We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club

Save
Share
Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 5.8 Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500 Mexico
Lowest prices for your stay
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Trip.com
$180
View deal
travelup.com
FindHotel$180
Etrip$5,651
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2199)
360
Panoramas (9)
Pool & Beach (509)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#39 of 272 hotels in Cancun
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
Sunset Marina is a charming, Mediterranean-style resort, nestled in a beautiful landscape on the Caribbean Sea within Cancún's hotel zone. It provides a peaceful and relaxing getaway, where kids can also enjoy their vacations in areas specially designed just for them. The on-site marina offers direct access to the crystal-clear waters of the Caribbean with private yacht expeditions, as well as a wide variety of motorized water sports and spectacular diving experiences. Beach access is just a few minutes away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Bicycle rental
Diving
Babysitting
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Swimup bar
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Karaoke
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Harbor View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
4056Reviews174Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,343
  • 1,044
  • 343
  • 157
  • 170
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jam_Faustino wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions
We stayed there for 2 weeks and made friends with some of the staff. Valeria at the concierge desk was great. Nahum, Polo, and Brenda at entertainment made our stay much more enjoyable. One time while they were serving snacks outside by the members only area, Jennifer ran back to the bar to give me and my wife a couple of glasses of Margarita when she realized we don’t drink beer, the only drink they were serving that afternoon (and she did it without us asking). Most of all, Gonzalo at The Pergola was amazing. He would have my wife’s double cappuccino and my glass of Diet Coke on our breakfast table ready before we come back with our food from the buffet table. Excellent service indeed !!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
arnoldpalos wrote a review Oct 5
Calgary, Canada2 contributions
We had an awesome experience at Sunset Marina Resort,quiet and peaceful environment that u can enjoy and be relaxed.Good variety of food choices,Friendly staff especially the host Abigail,,waiter and kitchen staff Gustavo,Fernando,Zacarias,Mauricio,Francisco and Edwin.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jean Bosco S wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Everything from customer service to room service are amazing. Sunset is beautiful resort. Food is amazing and restaurant's staff are the best, they made me feels like king and made my girls feels like queens. I enjoyed mango tequila.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Doug M wrote a review Sep 2022
Santa Rosa, California2 contributions2 helpful votes
This place gets an above average rating for cleanliness and order. The staff was very nice and helpful. The food was delicious, and you can visit other restaurants in three other hotels. We will go there again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Bárcenas, Propietario at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for staying at Sunset Marina and for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We can't wait to welcome you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sapphira wrote a review Sep 2022
7 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
RCI MEMBERS. I booked this resort cuz The Grand Bliss would not allow us to stay there for 2 weeks. So finding a GOLD CROWN rated resort the didn't require u to buy all inclusive wasnt easy. This resort is under going MAJOR RENOVATIONS!!! IT IS SOOO noisey. They didn't warn us of this and we were awoken on day 1 blg 2 room 202 by hammering in the next unit 204. We complained so they offered to move us. We accepted. And then showed us room 200, then 206 every freaking room beside and above the actual construction. Wft?? We got moved to blg 5. and were awoken again by construction. If u need to communicate with staff make sure u know some Spanish. But DONT book in here for the next month or 2 cuz this place is a work zone. And it not the best shape. Lights r broke. Door lock is broke. Couch is plastic. Marble is cracked and shot.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Book elsewhere!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Bárcenas, Propietario at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations; we have taken note of the inconveniences you mentioned to make sure they are corrected.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Quest64454991197 wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions3 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed here for our Anniversary. It's one of the few remaining resorts without a "all inclusive" requirement, we did a points exchange with RCI because our preferred resort was not availabe. The location is old, but not well maintained. Daily cleaning leaves a lot to be desired compared to other resorts. My bathroom sink would not drain properly and the drain stopper lever was held together with electrical tape. They had construction work at night in the room upstairs that would not let you rest. It's old, not well maintained. Towels were dated and some with stains. Cleanliness is poor compared to other resorts. Matresses and pillows need replacement. TV at 490 dpi is obsolete in resolution - very poor channel selection and TV reception. Would not stay there again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from David Bárcenas, Propietario at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Responded 2 weeks ago
We sincerely regret that your stay was not satisfactory. However, your feedback is valuable for us and will help us enhance our services. Greetings from Cancun.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ivy B wrote a review Sep 2022
Cincinnati, Ohio13 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
This was my first trip to Mexico. I went with my daughter and her friend. We stayed at the Sunset Marina a nice, clean, family oriented resort. They offered a shuttle to their other resorts which was good because this wasn’t a beachfront. With the Marina being right there next to the resort it’s very easy to rent a yacht for the day, that was fun til I got a little sea sick from the waves in the ocean, but still a great experience. The staff was friendly, although the housekeepers were very busy and sometimes would get to your room for cleaning very late or not at all. And often forgetting to replace washcloths which got annoying. But room service was great, fast and efficient. The restaurants on the resort were ok. 1st the buffet, La Pergola. The service not always the greatest depending on the time of day you went. It’s outdoor seating (covered) so it was always hot , but it’s Mexico. There were some good servers during the day but we got our exceptional service at night, we had a favorite server who always took great care of us his name is Emanuel. Always very attentive and polite making sure our food was prepared just the way we wanted and making sure our glasses were always kept full. He was the highlight of our evenings for dinner keeping us entertained and never wanting for anything. Thanks and bravo to him. The food was a variety of Mexican dishes that were flavorful and enjoyable. The other restaurant was the El Teatro an Japanese hibachi restaurant that was also fun and entertainment by the chef. The food was just mediocre though and I was not that impressed. But it was still a great show. If you didn’t want to eat at one of the restaurants they also had the room service option which was great. I didn’t always want to be sweating and hot so eating in my air conditioned room was nice to. Breakfast over looking the marina was a wonderful way to start the day. Plenty of loungers and tables to sit outside the rooms and enjoy the morning sun before it got too hot. It was nice to get a free facial at the spa and massages are offered although we didn’t get one. We had an all inclusive package so drinks and food were included. I never quite got as drunk as I wanted cause the tequila seemed to be on the cheap watered down side so I found myself drinking for nothing a lot. That was disappointing since I was in Mexico and never thought getting drunk was going to be a problem. But it was. Getting around was easy cabs were everywhere. We learned quickly about buying things on the resort and when going out to shop. Much better deals with the same stuff when you leave the resort. Just a heads up. Save some pesos. They sale the same stuff everywhere. Go to the Negro Coral flea market, but be ready to be overwhelmed by hassling salesmen who just want you to come to their store. They all basically sell the same stuff. But you can get some really good deals if you know how to haggle. Never take what they offer. Tell them What you’ll pay, they’ll comply or the next man will. You’ll come home with lots of souvenirs for family and friends. If your really adventurous leave the hotel zone (during daylight and b4 curfew of course) and go downtown there are many other flea markets, shops and vendors that have some really great prices for shopping and of course, tequila tasting. I can’t get with drinking tequila in 100 degree heat but somebody’s got to be doing it. Lol after all it’s Mexico!! It’s Hot but it’s fun, I can’t wait to go back again. Definitely will be staying in a beachfront next time I love the ocean more than I do the pool.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote1 Save
Helpful
Share
Response from David Bárcenas, Propietario at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Responded 2 weeks ago
We sincerely regret not having met all your expectations. We know your feedback is an area of opportunity to provide a better service. On the other hand, thank you very much for your positive comments, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your vacation overall. We can't wait to welcome you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
debbie f wrote a review Sep 2022
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania31 contributions26 helpful votes
We are members here and visit every few years. We love the location on the lagoon as it is relaxing. The shuttle bus and water taxi to the oceanfront resort make getting to the beach easy. The entire staff is helpful and friendly. The apartment and dining options are excellent. One of the highlights for me was discovering Isabel, the yoga instructor. I learned so much and could meditate, exercise, stretch and relax. I will miss her class. The Mexican cultural parties were a fun way to mingle with other guests. Thanks for a much-needed relaxing vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: The two-bedroom units are spacious.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Bárcenas, Propietario at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your experience at Sunset Marina. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chippyn2016 wrote a review Sep 2022
Cancun, Mexico3 contributions2 helpful votes
We had an excellent stay at sunset marina. From check in, with our bellhop, Luis . Throughout our entire stay for the week. The pool bar staff, Mexico, Sarita, and Vicente were all wonderful and entertaining with our drinks. Zaccarias was always gracious and friendly when we were eating supper at the several restaurants here. Fernando was terrific at the snacks/pizza bar. Last but certainly not least, my super special thanks to the chefs; chef Herilda, Francisco, and Aldo. Chef Herilda was constantly engaging with the guests as to their thoughts about the meals and as to their preparation. She was truly awesome, my first experience in this manner. It was truly amazing. And Zaccarias once again was awesome. Thankyou all
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Bárcenas, Propietario at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Responded 2 weeks ago
We greatly appreciate the time you took to comment on your recent visit to Sunset Marina hotel, we are glad to know you enjoyed your stay so much. Your favorite staff members will be very happy to know about your shout out. Best regards from Cancun!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Candice M wrote a review Sep 2022
Newport News, Virginia8 contributions
We had a blast at this resort and the service was second to none. Mariana in the Velez Restaurant was so friendly and lovable. She remembered our drinks and we only visited that restaurant twice. We would definitely recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Bárcenas, Propietario at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your experience at Sunset Marina, Mariana will be very happy to hear about it. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$175 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sunset lagoon resort hotel and marina, sunset lagoon hotel marina, sunset lagoon cancun, cancun sunset lagoon
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel & Marina
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooCancun
NUMBER OF ROOMS
110
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Which popular attractions are close to Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club?
Nearby attractions include Coco Bongo Cancun (1.8 miles), Rakata Cancún (1.8 miles), and The City Discotheque (1.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include Divina Carne, Restaurante Careyes, and Abolengo Cancun.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club have airport transportation?
Yes, Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.