We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Portonovo Plaza

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Portonovo Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Showing 96: English reviews
Dauphin, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is close to attractions and the "scene" in PV. It's nothing fancy, and the pool is small, but it's a clean, quiet place to lay your head down. Beware of possible room changes. We requested a double bed and were given two singles. As compensation, they moved us to a queen for the other 6 nights of our... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank John T
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! Although the bedding is not guaranteed until the time of arrival, we are glad to read that we did well by accommodating you in a better room. Thank you so much for staying with us! Come back soon to this your home away from home! More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2016 via mobile

The room is nice we paid $40 Canadian... (Expedia) Super clean, no bugs... But the room (114) smells like and old dirty mop.. We also need to keep bathroom door closed as it smells like sewage... But at $40 ?!?! It's pretty good price. You get used to the smell after a few tequilas and we are not here to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Po- C
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We apologize on the inconvenience that the smell caused you; we work diligently to solve this issue. We are glad to read that you had an overall good experience and that you enjoyed your vacation. Thank you for your kind comments to our staff, we were very happy to have you stay with us. Thank... More 

Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on recommendation from a list of options for a destination wedding. The staff was friendly, but that was about the best part of the hotel. When we checked into our room there was pubic hairs in the toilet and hairs in the shower. Our room was like a prison cell, small and very dark. The lighting was... More 

Helpful?
Thank FatdogThyme
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

We are sorry to read your stay was not what you expected. We appreciate your feedback and we thank you for staying with us! More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2016

I booked the Superior room through expedia.com When I arrived I got a superior twin room, two twin size beds in a room smaller than some american bathrooms. As soon as I opened the door, I went straight to the phone and called the operator who said that was the only room they had available. I did get the superior... More 

Helpful?
Thank Albert752k2
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, it is very important to us. We are glad to read you enjoyed some aspects of the hotel. We apologize for all inconveniences caused during your stay. For us, it was a pleasure to have you over. Thank you for staying! More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

My wife and I made the mistake of waiting until the last minute to book our hotel during the December/Xmas break busy season and were forced to pick some random places that were not as highly rated in the B&B/affordable category. The Portonovo is by no means a bad place to stay-I just probably wouldn't stay here again if other,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank longhorn2006
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us. We appreciate your feedback, specially to read you enjoyed the food and location. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015 via mobile

All of the staff were very friendly and ready to help. For our room, the AC didn't work, they attempted to fix it, they couldn't and exchanged the room at no cost. The second room was nice (with working AC), but it was right on the front of the hotel, making it very loud due to road noise. Overall, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank AFowler08
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

We are happy to read you had a good, pleasant stay with us. Thank you for pointing out the nice details we had with you; but most of all, thank yo for staying with us. We hope to have you back soon enough at this you home, away from home! More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our first two nights in PV. The staff was friendly and accomodating. I felt especially welcomed by Fernando, our singing porter. The free breakfast buffet was very generous and included sweet breads, yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, chilaques salsas, beans, meat etc. Along with orange juice and coffee. The rooftop pool is cold and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thaisamused
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

We are happy to read that your stay was overall pleasant. We loved having you over! Thank you for taking the time to evaluate us, but mostly, thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you soon! More 

Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

I was there for pleasure for a weekend, and the hospitality recieved by everyone was amazing!! Hotel is located in the best part of town, ideal for walking everywhere, the malecon (boardwalk) is 2 blocks away and most importantly, the beach is only a few steps away!!! Breakfast is very good, and it has all kinds of options for different... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paulina R
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We sincerely appreciate all your kind comments on our hospitality, location and added values. We work hard every day to make our guests happy and to make them feel at home . We are very happy to read our goal was fulfilled with you. Thank you! More 

Nanaimo, BC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

After the Tropicana Hotel was renovated, and raised their prices accordingly we needed to find a new place to stay that was within our budget. Initially we booked into the Portonovo for a few nights not knowing what to expect. What a treat! Although the hotel is not on the beach, it is a wonderful find, close to the beach... More 

Helpful?
Thank sue_lovely
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

We feel honored to know that we are your new preferred hotel in Puerto Vallarta! Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very happy to read that our goal of a pleasant stay for a fair price was fulfilled with you. We can't wait to have have you back for another week! And another, and another, and... More 

Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Located just a block up from the beach and about 3 blocks from the start of the malecon. We had a twin bed room with balcony. Room was very small but larger rooms are available. Small rooftop pool. Rates are very good and include a full breakfast. Great service by Jaime, Jesus and Fernando and also Luis in the breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrick and Mer... C
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind evaluation to our staff. We are happy to read you had a pleasant stay with us; it was our pleasure to have you over. Please come back next year, and the next and always to this your home away from home! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

243 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Standard King Room (17)
Viewed
Standard Red Room (23)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (20)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room with Balcony (18)
Viewed
Standard Two Doubles Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
Two-Bedroom Suite (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#28 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,873 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#26 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,967 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#7 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#42 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#38 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#32 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located right in Puerto Vallarta’s downtown, three small blocks away from the Famous Malecon! This totally new 45 mid-luxury rooms welcomes all kind of guests, especially those traveling on a budget but without willing to sacrifice comfort, location and style. We provide a wonderful downtown experience for we try to pamper and make all of our guests stay unique. We attend their needs and provide wonderful service. For that, all of our guests leave feeling happy and they keep coming back! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Portonovo Plaza

Address: Avenida Mexico # 1125 | Colonia 5 de Diciembre, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $45 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Portonovo Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Portonovo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay