We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Boulevard Kukulcan Km. 6, Cancun 77500 Mexico
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (312)
360
Panoramas (16)
Pool & Beach (76)

About

#159 of 268 in Cancun
Location
3.5
Cleanliness
2.6
Service
3.1
Value
2.9
Looking for a place to stay in Cancun? Then look no further than Hotel Maya Caribe Faranda, a hotel that brings the best of Cancun to your doorstep. Guest rooms offer amenities such as air conditioning and a desk, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the hotel. Hotel Maya Caribe Faranda features a 24-hour front desk, a concierge, and room service, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts a pool and breakfast. If you are driving to Maya Caribe Cancun, free parking is available. While staying at Hotel Maya Caribe Farand, visitors can check out Parroquia de Cristo Resucitado (1.4 mi) and Scorpion’s Temple (2.1 mi), some of Cancun's top attractions. When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out The Surfin Burrito, Senor Frog's Cancun, and Carlos'n Charlie's Cancun, which are some Mexican restaurants that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike. During your visit, be sure to check out Torre Escenica (1.1 mi), which is a popular attraction within walking distance of the hotel. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Hotel Maya Caribe Beach House as you experience everything Cancun has to offer.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Kids pool
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Snorkeling
Water park
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Car hire
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish
241Reviews6Q+A5Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 45
  • 48
  • 41
  • 33
  • 74
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
SunisUpSkyisBlue wrote a review Apr 2022
Phoenix11 contributions8 helpful votes
Overall a good stay, here's my breakdown on a 1 (Unsatisfactory) - 2 (Needs Improvement) - 3 (Satisfactory) scale: Room (2): The room is outdated, but also quaint at the same time. It has a beach feel to it with wooden styles, etc. Bed (2): The bed was a firm, but I did not find it uncomfortable as someone who is used to softer beds in the US. The blankets/sheets are on the thinner side, but in Cancun it's hot so this works. Pillows were the right thickness for me, too much for my wife. Hotel was accommodating in providing extra pillows. Customer Service (2): The guy at the front desk spoke perfect English and was quite helpful. The standout for us was Ivan in the restaurant, he went above and beyond to help me when my wife was sick. Huge thanks to him and how helpful he was on this trip! I will say not all the staff were as friendly - one day we had a lady knocking on our door several times when we had the do not disturb sign on and it turned out she was trying to ask us to checkout when we just checked in the day before???? Didn't appreciate that. Then there was another woman at this hotel with quite the attitude who gave me a hard time for having a friend meet me on the beach. This hotel is quite strict about the wristbands, which frankly I don't understand if we are on the public beach below. Then when checking out I called in the morning for a late checkout, yet I get a rude woman from the front desk calling me telling me I'm past the check in time. Didn't get this persons name, but they were quite rude from that phone call all the way to the check out process. Security (1): A lot of reviews mentioned theft was a common issue at this hotel. Actually when we checked in someone was asking the front desk how they will get reimbursed for a missing item - yikes! Not what you want to hear when checking in and reading those reviews. While we didn't experience any theft issues with our items, we did have trouble with our door not locking! I would advise anyone staying here to push the door in before you leave the room. I wonder if this happened to other rooms and might be the reason people are losing things! We ended up using a lock and putting our valuables in the closet. The hotel was also quite prompt in fixing our broken door. Wifi (3): We had good connection in our room. My wife watched Netflix all day when she wasn't feeling well. Cleanliness (3): While the room itself was outdated and could use a touch-up we didn't find anything was dirty or felt unclean. Smells (3): Didn't find any weird smells. Noise (3): We didn't experience any issues other than that annoying lady knocking on the door several times that one day. Water Pressure (3): Good pressure! Hot Water (3): No complaints here. Hotel grounds (3): Really liked the jungle like theme and the peacocks you see in the morning - nice touch! The hammocks outside and lounges were quite nice too.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
bucksmallsy wrote a review Jan 2022
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom8 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
After being unable to go abroad in 2020 because of Covid, we put our vacation plans on hold for 2021 in the hope we could make it back to the Maya Caribe/Dos Playas. And thank goodness we did, as we were able to revisit paradise for 15 days in November/December. As always, the weather was beautiful, our room/the view was perfect, the food & drink was plentiful & delightful in equal measure, all the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you and we particularly enjoyed the daytime & nighttime entertainment this visit. We were especially happy to see Andreas & Yeing again, as they always help to make our stay a happy, memorable one. Another loco Mexican vacation done, we can't wait to go back later on this year!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service , Atención al huésped/Recepción at Hotel Maya Caribe Faranda
Responded Feb 12, 2022
Buenas tardes Para nosotros es muy importante sus comentarios. Gracias Hotel Maya Caribe
Read more
Shanti_US wrote a review Jul 2021
11 contributions
+1
The actual room is very different from the photo shown on Hotel's booking page. There is nothing in the room other than the bed. It's a prison-like room, and the floor is rattling. There is no sun in the room all day long. It's a very dark room. Also, a lot of mosquitoes come into the room. The TV in the room is broken and cannot be used. There is really nothing in the room. It says it has a balcony, but it doesn't have a balcony. It's a dark prison-like room, the location is very close to the parking lot and you can't see the sea. Walk to the sea for more than 5 minutes. There is no refrigerator in the room. We had a lot of trouble getting the ice. Of course there is no phone in the room. We really regret that we booked this hotel. This hotel is really scammer. I definitely do not recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Yeing Lucero, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Hotel Maya Caribe Faranda
Responded Jul 9, 2021
Thank you for your message We appreciate each line because it helps to improve our service. But, your comment is according to our hotel? Because the beach is near to the hotel. It doesn´t take five minutes to go to the beach. Thank you for your feedback Warm greetings
Read more
Camille B wrote a review Jan 2021
18 contributions8 helpful votes
A 6 pack of peacocks roaming the grounds makes this hotel the most unique hotel in Mexico! Beaches and pools on site are what renders this place a 5 star value. The Cancun Scuba Center is located at the foot of the hotel, and the Tortuga Port is steps away if you want to make an excursion to Isla Mujeres. Drinks are exceptional (made by Brenda and Marco) and the DJ really knows how to get the families dancing by the round pool. Plenty of vegetarian options at the buffet. House iguana lurking on the steps really takes it up a notch! Next time I'll return with friends because everything you need is HERE!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Yeing Lucero, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Hotel Maya Caribe Faranda
Responded Feb 5, 2021
Thank you very much for your feedback. It is an enormous pleasure to know the satisfaction of our customers. We hope to see you again, Warm hugs!
Read more
bucksmallsy wrote a review Sep 2019
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom8 contributions12 helpful votes
Stayed 22/08/19 - 07/09/19 (Previously stayed in 2015, 2016 & 2017) When we first stayed in the Maya Caribe, we had booked to stay in Dos Playas. We had read that sometimes, if Dos Playas was full, they would place you in the Maya Caribe until a room became available. THANK GOODNESS that happened to us! Now, there's nothing wrong with the rooms in Dos Playas, nothing whatsoever. We've even been in the odd one or two here and there and they're all very nice. However, the view(s) from our first floor room in the Maya Caribe, for us, are second to none (or so we thought at the time). I say 'our' room, because when we were put into the Maya Caribe originally, we were put in a room facing the gardens. The view was so nice (not to mention how quiet it was when sat out on the large balcony, as there is very little footfall towards the back of the Maya Caribe. Also, my wife is a 'sun worshipper' and the balconies facing the gardens, all get the sun at the end of the day, so she couldn't have been happier) that when we ended up booking to go back the next year, we requested the exact same room. We are the type of people who normally like to explore new places, countries etc. But we not only fell in love with Mexico, but also the Maya Caribe (Dos Playas). Hence the repeat stays. So for the first two stays, we stayed in the same room. However, disaster struck the following year, when, even though we'd requested the exact same room, it was unfortunately taken. So, Andres (who has been taking our cases to and from our room every visit we've ever had) suggested the room opposite. Now, under any normal circumstance, we would have taken his advice straight away. However, the previous year I proposed to my (now) wife on the balcony at night, on her birthday, under the moon and a starlit sky. So, as you can imagine, we were rather attached to 'our' room. Anyhow, we decided to take his advice (although we did say that we wanted to move into 'our' room once the other occupants had left). He promised us that, once we'd seen the views from this new room, we wouldn't want to leave it. We were a little sceptical. We knew it had a beach/sea view. However, it was above a slightly busier footfall area (potentially less balcony privacy etc) and we were concerned that on a night, if it was windy, the glass door/windows to the balcony would rattle, keeping us awake. The thing was, when we stayed the previous two times, we had stayed in January for my wife's birthday. This time, we were staying in late August/early September for my birthday. Andres explained to us that it's a lot less windy in August/September compared to January and the view would definitely convince us that any potential balcony privacy issues etc would be worth it. So we took Andres's word for it (and over the years, we realised we had made a wise choice listening to him. As he's a very wise man. A problem solver. Over the years he has helped us out with numerous problems; almost always non hotel related problems may I add. And no matter what, he's ALWAYS happy & smiling!) and moved ourselves into our new room. And we were not disappointed. The view was/is amazing!! The beach, the sea, the Isla Mujeres on the horizon, all picture postcard stuff. So much so, that even after all the sunrises & sunsets we've now witnessed from 'our' new room, we just can't help but take picture after picture, morning after morning, night after night. Also, Andres was right. No balcony privacy issues whatsoever, even with the ever so slightly busier footfall (due to the Cielito Lindo restaurant being situated just to the left of us. You can also access the beach going past our room or get to the Maya Caribe garden which currently hosts a once a week BBQ round the back of the Maya Caribe. There are also two swimming pools & sunbeds to the left of our room as well) and the wind wasn't noticeable at all. We didn't make it to 'our' new room the following year, as my wife and I got married. We did consider getting married on the Isla Mujeres and holding the wedding reception at the Maya Caribe/Dos Playas. However, there were quite a few older people and very young children who attended our wedding and we felt the flight to and from Cancun might have been just a little too much for them. So we get to this year, our fourth stay in five years. We came to celebrate my birthday and our first wedding anniversary. We booked 'our' (new) room from the last time we came and low and behold, we got it! Once we arrived at the reception, we were once again greeted by Andres. He, as always, remembered us and greeted us in his usual, friendly, welcoming manner. As we were checking in, there was a little discussion at the desk between Andres, Yeing (the daytime manager) and the reception staff. As it turns out, Andres had been explaining to them how we'd now been back four times and that we were staying for fifteen days this time. This information caused the usual reaction with the staff at Dos Playas; delightfully surprised! It would seem my wife and I are fairly rare in the respect of the fact that we keep coming back, year after year and for staying for at least two weeks at a time. Yeing spoke to us and told us that there had been many improvements around the complex and how right she was! In the two years since we'd been there, walkways had been improved (there is a pathway leading up to the Maya Caribe which has a slope to it, that has now been totally relaid). There is additional seating in the Iguanas restaurant. A brand new bar has been built onto the side of the Iguanas Restaurant. The Cielito Lindo restaurant is now more like a sit down restaurant, rather than the help yourself buffet place it used to be (it still has a buffet, but it's better set up now). There's an area of sea cordoned off directly opposite Dos Playas, which is used as a type of play area with inflatable objects in it for you to climb and jump off into the sea etc. And as a nice added extra touch, there is now a hammock on each balcony of the rooms in the Maya Caribe, perfect for an afternoon siesta! When we arrived at our room (accompanied as usual by Andres) we entered to find the hotel had left a complimentary free bottle of red wine for us. We found out from Andres it was because we were such valued guests and because we were celebrating my birthday and our first wedding anniversary whilst staying at the hotel. The day before my birthday/our wedding anniversary, my wife and I decided to have a deep tissue back massage from the masseuses situated within the grounds of Dos Playas. To say they were good would be an understatement! We'd never had one before, but we'll definitely be having one again when we go back. On the morning of my birthday, my wife had arranged with the hotel (unbeknownst to me) for a bottle of Champagne and a birthday cake to be delivered to our room, first thing in the morning. Unfortunately there was a little confusion with regards to when what should have been delivered to the room, so I got my bottle of Champagne first thing in the morning and the birthday cake was waiting on the side for us when we returned, later on in the day. Not at problem at all though. They were both lovely surprises and once again, had been free of charge courtesy of the hotel. We ended up spending thirteen perfect nights in 'our' room, until a rare problem occured. It turns out that the Maya Caribe (and the Cielito Lindo restaurant) had suffered some kind of electrical fault (our TV had lost signal twice, but no sooner was it reported, it was fixed!) and so we were informed by Yeing, that we unfortunately had to move out of 'our' room. We had no choice but to move rooms. We knew if it could have been resolved any other way, it would have been. Yeing couldn't have been nicer and more apologetic about the situation. She said she knew how much 'our' room meant to us and had even waited an extra couple of days until the work couldn't be put off any longer, before informing us about the situation. So much so, that we ended up being the only people left in the entire Maya Caribe! Yeing then informed us that because of the inconvenience, we were going to be moved into one of the Premier rooms with a sea view. The rooms were more expensive, but she said it was all free of charge because of the unusual situation. The Premier rooms are nice and you could see why they would cost more money than staying in the Maya Caribe. However, we still prefer 'our' litte hidden gem on the Caribbean coast in the Maya Caribe. Unfortunately whilst we were staying in the Premier room, the air conditioning unit started to drip and we hadn't noticed it. Problem was, some of my wife's clothes were underneath it. They ended up being soaking wet through. My wife was concerned that they wouldn't be dry by the time we were due to leave (as this happened the day before we were due to leave). So she went to the reception and just happened to bump into Yeing. My wife then explained to her what had happened, so Yeing insisted on going to the room with her straight away to sort it out. Once there, Yeing accessed the situation and called an engineer (who turned up almost immediately!). She then took my wife's clothes and told her she would get them dryed for her. The next morning, my wife went to the reception and the clothes were there for her, all dryed. She just so happened to bump into Yeing and after a little discussion, she agreed to let us check out of our room an hour later than normal, once again, for no extra charge, due to the inconvenience of what had happened to my wife's clothes. Over the course of the holiday, we got to speak to/interact with the vast majority of staff. As per usual, they were all very friendly and very helpful. It has to be said however, that a few stood out above the rest; going that extra mile extra so to speak. I've listed below all the staff who were brilliant to us and why... Hotel Management - Yeing (As stated above) Restaurant Supervisor - Arturo Perez Fantastic hospitality! He would welcome us every time he saw us and he'd tell us stories about his home city of Mexico City and how he is living his best life; still on vacation after twenty years! Porter - Andres (As stated above) Javio - Waiter Fantastic hospitality! Friendly personality, always smiling! He couldn't do enough for us (we'll miss getting our regular morning toast & jam brought to us!) He always made our visits to the Iguanas restaurant enjoyable ones! Luis Cen - Waiter Fantastic hospitality! He always had a huge smile on his face and he was always very helpful and friendly. Eduardo - Bartender (Daytime) Fantastic hospitality! He was always busy serving people/making drinks, but never too busy to make my wife and I our 'iced beers'! He would also find the time bring our 'iced beers' down to the sunbeds for us! Everything was "No problem!" for the guy! Apolinar - Bartender (Nighttime) Fantastic hospitality! Friendly, helpful personality. Apolinar would always try and help us to learn just a little more Spanish! He was always there when you needed him. The Omelette lady (Never got her name unfortunately) She was always smiling, no matter how hot she was/looked. Brilliant at her job! She made fantastic omelette's! The Pizza guys (Never got their names unfortunately) They always seemed happy, no matter how busy they got. They made great tasting pizza every time as well! In summary; good food, good beverages, fantastic staff, great customer service/hospitality, brilliant location & beautiful views!! It goes without saying, we'll definitely be back...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Maria P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Maya Caribe Faranda
Responded Sep 13, 2019
Wow It is a pleasure to read your lines!!!!! We are impressive with your comment! It will be a pleasure to attend you again in your favorite room. Warm greetings!!!!!
Read more
Barbidauhl wrote a review Feb 2019
Mexico39 contributions45 helpful votes
nice little place .a little dated. but always clean. lots of pools.on a nice beach.stayed here once a while back when there was no room where I wanted to be. no issues at all.reasonable price for cancun, wouldn't pay any more for it. no luxuries. only a 3 star.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Maria P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Maya Caribe Faranda
Responded Apr 16, 2019
Feedback is valuable to us, we appreciate that you have taken the time to review our services and hope that you book with us again soon. Kind Regards
Read more
pguerra71 wrote a review Jan 2019
Vauxhall, New Jersey58 contributions7 helpful votes
This resort is magnificent and the staff is very polite and accommodating. Upon our arrival we were greeted with beverages and were upgraded to a suite because of a miscommunication. They also threw in a small cake and bottle of champagne for my daughter's birthday. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Maria P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Maya Caribe Faranda
Responded Apr 16, 2019
Thank you for your comments and we are glad to hear you were pleased with our service. Warm Greetings
Read more
Navigator814080 wrote a review Dec 2018
5 contributions5 helpful votes
I was in this resort for two years in a row. I really love it very much. The staffs are so friendly and very helpful. Can you image they get coconut from the tree for you to drink? I enjoy the spa over there as well. The price is great and skill is excellent. The beach is so clean and peaceful. I spent a lot of time just sitting at the beach listening to the sound of the waves which my daughter having fund playing all kind of water sports. A+ I will go again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Neetu S wrote a review Aug 2018
1 contribution
Ana, Maria Garcia, Mayeli Aguilar and Diego Bravo were the best at Captain Morgan, their service was unbelievable, go see them on your next trip there. They made our visits enjoyable, they were great with the kids, taught them so Spanish and made our son's birthday memorable. Keep up the great job. See you next year.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Katie P wrote a review Apr 2018
Dearborn Heights, Michigan73 contributions38 helpful votes
This is a smaller resort, but not well taken care of. We had a leak in the bathroom that wasted lots of water. We let them know, but they never came to fix it. Also, asked for a low room, as I was traveling with a legally blind person - we were originally put on the third floor with no elevators. They moved to the first, but had a queen and a single with. O room to walk. We finally, after wasting a few hours, were able to get a normal room on the first floor, which still had six steps. Grounds are very hilly aNd not very level. Staff were okay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$82 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
maya caribe cancun
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Maya Caribe Beach House
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooCancun
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Maya Caribe Faranda
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Maya Caribe Faranda?
Nearby attractions include Coco Bongo Cancun (1.9 miles), Party Rockers Cancun (4.2 miles), and Puerto Maya Cancun (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Maya Caribe Faranda?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Maya Caribe Faranda?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Maya Caribe Faranda?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Maya Caribe Faranda?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Maya Caribe Faranda?
Conveniently located restaurants include Divina Carne, Restaurante Careyes, and Nicoletta | Modern Italian Kitchen Cancún.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Maya Caribe Faranda?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel Maya Caribe Faranda have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Maya Caribe Faranda offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Maya Caribe Faranda?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Maya Caribe Faranda?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Zona Arqueologica El Rey (4.7 miles) and Scorpion’s Temple (2.3 miles).
Does Hotel Maya Caribe Faranda have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.