We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Hardwicke Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arrington
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Hardwicke Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 76: English reviews
Melbourn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Atmospheric ex-coaching Inn retaining warm, olde worlde charm. Myself and two friends visited here today at short notice. Wonderful food, unusual starters , well-served carvery (roast beef just right, pink inside), and a delicious innovative elderflower and mint sweet. A remarkable meal for a decent price..great value, and thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vonnie185
Newmarket
Reviewed October 31, 2016

The hotel is in a sleepy village and serves excellent food at their Sunday carvery table. The waiter service would benefit with some training as there was no clear stations allocated to a particular waiter. As a result of that there was clearly a lack of communication and inevitable service delays but overall the experience was enjoyed by all and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David K
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 11, 2016

After trying out the Sunday carvery a month earlier we returned to utilise the hotel side due to its close proximity to a wedding reception venue in the area. Our room on the top floor was small and basic and not really worth what we paid for it. Typical of old buildings of this type the sound proofing is not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve_of_N21
Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 21, 2016

Being a B&B near to a wedding venue we booked two rooms for overnight stay. The place is very quaint with an old period feeling to it. The rooms are on the small side but as was only staying one night didnt matter. My disabled mother did find the stairs to the rooms very hard to navigate as there isnt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
Jayne B, Manager at The Hardwicke Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your constructive comments. Glad you had a great day at the wedding The Hardwicke arms hotel ranges from 13th to 17th/18th century so very old and quirky and rooms have been added over the 100s of years as an inn so, the Rooms are a little small, but we try to make them homely cosy the...

Hemingford Grey, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 13, 2016

Quirky old building, very interesting to walk around. We were a party of 6 and seated in the function room. There are a few tables near the small bar area. A good choice on the menu, service was slow but as we were catching up with friends it wasn't a problem. The food was excellent and arrived hot, obviously freshly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile

The Hardwick Arms is an interesting public house with several rooms all servicing a small bar. There are several small rooms and an oak panelled snooker room with an ingle nook fireplace. A large dining room at the back is used for weddings etc. The menu is extensive, very good value, large portions and delicious. Service unfortunately left a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard M
Reviewed July 17, 2016

we have just enjoyed our first sunday carver at the Hardwicke Arms and it was lovely. All freshly prepared and the head chef was very friendly and extremely generous with portions. We had a veggie and gluten free in our party and both were catered for very well without hesitation or fuss. The meal and atmosphere was lovely and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elkjo
Jayne B, Manager at The Hardwicke Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Glad you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch Dietary requirements are always catered for, easier if we know when booking, or on arrival, but we always aim to please and do the deed :-) Sunday carvery is becoming so much busier now, and we hope to see you again soon Many thanks Jayne

Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 7, 2016

Despite our late arrival due to traffic problems, the hotel staff were friendly and understanding over the phone and offered to provide sandwiches for our arrival after 11:00pm. Comfortable quiet room and a good night's sleep. Excellent cooked breakfast. The Hardwicke Arms is always welcoming and we have stayed here regularly. Progress is being made in updating this unique listed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mazda2016
Jayne B, Manager at The Hardwicke Arms Hotel, responded to this review

thank your for your review regarding your stay at the Hardwicke Arms we always make alternative arrangements for late check-ins, customer service is a must Its very difficult trying to update an old building without closing down, but little by little we are slowly making our way through the challenge of updating but not taking the character away from the...

Gamlingay, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 19, 2016

went for lunch at the hard with arms for Father's Day lunch and it was awful. Burnt Yorkshires packet veg and frozen roast potatoes!! Shocking!! Do not go here and then to top it all I was over charged. Peen I asked for a receipt it was written out with coding that the hotel use so I didn't have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slkemp1
Jayne B, Manager at The Hardwicke Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your review. where i appreciate all reviews, and yes, this is the 1st I've responded to. Our veg is not packet, except for peas & sweetcorn mix which do do as a children's favourite, and our roast potatoes are cooked fresh that day for a 12 noon start with a tray in the oven for a...

London
Reviewed May 30, 2016

We have been visiting the Hardwicke Arms on and off over many years, and the basic problem is that it is a village pub that wants to be taken seriously as a hotel and a restaurant. We have never stayed there, but eaten at the restaurant several times. The food is good, the menu pretty varied, catering for most tastes,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paterdon
Jayne B, Manager at The Hardwicke Arms Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your comments. Where I sort of understand your comment, regarding trying to being a hotel... We are a hotel, and very busy on that side of the business, being full most weekends and all weekdays. We are also a public bar, as we have to try and cater for everyone, with lots of hotels and pubs closing,...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrington
4.6 mi away
The Sheene Mill
The Sheene Mill
#1 of 1 in Melbourn
224 reviews
9.7 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
274 reviews
11.4 mi away
The George at Baldock
The George at Baldock
#1 of 4 in Baldock
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
9.2 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 35 in Cambridge
2,059 reviews
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Hardwicke Arms Hotel

Address: 96 Ermine Way, Arrington SG8 0AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Arrington
Price Range: $83 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Hardwicke Arms Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Hardwicke Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choices of rooms available, out of bar area.”
 of 5 bubbles Vonnie185, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“wifi connection in most of the hotel very bad”
 of 5 bubbles seniorpartridge, May 28, 2016 | Read review
“Continue to next venue”
 of 5 bubbles 499johna499, May 25, 2015 | Read review
“Any room is good in this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles emmah51, Dec 19, 2014 | Read review
“if you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the road side of the pub”
 of 5 bubbles no1sailorsam, May 28, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question