We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 277: English reviews
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Reviewed October 31, 2016

Staying in family suite end october 2016. Room is good and clean except for one or two power outlet not working. Never tried their wifi access and in house dining facility, so, can't comment more. Hotel location is nice, quite place. Car parking is very limited. The outlook of the hotel is amazing. Love the ambience. Overall, it's a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murni I
Shyamala S, Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Murni, Thank You for your positive comments. We are working on making the premises more accommodating. We look forward to your next visit and to try out our highly recommended scones.

Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

Me and my fiance booked this hotel for our prewedding photoshoot. Was mesmerised by the pics posted online and we were not disappointed- the surrounding hotel gardens, the architecture and deco-especially the tea room and even the weather was perfect for our shoot. However the hotel manager was on our heels constantly-too strict regarding timing and keep pressuring us on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mona D
Shyamala S, Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Mona D. Thank You for your comments. I apologize, firstly, if you felt that your photo shoot was not given due time. I understand that wedding memories need to be perfect. I will speak to the person concerned to clarify the situation. As for the other matters, we are in the process of rectifying the issues at hand and...

Seremban, Malaysia
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Booked this place for the first time for my family for a weekend getaway and we had a wonderful time. The ambiance of the hotel itself is enough to just let you feel rested and peaceful. We booked the hotel room suite overlooking the garden so that is just nice to go out and enjoy the view, the hotel room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marynasuke
Shyamala S, Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Marynasuke, I am glad that you and your family enjoyed the stay in our hotel. It's always nice to have pristine air in a green environment and a good breakfast under the morning sun. I am sure we will see you again. Thank You.

India
Reviewed October 24, 2016

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the years. When the holidays come and all of Malaysia and Singapore head to the highlands to cool down, this is not the place to be. However, during the in between times this property if quiet and relaxing like no other in the highlands. The core of the hotel used to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank X13
Shyamala S, Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank You for your fine comments. I will look at seeing how we can improve the meals and menu. Trust we will see you again, holiday or not!

Reviewed October 12, 2016

Went to this beautiful old Scottish property. It was school in British times and now converted to a Hotel & nice Resto. We went for afternoon tea and fell in love with this place and decided to book our table for Dinner. Got Western and Indian options for dinner along with nice wine. Best part the owner of this place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chandramouli R
Shyamala S, Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Chandramouli, Appreciate the positive feedback and glad you enjoyed the sight, dinner and hospitality. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed October 2, 2016

We stayed here for the first time with kids. Loved the architecture of the place and how it is surrounded by nature with beautiful garden. The owners are also hospitable and the rooms are great. Location is also good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanslas N
Shyamala S, Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Vanslas, Thank you for your positive comments and we hope to see all of you again in the future for a better experience.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed September 30, 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights. Beautiful vintage cottage. Perfect spot for photo taking. However, the rooms are not so great. Musty bed sheets, apparent damaged ceiling plus run down and dirty showers. Will not consider staying here on my next visit.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joeychong91
Shyamala S, Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Joey, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your thoughts. We are currently upgrading our room, facilities and services. I truly apologize for the negative experience faced by you.

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed September 14, 2016

A very peaceful and charming place in a good location, car parking can be a little precarious but not so bad. The walk up to our room was up some very steep steps with no handrails so if you are on the elderly or infirm side of life maybe worth asking for a lower level room. Room was basic, clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter H
Shyamala S, Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Peter, Appreciate the feed back and comments which has been highlighted. Some we have rectified and some still a work in progress. I apologize for any inconvenience caused. Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Malaysia
Reviewed September 13, 2016

Pros: + ambience of the hotel itself - architecture, tea room, garden (very lovely) + ambience in the room (feeling like I am away from the country or city which was amazing) + bench and chairs placed outside of the room overlooking the garden (amazing to have some drinks and chill at night) + friendly smiling staff Cons: - Limited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank asha_govind7
Shyamala S, Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Asha, I sincerely apologize for the bad experience that you encountered. I will look into these matters and try as best to rectify them. The much more simple issues would have been dwelt with. The rooms are currently going through a thorough upgrade. Thank You for your feedback and comments.

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 10, 2016

It is with a heavy heart that I write this review, first of all I am a bit reluctant to share this special place with the masses and secondly, I am concerned that the current explosion in construction will no doubt mean the end of unique places like Planters in the beautiful Cameron Highland, where increased land prices encourage people...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dorothea O
Shyamala S, Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Dorothea, I thank you for your comments, feedback and your concerns. As the property is currently undergoing an upgrade, I will also look into things that can simply be improved. I totally agree that ambiance is slowly disappearing. The mass development and commercialization is, unfortunately out of our hands but you will always come back to Planter's Country and...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

310 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (310)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (123)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
0.3 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
508 reviews
0.4 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
764 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
1.1 mi away
Parkland Hotel
Parkland Hotel
#1 of 9 in Brinchang
114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cameron Highlands Resort
Cameron Highlands Resort
#1 of 12 in Tanah Rata
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service

Additional Information about Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Lot 55 | Cameron Highlands, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia (Formerly Bala's Holiday Chalet)
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Price Range: $57 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bala`s Holiday Chalet Hotel Cameron Highlands
Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get the suite...it's tucked away from everyone else”
  • This is a suite with an attic above
LionelY_13, Mar 6, 2017 | Read review
“Get a room in the main building more chance of hot water”
davidwplaird, Jan 11, 2017 | Read review
“Chestnut for views & your private balcony. However if the dining hall starts the fireplace, close all your windows or taste soot.”
  • Chestnut room, private balcony
  • Chestnut room, private balcony
andrewy609, Dec 23, 2016 | Read review
“If you have special needs, write to them so they can make arrangements to cater to your needs.”
, Dec 20, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the garden Executive suite and Family Room are the best room as it's overlooking the garden and very large.”
marynasuke, Oct 26, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question