We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Privada Miramar 336 Col. Centro, Puerto Vallarta 48300 Mexico
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Noche de Amor
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$460
Booking.com$575
Travelocity$460
Priceline$575
Vio.com$460
Orbitz.com$460
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (474)
Room & Suite (106)
Videos (3)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#6 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.5
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
Hacienda San Angel's twelve luxuriously appointed suites are situated among a verdant oasis of lush gardens dripping with fiery bougainvillea and fragrant jasmine. Meticulously pairing Mexican Colonial decor with lavish amenities, the traditional hacienda atmosphere offers a comfortable yet refined respite. While each suite is distinctly different, all offer air conditioning, spectacular coastal views or private balconies, and a magnificent array of antiques and fine art dating to the 17th Century.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Game room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Couples massage
Adults only
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Concierge
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Noche de Amor
388Reviews23Q+A55Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 305
  • 37
  • 21
  • 12
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Marina K wrote a review Dec 5
+1
The Hacienda was magical at night and beautiful in the day. From the homemade breakfasts to the comfortable beds and suites everything was of the highest quality. The staff was welcoming and responsive. We especially loved little Michael who greeted us daily. Our family had a wonderful time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
mdlesq wrote a review Jul 2022
Los Angeles, California64 contributions26 helpful votes
+1
Property's Favorite Review
I can’t rave enough about HSA. The building itself is incredibly charming, full of character, history, and luxury, displaying gorgeous Mexican antiques and three gracious pools. The staff here is, without exception, first class. They are warm, efficient, and generous with assistance and advice. I have to give a special shout-out to Alejandro who oversaw a fantastic private tequila tasting for me and served me a beautiful dinner in the hacienda’s restaurant, which every weekend night is filled with enchanting live music. Stay as along as you can and get a room with a view! You’ll never regret it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: There are a lot of steps, but lots of ways to minimize the impact. Don’t miss the communal...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paula Castaneda, Owner at Hacienda San Angel
Responded Jul 7, 2022
We are so happy you enjoyed your visit with us. We really hope all of our guests will have your experience. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for taking the time to give us such an lovely review. I will be sure my staff and Alejandro know of your appreciation!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eddy L wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
My friends and family came to Hacienda San Angel to celebrate a birthday. While waiting to be sat down, we were told that men needed a buttoned shirt, a new policy from two months ago. This was not disclosed to us when we made the reservation. My friends and I, total of seven of us in our late thirties and early forties, all working professionals from different races and backgrounds, met with the owner, since we weren’t told about the dress code during the reservation process. The owner (Paula) walked in with no shoes, dirty feet, tattoos showing, and a hippy outfit, looking disheveled. She started the conversation looking at my Persian friend, and said, “What’s going on?” - no greeting, no professionalism, just annoyed and short with all of us. We were all formally dressed, with the exception of not having button-down shirts, Paula and her hostess recommended that we put on wrinkled, ripped collared shirts from her storage closet, which made us look like restaurant personnel. Again, in our mixed group we had; Black, Mexican, Persian, and White people. Groups before us (all seemed to be older White Americans like Paula) walked in dressed casually in wrinkled beach wear. We refused to wear the degrading shirts at the restaurant and she refused to seat us. We were being as friendly as possible but her racism blinded her from being logical and practical. Paula continued to address us in a demeaning manner. We decided to be the bigger people and left the restaurant to go eat at a much classier and better managed location across the street, called La Cappella. It is sad to see that this racist Paula refused to seat us because we did not want to wear her demeaning shirts. Please stay away from this location, and don’t support this crazy racist woman’s restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Kristy D wrote a review Oct 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
This was our 2nd stay and everything was just as breathtaking and perfect as it was our first stay in September of 2019! The beauty and sacredness of the Hacienda is truly breathtaking and offers so much sense of peace and serenity for us during our stays. Walking through the Hacienda to admire all the historical artifacts, reading and relaxing by the pool with the beautiful angelic fountain statue and sitting on our room's balcony to soak in the beauty of the views are just a few our favorite pastimes during our stays. We also thoroughly enjoyed dining in the rooftop restaurant during our stay again to indulge in the signature dishes the Hacienda offers with my favorite being the Al Pastor Shrimp Brochette and Coconut Creme Brulee to finish it off! On our last evening, the hotel owner, Paula, invited us to do a taste testing with her and the chef for potential new items which was such a fun and memorable experience!! The rest of the staff was just as helpful and dedicated to making our stay as relaxing and magical as it possibly could be. They assisted us with all our questions and in town travel needs and even surprised us with chocolate strawberries, red roses and towel swans laid out on our bed for our anniversary! My husband and I feel soo blessed to find such a special place to retreat to and make memories together......the Hacienda San Angel and staff will always hold a very special place in our hearts! Until next time!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jean L wrote a review Jul 2022
Mesa, Arizona2 contributions2 helpful votes
If I had to pick just a single word to describe Hacienda San Angel, I would have to choose “exquisite.” From the moment you step inside the large wooden doors, you leave modernity behind and are transported into a breathtaking atmosphere of old-world charm that envelopes you. Created out of three contiguous villas (one of them previously owned by Richard Burton), this hacienda is a maze of different levels connected by courtyards and terraces overgrown with lovely gardens and trees. In addition to three pools, the public spaces offer fountains, statues, paintings, other works of art, and areas to sit, relax and appreciate the beauty and serenity around you. And that’s not even counting the panoramic view encompassing the hills, city, and Banderas Bay, the tea candles that light your way around the compound at night, or the furnishings and art work in each of the completely unique suites. It is utterly romantic. Though the space is sprawling, the number of guests is small enough to make you feel as if you have the entire hotel to yourself. The staff is so friendly, attentive, and helpful that you immediately come to know each (including their dogs that roam the premises) on a first-name basis. Given all this, along with the impeccable service, its 5-star restaurant, and ideal location within walking distance to the Malecon, I can’t imagine staying anywhere in PV other than Hacienda San Angel. You’ll never want to leave. I didn’t.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paula Castaneda, Owner at Hacienda San Angel
Responded Jul 30, 2022
We are so happy you enjoyed your visit as that is what we strive for. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for spending the time to give us such a wonderful review. Your description is so detailed and much appreciated. Thank you for your lovely compliments and for sharing.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KAZDelta wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
This place was highly recommended by our friends who live locally. We came all the way from nyc,for my friends birthday party and had a birthday cake delivered for the special occasion ; made a reservation for 8pm and arrived at 755pm. The hostess immediately told us the kitchen closes at 10pm. 2 people n our party were arriving 30 mins late due traffic. We ordered drinks and took a walk on beautiful grounds to take pictures and watch sunset. We were approached again by the hostess at 845pm who told us the kitchen closes at 10pm. We made our way back to the table n then the waiter said kitchen closes at 930pm??!!! We were the only ones of 20% capacity and the place was empty. So we ordered a bottle of rose’ n couple appetizers. Our friend showed up at 915!pm but at that point we were not going to have dinner because if this rude service. Manager, are you there for the customer or is the customer there for you??? I’ll never return to this place!! Adios!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paula Castaneda, Owner at Hacienda San Angel
Responded Jul 24, 2022
This is your third posting on your horrible experience in my restaurant. I feel bad each time I read your rundown of the evening and I truly hope you are able to shake it all off soon as to continue to suffer like this cannot be good for your health. To be fair, it was never our intention to provide a terrible experience. I'm equally sorry my repeated apologies do not seem to matter or to reduce your trauma. My staff do not strive to go home early as they make less money that way and defeats the point of showing up to work; however the kitchen closes at 10 and the last order is at 9:30. My staff witnessed that though some were on time for dinner, others were an hour late and noticed that you may miss the opportunity to have dinner if your party didn't place orders on time. They were trying to help you and were misunderstood by you, We were ready to take your order but you left angry at our prompts to support you instead of ordering. For the third time, I regret that my staff were unable to communicate their intentions more effectively and we are using your feedback constructively to improve "how" staff might come across more clear in their intentions. Nobody was trying to get rid of you. You would have been allowed to stay and enjoy your meal but the kitchen had to close at ten so you were running out of time to have any food to enjoy. I do hope you are able to recover soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MakenaGirl11 wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
We loved our room (San Gabriel), the A/C!, the staff, the food, the location, the linens, the pools, the restaurant, it was terrific. Sergio is the best! The front desk helped with restaurant recommendations, Ubers, taxis. Beautiful property and very well managed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paula Castaneda, Owner at Hacienda San Angel
Responded Jul 1, 2022
We are so happy you enjoyed your visit. Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. Your enjoyment is important to us and we value your feedback. Thank you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jen B wrote a review Jun 2022
San Francisco, Mexico101 contributions56 helpful votes
I celebrated a recent birthday at Hacienda San Angel, and I couldn't have enjoyed myself more. This classically beautiful property is quintessential romantic Puerto Vallarta. Everything from the linens to the candle-lit walkways, to the delicious room service breakfast offers guests quality, charm, and serenity. The staff was incredibly attentive and friendly, which makes all the difference. I can't wait to return!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paula Castaneda, Owner at Hacienda San Angel
Responded Jun 19, 2022
Thank you for your thoughtful and lovely review. We are more than delighted you so enjoyed your visit and your birthday with us. I don't know how you found us but I'm glad you did. Have a wonderful new year of life!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathie F wrote a review May 2022
Houston, Texas12 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
Old world boutique hotel with renaissance gardens, charming patios, quaint bells 🔔 and excellent service. Every single thing, from the candles on the walkway to the appointments in the room were carefully considered and artfully executed. Grace took care of our Covid tests for customs, Marvin took care of our luggage and cocktails around the pool upon arrival, and Jesus with numerous coffee and ice water requests the following morning at breakfast. The sheets are silky soft cotton, the pillows a perfect choice of soft/firm, the bath towels are luscious bath sheets, the pool water a perfect temperature to luxuriate, the pool towels a separate style and plentiful, the fruit at breakfast so very fresh, the croissants warm and buttery, the coffee superb. We didn’t want to ever leave.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paula Castaneda, Owner at Hacienda San Angel
Responded May 27, 2022
Thank you so very much for leaving such a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit as that is what we always hope for. I will be sure the staff know their efforts were appreciated. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shammy12 wrote a review May 2022
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico15 contributions8 helpful votes
Sergio start out bringing our wives menus and totally forgot me and my friend Clay. Asked if we were ready to order before we had the menus for myself and friend. Caesar salad was totally unacceptable wilted lettuce with soggy tomatoes that do not belong on any Caesar I know. When I told him this, there was no positive response. The meals were fine but not great. They brought out a birthday crème brûlée. We had several cocktails and a bottle of champagne. Perfectly fine. When Sergio brought out the bill he suggested it would be better for him if we paid the tip in cash. Not acceptable and he did not get it. Have been to Hacienda San Angel at least 4 time over the years with great service and will never return and we will advise friends of our experience. Nice evening destroyed by Sergio. He may have been busy but that does not excuse rude service. Note: replace faucet in mens restroom. Take a look you will understand. Beautiful place that needs attention. Your hostess was excellent and Sergio should be fired. Note: We left a 20% tip on a large bill. Trust me we did not make the tip in cash as Sergio almost demanded. Hopefully you will listen and make some changes. Dennis and Karen Johnson Clay and Janey Ashworth
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paula Castaneda, Owner at Hacienda San Angel
Responded May 20, 2022
Thank you for your past patronage. I am so very sorry for your less than enjoyable visit. What you described is not acceptable nor is what I would wish for my guests. Sergio is usually well liked and we have the same chefs so I am perplexed but will be investigating. I can usually be very proud of my staff and I feel terrible that your wife's birthday was marred by this negative experience. We do not have a tipping policy or preference so it is all bizarre for me to read. I am impressed you left a tip after what you described. I will be addressing your experience with my staff. I am sorry that one bad experience is overshadowing several good experiences you have had here. Thank you again for your past patronage.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$544 - $787 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hacienda san angel hotel puerto vallarta
LOCATION
MexicoJaliscoPuerto Vallarta
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HACIENDA SAN ANGEL - Updated 2022 Prices & Inn Reviews (Puerto Vallarta, Mexico)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hacienda San Angel
Which popular attractions are close to Hacienda San Angel?
Nearby attractions include La Catrina Cantina (0.3 miles), Evolucion Silver Jewelry (0.2 miles), and Parroquia de Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hacienda San Angel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hacienda San Angel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a view of a nearby landmark, and a pool view.
What food & drink options are available at Hacienda San Angel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hacienda San Angel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Xolo Restaurante, No Sé Nada Bar y Restaurante, and Makal.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hacienda San Angel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hacienda San Angel have airport transportation?
Yes, Hacienda San Angel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hacienda San Angel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Puerto Vallarta.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hacienda San Angel?
Yes, laundry service and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hacienda San Angel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hacienda San Angel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.