We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Habaraduwa Dikkumbura Rd, Angulugaha 80122 Sri Lanka
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (735)
360
Panoramas (45)
Room & Suite (416)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
Set high up above a tea estate, and yet within easy reach of the stunning beaches for which Sri Lanka is well know, Kahanda Kanda is the perfect hideaway. With stunning individual villas that afford privacy and space, combined with sensational views, the cuisine is superb, and the service is first class. We aim to offer 5 star service, and with only 12 villas, that service is truly individual.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Restaurant
Bicycle rental
Game room
Airport transportation
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Yoga room
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Snorkeling
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Car hire
Taxi service
Spa
Full body massage
Massage
Adults only
24-hour security
Concierge
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
iPod docking station
Hair dryer
Safe
Seating area
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Sinhala
703Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 625
  • 58
  • 11
  • 5
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ash J wrote a review Dec 2022
39 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Hotel is extremely well maintained, spotless. The architecture and interior is on point, can say it's owned by an interior designer. Hotel manager Dinesh is a gem. Any concern, he takes care of it and makes sure you have the perfect holiday. We even got a tour of all the vacant villas and the property. Loved the peace and quiet. Can't wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Website price fluctuates regularly. Book as soon as you find a good rate.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Claire Bath wrote a review Dec 2022
Christchurch, United Kingdom18 contributions33 helpful votes
Exceptional staff and beautiful location. Our Villa Kadju was fantastic. Everything you needed was there with a quality, “old school Colonial” feel to the furnishings. The infinity pool in our suite was wonderful, overlooking the jungle with wild bids and monkeys to watch from the pool. Highly recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Everything was superb.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from George Cooper, Owner at Kahanda Kanda
Responded Dec 14, 2022
Dear Claire Thank you for writing such a flattering review of your stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed the Kadju Suite - I stayed in it during Covid and I think it is my favourite room - but don't tell anyone!! Thank you again, and wishing you all the best for the Festive Season! George Cooper
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mar wrote a review Dec 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I went with my husband to celebrate our honeymoon in Sri Lanka. Kahanda Kanda was one of the hotels that we choose and we were really impressed to see that magical place. It was a true paradise, with stunning views and excellent service. We would repeat thousand times more. Being at this hotel it was almost a dream come true.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from George Cooper, Owner at Kahanda Kanda
Responded Dec 8, 2022
Wow - what a flattering review. We are delighted that you came to stay with us for your honeymoon and that we were able to match if not exceed your expectations. We wish you both every happiness in your new married life together - and hope to see you here again to celebrate your anniversary! With best wishes, George Cooper
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nirru wrote a review Oct 2022
Colombo, Sri Lanka20 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
It was a beautiful stay at the Dubu villa. Although we may have visited during the wrong season as it was raining both days we managed to enjoy our stay.. We checked in a little late and even though it was past lunch time the staff were nice enough to arrange our lunch and upon request sent the dinner to our room... The menu was limited but food was really flavourful. Speaking of the villa it has been constructed beautifully.. consisting of the main feature that is the massive private pool and two separate bath areas with a jacuzzi & tub. We requested the pool to be cleaned as it had fallen leaves due to rain and the staff was super fast in doing so. We also noticed our vehicle was covered with a cover to protect from rain which we thought was a thoughtful gesture. Overall we loved our stay and hoping to visit again..
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from George Cooper, Owner at Kahanda Kanda
Responded Oct 25, 2022
Dear Nirru Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. Yes, sadly the weather was not great - it has been exceptionally wet of late, but hopefully the tide has turned and we are now getting some sunnier times! We do tend to offer a slightly limited menu since we like to provide only fresh ingredients and with business being rather erratic these days, it is difficult to have an expansive offering. However I hope you enjoyed the food we did provide. Thank you for coming to stay, and we hope to see you again - in sunnier days! Best wishes George Cooper
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen L wrote a review Sep 2022
4 contributions2 helpful votes
I have delayed writing this review as we stayed in April of this year and felt it would be far more beneficial to write once the political situation was more settled and people had more confidence to travel to this beautiful island. I now feel the time is right. Kahanda Kanda is a truly beautiful and unique property bursting with George's style and attention to detail. George as you probably already know is the amazingly charming owner who directs the whole operation with real flair and aplomb. A true English Gent. The staff are excellently trained and are so willing to carry out all of you wishes. The individual villas all different have a wonderful aura to them - attention to detail for all of the facilities is outstanding. Food is excellent be it on the set daily menu or the ala carte and it is most pleasant to have a pre dinner aperitif in the lounge area or indeed after dinner - the view is stunning. Should you wish to wander the estate there is always a member of staff wishing to offer their knowledge and affection for Kahanda Kanda - a true learning experience. If you just wish to relax by the pool (or indeed your own private one if that type of villa is your wish) it is most pleasant to while away the hours with the lovely view whilst watching the wildlife that visit the pool area. Alternatively, there are a wide choice of alternative activities from boating to cycling - tea and cinnamon plantation visits or a tuk tuk to Galle. The ride is exciting as it is enjoyable and well worth doing to experience a smattering of village life on the journey. I really do hope that now that the political situation has calmed that Sri Lanka will once again thrive and that Kahanda Kanda - George and his team of excellent staff thrive with it. They most certainly deserve to. If you require a small, quiet relaxing place to stay to recharge your batteries before either returning home or commencing a busy tour Kahanda Kanda would be an excellent choice - highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from George Cooper, Owner at Kahanda Kanda
Responded Sep 28, 2022
Dear Karen What can I say but a huge thank you for writing the most flattering of reviews of your. stay with us. Thank you and thank you from all the team here - we really do appreciate it so much when guests have a great time. THank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thushini D wrote a review Aug 2022
Panadura, Sri Lanka39 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
This hotel is located around 5km from the Imaduwa highway exit. The road to hotel lies through beautiful paddy fields. Upon entering the premises, you are immediately greeted with a small hill covered in tea plantation. The villas of the hotel a situated overlooking the tea plantation. As we waited to be checked in, the sounds of peacocks and a myriad of other tropical birds created a peaceful atmosphere. The staff were so welcoming. We stayed in the hibiscus villa. It had a private pool that was tastefully placed overlooking part of the tea plantation. The room itself was very spacious and absolutely spotless. One of the comfiest beds I have slept on. The staff members were all very friendly. We were kindly offered to tour the other villas which were vacant. Each one was unique and beautiful. We were told the owner himself lovingly planted many of the majestic trees that cover the hotel's many gardens. I was so moved by the information that he never lets even a branch of those trees be trimmed. The food was delicious and the portions were just right. Do try the safron rice it is divine. All the fruits and many of the juices and jams are prepared from the many trees that grow on the hotel's land itself.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from George Cooper, Owner at Kahanda Kanda
Responded Sep 5, 2022
Dear Thushini Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely review of your stay with us at KK. It goes without saying that of course, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and for all the compliments contained in your review! We do hope you will come back again! With very best wishes, George Cooper
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BELLIFONTAINE wrote a review Aug 2022
Bernay, France4713 contributions392 helpful votes
KK is a very original small property hotel. 12 villas (if I am correct ), each one being different in style and decoration, some with private pools some without, and positioned differently on a nice tea plantation and gardens. Located 15mn from the coast , the property is surrounded by nature and villages, so an authentic environment. We had booked 2 villas (one for myself and husband), one for our friend. The two villas were closed to the main pool , restaurant, lounge area. Ours (villa Kadju) was not as intimate as I’d hoped. Some maintenance small buildings used by the staff were located right behind our bathrooms so we had the windows curtains shut all day long and couldn’t benefit from natural day light. As well we could hear noise from the kitchen but did not bother much. The restaurant propose one set menu at 40USD per person. Also an A la carte menu is proposed , on request, with dishes bigger and 1/3rd of the price… but nothing between which is a bit frustrating. The v BBC at area is nice with great choice of wine and cocktails. Also the all team is working hard and is efficient and villa are well maintained and clean. Our stay could have been relaxing if dogs from the villages around and from the property would not bark all night long or even wake you up at 6:00am. Being in the countryside you experience many natural noises : peacocks, monkeys, birds, cows and this was the case. However wandering barking dogs including untrained dogs on the property made it impossible to relax and ruined our stay. Also we noted dogs (3) wandering in the lounge and restaurant area which does not match the hygiene norms nowadays in a hotel of a standing marketed to be ‘5 stars’. I complain to the owner, Mr Cooper, who promptly replied with apologies for the inconvenience but would understand if we chose to leave as it may not be the place for us ! Reading this, considering the specific context in Sri Lanka at the moment is not acceptable especially if we consider the price level. I would have loved our stay if we didn’t have this specific issue but at this stage as long as it remains this way, true that is definitely not for us!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from George Cooper, Owner at Kahanda Kanda
Responded Sep 5, 2022
Dear Ms Bantwell, Thank you for your review. I am of course saddened that you felt we did not deliver, as we would like all guests to leave here with happy memories. When you checked in, we gave both you and your friend upgrades to higher category rooms, for which there was little or no recognition - in fact the amount you were paying was equivalent to approximately 40% of the normal rate for those rooms. The fact that you then complain about the Luxury Pool Villa, saying you could not open the curtains and enjoy the natural light – with all due respect this is the bathroom only, where there is a mesh blind and a roman blind, so that you can maintain privacy whilst still letting in light. The bedroom is not overlooked at all, so there is no reason not to open the curtains on the three French windows overlooking your private plunge pool. Your review makes it sound as if you had to keep ALL the windows closed, which is misleading and unfair. I find your comments about the noise of dogs excessive. We do have 3 dogs around the hotel as part of our security – and yest they do bark from time to time. Funnily enough I have recently stayed in 7 out of the 12 rooms in the hotel – in order to check that everything is as it should be – and on not one occasion was I woken up by dogs barking – and I am a light sleeper. I slept in both rooms that you and your friend stayed in. With regards to the dogs in the Living Pavilion and Dining Pavilion. They are both “open” areas – no walls or doors - and as the hotel has been closed with no guests for the last few months due to the political and economic situation, it has been difficult to keep the three hotel dogs out of them. We are working on ensuring that this does not happen, but it takes time. When you voiced your complaints to me, I did offer that if you wanted to move to another hotel, that we would not charge for the nights not stayed, since I realized that we were possibly not the right hotel for you. However in you review, you make it out that this was unacceptable – I actually don’t know what else I could have done. As a hotelier, all too often guests use the threat of a bad review on trip advisor rather like the sword of Damocles, and we end up taking the criticism lying down. In this case I feel your comments are not wholly justified, but I guess everyone is entitled to their own opinion. Yours, George Cooper
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Greg-Seattle wrote a review Apr 2022
Seattle82 contributions67 helpful votes
I will start off by saying KK is a ten star boutique property situated on an active tea plantation. It is in a quiet locale which is a convenient tuktuk ride to the neighboring city of Galle. You can read about the specific physical aspects of KK but that does nothing to convey the spirit and the beauty of this property. To begin, KK is a beautifully developed retreat from the hubbub of neighboring Galle. There is very little noise with the exception of the natural wildlife. I went for daily walks on the access road and was always greeted by incredibly friendly villagers on motorbikes, tuktuks, walking, and traveling in cars. The villagers would always - and I do mean ALWAYS - smile and say hello, much like the incredible staff at KK. We looked at the web sites of other upscale hotels in the area and I hate to say it, their web sites were geared towards a clientele of Victoria Secrets lingerie of questionable taste, “influencers”, and people who would prefer Sandals Resorts. If that is you, KK is not for you. The other guests we met fit the spirit of the hotel - gracious, friendly, respectful of staff. The staff at KK are superb. I don’t know how else to describe them. Incredibly friendly. Always attentive. Always sincere and smiling. Always accommodating. There are very few hotels in which I have stayed where I have felt this at ease and relaxed. From housekeeping, to waitstaff, to the groundskeepers, to the kitchen team, and all- this is a truly amazing group of people whose passion is to have their guests share the serenity and the friendliness of Sri Lanka. Meals at the KK are excellent. Whether you want a traditional western breakfast or a traditional Sri Lankan breakfast, you’ll be happy. More than happy. Dinners were a fix prix menu that changed nightly, and were comprised of traditional Sri Lankan fare as well as western fare. We typically ordered Sri Lankan cuisine. After all, we came to experience this country. There were many traditional dishes that included very unique seasonal and indigenous ingredients, many of which are organically grown on the property. If you have time for the short cooking class with the chef and his team, do it. KK has a well outfitted exercise room, an outdoor yoga area, and a massage studio and a massage therapist who knows his stuff and who I would love to find in my home country. Lastly, the property is well maintained, something some of the other boutique hotels are not. I have spent much more time writing this review than I typically would spend on a Trip Advisor review. That is how grateful I am to have spent a good part of our holiday there. Mr. Cooper and his team should be really proud of their efforts.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from George Cooper, Owner at Kahanda Kanda
Responded Apr 25, 2022
Dear Greg Thank you so VERY much for the incredibly flattering review of your stay at Kahanda Kanda. It really was our pleasure having you both to stay with us, and it is just so rewarding to read such lovely comments - a big thank you from all the team! With very best wishes George Cooper
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aaron L wrote a review Mar 2022
60 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We were fortunate enough to visit when we had pretty much the entire place to ourselves. Despite this, staff were incredibly attentive, catered to our every need, and ensured we got plenty of time with the resident Great Dane, Mungo (I hope I got his name right, it's been almost 2 years). Whilst I thought the food was hit and miss, we were treated to one of the best local cuisine dinners we've ever been served! The rooms were spacious and cozy and the pools clean and larger than average we've visited. Overall, we had an incredible stay and would easily recommend this place as a must visit!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Forgot the name but the pool villa overlooking the paddies was our favorite!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from George Cooper, Owner at Kahanda Kanda
Responded Mar 16, 2022
dear Aaron Yes the Great Dane is called Mungo! I am sorry that you felt that the food was somewhat hit and miss - we will look into this and try and improve the offer. Best wishes, George
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon H wrote a review Mar 2022
Tokyo, Japan50 contributions64 helpful votes
We visited KK for our first holiday after two years of Covid lockdowns and we could not have chosen a better place. The location in the hills is quiet and secluded but with the huge advantage of using their complimentary tuk tuk rides down to the sister hotel, KK Beach, for a completely different experience. The rooms are spectacular, large and well appointed. We were in Nelum with a private plunge pool that was a decent length. We ate in every evening and found the food very good and varied. The menu changes every day. All the staff were friendly and charming. Nothing was too much trouble. George has created a perfect haven for anyone wanting a complete break and recharge. Complete bliss.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Nelum is very good and the honeymoon villa looks spectacular
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from George Cooper, Owner at Kahanda Kanda
Responded Mar 16, 2022
Dear Simon, Thank you so much for the lovely review and delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. It was a pleasure having you both to stay at KK for your first holiday after 2 years lockdown!!!! WIth best wishes, George
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$233 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kahanda kanda angulugaha, kahanda kanda hotel angulugaha
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceGalle DistrictAngulugaha
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KAHANDA KANDA - Prices & Hotel Reviews (Sri Lanka/Angulugaha)

Frequently Asked Questions about Kahanda Kanda
Which popular attractions are close to Kahanda Kanda?
Nearby attractions include Handunugoda Tea Estate (1.7 miles), Ashintha Tours & Taxi Service Koggala (2.6 miles), and Martin Wickramasinghe Folk Museum Complex (2.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Kahanda Kanda?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Kahanda Kanda?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Kahanda Kanda?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Kahanda Kanda?
Yes, secured parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kahanda Kanda?
Conveniently located restaurants include Surf 'n' Turf, A'la carte restaurant, and Follow The White Rabbit.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kahanda Kanda?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, fitness classes, and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Kahanda Kanda have airport transportation?
Yes, Kahanda Kanda offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kahanda Kanda?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kahanda Kanda?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Sinhala.
Are there any historical sites close to Kahanda Kanda?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Galle Fort (8.6 miles), Old Town of Galle and its Fortifications (8.4 miles), and Galle Fort Clock Tower (8.6 miles).