We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

454 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 183: English reviews
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First, let me say that I am giving four stars in the context of this being a traveler's hostel. It is not four star hotel. It is a place with lots of bunk beds for backpackers to crash on the cheap while coming through the city. As such, my review is not aimed at people looking for a reasonably-priced hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan S
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hostel has only one advantage. It's well located. Besides that, it has nothing else good. My room wasn't a shared one because I inteded to have some privace with my husband. However it had only a tiny window that opened to all other rooms. So we had to choose: privace or ventilation. The blanked was the worst I've ever... More 

Helpful?
Thank jaquefs
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It' s in downtown Mexico City, close to Palacio Nacional and Plaza de la Republica, shops and restaurants. We stayed in a six room bedroom with one sink and one shower. The place is quite clean but a little bit noisy. You can have breakfast in the morning and there's an Internet room with three computers.

Helpful?
Thank Giovanna F
Max O, Reservaciones at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Thank you, your comments are valuable and very helpful for improving our service. More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

While dinning, I went to use the restroom. I was asked more than once if I was staying at the hostel ( 1x by the waiter who served me). There were numerous people utilizing the restroom yet I was the only one asked, the only one of Mexican decent using the restroom. The last time I'll be spending any money... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patti M
Max O, Reservaciones at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments We apologize for the inconvenience. It's true they sometimes ask if people are customer or guest, but I understand there's no need to ask all the time. More 

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Positives: Breakfast buffet with fresh fruit and different options (self-service) was all fresh and rather nice. The position of the hostel is fantastic - Zocalo. The shower is very large and plenty of very hot water. Complimentary hair drier in room. Every bed has its own light and 2 charging points Negatives: The palace hasn't seen a good clean in... More 

Helpful?
Thank ECJUNE
Max O, Reservaciones at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

We apologize for the inconvenience caused. It seems that someone locked the door so the girl, even with her card, couldn't open. The staff tried to help but his card also, couldn't open the door. We are working hard to improve and for sure all your suggestions are important for us. More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

Firstly, I hate being negative and this wasn't the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. It did have some good points! Location wise it was amazing - you walked out the door and you were on the main square at the heart of Mexico City - the balcony also held picturesque views of the square especially at night! The hostel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SianAnnie
Max O, Reservaciones at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Thank you, your comments. We are sorry for not giving you the best experience during your stay, however, we are working on some issues you have pointed. We hope you can visit us back soon. More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

Mexico City was my last stop on a month long trip around Cuba and Mexico. I booked myself into a private room as I knew I would be arriving late on the first night. Firstly, I wouldn't advise arriving late into Mexico City. My plane landed at around 1am after being delayed a little and I was pretty nervous about... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CanuckChica
Max O, Reservaciones at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry for the bad experiences you had during your stay with us. Remodeling the terrace has creating a problem talking about noise, now is finished and we hope the atmosphere changes a little bit. Unfortunately some of our rooms are small and we can't do too much about it but of course we... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016

Had some buddies say this was the spot to be...I think that was months ago when the rooftop was open. Now it is closed and there is nothing going on there. Found the crowd to be ultra boring and no parties were existent. I think there are better locations than Centro Historico - not much going on there - and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016 via mobile

This hostel is located right in the heart of Mexico City, next to the main cathedral on the square. We stayed four nights in a private room. The good: - Location - Social - Clean - Brekky included - lockers in room - staff spoke English - Organised walking tours - Secure area to leave luggage - 24hr security The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kalindi D
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

I will soon be 50 and have traveled quite extensively but before June 16, 2016 I had NEVER stayed in a Hostel. I thought Hostels were for drunk teenagers BUT to my very pleasant surprise my assumption was not totally accurate. Granted that many young people do utilize Hostels and some do drink but it is not the drunken brawl... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
Max O, Reservaciones at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad to hear you spent a great time. We are sorry you couldn't enjoy the view of the roofterrace during your stay, however we hope you can visit us back soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

227 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (220)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 303 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,078 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 303 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 303 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#3 of 185 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Centro Historico
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
#2 of 185 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centro Historico

Neighborhood Profile
Centro Historico
The beating heart of the city lies within Centro Histórico, the vast expanse of historical buildings and monuments that are a must when exploring Mexico City. Places such as the Museo Biblioteca Palacio Postal, Casa de los Azulejos and Palacio de Bellas Artes are the perfect eye candy for anyone seeking to admire arts and architecture. Don't forget to visit the wide variety of markets and plazas where any vintage item, handicrafts and jewelry characteristic of each state in Mexico can be found on Sundays. Admire majestic views of the city from the Monumento a la Revolución and Torre Latinoamericana, and round out the experience with restaurants of all cuisines nearby.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Address: Republica de Guatemala No. 4 | Centro Historico, Delegacion Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Price Range: $10 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral 2*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral Mexico City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay