We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Harbour Island, The Bahamas Dunmore Town Harbour Island
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (123)
Pool & Beach (30)
Room & Suite (30)

About

#6 of 9 hotels in Harbour Island
Location
5.0
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.9
Value
4.5
Beach front 11 room Inn and four bedroom beach house located on the pink sand beach of Harbour Island. Beachside pool and restaurant nestled on 13 tropical acres. A variety of rooms including a one bedroom owners cottage makes this the perfect location for intimate weddings, birthday celebrations or family reunions. Our Chef, Krishna Higgs, has a wonderful menu which features daily local fresh fish options. The Four Bedroom Infinity House has sliding glass doors in each bedroom and endless deck. Newly renovated it offers everything you could wish for in a rental home and offers all the amenities of a hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Center with Internet Access
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Heated pool
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Safe
Kitchenette
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Harbor View

Location

Full view
74Somewhat walkable
Grade: 74 out of 100
10Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
164Reviews6Q+A35Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 147
  • 9
  • 4
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Nikki H wrote a review Nov 19
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota700 contributions104 helpful votes
+1
Six of us had dinner here outside under the stars and it was fabulous. We had the lobster spring rolls, the conch chowder, lobster, curry grouper, pork chops and the pasta. Every dish was wonderful. I’d highly recommend. The service was spot on as well.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lynn B wrote a review Aug 2022
49 contributions35 helpful votes
My husband and I hadn't been back for a meal here in many years.We decided to return for lunch.It is still our favorite, romantic place to go! Delicious food, friendly staff, amazing view.We always recommend it and sometime plan a short stay now that we live in Eleuthera.We came back in February 2022 with friends for a drink at the bar with the same welcome
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mary G wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
My family and I traveled to Harbour Island for the first time this summer and all of our expectations of Runaway Hill were far exceeded. Kendrick the hotel manager personally greeted us with the warmest welcome and they were so kind to upgrade our room to have more space for our family. The accommodations are simple but perfectly clean, the location and views can not be beat, and the food..breakfast, lunch, and dinner were all absolutely delicious. The girls at the front desk BJ and Lachante and all the others were all so kind and accommodating and the waitstaff, bartenders, the cleaning staff, all wonderful and professional. They all became our friends and it was just an overall beautiful experience. The breathtaking pink sands beach outside your door has everything you need: lounge chairs, umbrellas, paddle boards, kayaks, and towels. The service was top notch. Overall just a wonderful experience for our family.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Samantha S wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
We love this place. Recent issues with the room we’ve occupied for the past five years were addressed expertly, professionally by Kendrick, the new manager here. We so loved Jen. Kendrick’s predecessor. So impressed with him though. Kendrick met our every need. He’s filling Jen’s shoes just beautifully!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Cannot go wrong
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Joaquindapark wrote a review Apr 2022
Oakville, Canada110 contributions43 helpful votes
+1
Let me be clear: although there are multiple negative comments coming, they affect ratings in evaluation criteria that are unimportant in my mind in relation to the rest of the criteria. The entire experience therefore still results in a 4 star rating. After all, how much property neglect, and bad service, do you need to ruin paradise? And this place is paradise. The 3 mile long, pink sand beach is rated one of the top 10 beaches in the world. The temperature during our stay varied between 23 and 26 degrees Celsius, tempered by a divine, steady Bahamian breeze (15-20 knots). The resort is located on top of a hill, providing spectacular perspectives on the beach from the dining area. The location and orientation of our room (Alice 2), is absolutely magical. The bed faces East, with French doors opening onto a deck that overlooks the beach and ocean. The doors are screened, allowing an overnight sleep to the sound of rolling ocean waves gently splashing on the beach. This alone is enough for a 5 star rating. Add to this the truly exceptional cuisine, frequented by resort guests as well as visitors from other resorts and oversized yachts, and you have the making of paradise on earth. Is it possible to ruin this? Unfortunately, management and staff try their hardest (or softest). I have not travelled much, but in comparison to the service and positive energy my wife and I experienced in Jamaica and on the Holland Cruise line, the staff here are amorphous, indifferent and incompetent. Some are also criminally lazy. We caught a grounds worker hiding under our deck, which evidently was a better option to him that performing the tasks he had been assigned. Kudos to the grounds supervisor and the hostess for addressing this promptly. Unfortunately, it was one (too few) displays of caring throughout our 5 day stay. Here’s a sample of a few infractions that caught our attention: Upon arrival, no verbal greeting; staff points at the table they want us to sit at, like we just disrupted their leisure; “What you want?”, asks the waitress to solicit our order; Net zero familiarity with the menu; Unordered items served; Ordered items not served; Complimentary items charged; Eternal wait times (even with 2 wait staff and 7 patrons over 3 tables); Refusal to light our candle in a hurricane vase, under the pretext that the wind would blow it out (we light it ourselves and it lasted all dinner); If they wanted us to leave they could hardly have a better blueprint. And what to say about the bar. OMG. This bar has a view overlooking the ocean. A perfect place for a happy hour. Drinks with umbrellas. Steel drum music (ok I show my age). But my age has nothing to do with the fact that this bar was empty for the whole week of our stay. The bartenders avoid eye contact; play uninspiring music (the music is better when they clean the place between service hours); don’t engage with patrons. What a waste. Finally, the neglect in this place is epic. How many dead banana trees does it take before you rent a chainsaw? How many broken drawer knobs before someone takes a trip to the hardware store, as far as it may be on an island? How severe a wobble on a toilet bowl before someone applies a wrench to it? And finally, the icing on the cake, how warped does a French door have to be before it’s attended to? You can see the warp in the pics we attached, complete with the salamander barrier we had to improvise using towels to make sure we filled the gap. In the end, we had a very relaxing time over the 5 days, much of which was due to our resolve not to let the almost disdainful service and the decomposing buildings/landscape ruin our stay. But this should not be. Not in pure paradise. Not at these prices. We kept asking ourselves through the week: how is this possible? Did COVID destroy morale on the island? Is the mandatory gratuity fostering indifference? Are the owners guilty of advanced neglect and gross mismangament? All of the above? If you still own the place Mr Messier, are you paying attention? If your game plan is to milk the cow, the cow’s getting old. If it’s not the plan, a prolonged visit might be fruitful.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Arm yourself with patience and compassion.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
T Y wrote a review Feb 2021
New York City, New York10 contributions
I just completed a 4 night stay at The Runaway Hill Club and am already planning my next trip back. This is smaller boutique hotel complete with a tiled pool, oceanfront property, amazing restaurant and lovely staff. There is a fantastic little bar that looks out onto the ocean and the food was the best that I ate on Harbor Island an that included meals at all of the other resorts (Dunmore, Pink sands, Coral Sands etc...) all had good food but runaway Hill was my favorite. It's quiet and low key and the perfect getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Runaway Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Runaway Hill Club
Responded Feb 22, 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kirsten L wrote a review Feb 2020
6 contributions5 helpful votes
This is my favorite place to stay on Harbour Island. It's on the beach, it has a pool, and it's small enough to be cozy and not feel like a huge hotel. I think there are only 11 rooms.They have kayaks, paddle boards, and other fun beach toys. Also, there's a great reef in front of the resort that offers excellent snorkeling! Beautiful clown, trigger, angel, and parrot fish! We always feel like we're staying with friends when we stay here. We love the staff and look forward to seeing them each year. I cannot say enough about Jenny Messier, the manager. She's so friendly, down-to-earth, and accommodating. She really makes our stay special year after year and is happy to offer recommendations for excursions, like fishing, jumping into the sapphire hole, or swimming with the pigs. My husband and I came alone this trip, but we usually come with our kids and they love it!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: upstairs room have a private rooftop deck.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Messierjen, General Manager at Runaway Hill Club
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Thank you. The best part of our job is to share the beauty of Harbour Island with our guests. We are happy you love it as much as we do.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephanie G wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions
I booked this hotel through Bahamago.com for two nights in February. Booking was confirmed so subsequently booked other hotels before and after those dates on other islands as part of a two week island hopping vacation. The following day, the hotel cancelled my reservation with no explication. After calling the hotel, I was informed that it has a three day night minimum - though no mention of this on the travel website. I explained that if I had known this I could have reserved three nights, however, I was now locked into other hotel reservations and only had two nights available. I asked if they could make an exception while it was not my fault that this predicament had arisen. While I do appreciate the hotel policy of a three night minimum, they shouldn’t then offer the possibility to reserve less than three nights on an external websites. I was informed by the person I spoke to that they would need to speak to their manager for approval and would call me back. After three days of no news, I called the hotel and was informed now there was no availability for those dates. Was genuinely surprised by the absolute lack of interest in helping me find a solution. Very disappointing experience, especially since after waiting so many days for a response, there is very little availability in other hotels on the island. Will not book again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Messierjen, General Manager at Runaway Hill Club
Responded Feb 4, 2020
This review is inaccurate. The individual booked with a third party Vendor BahamaGo.com which has no relationship to Runaway Hill Club. They presented her with false information and they had no authority to confirm a reservation. No money was collected by Runaway Hill Inn and no confirmation was ever sent. We do not allow online booking or use third party vendors for exactly this issue. The reviewer is blaming the wrong party to her travel issues. Very disappointing that inaccurate information can be posted without confirmation of the facts. You cannot book again a reservation which was never booked in the first place.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
heathercsrobertson wrote a review Nov 2019
Port Jefferson, New York14 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Peaceful. Breathtaking views. Delicious meals. Courteous staff. Outstanding. We will definitely be back and recommend without reservation. Beach access and pool were wonderful too! Jen and her staff do an outstanding jon to make you feel welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
dr doolittle wrote a review Jul 2019
New York City, New York7 contributions2 helpful votes
The restaurant on site lived up to the hype! Small intimate atmosphere-exquisite gourmet meals. Outdoor dining with continuous ocean breeze, candle light and breathtaking views. We eventually tried all of the restaurants on the beach but Runaway Hill was a stood head and shoulders above the rest especially for dinner. The innkeeper Jennifer adds a personal touch to your stay. She takes interest in her guests and is always there to help when needed. She is warm and welcoming and sets a fun tone for your stay. The beach it sits on is breathtaking.Soft sandy bottom, rolling turquoise blue waves. Our suite off the first floor lobby was spacious and air conditioned. This is a place we plan to return to again. Loved the intimate ascot of this small boutique inn. We felt well taken care of and enjoyed all of the meals.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
runaway hill club hotel harbour island
LOCATION
CaribbeanBahamasOut IslandsHarbour Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RUNAWAY HILL CLUB - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Bahamas/Harbour Island)

Frequently Asked Questions about Runaway Hill Club
Which popular attractions are close to Runaway Hill Club?
Nearby attractions include Dunmore Town (0.2 miles) and Briland Art (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Runaway Hill Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Runaway Hill Club?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Runaway Hill Club?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Runaway Hill Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Dunmore Restaurant, Bahamas Coffee Roaster, and Rock House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Runaway Hill Club?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Runaway Hill Club located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.10 miles away from the center of Harbour Island.
Are there any historical sites close to Runaway Hill Club?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Dunmore Town (0.2 miles).
Does Runaway Hill Club have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.