We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hotel Portonovo Plaza

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 96: English reviews
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The location is amazing, you need to walk some Minutes to the "malecon" where you can find many bars, restaurants or enjoy a walk with your friends or family. The pool has an excellent view but is very small. You can have free breakfast but there is not variety of food nor beverages. The parking is included and you can... More 

Helpful?
Thank David F
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the time you took to evaluate us. We are glad to read that the location of our little great hotel was so convenient and served well to the purpose of your trip. Pleas know we had a great time having you over and we hope to have you back in the near future. Thank you... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2016

Chose this place based on all of the reviews in Expedia and this website. Our experience was quite similar to the most recent experiences of other travelers. We booked a room back in January for a week. We reserved a double which was supposed to be a matrimonial. When we entered our room, we saw two twin beds. We complained... More 

Helpful?
Thank clyde m
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you very much on your feedback. We are very please to read you had a pleasant stay and that we were able to take good care of you. We do apologize for the inconveniences caused by the bedding. Thank you so much for staying with us. Please come back soon to your home away from home! More 

rhinelander wi
Level Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2016

We had never stayed in the downtown area of Vallarta and picked the Hotel Porto Novo. We were very pleased with our choice. The hotel was renovated about 6 years ago and is very modern and clean. The staff were all great but Jamie the bellman went beyond. When I asked if there was a lavenderia close by to get... More 

Helpful?
Thank rhinelandermike
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback, specially on the staff and Mr. Jaime, we sincerely appreciate it. We are very happy to read your stay was a pleasant one for it was our very pleasure to have you over. Thank you for staying and please, come back soon! More 

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2016

Perfect location away from the touristy part of PV and to beach, Playa Camarones. Breakfast was a plus but lacked imagination after a few days. Rooms are tight but modern, clean and balcony on Avenida Mexico made a difference. Decent water pressure. AC available. Front desk staff should learn to greet and smile from the personable bellmen. Semana Santa crowds... More 

Helpful?
Thank BeachBoHo
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. We apologize on the WiFi, a lot of devices where connected making the signal weak. Thank you so much for staying with us, we had a great time having you over! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2016

We were greated by Jamie and made us feel really appreciated! He was very helpful and attentive to our needs! The hotel was very clean and perfectly located. I would recommend this hotel for it's location but not for the breakfast!

Helpful?
Thank Jocelyne J
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are very sorry to read the breakfast service was not enjoyable to you. We have submitted your comment to the Restaurant for them to consider. On the other hand, we are glad to know the staff was nice and that you enjoyed our cleanliness and location. We had a... More 

Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 8 nights and will do it again! The rooms are really modern and cozy! For the price we paid, we were extremely pleased with the room. Really clean from the lobby, the hallways, all the way up to the room! Friendly staff, AWESOME free breakfast! Things I'd recommend they get is better Wi-FI... More 

Helpful?
Thank cal076
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are happy to read you had a nice stay, we had a great time accommodating you. We appreciate your recommendations on the safe and we sincerely apologize on the WiFi service. Thank you so much for staying with us, and please, come back soon! More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2016

Nestled between the main thoroughfare of Avenida Mexico on one side and a block from the beach on the other, this 3-star hotel is a good value at 900 MXN a night. The rooms are smallish but not especially cramped. The beds and bedding aren't great; the mattresses are stiff and the sheets are of lower quality. The AC worked... More 

Helpful?
Thank MisterEtraveller
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment and evaluation. We are glad to know your stay was overall a good experience and that the value of it was worthy. Thank you so much for choosing us, and for staying with us! Please come back soon! More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2016

Overall a great place, really nice people and felt right at home here. Try to not get put down by all the selling if places that they pitch to you, its how everyone makes their money in Puerto Vallarta, everyone has a bookie for their tours, but they were nice and overall helpful. the wifi does stink, so you do... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pookeye
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. We are happy to read the staff was helpful and nice and they made you feel at home (for you were!). Thank you for choosing us and for staying with us! More 

Kielce, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2016

Although the location was really good (15 min walk to city centre, close to the open beach) and the price is good, there are lots of things that could be fixed: - We had huge problems with Wi-Fi and we couldn't connect it in our rooms - Breakfasts and the whole restaurant was very disappointing (the same meal every day,... More 

Helpful?
Thank adamb2203
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

We are very sorry to read that your experience was overall not a positive one. We have acknowledged all of your comments in regards to the WiFi and restaurant service. We sincerely appreciate your honest feedback. Thank you for staying with us, it was our pleasure to have you over! More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2016

Good value here. Booked a room for $50 to lay my head for an evening. Pros: - Centrally located downtown. Easy access to beach, clubs, and malecon. - Check in was a breeze. - Good price - Breakfast included Cons: -The room didn't have a safe -WiFi in the room was spotty at best -Hallway had a bleach like smell... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank evan_h20s
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. Your feedback is very important to us. We apologize for all inconveniences, we are working on solving all of them so we can provide a better experience. We are glad to know that overall, you had a good time with us. It was our very pleasure to have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

243 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Standard King Room (17)
Viewed
Standard Red Room (23)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (20)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room with Balcony (18)
Viewed
Standard Two Doubles Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
Two-Bedroom Suite (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#28 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,808 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#40 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#23 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#7 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,557 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Suites Nadia
Hotel Suites Nadia
#61 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#30 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located right in Puerto Vallarta’s downtown, three small blocks away from the Famous Malecon! This totally new 45 mid-luxury rooms welcomes all kind of guests, especially those traveling on a budget but without willing to sacrifice comfort, location and style. We provide a wonderful downtown experience for we try to pamper and make all of our guests stay unique. We attend their needs and provide wonderful service. For that, all of our guests leave feeling happy and they keep coming back! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Portonovo Plaza

Address: Avenida Mexico # 1125 | Colonia 5 de Diciembre, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $46 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Portonovo Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Portonovo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay