We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Flor de Mayo Hotel and Restaurant

Traveler (97)
Pool & Beach (8)
Room & Suite (8)
Certificate of Excellence


#15 of 63 hotels in Cuernavaca
Certificate of Excellence
The Flor de Mayo Hotel & Restaurant brings to Cuernavaca a new perspective on design and tourism, embracing the history and culture that characterize the city and adopting the main element that makes Cuernavaca the City of Eternal Spring, and that is the marvellous weather all year round. A fusion between an old historical building (19th C.), the rise of a new construction and the City of Eternal Spring give life to the hotel, benefiting from the kindness of the weather and flora of this city and developing a "floral exuberance" as the main factor in the architecture of the hotel like a contemporary adaptation of the French rococo to this Mexican city, where the vegetation invades the architecture and is a local traditional tree: "Flor de Mayo", what becomes the ambassador of this exuberance.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room service
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Quirky Hotels
Centrally Located
10Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 136
  • 44
  • 12
  • 8
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Really need some better cleaning and maintenance. Room 37 Bathroom was nasty, not properly cleaned and with mold on the shower curtains which made me feel disgusted to even touch them. Ripped curtains in the bedroom and the darken curtains were impossible to use; the bedside lamp didn’t work, the chair was dirty. Extremely noisy, they had live music every day and I could hear everything even If we weren’t interested, very annoying. Supposedly they have service by the pool but at no time we went there was someone to help, and we r talking about working hours for the pool, in the morning and afternoon. They offered a complementary Italian buffet dinner but don’t bother, it was very bad, salty, dry and just not appetizing, not sure how many times they reuse all dishes. We mentioned all of this to the front desk staff and also filled up a review survey sheet but they clearly didn’t care, even the person who seemed the FD manager/ supervisor didn’t even apologize, she was more concentrated on charging us for the $55 pesos beer (less than USD$3) than what we were saying about our stay. She saw us back again when we picked up our car and nothing, not a word, nor followup. These people should be ashamed of the job they are doing. Staff is not trained to clean properly, served properly or even care about complains properly. The only good thing they have is a very polite and smiley bellboy, he deserved a better place to work.
Read more
We stayed one night in early July 2018. Cuernavaca itself was not that impressive for me (partly because we could not see the Herman Cortez palace nor cathedral due to the renovation from the earthquake damage that happened in Sep 2017). But our stay in this hotel made us feel very special. People who work there were very nice. We were recommended to stay in other hotel (Mañanitas for price of $250 a night or more), but I am so happy that we chose this clean nice hotel that is very accessible by walking to Centro. Online booking will give you the better deal. On site reservation was around $3,300 pesos ($165-ish) including dinner (not breakfast). The dinner came with salad, main dish (we had chicken), the local dessert. (Drinks were not included). The live jazz performance added to the atmosphere. Local classy Mexican people started to come to eat around 8:30 pm, and it gets busier. We had the room with bathtub that was very relaxing, so we went back to our room. Only drawback to add (to our experience) was that Even though they have a wonderful rooftop bar and small swimming pool, we could not enjoy because there was a private party going on . I recommend to check the availability to public if you want to enjoy the bar on the roof.
Read more
Response from María C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Flor de Mayo Hotel and Restaurant
Responded Aug 7, 2018
Thank you for your comment. We appreciate your visit!!
Read more
I had high expectations for this place but the hotel managed to squash all of them. Upon arrival, the elevator was not working so we had to walk up four flights of stairs to the room (we got the last room in the hotel). We left in a hurry to attend a wedding. We came back at 7am and asked the front desk for a couple of bottles of water, but the guy at the reception said he didn’t have any (how is this possible at 7am in a hotel?) and suggested the perrier from the minibar in our room. After climbing the stairs yet again we got to the room and while brushing our teeth and getting ready for bed we realized we had no hand soap or hand towels. We made do with what was there and went to bed. That didn’t last long either. The air conditioner was not working so the room got very hot and humid. Then, at around 10am a mariachi trio started playing so there was no way to get any sleep. We called again for water and it was brought up to the room with a bill (they offer complimentary water bottles), I also asked them to please quiet the band so we could get some rest and they agreed- for about ten minutes. I finally woke up and called reception again to ask the for some peace and quiet and the lady that answered the phone started laughing at me so I asked to speak to the manager. The manager, EDGAR ARREOLA, was rude in the first place saying that they always had the band and they had already done us a great favor in quieting the band for a bit. I said that I came to the hotel to sleep and this was not really working: the band, the air conditioner, the water, the missing amenities, and now that I wanted a coffee the machine in the room was also broken (just my luck!) The manager asked me what room I was in to which I answered “the worst room you have” and he said, “oh you are in room 53”. That did it for me. If you know it is the worst room, why give it to a paying customer? He finally agreed to give us half of our money back (we had to pay upon arrival) and treat us to breakfast. But that wasn’t true either. We ordered breakfast and when we finished the waiter brought us the bill saying that what we ordered wasn’t part of the “American breakfast”. What American breakfast? We had to pay of course. We got ready to leave and went to the front desk to ask about our refund and the guy there asked us for bank account details and said he would make a deposit the following day. It has been almost three weeks and we still don’t have our money back. The hotel claims they are having “bank trouble” but I believe it’s just another excuse and the manager was lying when he offered the refund, like he lied about breakfast. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL. Don’t ruin your stay in beautiful Cuernavaca because of a hotel’s lack of attention to detail. It is not worth it.
Read more
Response from María C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Flor de Mayo Hotel and Restaurant
Responded May 7, 2018
We are sorry for this inconvenience, we will check this situación with the manager.
Read more
This is my first negative review. I research hotels carefully and so we have been very happy until the last day of our stay at Flor de Mayo. On the morning that we were leaving, we discovered that someone had gained entry to our "safe" and robbed us. We stayed at the hotel from February 4-10. I was attending ASLI Spanish Institute for 2 weeks. We loved the hotel (until we were robbed). The weekend was busy but during the weekdays, it was just us and sometimes another couple or two. When I arrived on January 29, I converted $200 dollars to pesos at the airport ($200 dollars = $3830 pesos). In addition, I had $160 dollars in refunds for down payment and changing to half days the second week. The $60 dollars I received in pesos. I did not change the $100 dollar bill. My husband brought down $700 dlls on Feb. 4. We changed $300 dlls. of his money to pesos at the airport. I didn't spend much the first week; I stayed with a family. Once at the hotel, we kept our money in the "security" box. On February 8, we were going to Tepotzlán for the afternoon, so we thought we should change some dollars to pesos to supplement what we already had. When I pulled out a $100 dollar bill, a $100 peso bill came out with it. With that $100 peso, we knew we had enough Mexican currency & we could wait to change money. I returned the $100 dlls to safe & locked it. We had not had a bedding change yet (per our request), only towels, garbage, water, so we asked housekeeper to change the bedding when we were leaving. I believe we were the only guests in the hotel too. Very quiet. We did not open the safe until the day we were checking out (the 10th). I could not open it. Flashed "error..." I could not re-set it either. A worker came up and opened it with the master key. The envelope was nearly flat. It contained $140 dollars in 20's. The $100 dollar bill that I saw on Wednesday the 8th was gone. The amount that was left in dollars was not even. At the airport, we cashed in only even amounts (like $300). I believe we were robbed of $260 dollars. We were sick. We couldn't eat breakfast. We just left. My husband felt that we would never get our money back. (True). Four days after returning, I started putting these "coincidences" together, so I wrote to hotel management on Feb 18, Feb 25, and March 3. Finally, a reply that said "...we find it confusing you never state the amount...in the safe" So, I sent the facts in numbered points. That was March 5th. No response. It is true that we were unsure of the exact amount in the safe. I had taken a bus to the Mexico City airport to accompany my husband to Cuernavaca. He had woken up at 4 a.m. I have told management that we accepted that our money would not be returned, but that we deserved an investigation into it. If I was management, I would be very concerned. There is a thief in their house.
Read more
Response from María C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Flor de Mayo Hotel and Restaurant
Responded Apr 4, 2017
We sorry for this situation, let me check what happened and we will improve this part. ¿Could you give me some contact phone? m.caporal@grupodorados.mx Thanks you.
Read more
Such a warm, welcoming & helpful staff, they really go beyond in their desires to assist you with your needs & to make for a great stay. The hotel is beautiful & just a cool 10 minute walk to the zocalo, extremely convenient location with great secured parking. Awesome breakfast & great restaurant space with breakfast included, heated rooftop pool & terrace, open airy feel as all the rooms face the central courtyard restaurant covered in beautiful plants. The rooms are super clean, well appointed with all you could want & need, a/c, airy windows, tv, mini refrigerator, coffee machine, mini bar, good furniture, safety box, shower with good water pressure & hot water, hangers... really a perfect relaxing & perfect stay. There's also a lovely spa offering massages & fiends. Very welcoming to pets & the parking lot has lovely grass spaces making it a truly pet friendly hotel. More than recommend for all!
Read more
Response from María C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Flor de Mayo Hotel and Restaurant
Responded Apr 4, 2017
Thank you a lot for your great comment. We are wating for you next visit.
Read more
$96 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
MexicoCentral Mexico and Gulf CoastMorelosCuernavaca
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing