We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Republica de Guatemala No. 4 | Centro Historico, Delegacion Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

445 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 178: English reviews
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly, I hate being negative and this wasn't the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. It did have some good points! Location wise it was amazing - you walked out the door and you were on the main square at the heart of Mexico City - the balcony also held picturesque views of the square especially at night! The hostel... More 

Helpful?
Thank SianAnnie
Max O, Reservaciones at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Thank you, your comments. We are sorry for not giving you the best experience during your stay, however, we are working on some issues you have pointed. We hope you can visit us back soon. More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Mexico City was my last stop on a month long trip around Cuba and Mexico. I booked myself into a private room as I knew I would be arriving late on the first night. Firstly, I wouldn't advise arriving late into Mexico City. My plane landed at around 1am after being delayed a little and I was pretty nervous about... More 

Helpful?
Thank CanuckChica
Max O, Reservaciones at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry for the bad experiences you had during your stay with us. Remodeling the terrace has creating a problem talking about noise, now is finished and we hope the atmosphere changes a little bit. Unfortunately some of our rooms are small and we can't do too much about it but of course we... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had some buddies say this was the spot to be...I think that was months ago when the rooftop was open. Now it is closed and there is nothing going on there. Found the crowd to be ultra boring and no parties were existent. I think there are better locations than Centro Historico - not much going on there - and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hostel is located right in the heart of Mexico City, next to the main cathedral on the square. We stayed four nights in a private room. The good: - Location - Social - Clean - Brekky included - lockers in room - staff spoke English - Organised walking tours - Secure area to leave luggage - 24hr security The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kalindi D
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I will soon be 50 and have traveled quite extensively but before June 16, 2016 I had NEVER stayed in a Hostel. I thought Hostels were for drunk teenagers BUT to my very pleasant surprise my assumption was not totally accurate. Granted that many young people do utilize Hostels and some do drink but it is not the drunken brawl... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
Max O, Reservaciones at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad to hear you spent a great time. We are sorry you couldn't enjoy the view of the roofterrace during your stay, however we hope you can visit us back soon! More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in dorm and single rooms both pretty good . Noise in centre bit of problem especially if security doesn't enforce after 10 . I complained and they sorted it . English at the desk and downstairs restaurant a bit of a problem which made eating out a better option , even from the street stalls . Found all there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Terry M
Max O, Reservaciones at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Thank you, your comments are valuable and very helpful for improving our service. More 

Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

You have a nice view over Zocalo one of my favourites to chill a while. come before 20h, have a drink or two and meet travellers from all over the world, you will have to let an identification downstairs in order to get up there. Hostal hast also a restaurant in the entrance and is very well located.

Helpful?
Thank Dieter H
Max O, Reservaciones at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Thank you, your comments are valuable and very helpful for improving our service. More 

Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016 via mobile

The only good things about this hostel is its location. Other than that, it's terrible. Hands down the worst hostel I've ever stayed at. We booked a private room with a private bath, got there, the room was the size of a closet and the bathroom was disgusting. There was mold all over the walls and it was so bad... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maddy M
Max O, Reservaciones at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

We are so sorry for such bad experience during your stay. Unfortunately we extended the period for the remodeling of the terrace, it'll reopens soon. We know noise is a problem in our hostel, however we are taking some steps to balance this issue. Your comments are valuable and very helpful for improving our service. More 

Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016 via mobile

I had booked the most expensive private room that I could find in the entire Mexico City and I was disappointed upon arrival to find it pretty messy, especially the bathroom. Unfortunatelly, I was after a 12 hours flight and 24 hours without sleep, so in no mood to look for something else. I was only gonna be there for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Vlad L
Mar del Plata, Argentina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016

Just one block from El Zócalo, behind the Cathedral with a great view from my room and from the bar on the rooftop. Breakfast served on rooftop. They have a lot of activities and great partys on the bar. The rooms are clean, comfortable beds and clean blankets. All beds have its own light and two plugs. The hostel offers... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarcelaCorti
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

220 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (213)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#16 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,046 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,953 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#3 of 181 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Centro Historico
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
#2 of 181 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centro Historico

Neighborhood Profile
Centro Historico
The beating heart of the city lies within Centro Histórico, the vast expanse of historical buildings and monuments that are a must when exploring Mexico City. Places such as the Museo Biblioteca Palacio Postal, Casa de los Azulejos and Palacio de Bellas Artes are the perfect eye candy for anyone seeking to admire arts and architecture. Don't forget to visit the wide variety of markets and plazas where any vintage item, handicrafts and jewelry characteristic of each state in Mexico can be found on Sundays. Admire majestic views of the city from the Monumento a la Revolución and Torre Latinoamericana, and round out the experience with restaurants of all cuisines nearby.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Address: Republica de Guatemala No. 4 | Centro Historico, Delegacion Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Price Range: $18 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral 2*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral Mexico City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay