We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 Zona Costera Cerritos, Mazatlan 82110 Mexico
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Receive 500 free points
Hotels.com
Riu.com
$179
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/24/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
$345
$145
View deal
SAVE $200
Booking.com$345
Priceline
Expedia.com$179
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (4319)
360
Panoramas (80)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#23 of 101 hotels in Mazatlan
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The 24h All Inclusive Hotel Riu Emerald Bay opens all year round and is located on the beautiful Playa Las Brujas beach close to the Mexican town of Mazatlán. The RIU Classic Hotels offer comfortable rooms and excellent facilities with great leisure and relaxation facilities, as well as international gastronomy. Enjoy a relaxing holiday - whether alone, with family, partner or friends! The location is ideal because of its proximity to General Rafael Buelna International Airport Mazatlan MZT (32 km) and Marina El Cid (10 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 1028 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities. Relax in our Renova Spa or get in shape at the gym. 5 outdoor pools, 1 children's pool with slides and a water park. RiuLand kids’ club (ages 4-7 & 8-12 years) for the youngest guests and for adults, day and evening entertainment. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main restaurant as well as Asian, Mexican and Italian specialty restaurants, 7 bars.
Read more
Room & Suite (899)899
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Billiards
Children's playground
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Waterslide
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Separate living room
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bidet
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Receive 500 free points

Location

Full view
45Car recommended
Grade: 45 out of 100
264Restaurantswithin 5 miles
35Attractionswithin 5 miles
4524Reviews718Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,580
  • 1,552
  • 740
  • 324
  • 328
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stephreyes8 wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
Great hotel and family oriented. Took a little longer to check in due to a high amount of traffic of people also checking in. Reserved a room with ocean view and ended up in another room with a view to a garden wall. RIU team apologized for mix up and found us a ocean view room even though there were none available anymore. Over all great service.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. While we are glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel´s nice design and our staff members´ dedicated services, we regret that there seems to have been a misunderstanding about the category and view of your room. We are pleased that this has been rectified. Also, we regret that you had to wait a long time at check-in as this process took longer than usual. We assure you this normally does not happen. We are happy that you had an enjoyable family vacation with us! We look forward to seeing you back again soon. Kind regards, Hotel Riu Emerald Bay Online Reputation Manager
Read more
RRRidley wrote a review May 2021
Anchorage, Alaska1 contribution1 helpful vote
We went to puerto virata Riu Jalisco last time so we wanted to try another Riu resort. Love the all inclusive! It was a gorgeous hotel! I have no complaints but some things that were just a little downer for us. You had to reserve a spot very early in the morning at our favorite restaurant. The ocean was always too dangerous to swim in during our stay, the bands on the beach were ALWAYS GOING! It was insanely annoying if we were out there. It was about 50/50 for finding workers who spoke English. BUT, I wouldn’t complain about those things, just heads up for other American travelers.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
billcat1 wrote a review Apr 2021
United States24 contributions49 helpful votes
food was ok, rooms were ok, staff was good, thats where I have to stop because it was not relaxing vacation, no covid protocols in place at this Riu. No social distancing, very few masks, people were on top of each other at the restaurants and bars,Pool and beach chairs to close together, and I am sure they were at full capacity.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: all rooms have a view, however no social distancing here
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Responded Apr 19, 2021
Dear billcat1, Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel Riu Emerald Bay. We are glad you enjoyed our gastronomic selection, your room´s commodity and our staff´s professionality, however we are surprised by your comments about our safety protocols. We have taken specific safety measures to safeguard the health of our guests and employees and we are applying strict anti-covid-19 protocols in collaboration with Preverisk; a prestigious company specialized in health and safety in the tourism sector which guarantees the total reliable stay in our facilities. We have also considerably reduced the seating capacity and have applied all the necessary measures in terms of hygiene and safety distances. Therefore, you can imagine our disappointment to read that you left our hotel with a different impression. Please rest assured that we will follow up on your comment to reassure that our strict anti-covid-19 protocols are being followed. We are looking forward to having another chance to welcoming you back in the near future. Have a great day, Hotel Riu Emerald Bay Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Guitar God wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Stayed at Riu Emerald Bay the last week of March 2021, here are my experiences. PROS: Hotel: Was very clean and well kept up, lots of staff always cleaning. Rooms and balcony were pretty large and ocean view from room was spectacular. Food: Large variety of buffet style food and artistically presented, which did change daily. We are vegetarians (not vegen) and they had lots of very fresh fruits/vegitables (raw and sauteed) and salads every day, they also pastas, veggy pizza, pancakes, eggs and french toast. Pretty good variety. The hotel also had a huge staff that was always ready to take your plate and bring you another beer. The staff was always friendly and most new enough english so we could communicate. Alcohol: The drinks were not watered down or premixed, alcohol was poured directly from bottles and you could ask for stronger drinks if you wanted. Many bars were open onsite at one time and it was very easy to get drinks with little to no wait. Often times a fresh beer would be brought to me before I even asked. Beach: Very nice views, the waves are soothing and easily heard during the night (after the mariachis stop - see below) with a window open for a relaxing sound. CONS: Noise: From about noon until 8pm, up to 3 mariachi bands with tubas, multiple trumpets and singers with amplifiers are all playing LOUD over each other on the beach facing the hotel. While it may be cultural and set a mood at first, it soon becomes nonstop annoying noise. Even with your doors and windows all closed you still hear it. Hotel does nothing to stop them. Total destroyed any relaxing part of our vacation. I wanted my vacation to end early just so I could get some quiet. Children: This is not a "con" persay, but in case you didnt know, this is a kids friendly hotel, and there are lots of them. Do not expect any nightlife or a party type "all exclusive drink for free" atmosphere. If thats is what you want, don't go here. There two night bars consisted of kareoke and watching dance videos and Mexicans version of American Idol while everybody sat. No dancing. Pools: The two large pools are useable by everybody, including the kids. However, there are two adult only pools with swim up bars, which would normally be great, however they are tiny by comparrison of the other pools and can get overcrowded. It made me cringe by the end of the day to even think about slipping a toe into that overcrowded swim up bar water. All pools are no deeper than 4 feet. Taxi Cost: Unless you book directly through Riu's website portal, Riu will not provide a pick up/drop off bus service to the airport. So if you choose to use a taxi, its about $30 each way. You could try an Uber, but we did not. Beds: Rather hard and uncomfortable. Cold: A few nights in March it actually got quite cold. The room does not have a heater. We had to ask for extra blankets and I slept in a hoodie. No problem during the day and air conditioning worked fine. Elevators: For the most part they were fine, but at busy times if you are on the bottom 10 floors, usually the elevators coming down from the top are full by the time they reach you, so you end up waiting through multiple calls which is time consuming. Bottom line, while the hotel, food, alcohol, service and staff was quite good, we will not go back because of the mariachi bands. They are the deal breaker.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: No quieter rooms anywhere. Best elevator access rooms are the top end.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Responded Apr 14, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for being our guest and sharing your stay. We are glad to hear that we were able to meet your taste with the food and drinks selection offered in our restaurants and bars. Furthermore, we are grateful for your compliments on the cleanliness throughout the hotel and it is great to hear that your room with its spectacular ocean view was to your full satisfaction. good food and drinks On the other hand, we are sorry to learn that the sound of the mariachi bands coming from the beach made your stay less enjoyable. Please know, the beach is a public space, and within our property unfortunately, due to the size of our hotel, it is not always easy to provide in all areas a relaxed atmosphere. Our priority is always to do our best so that all our guests feel comfortable. For this reason, we take great care to keep the balance between the noise level of a hotel of our dimensions and the tranquility of our guests. Furthermore, all guestrooms are built considering the legal requirements regarding insulation. Since a good night's sleep is crucial and expected when traveling, we are sorry that you did not find your bed comfortable. We would have liked to have been informed about all of the inconveniences during your stay, in the event where our guests require mattress toppers, we are able to provide them and they are available upon request at our Front Desk. Certainly, your review is of the utmost importance to us so we can be aware of where to make improvements and has been forwarded to our management team for further consideration. Although we could not convince you entirely this time, we hope you will give us another chance and we can see you again in the future. Hotel Riu Emerald Bay Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Teri W wrote a review Apr 2021
Cashmere, Washington, United States56 contributions21 helpful votes
The check in process was approximately two hours. Communication is limited and there were screaming children everywhere. (understandable for a two-hour check in process.) Our room was the nicest part of the stay and we often retreated there for tranquility from the noise and the beach bands. If only one band would play, it would be fine, but there were four every single day. They start around noon and end around 9pm. The pool area is nice and the swim up bars are very accommodating and friendly. The food was horrible...everywhere. We tried all of the different options and none of them were good. Their top shelf alcohol is not top shelf. The best vodka they had was Smirnoff. The service was good, but not great. The beach massages were awesome and worth every bit of the $30 they charged. Great to get away, but Riu is probably and place we will stay away from.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: We were on the 21st floor and the room was breathtaking
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Responded Apr 12, 2021
Dear Teri, Thank you for staying at our hotel and for sharing your concerns Our goal is to provide comfort to all our guests, so we are very sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay at our property and that the surrounding noise made your stay less enjoyable. Unfortunately, due to the size of our hotel, it is not always easy to provide in all areas a relaxed atmosphere. Our priority is always to do our best so that all our guests feel comfortable. For this reason, we take great care to keep the balance between the noise level of a hotel of our dimensions and the tranquility of our guests. We assure you that the encountered issues are not the lasting impression of our standard of hospitality that our guests normally leave with. Certainly, we have shared your comments with our team leaders, and we will take the appropriate action in case our standards have not been fulfilled at some point. It is our hope that you will consider staying with us again as we would like to have an opportunity to improve your experience on your next stay. Kind regards, Hotel Riu Emerald Bay Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$140 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
riu emerald bay mazatlan
LOCATION
MexicoPacific CoastSinaloaMazatlan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1028
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay?
Nearby attractions include Baluarte Bridge (4.2 miles), Playa Brujas (0.5 miles), and Playa Cerritos (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Emerald Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Riu Emerald Bay?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a bidet, and a separate living room.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Emerald Bay?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Emerald Bay?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Condimento, Pancho's, and Looney Bean Coffee Shop.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Emerald Bay?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel Riu Emerald Bay offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Riu Emerald Bay?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Angela Peralta Theater (Teatro Angela Peralta) (8.2 miles).
Does Hotel Riu Emerald Bay have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.