We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Playa Matapalo 66351 Costa Rica
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (95)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (1)

About

#3 of 5 Specialty lodging in Playa Matapalo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
All suites offer kitchenettes, AC in bedrooms, hot water, satellite television, wifi, complimentary beach towels, as well as our exclusive hammock park situated next to the ocean. Here you will relax in specially placed hammocks, beach loungers and tables as our staff tend to your every whim. Food and beverage service is available beach side during the day. Uniquely situated between 2 National Parks (Manuel Antonio to the north, Uvita Whale Marine to the south) we know you will enjoy discovering all of the adventures our pristine special destination has to offer. Allow our knowledgeable staff to assist you in developing your perfect Costa Rica vacation.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool with view
Breakfast in the room
Beach
Canoeing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Horseback riding
Billiards
Fishing
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
100Reviews4Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 58
  • 24
  • 6
  • 1
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ENGEMIAJ wrote a review Oct 10
1 contribution
Me and my cousins went to have a good weekend in the beach. The Iguana House was very clean and had all the amenities we needed. The only thing I did not like was how loud the house was when it rained. We had a major thunderstorm in the middle of the night and the noise was like a freight train! But that was just one night. Overall, this place is great if you want to stay AT the beach with a budget.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Dude0nSurf wrote a review Feb 2020
Virginia Beach, Virginia4 contributions4 helpful votes
I stayed in La Terezza for a week in November 2019 with my friend we loved it. In fact, we are going back with 20 of our closet friends in March. The La Terezza apartment is in the front of the property with a big balcony with views of the beach. It has two beds (a double bed and a single bed) and a small kitchen. The room was clean, had ac and wifi. Each room has its own bathroom with a warm water shower in addition to the outdoor showers. We didn't have any problems with bugs while staying at the Jungle House. The owner / manger Charlie is very friendly and accommodating. I was surprised to find that I did not need a power adapter to charge my phone or for any of my US electronics. A maid cleaned our room every day. The Jungle House is across the street from the beach. The surf break right across the street was pretty good at high tide and we were the only surfers out there. We found lots of other surf spots nearby that were also fun and uncrowded. It is a jungle house, not a luxury all-inclusive resort. As long as you are not expecting to be pampered like at a 5 star resort, you will have a great time.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Glass House and Sunrise Suite are my favorites. Don Tito Suite is also nice and the new Flamingo...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
AustinTraveler512 wrote a review Jan 2020
Austin, Texas2 contributions
We visited this property with a family of 15 including Grandparents. Our visit was terrible. Upon arrival, we brought our Christmas groceries to cook in the main kitchen for a celebration. The refrigerator was inoperable and we requested Assistance. No ice machines or even ice Trays. Charlie was on vacation in the United States, so he asked a neighbor friend to assist us. Mario and Olger, Charlies son indicated they would bring a new refrigerator. On Christmas day the refrigerator failed and we had to move all our food to a separate location quite far from the kitchen. With no lighting to walk to the new refrigerator, we had to attempt to move our food in the dark. Then on Christmas Eve the stove broke. We flew 15 family members to Costa Rica for a great event and basic necessities failed. Six family members complained of Bed bugs. With children being bitten on the bottom their feet and eye lids while they slept. We asked for refunds and Charlie refused to refund even though his facility is falling apart. The rooms are very musty and smell of mold. The price paid for this trip was over $242/night rooms with broken air conditioning and bugs. We had housekeeping spray several rooms to attempt to manage the issue. We couldn't leave the property because we had to take care of elderly grandparents that were unable to relocate. Beware of this property. The photos do no match the accurate condition.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Avoid this property
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from junglehouse, Propietario at Charlie's Jungle House
Responded Jan 18, 2020
This review is a second attempt from the husband of the initial complaint. The realities of this property are far from the characterizations which this guests has suggested. She fails to reveal that of the 15 guests (family members) who arrived to the Jungle House property, 13 of them were all quite satisfied with their stay with us. In fact, those same family members expressed relief that now that she had left the property.others could begin to enjoy their vacation with us. The truth be told, from the moment that she arrived on the property she was disappointed that what she had envisioned to be bungalows next to the ocean, were in fact 150 meters set back. From this moment forward it didn't matter what our staff did to attempt to make her happy, nothing worked. Her complaint about the AC not working was followed up by a visit the next morning by a certified professional. The problem was that she did not know how to operate the remote control properly. There was no issue except she couldn't figure out how to increase the fan option. Her next claim of bed bugs was met with our response to offer another suite or completely change out the mattress in question. The guest would not even consider looking at the suite which was offered as an alternative. The truth again was that there were no bed bugs at all. She had probably been bitten at the beach at sunset, an unfortunate occurrence for certain skin types. We had had families in the glass house previous to her arrival, and have had 2 families since her abrubt departure in the glass house... No issues with bed bugs. In my nearly 30 years of hosting guests from all around the world, there is one common thread with respect to guests and their excitement or disappointment upon arrival... Expectations. If a guests has expectations which are not founded in reality, disappointment always follows. In her case, the fact that she could not see the ocean from her bungalow was the begining of the end for her, nothing more than that. I do not dedicate myself and my life to create disappointing experiences for our guests. Quite the contrary, myself and our dedicated staff make every possible effort to remedy every situation we are confronted with. In this case, the guest was offered another suite in response to her complaint, She would not even walk 200 feet to look at it. That tells me all I need to know.
Read more
WorldwideTraveler407 wrote a review Jan 2020
Ohiopyle, Pennsylvania1 contribution1 helpful vote
The information provided is complete with details and documents for our trip, so others can be aware of the realities of this property. We traveled to Costa Rica, Playa Matapalo for the 2019 Christmas Holiday for 7 nights at Charlies Jungle House. During Our first night in the Glass House room, we were bitten extensively by Bed bugs. We asked for help the next morning and the owner, Charlie was unavailable because he was in the United States on vacation. The house keeper, Eva sprayed Baygon on the sheets in attempt to clear the bugs. See photos. The second night was no better. We asked for the room to be cleaned again. Unfortunately, this was on Christmas eve. No reply from management. The correspondence of Whatsapp indicates the text were read but no response. See screenshot of emails. We had to leave the property. We asked for a refund. We had provided photos and video of the bugs and sent them to Charlie. See photos. Additionally, the Air conditioner also failed to turn higher than from low speed. We read other reviews that detailed the problems with the Air Conditioner. The heat and humidity in Costa Rica are severe. Costa Rica is located near the equator. Air Conditioning is critical for warm environments. We asked for the property air conditioning to be serviced before we arrived. The Air conditioning unit dribbled along with very little air flow. I would not recommend the this property.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: The rooms are across the street from the public playa Matapola beach. This is not Beachfront...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from junglehouse, Owner at Charlie's Jungle House
Responded Jan 7, 2020
The realities of this property are far from the characterizations which this guests has suggested. She fails to reveal that of the 15 guests (family members) who arrived to the Jungle House property, 13 of them were all quite satisfied with their stay with us. In fact, those same family members expressed relief that now that she had left the property.others could begin to enjoy their vacation with us. The truth be told, from the moment that she arrived on the property she was disappointed that what she had envisioned to be bungalows next to the ocean, were in fact 150 meters set back. From this moment forward it didn't matter what our staff did to attempt to make her happy, nothing worked. Her complaint about the AC not working was followed up by a visit the next morning by a certified professional. The problem was that she did not know how to operate the remote control properly. There was no issue except she couldn't figure out how to increase the fan option. Her next claim of bed bugs was met with our response to offer another suite or completely change out the mattress in question. The guest would not even consider looking at the suite which was offered as an alternative. The truth again was that there were no bed bugs at all. She had probably been bitten at the beach at sunset, an unfortunate occurrence for certain skin types. We had had families in the glass house previous to her arrival, and have had 2 families since her abrubt departure in the glass house... No issues with bed bugs. In my nearly 30 years of hosting guests from all around the world, there is one common thread with respect to guests and their excitement or disappointment upon arrival... Expectations. If a guests has expectations which are not founded in reality, disappointment always follows. In her case, the fact that she could not see the ocean from her bungalow was the begining of the end for her, nothing more than that. I do not dedicate myself and my life to create disappointing experiences for our guests. Quite the contrary, myself and our dedicated staff make every possible effort to remedy every situation we are confronted with. In this case, the guest was offered another suite in response to her complaint, She would not even walk 200 feet to look at it. That tells me all I need to know.
Read more
Stephen Klug wrote a review Dec 2019
6 contributions
Charlie, and his family, and team worked very hard to accommodate all of our needs. The rooms were beautiful, clean, and very modern. Everyone was extremely knowledgeable, and professional. The experience wouldn’t have been the same without their hospitality. The rooms are on the beach, and located a short walk down the beach from a turtle sanctuary, and we saw the release of baby turtles into the ocean! A beautiful memory! I highly recommend anyone to stay in Matapalo and enjoy the company!! Thanks Charlie!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$87 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasPlaya Matapalo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Charlie's Jungle House
Which popular attractions are close to Charlie's Jungle House?
Nearby attractions include Playa Matapalo (0.09 miles) and Eco Termales (4.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Charlie's Jungle House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Charlie's Jungle House?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Charlie's Jungle House?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Charlie's Jungle House?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Charlie's Jungle House?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Langosta Feliz, El Express del Pacifico, and El Patio Cafe & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Charlie's Jungle House?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Charlie's Jungle House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Charlie's Jungle House offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Charlie's Jungle House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Is Charlie's Jungle House accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.