We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

710 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 708: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in Dune cottage, part of the hotel. Whilst very well appointed and clean, there was a lot of mildew on curtains and around windows. Not good for asthma sufferers like myself. The hotel was closed for refurb, so maybe the cottage was due a freshen up too. Cosy and comfy living space, bed was a little hard. Would go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
perthshire
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very friendly Hotel Manager with an efficient system. This cottage is allied to the hotel and was very like a hotel suite in its feel. It was well equipped for 4 people but you would need to be good friends or a family as 2 would need to use the sofa bed without much privacy. The place was warm and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajenkinsPerthshire
EmbletonHotelier, General Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alan We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon. George Knight...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 13, 2016 via mobile

Although the hotel is closed, we had a fantastic stay in one of their cottages, The Hayloft. Extremely comfortable, relaxing and peaceful base to enjoy the village, the beach, and everything else this part of Northumberland has to offer. Thank you, once again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2011bob2bob
EmbletonHotelier, General Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bob We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon. George Knight...

Whitby, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 28, 2016

Polite and helpful staff..food excellent..old worldly pub/hotel, comfy and warm and will definitely return. Plenty of good walks along to Low Newton to sample the Ship Inns own micro brewery ales and the other day south to Crasher past Dunstanburgh Castle..beautiful coastline.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christophercL9248LX
EmbletonHotelier, General Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christopher We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon. George Knight...

France
Reviewed November 28, 2016

Stayed at the hotel for three nights on a half board basis. Room was large, very clean and comfortable bed. The breakfast and evening meal were all excellent. Good choice of food cooked beautifully. We hope to return next year.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank E8069IYfionas
EmbletonHotelier, General Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fiona We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon. George Knight...

Mirfield, West Yorkshire
Reviewed November 26, 2016

My wife and I have just had a three night special dinner, bed and breakfast break. It has all been said before but worth repeating. Hotel is spotlessly clean, staff are very friendly and couldn't do enough, food is a real treat, good quality, very tasty and well presented. Our offer included the restricted table d'hote dinner menu, which we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James B
EmbletonHotelier, General Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon. definitely come...

Reviewed November 23, 2016 via mobile

I think that this is our 5th visit to this hotel. Extra enjoyable because of the fine weather. My wife and I stayed the weekend on a dinner/bed and breakfast deal. Accommodation comfortable ensuring a good nights sleep. Dinner very good, well cooked and presented. Excellent cooked breakfast. Staff friendly and efficient, George delightfully eccentric. If you like the beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
EmbletonHotelier, General Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon. on a...

Reviewed November 22, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here when I was on a training course nearby. Lovely staff, great dinner and breakfast. Room was comfy couldn't really ask for much more. Restaurant staff were spot on and very efficient. Nice, clean well run hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
EmbletonHotelier, General Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Louise We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon. George Knight...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 20, 2016

Second visit and stay at the police cottages attached to the hotel two bed roomed and absolutely perfect. Clean warm well equipped. Hotel across the road to deal with any problems which we did not have. Provide take away food and will even serve their menu in the cottage for you -what more could you ask for? Only one word...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janicecahill58
EmbletonHotelier, General Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janice We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of the police cottages at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again...

sheffield
Reviewed November 14, 2016

A warm friendly welcome as ever. Our third stay. Comfortable room, well appointed with a very good menu in the restaurant especially the fish dishes with good choices for breakfast. A super location in a great part of the world

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dylanSheffield
EmbletonHotelier, General Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dylan We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon. George Knight...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
1:55
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Embleton
2.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,095 reviews
6.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
926 reviews
8.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
102 reviews
16.9 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
10.3 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You can find us in Embleton, a lovely quiet coastal village 5 minutes from the fabulous Northumberland Coastline. Great walks from the hotel will take you to fabulous sandy bays, castles and cosy pubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Address: Embleton, Alnwick NE66 3UN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Embleton
Price Range: $90 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstanburgh Castle Alnwick
Hotel Dunstanburgh Castle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Darlington, United Kingdom
Durham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We had a room with a view onto the street, spacious and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles E8069IYfionas, Nov 28, 2016 | Read review
“Self catering cottage fantastic no 4 police cottage very nice, but other residents said the rooms were lovely as well”
 of 5 bubbles janicecahill58, Nov 20, 2016 | Read review
“Cottages are a good bet.”
 of 5 bubbles mikewI4565NT, Nov 13, 2016 | Read review
“Just go with the flow and enjoy. Brillo.”
 of 5 bubbles Potty01926, Nov 10, 2016 | Read review
“we stayed in a 'garden view' room which was extremely comfortable with all necessary facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles rolland47, Nov 6, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay