We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Habaraduwa Dikkumbura Rd, Angulugaha 80122 Sri Lanka
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (717)
360
Panoramas (45)
Room & Suite (416)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 10/05/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 10/05/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
Set high up above a tea estate, and yet within easy reach of the stunning beaches for which Sri Lanka is well know, Kahanda Kanda is the perfect hideaway. With stunning individual villas that afford privacy and space, combined with sensational views, the cuisine is superb, and the service is first class. We aim to offer 5 star service, and with only 12 villas, that service is truly individual.
Read more
Property amenities
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Restaurant
Bicycle rental
Game room
Airport transportation
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Yoga room
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Snorkeling
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Car hire
Taxi service
Spa
Full body massage
Massage
Adults only
24-hour security
Concierge
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Sinhala
696Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 619
  • 58
  • 10
  • 5
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Greg-Seattle wrote a review Apr 2022
Seattle80 contributions63 helpful votes
I will start off by saying KK is a ten star boutique property situated on an active tea plantation. It is in a quiet locale which is a convenient tuktuk ride to the neighboring city of Galle. You can read about the specific physical aspects of KK but that does nothing to convey the spirit and the beauty of this property. To begin, KK is a beautifully developed retreat from the hubbub of neighboring Galle. There is very little noise with the exception of the natural wildlife. I went for daily walks on the access road and was always greeted by incredibly friendly villagers on motorbikes, tuktuks, walking, and traveling in cars. The villagers would always - and I do mean ALWAYS - smile and say hello, much like the incredible staff at KK. We looked at the web sites of other upscale hotels in the area and I hate to say it, their web sites were geared towards a clientele of Victoria Secrets lingerie of questionable taste, “influencers”, and people who would prefer Sandals Resorts. If that is you, KK is not for you. The other guests we met fit the spirit of the hotel - gracious, friendly, respectful of staff. The staff at KK are superb. I don’t know how else to describe them. Incredibly friendly. Always attentive. Always sincere and smiling. Always accommodating. There are very few hotels in which I have stayed where I have felt this at ease and relaxed. From housekeeping, to waitstaff, to the groundskeepers, to the kitchen team, and all- this is a truly amazing group of people whose passion is to have their guests share the serenity and the friendliness of Sri Lanka. Meals at the KK are excellent. Whether you want a traditional western breakfast or a traditional Sri Lankan breakfast, you’ll be happy. More than happy. Dinners were a fix prix menu that changed nightly, and were comprised of traditional Sri Lankan fare as well as western fare. We typically ordered Sri Lankan cuisine. After all, we came to experience this country. There were many traditional dishes that included very unique seasonal and indigenous ingredients, many of which are organically grown on the property. If you have time for the short cooking class with the chef and his team, do it. KK has a well outfitted exercise room, an outdoor yoga area, and a massage studio and a massage therapist who knows his stuff and who I would love to find in my home country. Lastly, the property is well maintained, something some of the other boutique hotels are not. I have spent much more time writing this review than I typically would spend on a Trip Advisor review. That is how grateful I am to have spent a good part of our holiday there. Mr. Cooper and his team should be really proud of their efforts.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from George Cooper, Owner at Kahanda Kanda
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Greg Thank you so VERY much for the incredibly flattering review of your stay at Kahanda Kanda. It really was our pleasure having you both to stay with us, and it is just so rewarding to read such lovely comments - a big thank you from all the team! With very best wishes George Cooper
Read more
Aaron L wrote a review Mar 2022
60 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We were fortunate enough to visit when we had pretty much the entire place to ourselves. Despite this, staff were incredibly attentive, catered to our every need, and ensured we got plenty of time with the resident Great Dane, Mungo (I hope I got his name right, it's been almost 2 years). Whilst I thought the food was hit and miss, we were treated to one of the best local cuisine dinners we've ever been served! The rooms were spacious and cozy and the pools clean and larger than average we've visited. Overall, we had an incredible stay and would easily recommend this place as a must visit!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Forgot the name but the pool villa overlooking the paddies was our favorite!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from George Cooper, Owner at Kahanda Kanda
Responded Mar 16, 2022
dear Aaron Yes the Great Dane is called Mungo! I am sorry that you felt that the food was somewhat hit and miss - we will look into this and try and improve the offer. Best wishes, George
Read more
Simon H wrote a review Mar 2022
Tokyo, Japan45 contributions64 helpful votes
We visited KK for our first holiday after two years of Covid lockdowns and we could not have chosen a better place. The location in the hills is quiet and secluded but with the huge advantage of using their complimentary tuk tuk rides down to the sister hotel, KK Beach, for a completely different experience. The rooms are spectacular, large and well appointed. We were in Nelum with a private plunge pool that was a decent length. We ate in every evening and found the food very good and varied. The menu changes every day. All the staff were friendly and charming. Nothing was too much trouble. George has created a perfect haven for anyone wanting a complete break and recharge. Complete bliss.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Nelum is very good and the honeymoon villa looks spectacular
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from George Cooper, Owner at Kahanda Kanda
Responded Mar 16, 2022
Dear Simon, Thank you so much for the lovely review and delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. It was a pleasure having you both to stay at KK for your first holiday after 2 years lockdown!!!! WIth best wishes, George
Read more
WilliamRose2000 wrote a review Feb 2022
Lincoln, United Kingdom116 contributions54 helpful votes
George Cooper and his team have created an exceptional property which must be visited to be appreciated. The villa was a short walk away from the main complex, generally quiet except for occasional fly pasts of monkeys and birds. The food was first class and well presented. Coupled with visits to the sister hotel KK beach it was a perfect base for our holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from George Cooper, Owner at Kahanda Kanda
Responded Feb 18, 2022
Dear William Thank you for your lovely review - so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes, George Cooper
Read more
Susan B wrote a review Feb 2022
Westerham, United Kingdom206 contributions94 helpful votes
+1
Kahanda Kanda was our second hotel during our 4weeks touring Sri Lanka 🇱🇰 We had the bungalow ( honeymoon Villa) sadly we were not comfortable in this room as we had hoped but the manager kindly moved us into one of the more modern pool villas which or though much smaller was much cleaner and brighter and sited us better. The Head of housekeeping Rohan took it upon himself to ensure everything was done to ensure we were happy in new villa and he certainly put all his effort into this and took onboard very quickly and professionally my comments which he actioned and made a real difference to how we felt about our visit at KK. We really enjoyed our trips into Galle Fort and our driver( through Pan Lanka ) was amazing and drove us around everywhere. We had a very good guide who gave us a excellent experience of Galle Fort called “Demystify Mystical “ -Shanjei was his name very with doing indeed. We also had a super bike ride around the paddy fields the company was called “Idle Bikes” in Galle . The food was ok at KK but not amazing as we had hoped as we really only wanted to eat Sri Lanken food which was very limited. We eat out in Galle Fort few times and one was a very basic reasturant but the fish was amazing “ Elita Restaurant in middle Street Galle Fort . We were also treated to a fantastic meal by our agents Holiday Architects( who’s are amazing) a dinner at Fort Printers which was very nice indeed. The staff at KK made our experience and certainly felt they worked so hard to ensure you have a happy stay there. Thank you to all of them and especially Rohan - you were amazing and I wish you well for the future.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: See my review- listed a few
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from George Cooper, Owner at Kahanda Kanda
Responded Feb 18, 2022
Dear Susan Thank you for writing a review and glad that we were able to accommodate your wishes, Best wishes George Cooper
Read more
Jackie B wrote a review Feb 2022
London, United Kingdom3 contributions
Beautiful hotel - the location is so calm and tranquil, the only (welcome!) interruption were monkeys playing in trees. Villa was gorgeous, well appointed and very stylishly decorated. Food was first class and the staff really could not do enough to make your stay wonderful. We spent a special Christmas Eve in the hotel sharing a delicious meal with other guests - the staff and hotel owner made it feel like a home-from-home Would highly, highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from George Cooper, Owner at Kahanda Kanda
Responded Feb 18, 2022
Dear Jackie Thank you for coming to stay with us over Christmas, and glad that we were able to make you feel "at home"! Very grateful to you for writing a review as it is a huge help to us! Thank you again and all best wishes for 2022 George Cooper
Read more
Chathini wrote a review Feb 2022
Colombo, Sri Lanka194 contributions115 helpful votes
Location: Follow the Google maps; if there is any confusion, call the front desk, they are accommodating. As soon as we entered, I fell in love with this property. We got quite a walk to our chalet (you can take your vehicle there too), and it was fabulous. We got a private pool, covered villa from a big wooden gate with a small green garden. The villa was nicely arranged with all the luxuries we expected. The Internet can be a little funny, so make sure you use their wifi. The bathroom was huge, and it got a tub, shower, and an outdoor shower as well. This place is ideal for a honeymoon or a private romantic getaway, or a perfect unwind time. Their food can be improved, that was the only concern we had. We had limited options, and they could certainly enhance the flavours. Other than that people are excellent, helpful and outstanding service too.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from George Cooper, Owner at Kahanda Kanda
Responded Feb 18, 2022
Dear Chathini Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Sounds like you got a little lost getting here - I hope not! I am sorry that you felt the food was limited and lacking in flavours. We will discuss this with the chef and see how we can improve the offering With best wishes George Cooper
Read more
Andrew W wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
What an amazing place! I highly recommend it. Our private villa was luxurious and had a beautiful view across a tea plantation and jungle. The wildlife was fascinating. The peacocks, monkeys and multitude of colourful birds provided a constant show of sights and sounds from our veranda. The staff were very friendly and always keen to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The food was delicious - a combination of local and international dishes. This all made our stay very indulgent and relaxing, which is exactly what we wanted. We stayed for 10 days and really didn’t want to leave. George Cooper and his team gave us a memorable experience. Thank you. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from George Cooper, Owner at Kahanda Kanda
Responded Feb 5, 2022
Thank you for the very flattering review and delighted that you had such a good time whilst staying here. We look forward to your return! Best wishes, George Cooper
Read more
Destination610436 wrote a review Jan 2022
29 contributions2 helpful votes
This was our second stay at the property. This time we opted for Dubu. It's a really special place and very private with its own pool and fabulous bath tubs! The sunsets were beautiful. I imagine this would also be a perfect place for a wedding or a celebration as there is also a huge garden behind. We really enjoyed the peacock alarm calls and could easily spend hours watching the monkey family in the trees above! On our final day the mongoose family also made an appearance. The staff really make the property, they are perfect and extremely helpful. We will be back again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Take binoculars and ensure you wear the bug spray provided.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from George Cooper, Owner at Kahanda Kanda
Responded Feb 5, 2022
Thank you for your repeat visit and delighted that you loved the Honeymoon Villa, Dubu. Even though I say so myself, it is rather special, and the only Joglo house in Sri Lanka, so it is genuinely unique.. However it would be nothing if we did not have the fantastic team here to look after the guests. Thank you for writing your review. with best wishes, George Cooper
Read more
ChrisCollyer1968 wrote a review Jan 2022
Fleet, United Kingdom63 contributions27 helpful votes
From the moment we arrived we could tell our stay in Kahanda Kanda was going to be amazing. A warm friendly greeting, amazing rooms (we stayed in Hibiscus & Tamarind) both fabulous for different reasons, although Hibiscus with its pool & sunset views was our preference Tamarind gave us more wildlife to see during our stay. The staff worked tirelessly, some amazing towel art which was fun to see each day. Henri at breakfast soon knew what our preference was which was a nice friendly touch but all the staff were lovely & friendly so all are a credit to George the owner. So many reasons to recommend here so my advice is to go see for yourselves, you’ll not be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from George Cooper, Owner at Kahanda Kanda
Responded Feb 5, 2022
Dear Chris, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I know that the staff were more than happy to look after you both Thank you for all your kind comments With best wishes, George Cooper
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$198 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kahanda kanda angulugaha, kahanda kanda hotel angulugaha
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceGalle DistrictAngulugaha
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kahanda Kanda
Which popular attractions are close to Kahanda Kanda?
Nearby attractions include Handunugoda Tea Estate (1.7 miles), Ashintha Tours & Taxi Service Koggala (2.6 miles), and Martin Wickramasinghe Folk Museum Complex (2.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Kahanda Kanda?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Kahanda Kanda?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Kahanda Kanda?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Kahanda Kanda?
Yes, secured parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kahanda Kanda?
Conveniently located restaurants include Surf 'n' Turf, A'la carte restaurant, and Follow The White Rabbit.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kahanda Kanda?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, fitness classes, and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Kahanda Kanda have airport transportation?
Yes, Kahanda Kanda offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kahanda Kanda?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kahanda Kanda?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Sinhala.
Are there any historical sites close to Kahanda Kanda?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Old Town of Galle and its Fortifications (8.4 miles), Galle Fort (8.6 miles), and Meera Mosque (8.4 miles).