We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tam Coc Homestay

kha Luong Kha Luong Village, Ninh Thang Commune, Ninh Thang 430000 Vietnam
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
ZenHotels.com
Hostelworld.com$13
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (87)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (4)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Dear customers! Tam coc homestay surrounded foothills building surrounded by rice fields, verdant landscape, Tam Coc Homestay has comfortable facilities with big space and with views of mountains and rice paddies. Tam Coc Homestay operational from 2/2015, it has welcomed hundreds of tourists visited this homestay, decorated with natural materials, the rooms have thatched roofs, closet, bal
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Shuttle bus service
Laundry service
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Suites
Kitchenette
132Reviews1Q+A11Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 56
  • 23
  • 18
  • 19
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This homestay is located in a beautiful location and the views are amazing. If you ask me that’s about the only good thing I can say about this homestay. The staff friendliness level was average. Nothing overly welcoming or outstanding to say I’d come back. I am beyond thankful that I was let in to my dorm bed at 3am when my bus arrived 4 hours too early. Even so, the homestay profile says it has 24 hour reception and there was nobody there to greet me when I arrived. Luckily for me I managed to quickly try and hope that they had the companies phone on WhatsApp. I called and someone woke up and came to speak with me. Food, well I had the vegetarian burger was more like an omelette sandwich. The patty was made of egg and some leafy greens. Tasted more like an egg sandwich. It was very oily and so were the fries. For 50k at first I was excited because it was a great portion but it wasn’t what I expected. I also tried the tofu with white rice and vegetable fried rice. The tofu was good and the fried rice was just too oily very very oily. You can even see in the picture how much oil there is. The portions are big so if you’re two you can share a dish here. Still over priced for the quality but if you don’t wanna ride out in the middle of the night this is your best option. The worse part about this place is the cleanliness. The bathrooms as some people mentioned are a bit outdated, which is fine but they are filthy. Mind you, while I was staying here I was the only person in the dorms so we can not blame the backpackers entering and constantly using the bathrooms. They have a cute liter of puppies newly born and they pee and poo everywhere near the bathrooms and dorm entrances. It seems like they have cleaners come early mornings and tidy up but this isn’t enough. Staff must continue to maintain the cleanliness of the place throughout the day. There is no mention of the pool they advertise online when you arrive or atleast it doesn’t appear to be in use. To make matters even worse, I had changed my bed from top bunk to bottom bunk and I looked at the sheets, they seem dirty or dusty. I know when someone has not slept in a dorm bed for a while it collects dust but my pillow had hair strands on it. Meaning someone had previously slept here. Well then as I am sleeping in the middle of the night it seems to me that the staff of the homestay all made their way into each of the rest empty beds in my dorm. I now had 5 staff members sleeping here with me. Which is totally fine, I guess if there aren’t any guests why not ? But this wasn’t my concern. The next morning as I’m having a lay in the cleaning ladies came in and instead of changing the sheets to all the beds they literally just dusted them off and refolded the covers and neatly set the bed up for the next guest. Including the bed I had slept in when I arrived. What in the world ? This was very disappointing and disturbing to see. If the goal here is to save laundry money then maybe just leave the beds undone until you have a check in. I then asked Lo Anh for clean sheets for my bed and she said they had already been changed in the morning. I had to clarify to her and tell her I witnessed the staff just dusting off beds. To add to this experience, I rented a bike out from the homestay and I did so around 1pm technically I have 24 hours with the bike, well next morning when I woke up to use the bike it was not there. Someone else took the bike I rented with my full tank of petrol. Staff said I didn’t reserve bike for an extra day which is understandable but either way my rental time was not up. They should have asked me before renting the bike out to someone else. I also still had the key to the bike. That should have been clear enough. Staff continuously kept emphasizing that I didn’t tell them I was going to use it again. They’re also profiting from the petrol left behind in these bikes they pump it out and resell it to people. So don’t bother returning the bike with petrol in it or even fill it up on your last day. It’s very common in Asia for the rental companies to do this but I have never witnessed anyone actually pumping the gas out in front of customers until I stayed here. Their solution was giving me another bike with an empty tank and then she is going to tell me that they don’t know if the tank was full or not. When I rented the bike they checked the petroleum meter and tried to sell me gas since it was slightly empty. I know that they did the same thing when they rented it out again. Plus I watched them pump the gas out of the bikes the night before. A place may be outdated, lack ambience, serve mediocre food, have rude staff and get away with it because it’s in such a beautiful location but cleanliness is not negotiable. You’re hosting people who are constantly on the move and traveling. The least you can offer them is a clean bed to sleep on and a clean bathroom to utilize. I wouldn’t stay here again. So unfortunate considering the amazing views and peaceful environment surrounding this place. For this price I’m sure you can get a better place. Overall I enjoyed Tam Coc and the location was key.
Read more
Response from TheM113, Người quản lý at Tam Coc Homestay
Responded Jul 7, 2019
Hi We are sorry for your dissatisfaction here, we thank you for taking the time to comment twice here via booking and tripadvison we acknowledge that, we will try change the quality of service better to meet your satisfaction, and one thing we hope you won't misunderstand about our rental motorbike, our staff has informed you that The motorbike is only valid for 100,000vnd / day rental, not 24 hours, when you finish a late night day you have not told the receptionist that you will need to rent again the next day later, and you slept until 12 noon the next day and you said you needed that Motorbike with the rule here if it was too half The day when you do not say that you are renting, we have to rent it to other guests, we have exchanged you another motorbike with enough gas you have requested and discounted the Motorbike with a 24-hour rental request of you, but that also does not satisfy you and is a bad topic to complain about this place, anyway we note that and thank you for your comments.
Read more
Stayed here with some friends. Location and setting were lovely, but the actual place itself was not. It has a lot of potential but was run down and needed work. The beds were incredibly uncomfortable, the toilet and tap water was brown, and there was no shower fixing on the wall meaning a friend has to hold the head...and it was freezing cold. To top it off, when we rented motorbikes we had to try at least 4 different bikes as either brakes didnt work or they didnt start. My bike ended up not starting later on in the day, even a local couldn't get it to start. We tried to call the hostel but no answer so we left it in a out of the way place and took photos of it and where it was on Google maps. Upon returning, they refused to believe the bike was where we said, and demanded an extortionate amount for the bike. Our bus to Hanoi had arrived and the lady refused to let us get on unless we paid for the bike. I ended up showing them in person where the bike was, causing the whole bus to wait an hour. The lady dealing with us was very aggressive and didnt apologise. Do not rent your bikes from here, other guests we spoke to also had problems.
Read more
Response from TheM113, Owner at Tam Coc Homestay
Responded May 28, 2019
Hi We are very sorry for your dissatisfaction here, but what you reflect is not really true, you are completely blaming us, but most of the reason is because of you, you put a motorbike on the road not bring back homestay and we don't know, if it's gone, and you want to leave and don't want to take responsibility for it, you say you missed the bus, but we have assured you that you have enough time to return to Hanoi and want you to help us find the car but you did not want to help and give up your responsibilities and upset us and the bus have 16 seat wait only you , So we hope before you want to blame someone you should reconsider the two sides of the problem and you have Really true or not! Thanks
Read more
Only the room look neat and clean but there are lot of Mosquitoes. The bathroom is very small, doesn't have any facility. It's a very basic room/bathroom. The breakfast is not great, not many options.
Read more
Response from Resort821469, Người quản lý at Tam Coc Homestay
Responded Apr 16, 2019
We will try to change for the better, thank you for your suggestions.
Read more
This is the right place, location, friendly place, good rooms , clean, 5 minutes Walking to the restaurants and bars. You can rent a motor bike from here, they will give you a map , and it is good to drive around Tam Coc, they will arrange transfers,
Read more
Response from TheM113, Chủ sở hữu at Tam Coc Homestay
Responded Dec 18, 2018
Hello Turista Thanks for your good review, i hope when you come back Ninh Binh, you will stay with Tamcochomestay again. Have a good trip! See you soon. Loan
Read more
This place is barely accessible at night and there are not many taxi services in Tam Coc that want to take you there (we didn't find any, even a Grab), and the path leading to the homestay is best avoided at night; it is pitch dark and pretty dangerous. The only redeeming aspect of this place is its scenic beauty but I wouldn't recommend you to stay here if you want to stay out later at night (21/22h +) Rooms are big, neat and clean but we didn't have any hot water, unfortunately. On the plus side, the staff was helpful and accommodating. Honestly, your entire stay hinges on the weather, if it is cold and rainy outside it might get very chilly inside your room since the dorms/rooms are all on the outside. We went when it was very rainy and cold so our experience was tainted by the same. Our wifi wasn't working due to the rain as well. really I would only recommend this place to you if you want to stay at this place for days on to relax and take in the sights, given favourable weather.
Read more
Response from TheM113, Chủ sở hữu at Tam Coc Homestay
Responded Dec 18, 2018
Hello Kitkatrot Thank you for staying here, we take your comments and will try to fix it better, Have a good trip!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$13 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
VietnamNinh Binh ProvinceHoa Lu DistrictNinh Thang
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing