We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel CasAntica

Save
Share
Avenida Jose Maria Morelos 601 Centro Histórico, Oaxaca 68000 Mexico
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Snaptravel
Hotels.com
eDreams
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (203)
360
Panoramas (42)
Room & Suite (364)

About

#37 of 145 hotels in Oaxaca
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are a Hotel Monument housed in a beautiful and elegant historical building in the center of the city: the former convent of the Franciscan nuns of the Virgin Mary. We are in the heart of the city and just a few steps from the emblematic socket state capital of Oaxaca.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
417Reviews11Q+A59Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 126
  • 171
  • 61
  • 30
  • 29
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
katpurcell wrote a review Mar 2020
Wilmington, Delaware5 contributions4 helpful votes
This is not 4 star hotel, by my standards. The room was clean. Staff not helpful No amenities. Restaurant is terrible. No concierge services. If you are only looking for a plain clean room it is acceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from GerenciaCasAntica, Gerente at Hotel CasAntica
Responded Mar 13, 2020
Dear Kathleen: We are glad that You give us the opportunity to attend You as You deserve and tried to make your stay with us the best that You could have; as We see that We were not capable to do so, Would You be so kind to let us know, personally, what were the things We did bad or could not did as You expected??, because You had 2 reservations and cancelled one at the hotel and our staff were all the time helpful to You and cancelled that reservation with no charge at all, so We do not understand what You mean at not being helpful; also, all our bathrooms have shampoo, Conditioner, Cream, Shoe polish and shower cap, what else did you want to have as amenity. The Restaurant, could You please tell us exactly what happen in order to fix it and do not let to happen again???Concierge, We do not have, because our front desk staff helps everybody in whatever we can do to solve your problems. Thanks again.
Read more
Megan H wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
We recently stayed at Hotel CasAntica for four nights. The hotel itself is a beautiful building with lovely courtyards to relax in and a small pool. The location cant be beat, and it is central to everything in Oaxaca City. The staff are friendly and helpful. However, the room itself was terrible. Our room was incredibly dark and small, with only a tiny window looking out into the courtyard. The beds were hard which made sleeping difficult. However, the worst problem was the excessive noise that came from the hotel. The building echoes, and every sound in the courtyard is amplified within the room. There was also continual music in the evenings which went until 4 am. This made it very difficult to relax at the hotel and to get a good nights sleep. I would not recommend on this basis.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Do not book a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from GerenciaCasAntica, Gerente at Hotel CasAntica
Responded Mar 10, 2020
Dear Megan: We are really thankful that You gave us the opportunity to attend You and We tried to make your stay with us the best that it could be, but as per your comments, We did not were succesful; unfortunatelly and at the same time, fortunatelly, the building were the hotel is located is an exConvent of the XVI Century, which make it a historic building, so We can not make any changes to the infrastructure, so that is why some areas look antique, and it is the reason why the size of the rooms. As our main concern is to make our guests to enjoy the building and the arts that We have, there is no way We can fix what the building is and the sounds of the same building. Anyway, We thank You again for the opportunity that You gave us to attend You. Sincerely yours, Hotel CasAntica
Read more
Colinsweeney wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom165 contributions17 helpful votes
Stayed a couple of nights at this very pleasant hotel situated in walking distance of the town centre and attractions. We had breakfast both mornings there as we had to leave early for our organised trips. Both times it was very tasty with freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee that wasn’t weak and dishwater like. It has a small swimming pool which enabled some relaxation after a longish day at the archaeological sites.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from GerenciaCasAntica, Gerente at Hotel CasAntica
Responded Feb 17, 2020
Dear Colin: We are glad that You gave us the opportunity to attend You as You deserve and are very happy to see that our efforts to make your stay with us the best that You could have, were almos as succesful as We would wish. Thanks again. Sincerely yours,
Read more
LMMS wrote a review Feb 2020
Beverley, United Kingdom92 contributions26 helpful votes
This hotel is a little gem. Nice rooms, good service and excellent location. Breakfast is available and there are many places in the town to eat. There is a small swimming pool and nice communal areas. Would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from GerenciaCasAntica, Gerente at Hotel CasAntica
Responded Feb 13, 2020
Dear LMMS: We are glad that You gave us the opportunity to attend You as You deserve and are very happy to see that our efforts to make your stay with us the best that You could have, were succesful. Thanks again. Sincerely yours,
Read more
Katherine wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I traveled with my husband and two other couples. We booked similar rooms near to each other but the original rooms assigned to two of our group were not ideal for our needs. The hotel arranged changes with no fuss and we were ultimately very comfortable. One couple upgraded to their largest suite where we were able to gather in the evening for drinks before we went out. I had a room near the pool which was very quiet, also large enough for two large suitcases and lots of plugs to charge our devices and ample lamps/lighting. Rooms were made up in a timely way. The room towels are a bit on the old side, but they have nice pool towels at front desk if you wish to swim. The four NYC architects with us agreed that for a very small amount of money the bathrooms could be updated and a professional could come in to choose art works and this hotel would move up to a fully competitive five stars. Beds were comfortable, a choice of a softer pillow would have been a nice option. Location is great, and Oaxaca is a wonderful city with some art and antiquity museums,great food and world class ruins to explore out of town.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GerenciaCasAntica, Gerente at Hotel CasAntica
Responded Jan 20, 2020
Dear Sirs: We are really thankful that You gave us the opportunity to attend You and We tried to make your stay with us the best that it could be, as per your comments, You tell us about our bathrooms; fortunatelly the building were the hotel is located is an exConvent of the XVI Century, which make it a historic building, so We can not make any changes to the infrastructure, so that is why some areas look antique, which is not the same as old. As You said so, our main concern is to make our guests to enjoy the arts that We have, so We thank You again for your remarks and We will see if We can make some modifications, according to your comments. We thank You again for the opportunity that You gave us to attend You. Sincerely yours, Hotel CasAntica
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$62 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
casantica hotel oaxaca
LOCATION
MexicoSouthern MexicoOaxacaOaxaca
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel CasAntica
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel CasAntica?
Nearby attractions include Templo de Santo Domingo de Guzman (0.2 miles), Rufino Tamayo Museum of Pre-Hispanic Art (0.06 miles), and Amate Books (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel CasAntica?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel CasAntica?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel CasAntica?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tr3s 3istro Restaurant & Oyster Bar, Los Danzantes Oaxaca, and El Destilado.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel CasAntica?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Hotel CasAntica located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Oaxaca.
Are pets allowed at Hotel CasAntica?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel CasAntica?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel CasAntica?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Monte Alban (3.1 miles), Mercado de Benito Juarez (0.3 miles), and Ex-Convento de Santa Catalina (1.1 miles).
Is Hotel CasAntica accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.