We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostal 697

GreenLeadersBronze level
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ciudad Juarez
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Hostal 697
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

20 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 15: English reviews
Start your review of Hostal 697
 Click to rate
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Reviewed December 18, 2015

I have stayed in this hostel almost every time I went to Ciudad Juarez, including this past October when I was passing through on the way to Guadalajara. The first location, Agustin Melgar 697, I liked the best as it was well within walking distance of downtown and the border crossing into El Paso. The second location was alright. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 14, 2015

Such a nice place with a very beautiful hostess, Nicia, who will do everything to help you make the most of your stay in Chihuahua. Nicia's young friends love to hang out and do things with her guests so prepare to have a bunch of local friends as soon as you arrive! You will also meet her little pet piglet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jon k
Piedras Negras, Coahuila
Reviewed May 25, 2015

The price for this room was very economical, only $15.00 a night and $5.00 per trip transportation. Rooms were very clean and I was able to get a good nights rest. Hostess was very attentive and made me feel welcomed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ferdur
Reviewed March 13, 2015

I have stayed in this hostel on various occasions. The owner is a great hostess and is always open to inviting guests to local events, whether it be a party with friends, or a cultural event in the city. The Hostel also offers various interesting tours of the city, and rides to the Consulate and to the beautiful Sand Dunes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rodrigo O
Hostal697, Owner at Hostal 697, responded to this review

We are happy you visit Us frequently! Thank you for choosing Hostal 697 and we hope you'll be back soon!

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

I made a reservation online and paid for it. Then, in Bolivia, my passport was stolen. I emailed the hostel requesting to change my arrival date and received a polite reply saying I could. I arrived at the hostel on that date, at about 6:00 pm (I had said I would probably arrive in the evening).  There is absolutely no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rick S
Hostal697, Manager at Hostal 697, responded to this review

We apologize again for the inconvenience. We did receive more guests at the time you claim your visit. We appreciate as well your review, this encourage Us to be zero tolerance in our policies, the 24-hr cancellation and Check-In Time in case our guests have a travel emergency like you did. We believe this not only will avoid changing dates,...

Forest Glen, Maryland, United States
Reviewed March 12, 2015

If you use 697 you will travel through an area with lots of shabby deserted buildings (as is the outside of 697. Once you make it through the garage you will see a rather nice hostal. I was impressed with the vast amount of loving work that Nicia hass into clearing, decorating and equipping the facility. Nicia was a charming...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EdMoondancer
Hostal697, General Manager at Hostal 697, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologize for your discomfort. We don't offer accommodation in the website you mention, as it is written in the website's profile. We do offer tips, advice and hang outs for travelers. We were actually very surprised when you specifically ask to book a bed at Hostal 697.

Reviewed February 8, 2015

Excellent service, clean, friendly people, well located, affordable, comfortable, the owner makes you feel like if you were in your own house. Even though we stood there only one night, it was enough to understand what a good hostel experience is all about. Definitely i'll keep it as a good memory.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MichEnriquezA
Hostal697, General Manager at Hostal 697, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We are definitely waiting for you again at Hostal 697 :)

Los Angeles
Reviewed January 1, 2015

There were some glitches beyond anybody's control but the owner really went out of her way to make sure I was comfortable. She patiently explained where everything is in the city, offered to get me in touch with someone en Valle, as I needed to research locations there. She even gave me a ride to the other side of town....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Noah G
Hostal697, Owner at Hostal 697, responded to this review

We apologize for what it was a out of our hands during your stay but we hope everything well trough you planned in Juarez. Thanks for your review! Your a very kind person.

Reviewed December 29, 2014

The place is everything one would expect and much more, the staff is amazing, the area is very convenient, I'd certainly recommend this place, as for the price, it's totally worth it, the thing I liked the most was that different from other hotels here I was allowed to play my guitar :) had a couple visitors, it was like...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fernando S
Hostal697, Owner at Hostal 697, responded to this review

Thank you for your extensive and beautiful review! Our purpose is to show our guests the best of this City and it's people. Fortunately more people has stayed more days at the hostel than the ones they planned and this talks about our work! You're welcome anytime you want to visit!

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed November 27, 2014

Hastal 697 is a perfect answer, when you are unsure about staying in Juarez. It is a fine example of how cultural immersion can help show the reality. Our host was pleasant and knowledgeable. The hostal offers a variety of side trips, and can really be illuminating.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank anchornm
Hostal697, Front Office Manager at Hostal 697, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Hostal 697 and your great review! It helps other people be aware about Juarez and it's actual situation, and encourages people to visit Us. We wait for you soon!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ciudad Juarez hotels
1.6 mi away
iStay Hotel Ciudad Juarez
iStay Hotel Ciudad Juarez
#1 of 34 in Ciudad Juarez
377 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Colonial Juarez
Hotel Colonial Juarez
#20 of 34 in Ciudad Juarez
36 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lucerna Ciudad Juarez
Hotel Lucerna Ciudad Juarez
#7 of 34 in Ciudad Juarez
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Monaco
Hotel Monaco
#17 of 34 in Ciudad Juarez
5 reviews
2.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Flamingo
#18 of 34 in Ciudad Juarez
14 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fiesta Inn Ciudad Juarez
Fiesta Inn Ciudad Juarez
#2 of 34 in Ciudad Juarez
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hostal 697 is the first pet friendly hostel in Ciudad Juarez, Mexico. We are located in the main central area of the city, near Paso del Norte theatre, cafes, bars, 5 minutes-bus from Juarez downtown, 10 minutes-bus from the U.S. Border and 20 minutes-bus from U.S. Consulate. Our friendly staff will give you tips and tourist information during your stay so you can enjoy our city and its neighbor El Paso, TX. Hostal 697 opens up to the public on May 1st. 2013. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal 697

Address: R. Lara Leos 112 | Monumental, Ciudad Juarez 32390, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Chihuahua > Ciudad Juarez
Price Range: $15 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hostal 697 staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hostal 697 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“There is only one, coed bunk room. some double bunks and some single bunks...I know nothing of the private rooms.”
EdMoondancer, Mar 12, 2015 | Read review
“Private rooms are incredibly big”
fernandosQ7923YX, Dec 29, 2014 | Read review
“Close the windows at night. It's an arid place, it can get very cold.”
Adri_n_H486, Oct 6, 2013 | Read review
3 of 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question