review Mar 2020
Placitas, New Mexico1,218 contribution265 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Occidental Costa Cancun as part of an organized tour, and as first-timers to Cancun. The hotel surely is decent but I wouldn't call it luxurious. The swimming pool is large and not too deep, a pleasant place to cool off. The hotel is located at the very northern end of the hotel zone and the beachfront is different than the longer beach stretches that lie to the south. The water is very calm with barely any waves, almost as though it's on a bay. The swimming area, while attractive and dotted with palm trees, is quite small. I'd estimate that the entire beachfront for this large hotel to be maybe 300 feet in length, and quite narrow. I have to say that for first-time visitors to Cancun, it's not how I pictured the beach. Maintenance workers were continually raking bushels of aquatic grass from the water.

The grounds and our room were very clean and well maintained. Our room was spacious, comfortable, clean, and very white. A plus is that two luggage racks were provided as well as wash cloths. The bathroom was rather small but with a commodious shower. The bathroom had an unattractive suspended ceiling.

Since it was our first time to Cancun, it's impossible to compare the Occidental Costa Cancun to other properties. You have to like loud, amplified music and poolside games. It's in good fun but might get tiresome after a while.

The hotel is all-inclusive, meaning meals and drinks come with the price. This makes things easy and convenient and a bit like being on a cruise ship. I guess I shouldn't have been surprised to find that the cocktails were very weak and, per our experience, not especially good. You could get higher grade liquor for an upcharge which may have been better. We're not big drinkers so it didn't matter much.

We dined at the Buffet and at the Mexican restaurant, called Mexico Lindo, and both venues were good to very good. We particularly enjoyed the fare at Mexico Lindo. The service in each restaurant was exceptional.

It might be noted that all hotel rooms on the ground floor (as per my observations, anyway) open directly onto the public/pool area, offering very little privacy. Try to get a room on a higher floor.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from occidentalhotel, Gerente at Occidental Costa Cancún
Responded Mar 5, 2020
Dear Travelin_Bear We are very grateful for the time you took to share your experiences with us. We regret that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Each of your comments will be taken seriously and we work to improve the experience. We thank you once again to share time with us and we hope to welcome you in this little paradise. Cordially.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicole wrote a review Jan 2020
Niagara Falls, Canada12 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is smaller and I loved that you never waited in line for anything. We had an ocean front room. The balcony was small. The front desk indicated that we would have to pay 25$ US/ night more for those rooms. Room was spacious and clean. The a la cartes and buffet were excellent with a lot of variety. I loved the daily booking of a la carte, if you go in the morning you get your pick of restaurant and times. Great aspect as your not stuck planning your week around what restaurant you booked on your first day. We feel in love with Gaulberto from the main Buffet, an amazing server and man. The Occidental is lucky to have him on staff!
We walked 10 km every morning on the walking path. It was very safe and enjoyed the surrounding area. There is a Starbucks and a Roman Catholic Church about 5 min walk from this location. I suggest taking a day trip to Isla Mujeres. The ferry cost $21 US round trip and we paid $900 Mex Pesos for a golf cart rental for the day. (Must do!) The red buses are the best way to get to the Hotel Zone where all the restaurants, shopping and night life is we never waited more than 5 min. The cost is 11 Pesos and super safe.
My only complaint was at check out (11 am)they cut off our wrist band and said we couldn't eat or drink after 1 p.m. This is the first resort ever, I have stayed at, that they did this. We don't really drink and 5 more hours would not have made a difference. Beware they charge for Wifi $7 US/ day or $45 US/day, OUCH!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from occidentalhotel, Gerente at Occidental Costa Cancún
Responded Jan 27, 2020
Dear rocco9800 We are very grateful for the time you took to share your experiences with us. We regret that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Each of your comments will be taken seriously and we work to improve the experience. We thank you once again to share time with us and we hope to welcome you in this little paradise. Cordially.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Angela K wrote a review Dec 2020
Virginia Beach, VA13 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall I’d say we will go back. Occupancy was low so we had the pool mostly to ourselves most days. The service was awesome and the COVID precautions were great. They sanitized our bags upon arrival, hand sanitizer everywhere, all staf wore eyewear and masks, our temp was taken whenever entering the property and on every buffet and restaurant. They even have sanitizing mats for your shoes. They upgraded our room at checkin and it was amazing. The beach is small and not very blue but we knew that ahead of time from the reviews. The beach bartender in the evening Alex was AMAZING and went above and beyond for us to get what we wanted!
The only CON.: the food was hit and miss. The buffet for breakfast and lunch left a lot to be desired. They don’t season anything you have to ask for salt and pepper. Breakfast buffet consisted of beans, vegetable and rice. There is an omelet station hiding in the corner but the staff seemed to avoid standing there so you had to just wait them out. The dinners were good, not great.. IF a you could get a reservation for the sit down dinners. Due to low hotel capacity they only had one open a night and you have to physically go to the lobby every morning to get one. They start taking them at 7am, by 8 am there is only 6pm or 10pm open. By 9am they are all gone. Heads up you can just walk in and they will still seat you most times. There is room service with more Americanized food on it available for $4, we found that out on day 4/5. Bars and alcohol service stops at 11pm throughout the resort. Wine isn’t included in the all inclusive at the restaurants. Mostly people from mexico and South America staying at the resort. Don’t buy sunscreen or aloe from the store in the lobby, it’s almost $30!!!
Now that we know the tricks of the trade we will go back, for $400 a person for 5 nights it’s worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Management Assistant, Propietario at Occidental Costa Cancún
Responded Dec 21, 2020
Dear angelalP5732UQ, We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Occidental Costa Cancún was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories. Also, thank you for your feedback regarding our buffet and restaurants, although we regret reading that we weren't able to meet your culinary wishes on this occasion, please rest assured that your comments will be shared with our Chef to enhance our dining experiences. One more time, thank you for choosing our hotel and for the courtesy of your time to share your comments and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in a near future. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Art wrote a review Feb 2020
Chicago, Illinois75 contributions46 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Very disappointed! We have been to different resorts, more expensive and cheaper too. Chose this one not because of stars but from people reviews. Will start from the front desk. Be prepared to pay stay tax at the hotel. We received card keys that didn't work already on the next day cuz front desk just disabled them. We got 2 cards for towels with warning if we loose them we will be charged $25 PER card! Room was outdated, toilet leaking, sink clogged. Doors needed to be repainted. You want internet? pay extra. Food... Will remind again that we went to different class resorts and tried different food, but in this one food just poor. Service is mediocre. If you are coffee lover like me - forget about it. It's pretty much only one machine at the snack area. That's all. Rude and disrespectful bar staff. In the morning its opened at 11!am. We came to get a drink. Bartender said it's 11am on our phones but not on his.... No comments
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Must get ocean view otherwise they can put you facing other building
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from occidentalhotel, Gerente at Occidental Costa Cancún
Responded Feb 11, 2020
Dear Fruktasa First of all, thank you very much for the time it took to share your experience with us. We have reviewed in detail your comments, along with our teams and heads of each department, we thank you for sharing this valuable information with us, you can be sure that the information you have provided will be used accordingly to improve the experience of our futures guests and we hope you visit us again in the future. A warm greeting.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ciao1960 wrote a review Jan 2020
Saskatoon, Canada166 contributions152 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff you are truly amazing some of the best I’ve ever experienced and the food is good to very good. The atmosphere in the menu in the à la carts is very good and the service excellent. The reservations system is the old-school stand in line at 7 AM but even by 8 o’clock there still spots and if you’re not too fussy about times you can get it anywhere you want.

The standard rooms are the smallest I’ve seen at any resort we have been to. There is two feet between the bed and the walls. We had booked/ upgraded to a terrace room which is more what you expect to get and it was very nice the rooms.

At check-in Karen tried to give you us sub standard room regardless of what we previously booked. I had to argue long and hard just to get what we had paid for. She tried to put us in a small room facing a back alley when I had paid for an upgraded view room with the terrace. She said there were no rooms available. After persisting and asking for management, miraculously the room that we had paid for can available. The first impression was very unpleasant. Spoke to several other people from Canada who had the same experience I think it’s a bit of a scam that they try to do is stick you with the poor rooms and then upsell the premium room to people coming in for short stays. If you get a room ending in a 50 you’ve got the on of the worst rooms in the building.

Everything in the rooms, common areas, restaurants, exercise room and grounds are being cleaned constantly and are spotless. Very very clean hotel.

There is no beach and it’s really a stretch to call it Ocean. There is sandy area the size of a tennis court which is on the mouth of the lagoon/marina entrance. It’s not the turquoise water you’d expect of the Caribbean Sea, it’s more like a murky lake. Perfect for a little kids because there’s absolutely no wave action and never gets more than waist deep but I would be worried about the quality of the water right there with all the oil, fuel from boats in the lagoon. My wife and I like the ocean and the waves.

In the end they were pros and cons but the waterfront and checkin was a dealbreaker for us and we would not recommend or return. Too bad because like I said the staff were absolutely amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from occidentalhotel, Gerente at Occidental Costa Cancún
Responded Jan 16, 2020
Dear Ciao1960 We are very grateful for the time you took to share your experiences with us. We regret that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Each of your comments will be taken seriously and we work to improve the experience. We thank you once again to share time with us and we hope to welcome you in this little paradise. Cordially.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mrs.Book wrote a review Jan 2020
oakville, ontario3 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I would not recommend the Occidental Costa Cancun. We travel at Christmas every year. The manager Eric Ramiez was incredibly inflexible and rude. Our flight was a late afternoon one and he insisted on ending all hotel usage at 10:30 in the morning. There was no curtesy or accommodation of any kind. The beach was very poor - all grass and dirty water from the boats. We would never return or recommend based largely on the management. It’s too bad that Eric Rameriez has no leadership training or management capability. The Occidental should consider how they treat guests if they ever want repeat business. There’s lots of better places to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from occidentalhotel, Gerente at Occidental Costa Cancún
Responded Jan 2, 2020
First of all, thank you very much for the time you took to share your experiences with us. We regret that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Your observations are a great opportunity to launch new suggestions and work to improve the experience. We are very sorry for your feeling, the hotel offers the alternatives we have for this season, however we are very sorry that we did not exceed your expectations. We will strive to improve the perspective of your last stay. We thank you once again to share time with us. Cordially.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura V wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed for 5 nights to get away from the New England winter and loved it. We had a room with hot tub on the balcony, it was very spacious and meticulously cleaned daily (we walked in one day during cleaning and they had actually moved the bed to clean under it!). The portion of beach is small but more than sufficient to feel relaxed. All the restaurants had delicious food. The service at the bars, reception, and restaurants were always excellent and friendly. We had no complaints and would love to go back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from occidentalhotel, Gerente at Occidental Costa Cancún
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Dear Laura V We appreciate taking the time to leave us your score and comments of your last stay with us and have shared your experience, it is our priority to do our best. You are part of this hotel; will be considered your opinion about us. We hope to welcome you again to this little paradise in Cancun. Warm greetings
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christina R wrote a review May 2021
Louisville, Colorado3 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall: the Occidental Costa Cancun is a terrific value and it suits both active young folks and older retirees like us. It's located right next to one of the ferry lines to Isla and within walking distance of the Jolly Roger Pirate ships and by a canal that cuts to the bay side. This means it's busy and can be somewhat loud at times, but it makes for great people watching as well. The OCC beach is small but perfect. A great number of palm trees supply a good amount of shade and the shallow water allows for floating. It gets deeper out toward the boundary of the swim area and is good for laps. Activities are not constant so there are times where you can quietly sit at the pool or the beach but there are also activities for all - aqua aerobics, water volleyball, dance lessons, etc. Rooms were adequate, Restaurants are good, SERVICE IS TREMENDOUS. Wi-Fi is lacking.

Outstanding Service. The restaurant staff has a long tenure and is well trained. Some staff to make sure you meet: Alfredo Gil at the Albatross - 5 star service! Always on top of everything you need and very kind. Fernando also at the Albatross is in training and works alongside Alfredo. He will make a great waiter. Luis, Pamela, Miguel are all hosts at the Albatross and are incredibly kind. They remember you, are friendly, and always make you feel like you're at home. Gualberto at the Mexico Lindo restaurant is terrific as well. Incredibly attentive, funny and very sweet. Rodrigo, who is a restaurant manager was super kind and helpful.

Rooms: a bit older but adequate. Housekeeping staff did an excellent job and the linens always smelled sanitized.

Covid: the hotel takes this seriously. Masks are required in open areas except right by the pool or on your lounge chairs at the beach and required as you enter restaurants and get your food. You get your temperature checked at each meal. They sanitize suitcases as you arrive, have sanitizer everywhere and have closed buffets (you point and ask for what you see and it is served). All staff wear masks all the time.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Management Assistant, Propietario at Occidental Costa Cancún
Responded May 31, 2021
Dear ChristinarM435rQP, We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories. We also would like to thank you for pointing out the good value for money of our hotel as we always strive to ensure the best pricing for our guests. Moreover, we thank you for your kind words towards our staff, from the housekeeping team, doing their utmost to guarantee spotless accommodations and installations at all times, our entertainment team with their enthusiasm and energy to the food and beverage team, taking care of the service and meals, everyone ensuring that they have a nice time and bring back home good memories of their holidays among us. We hope to have the opportunity of welcome you again, Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kayla1242020 wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This resort was average. The rooms and resort were clean and well maintained. The food was decent, but nothing special. The thing that drove me crazy about this resort though was the dinner reservations. You must wake up every morning to make a reservation for that night (it cannot be done in advance or at check in). If you arrive later than 6:40am to the lobby, you will likely not get a spot (I was only trying to reserve for 2 people). Having to wake up this early on vacation was very frustrating to me as I had been looking forward to sleeping in. Also, they tell you to be there by 6:40am however on holidays such as New Years Eve, they do "special reservations" that they don't tell you when they start, basically it ended up in my spending 3 hours in the lobby waiting for them to start taking reservations as the communication among staff was poor and they had also said they were not sure if the buffet would be open that night. There was a lobby full of angry people that morning. Poor communication among staff seemed to be a common theme. Other minor things compared to other resorts: no swim up bar, no included wifi, no servers around pool/at beach.

Overall, this resort was fine for the price, but the dinner situation was a huge hassle which I have not encountered elsewhere. If you plan to just eat at the buffet or like to get up early on vacation, this resort would be a suitable vacation.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from occidentalhotel, Gerente at Occidental Costa Cancún
Responded Jan 9, 2020
Apreciada kayla1242020: Agradecemos haberse tomado el tiempo para dejarnos los comentarios de su última estancia con nosotros y nos haya compartido su experiencia, es nuestra prioridad esforzarnos por ofrecer un servicio de calidad y calidez. Sus comentarios serán tomados en cuenta. Esperamos muy pronto poder darle la bienvenida nuevamente a este pequeño paraíso en Cancún. Saludos cálidos.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Monica F wrote a review Apr 2022
Columbus, Ohio19 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My 3 friends and I stayed at the Occidental Costa Cancun inclusive resort for 6 days, 5 nights. This was our first time in Cancun and we had so much fun exploring the area and learning about the culture! Checking in, be aware there is $200 down deposit per room you will get back when you check out and they are very strict on fees if you lose your towel cards or wristband.

Some things I really appreciated about the resort were:
the very hospitable bar and service staff, strict mask policy, accessible COVID testing everyday from 6AM-1PM, daily turn down services, gorgeous beach location, 3 restaurant options (require reservations that open everyday at 9AM with concierge) and 1 buffet, 24 hour snack bar and room service, fairly priced gift shop, daily mini activities and nightly shows. It is about a 20-30 minute bus ride to the Cancun strip/ marina and it is only $1 USD/ $50 pesos to take the bus or 10-15 minute ride with the resort taxi and $30 USD.

A few cons or unpopular opinions:
Very small gym, super slow wifi that sometimes works well only in your room, small restaurants so, reservations fill up fast, bar only serves alcohol from Noon to 11PM, and the buffet food is subpar. The resort is definitely in need on some upgrades, the walls are very thing, you can hear everything and you can tell some rooms are run down and older but, you pay for what you get.

I would recommend branching out to local restaurants as well if you are willing to spend some extra money though I know the resort is all inclusive. I also liked that it looked just like the photos on the website. Also check out the excursions and tours the resort activities coordinator offers, they are reliable!
Please keep in mind this is a family resort so the party does end early at the resort and if you are on a budget this really is a nice resort for what you pay for! I do recommend staying!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Take the bus if you aren't in a rush, there is a spot right across the street. Not the resort...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Management Assistant, Propietario at Occidental Costa Cancún
Responded Apr 8, 2022
Dear monicafows, Thank you for choosing us to enjoy your holidays and for sharing your personal experience after your recent visit. We strongly believe that there is always a way for improvement and your comments will assist us in our continuous efforts aimed at meeting our guests' expectations. We agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role in our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service with a warm and memorable experience for that we appreciate your remarks regarding bartenders. We are also happy to know that you fully enjoyed the beach location, facilities, and gastronomy offered as our talented chefs strive to conquer all palates through a variety of local and international dishes. We have taken note regarding the services that could not meet your expectations for revision, we will pass your opinion regarding the wifi signal for improvement. We would like to take this opportunity to clarify that due to the protocols implemented for the pandemic we need to follow the bar schedules established. We also have taken note of the resort facilities and it will be shared with the involved department for improvement. Thank you for your kind recommendation, and the suggestion made for future visitors. It was great to read your feedback and we look forward to having the opportunity of serving you again in the distant future. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from GERALD J.
Spring, Texas856 contributions425 helpful votes
There is a hotel Environmental tax of approx 80 pesos per room, per night. About $40 US dollars for 10 nights. Must be paid in pesos or credit card at checkin. All other taxes should have all ready been included in your prepaid hotel bill or airline fare.
ChristyXT asked a question Apr 2024
Edmonton, Canada17 contributions22 helpful votes
Does the snack bar have alcohol ?
Dave H asked a question Jan 2024
Las Vegas, Nevada292 contributions184 helpful votes
does anyone know what time the evening shows are, and what the schedule for the show types are?
Answer from GERALD J.
Spring, Texas856 contributions425 helpful votes
Hotel had different nightly shows in the theater 6 days a week starting around 9pm. Shows were enjoyable and good, but not excellent. There are nightly pirate ship excursions next door, for a small fee.
Finethymes asked a question Jan 2024
Vancouver, Canada6 contributions1 helpful vote
Does this Hotel still have designated smoking areas?
Answer from GERALD J.
Spring, Texas856 contributions425 helpful votes
There is no designated smoking area. Most people stepped outside by themselves, away from others. Also the is a nice tree lined esplanade with sidewalks in front of the hotel.
Tnt300 wrote a tip Jun 9
7 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid it all together"
Read full review
UWSP18 wrote a tip Jun 8
Elk Mound, Wisconsin21 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask employees questions and everyone is very friendly and helpful"
Read full review
Dusanka K wrote a tip Jun 3
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Have to make reservations for restaurants each day and lines can be very long "
Read full review
ColinN2412 wrote a tip May 2024
Glasgow, United Kingdom161 contributions53 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring water shoes, plenty of sun cream, we used P20 cream at factor 50. Drink plenty of fluids."
Read full review
Dawn B wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take an upgrade to an actual balcony instead of the standard Juliette that doesn't have room for a chair "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cancun area.
PRICE RANGE
$204 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo costa cancun hotel cancun, barcelo cancun, gran costa real, costa real cancun, barcelo costa cancun mexico
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Barcelo Costa Cancun
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooCancun
NUMBER OF ROOMS
358
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OCCIDENTAL COSTA CANCÚN $182 ($̶2̶7̶2̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Occidental Costa Cancún
Which popular attractions are close to Occidental Costa Cancún?
Nearby attractions include Parroquia de Cristo Resucitado (0.2 miles), Torre Escénica (0.1 miles), and Playa Tortugas (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Occidental Costa Cancún?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Occidental Costa Cancún?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Occidental Costa Cancún?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Occidental Costa Cancún?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Occidental Costa Cancún?
Conveniently located restaurants include The White Box, The Black Sens, and Los Chachalacos.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Occidental Costa Cancún?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Occidental Costa Cancún located near the city center?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the center of Cancun.
Are any cleaning services offered at Occidental Costa Cancún?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Occidental Costa Cancún offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Occidental Costa Cancún?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Cancun HotelsCancun Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CancunHotels near Occidental Costa Cancún
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars