We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western El Cid

Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room Service
3 Star accommodation
The hotel has 52 Mediterranean style rooms offering a view either to the bay or to the pool from their private balcony. The decor of each bedroom is different and inspired by the rich Mexican culture. At More the Best Western El Cid Hotel, you can enjoy the closeness, a few blocks, to the Riviera Cultural Center of the Pacific, the State Center for the Arts, the famous wagon "La Guerrerense", La Villa Mexicana plaza, the promenade and the civic plaza where cultural, gastronomic and musical events frequently take place. You can also explore the city by taxi, hired directly through our concierge. Near the hotel you can also hire: calandrias (horse carts), ATVs and bicycles to explore the city or move to the beach. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Room Service
Air Conditioning
Banquet Room
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Refrigerator in room
Breakfast included
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Smoking rooms available
Hotel class
Hotel Style
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Smoking rooms available
Number of rooms
Price range
$77 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Best Western El Cid Hotel Ensenada
Best Western Hotel Ensenada
Best Western Ensenada
Ensenada Best Western
Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Nearby HotelsSee all 37 nearby hotels
Days Inn Villa Fontana
76 reviews
.04 miles away
Casa Del Sol Hotel
68 reviews
.05 miles away
Posada El Rey Sol
328 reviews
.07 miles away
Hotel Cortez
254 reviews
.11 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 404 nearby restaurants
La Guerrerense
686 reviews
.04 miles away
El Rey Sol Restaurant
458 reviews
.04 miles away
Mariscos Bahia de Ensenada
276 reviews
.11 miles away
Mariscos El Guero
108 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 119 nearby attractions
First Street
296 reviews
.02 miles away
Cultural Center of Ensenada
112 reviews
.27 miles away
Rivera del Pacifico
59 reviews
.05 miles away
Plaza Civica
81 reviews
.16 miles away
Reviews & more
39Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 44
  • 87
  • 49
  • 17
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
We entered this place because it has a very good location, but like the street, it seems to me that the whole building is very old and neglected, the kindness of its people made everything a little better, but in reality the rooms are already outdated and the price does not justi
Read more
I ordered the vegetarian omelet, which came with a heap of boiled vegetables on top. It really isn’t difficult to make a vegetarian omelet which is flavoursome. The place has good potential if the chef explores and develops the current menu. Unfortunately, the vegetarian options
Read more
It has no elevator. Tight parking lot but there was someone looking out for the parking. The bathroom door was squeaky. Excellent location. Friendly staff. Good view from our balcony. Overall it was a nice stay.
Read more
This place is an old Local Hotel remodeled and in excellent condition, it kept their "rustic/western" style, do not expect a modern design. Staff is very helpful and have no issue with English, they have good security. Rooms are good (still on the rustic style) and very clean. Th
Read more
The Best Western has got to be the worst place I have stayed at. Arrived Friday afternoon. If you want to pay in cash you must wait until the end of your stay to pay. If you wish to pay there they charge 25 dollars to cancel the card that you used to reserve your stay with. They
Read more
Response from JoseRendon, Manager at Best Western El Cid
Responded May 29, 2018
Dear Mrs. Laura G Let me apologize for any inconvenience you mey have had on your stay. I´m very concerned, what you are stating in your comments is totally different from our policy’s, if this is correct we must re-train who ever helped you at check-in, it would be very helpful if you could let me know your arrival time on Friday so I can do that. When you pay cash for a room it is always up front, never when you leave (I believe in every hotel in the world). If you make your reservation and guarantee it with a credit card, we do not charge it, the only time we charge that card is when you fail to arrive. You can change cards any time you like, reserve with one pay with another one you can pay with several cards, pay cash and card. No problem, no extra charge ever. I´m very intrigued when you say ¨ They hold your payment for a whole 2 months ¨, can you please explain? I really would like to know how we do this. You left for 3 hours and your room was not made up, you have to know that the maid does not come to do your room as soon as you step out of it, the reason why you found your room not ready and no towels is simply because it was not finished, in most hotels across the world the standard number of rooms assigned to a maid is between 9 and 12, they work from 8 to 5 with one hour for lunch, so they have until maybe 4:15 to start your room and have it ready by 5. Of course if you hang the Please Make My Room sign, yours will be done as soon as humanly possible. Our pool has to big old beautiful trees and several palm trees, our personnel regularly take the leaves out, this is the first time in 30 years anyone has ever complained about this, again sorry if the leaves cleaning were not frequent enough, I will certainly take it under advice. Our parking is secured, so we do have control of who enters and who leaves our property, you may find it annoying, most guests prefer it that way.
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuitePool & BeachBusiness Center & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementBest Western El Cid
Standard room with 2 king beds
The 3 in 1 soap
Vista a la calle!!!
Do you have off street parking of your own?
Yes we do, gated private parking with security.
0 votes
Show all answers
Are there buses from Ensenada to SanDiego? Where do they leave from?
Buses from Ensenada to the San Ysidro Border crossing, leave from The Bus station located at Riveroll St and 11th Ave
0 votes
Do you have shuttles to the SanDiego Airport?
No shuttles To Tijuana Border: Taxi is the most expensive option, at least $100 usd UBER is little cheaper and a better ride all around , from $60 Cheapest, Bus to the border (15), To the airport: Across on foot and trolley to old town ($3), taxi to the airport (??)
0 votes
Show all answers
Are you pet friendly?
The El Cid is one of the two Pet Friendly Hotels in Ensenada
0 votes
Show all answers
"The balcony rooms"
"not sure about that"
"If you have difficulty with stairs make sure you get a first floor."
"The location can't be beat, perfect hotel location."
"You may request to cover the hallway windows (non-opened), so the hallway lights don't bother you at night."
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing