We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Avenida Sábalo-Cerritos 3404 Zona Costera Cerritos, Mazatlan 82110 Mexico
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Receive 500 free points
Expedia.com
$180
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/15/23
Riu.com
$214
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Algotels
$171
View deal
Hotels.com$180
Priceline$193
Travelocity$180
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (4603)
360
Panoramas (80)
Videos (1)

About

#25 of 118 hotels in Mazatlan
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.2
Value
4.1
The 24h All Inclusive Hotel Riu Emerald Bay opens all year round and is located on the beautiful Playa Las Brujas beach close to the Mexican town of Mazatlán. The RIU Classic Hotels offer comfortable rooms and excellent facilities with great leisure and relaxation facilities, as well as international gastronomy. Enjoy a relaxing holiday - whether alone, with family, partner or friends! The location is ideal because of its proximity to General Rafael Buelna International Airport Mazatlan MZT (32 km) and Marina El Cid (10 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 1028 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities. Relax in our Renova Spa or get in shape at the gym. 5 outdoor pools, 1 children's pool with slides and a water park. RiuLand kids’ club (ages 4-7 & 8-12 years) for the youngest guests and for adults, day and evening entertainment. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main restaurant as well as Asian, Mexican and Italian specialty restaurants, 7 bars.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Billiards
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Waterslide
Nightclub / DJ
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Separate living room
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bidet
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Receive 500 free points

Location

Full view
52Somewhat walkable
Grade: 52 out of 100
281Restaurantswithin 5 miles
38Attractionswithin 5 miles
4876Reviews801Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,705
  • 1,643
  • 783
  • 359
  • 386
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
betsy154 wrote a review Yesterday
Vancouver, Canada3 contributions3 helpful votes
We cannot sit out on the balcony or make any kind of phone calls outside (because there is no cell coverage inside) as the bands are so loud, it is not even nice Mexican music which I like, it is noise, the band members are all playing something different, just making annoying sounds, drums, horns, craziness.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: There is no good room, all are ocean views but you cannot enjoy sunsets or sit out because of the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Smurph68 wrote a review Jul 2021
Cleveland, Mississippi8 contributions21 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Clean rooms and property, great view of the beach, friendly staff, taxis always available at the gate. We enjoyed the shows, and also enjoyed the bands on the beach. We loved the atmosphere. Most of the staff we talked to spoke English.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
8 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Gala A wrote a review Yesterday
Toronto, Canada207 contributions102 helpful votes
After reading controversial reviews we came to RIU for our first vacation on Pacific Ocean in Mexico and honestly we did not regret completely! Check in was not bad even we came a group by Sunwing: the staff was working quickly. Special thank you to Aimee at reception! The resort is huge, a lot of guests! Yes, sometimes it was issue with elevators, so we did our exercises using a stairs to go down. Great ocean view from the room. We were enjoying the beautiful sunset from our balcony! Plenty different food at buffet!!!! Our special appreciation to Barazzo from “Las Tres Islas” for really great service! Regarding a restaurant: we did Tabasco and Bamboo, now they work as buffet too. Waiters just serve you a drinks: wine or beer, not tequila!!!! Very safety area, you can walk along the beach north or south of RIU. At Punta Cerritos (500 m walk north of RIU) saw locals snorkeling and brining in net bags of oysters and you also can buy a souvenirs at good price! About Deer Island Snorkeling Catamaran excursion: the ride on catamaran was great, a lot of fun, friendly and helpful crew, white sand beach, you can swim, but not a snorkeling!!!!…we even did not turn on our camera…so if you want to snorkel, go to Hawaii or Akumal. Thanks to all the staff of RIU Emerald Bay for making our trip enjoyable! Muchas gracias!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
abechard03 wrote a review Yesterday
Aldergrove, Canada8 contributions1 helpful vote
A group of 6 of us went down, had a wonderful time as usual!!! The staff treats you like Family, the resort itself is kept extremely clean and tidy, and the Bartenders are phenomenal!!!! The security staff are fantastic and make you feel completely safe to walk anywhere you desire!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Melissa R wrote a review Nov 23
1 contribution3 helpful votes
This resort is not for out of town travelers, 90% are local. Hardly anyone speaks English and unless you speak Spanish and look Hispanic, you are not going to get service. I just when out front to get a taxi and they said they didn't have one!? Can't get anywhere without a taxi as this resort is at the very end of the shortline and nothing is really close. If you are at the bar trying to get a drink, you will be the last one served. They were sold out but definitely don't have the staff to accommodate that. There is a giftshop that is so small there is nothing in it. I would give this vacation a 2 out of 10. Save your money and go to Cabo or Puerto Vallarta where the experience makes you want to come back! Super bummed but we won't be coming back here!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Y8145ZGmelissar, Let us just say that we are very surprised by your words and would like to tell you that it is very important to us that all our guests feel welcome in our resort and are treated in the same way regardless of their country of origin, age or religion. Please know that we have noted your comments and will address them with the relevant departments in order to continue to improve every day. We hope that you will visit us soon at one of our facilities and that we will be able to offer you a 100% satisfactory experience. Yours faithfully Hotel Riu Emerald Bay Online Reputation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike D wrote a review Nov 22
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Booked a quick all-inclusive trip to the Riu in Mazatlan. Service was great during our stay and the pools/beach were all really nice. Meals were all buffet style with mostly the same selections every day. They get very busy and loud. The resort is very popular with large Mexican families. Lots of kids. The most annoying part of our stay and the reason for my low rating were the Mexican "bandas" that play on the beach EVERY DAY. They are typically 5-10 person bands made up of percussion (large bass drum and snare) and wind instruments (tuba, trombone, trumpet) with a bad vocalist amplified over a crappy speaker. They are loud and start at around 2 and can play till 8 or 9 pm. This is not your typical mariachi group playing nice string instruments and nice Mexican music. TOTALLY ANNOYING!!!! They play for pay and there is no shortage of Mexicans willing to pay. Oh ya, there can be as many as 4 of these bands playing on the beach in front of the resort. You cannot enjoy sitting on your room balcony as it seems even louder. AND... once they quit after dark, then the nightly wedding kicks in with their LOUD music. You want a nice, relaxing vacation? LOOK ELSEWHERE.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Responded yesterday
Dear mikedQ9190FC, Thank you for your feedback. While we are glad you highlighted our great service, and enjoyed our pools, we are sorry to hear that you were bothered by the local music bands on the beach, and that you think that we have not offered variety in our menu. Unfortunately, due to the size of our hotel, it is not always easy to provide in all areas a relaxed atmosphere. Our priority is always to do our best so that all our guests feel comfortable. For this reason, we take great care to keep the balance between the noise level of a hotel of our dimensions and the tranquility of our guests. However, the beautiful Playa Bruja beach is a public space so that we can do little here. Please know, the "bandas" are part of the Mexican culture, which we respect very much. All guestrooms are built considering the legal requirements regarding insulation, and we deeply regret that you still felt disturbed. We will certainly share your feedback with our management team. Thank you again for choosing the Riu in Mazatlan. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to change your mind, and show you the true, genuine service that we deliver to all our guests. Respectfully, Hotel Riu Emerald Bay Online Reputation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lakhbir Singh wrote a review Nov 21
Vancouver, Canada132 contributions37 helpful votes
I stayed at Riu Baja California several months ago and found it to be first-rate in all areas. However, Riu Emerald Bay is the exact opposite. I agree with other reviewers that the hotel is severely overcrowded and your experience will reflect this. At the nightly show, there are not enough seats to sit. You have to make do standing up for one hour. I have attached a picture. There is not enough staff to provide service to the number of guests. 80% of the time I had to get my own coffee, and water at dinner in the buffet. After 4 requests no one replenished my mini bar. Eventually, after 4 days I went down to the front desk and got the bottled water myself as I had none left. I asked to speak to the duty manager at the front desk to discuss my concerns but he refused to see me. I like to work out. However, I found the gym in a state of disrepair. I have attached photos. Pieces of the gym equipment were falling off. The stretching mats were severely soiled. Any positives? The internet in your room is fast at 65 Mbps since there is a router installed in your room. The maid who cleaned my room was great. She made a different animal every day for towel art on my bed. The tip money I brought for the absent waiters, I gave to the maid. God works in mysterious ways.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Tower rooms have better views up top if you can get up there. Expect constant long elevator waits.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Responded 3 days ago
Dear SinghLakhbir, Thank you for taking the time out to share with us feedback regarding your recent stay. We are dedicated to providing the high quality and consistent level of service for all our guests, and for this reason we are very disappointed to hear that you left our property with a different impression. Please be assured the type of experience you have described is not representative of the true RIU experience so many of our guests have become fond of. We hope you can accept our apologies and your feedback will be shared with the heads of the mentioned areas in order to make appropriate adjustments where necessary to assure every guest’s experience exceeds expectations. It is our only hope you will give us a second chance. The entire team wants to show you what they are truly capable of. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Emerald Bay Online Reputation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joe T wrote a review Nov 19
1 contribution2 helpful votes
This is day 4 of our 7 day stay. I will say that the rooms are very nice , comfortable and clean. The food has been great so far. This is where the positives stop. This resort is very busy and at full capacity. 80% of the guests seems to be locals. I am wondering if they offer very low discount for locals on weekends in order to fill up the resort. These locals are extremely boisterous and overall don’t care about keeping resort clean as they just choose to discard their empty cups and cigarette butts everywhere including the pool. Hopefully this gets better come Monday. Most of the resort staff don’t appear to speak English. They just shrug and smile when you ask them a question. Overall the resort grounds are very dirty and pools are disgusting!! Needless to say this is our forts and last stay here. I give this a 5 out of 10 at most.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Responded 5 days ago
Dear joetJ718OP, We would like to thank you for your feedback. Usually, if we are advised of a problem during the stay, we are able to assist our guests, our Front desk staff help upon request. Please know that at any time during your stay, we urge you to contact our staff to assist with anything you might need to improve your visit. Our team responds quickly and thoroughly to any issues our guests encounter during their stay. Best Regards, Hotel RIU Emerald Bay Online Reputation Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chrisd wrote a review Nov 18
14 contributions9 helpful votes
This resort is a 2.5 star at best and that's only because of the view from the room that faced the ocean, it was beautiful, and the staff who were kind and tried to be accommodating in this over crowded resort. The Riu in Mazatlan caters mostly to locals it seems so it was over crowded and very loud with the hundreds of kids taking over the pool areas. The line ups for everything were a bit annoying and we didn't have a tranquil moment in the 4 days we were there so if relaxing is what you're looking for then this is not the place. I'm assuming because of the over crowding and the hundreds of kids that the pool attendants were unable to keep the pools clean though I'm sure they tried, they were absolutely filthy! The food was all buffet style in all the restaurants, even the al a carts and they reminded us of a school cafeteria in quality and once again the over crowding made it all feel unsanitary. The beach was lovely and the only place the waves drowned out the noise pollution of the resort. We went with this resort because it offered what we thought was an affordable deal. Overall it didn't feel like money well spent and it was the first time ever in our 20+ years of visiting Mexico that we were glad to check out of a resort.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: If you're expecting a 4* like we were, you'll be disappointed.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Christine D., We are very sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay at our hotel and that it impacted your experience. We will do the follow up internally to address the concerns that you have expressed. We hope you are not deterred from choosing to stay with us again in the future and to give us the chance to provide you with the excellent level of customer service that we pride ourselves in delivering. Best Regards, Hotel RIU Emerald Bay Online Reputation Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
IDBMW wrote a review Nov 17
Toronto, Canada18 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We visited in Nov 2022 from Canada and I have been to different cities in Mexico and let me tell you Mazatlan is different authentic Mexico experience with food, people, excursions, seafood!!! Cheaper then Cancun or Puerto Vallarta Riu emerald bay is situated approximately 35min from the airport , beach is very nice with golden sands, hotel is very big lots of swimming pool, staff is friendly, there will be time especially weekends are very busy, lots of local guests. Hotel rooms, lobby is very clean. They could add little more variety to their food section. Also recommend adding more veg only options. Over all we enjoyed our vacation!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$176 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
riu emerald bay mazatlan
LOCATION
MexicoPacific CoastSinaloaMazatlan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1028
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL RIU EMERALD BAY $150 ($̶2̶1̶5̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Resort (All-Inclusive) Reviews - Mazatlan, Mexico

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay?
Nearby attractions include Baluarte Bridge (4.2 miles), Playa Brujas (0.5 miles), and Playa Cerritos (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Emerald Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Riu Emerald Bay?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a bidet, and a separate living room.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Emerald Bay?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Emerald Bay?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Condimento, Pancho's, and Looney Bean Coffee Shop.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Emerald Bay?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel Riu Emerald Bay offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Riu Emerald Bay?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Angela Peralta Theater (Teatro Angela Peralta) (8.2 miles).
Does Hotel Riu Emerald Bay have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.