We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

West Lodge Park Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
West Lodge Park Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,032 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,026: English reviews
Start your review of West Lodge Park Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Purchase a groupon deal for dinner bed and breakfast. Hotel is absolutely stunning set in beautiful surroundings. Room lovely. Staff freindly and helpful. Restaurant was very welcoming. Food was amazing. Best night sleeps in a hotel we've ever had. Great breakfast. Had a lovely relaxing night away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna R
London
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

1st impressions on the drive up the driveway is good soon disappointed as you enter through the door into a large lounge which reminded me of a nursing home. We stayed for a 'surprise ' family birthday for me before going to Munich. The reception is situated in a corridor and my 'surprise ' was instantly spoiled when the receptionist...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sjc462
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Understaffed restaurant, food average, a Waiter who didn't understand English, very slow service. Nice surroundings, let down by lack if experienced Staff. We used to dine regularly at West Lodge, but standards have slipped badly.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bumble17966
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mary Beale Restaurant at West Lodge Park, I am afraid that the details you have provided are so scant that I can't comment on your review, other than to say that I simply don't recognise your description of the restaurant in these comments, and other Tripadvisor reviewers would say the same. We have...

Strasbourg, France
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I first came here 40 years ago and I am pleased to report the hotel still maintains the same excellent standards. We had a great meal in the restaurant and our room was delightful. There is a slightly quirky country house feeling to the place that has the effect of bonding people together, staff and guests alike. A unique hospitality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philipsloan
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this lovely review of West Lodge Park, I love this place too, and have been here for all my 53 years ! My grandfather bought the hotel just before the end of the Second World War, and we are now in our fourth generation of Beales to own and run the hotel, although our family...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Delightful old house set in grounds which make you feel far from the madding crowds of London. Staff manners and attention to guests is impeccable. Sunday lunch was superb with something for everyone in our group of seven people. Excellent value for money, not cheap but the food quality and service is well worth paying for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdeyB8220
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such an excellent review following your Sunday lunch at the hotel. I am quite delighted to read this, as this meal time is often busy, and I can never get a table myself, so am reliant on guests like you to report back ! As I write the winter gales are in full swing, but the weather...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Drove into the magnificent grounds of the hotel, parked and went in to enjoy a superb tea, we were waited on perfectly and all staff were great, the tea was superb, real treat, must go more often ,I deserve it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StephenSmith198
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review of afternoon tea at West Lodge Park ! Thank you so much ! You do deserve to come more often to the hotel, and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back again. Full afternoon tea in the West End now costs around £50 per person, while at West Lodge Park the same quality...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came as a treat and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! The room is lovely, spacious and clean, with a view over the grounds. The 3 course dinner was to a high standard with a relaxing atmosphere, as was breakfast the next morning. Will definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank claire0687
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park, I am so delighted that we looked after you both so well, and that you had a good time at the hotel. As I write it feels like Spring is in the air, the daffodils are pushing up, and the birds are chirping away - always a good sign that...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here using a groupon voucher and it exceeded our expectations. The room was large and comfortable and the tea and coffee selection very good. The only quibble was that a rubber bath mat was not automatically included though you could ask reception for one - this is a neccesity as the bottom of the bath is very slippy without...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joy D
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park, I am pleased that we exceeded your expectations during your stay. We took the rubber bathmats out of the bathrooms following guest feedback, but have them at reception for immediate delivery to you if needed. I am pleased that we were able to help with gluten free items on the...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came her as an anniversary treat. The rooms are presented beautifully, the service is also excellent. We had the 3 course set menu in the evening, the restaurant was beautiful, the pianist was outstanding, the portions were generous. We will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, Our resident pianist is Paul Jaffa and he will be pleased to see your report ! Do come again soon, whether for the next anniversary, or just to get away. Kind regards, Andrew Beale Managing Director Beales Hotels

Epping, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have had many excellent lunches here and the afternoon tea is superb. We have twice combined these with an arboretum tour in different seasons which I would thoroughly recommend. A lovely restaurant in a fabulous setting. Last nights Valentines dinner was up to their usual high standard. A good choice for each course, beautifully presented and delicious but not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of West Lodge Park, I am delighted that you have supported us in the past, and that Valentines Night was as good as other occasions, The Arboretum tours start again on 12th April, and I am looking forward to putting this winter behind us. The best months are May and October. Do come again...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

740 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (204)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
2:50
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (108)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (414)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (65)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (90)
Viewed
Jacuzzi (8)
Viewed
Luxury Double Room (75)
Viewed
Dining (76)
Viewed
The Hotel (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnet
7.4 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
622 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Chace Hotel
Royal Chace Hotel
#2 of 5 in Enfield
539 reviews
5.4 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Glenlyn Hotel
Glenlyn Hotel
#487 of 1,088 in London
511 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St. Albans
1,987 reviews
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Enfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
West Lodge Park Hotel is a beautiful country house hotel set in 35 acres of grounds on the edge of North London. It has been owned and run by three generations of the Beale family since 1945 and now has 59 bedrooms, the Mary Beale Restaurant and Terrace Bar, 8 stunning banqueting rooms, and plentiful free parking. The hotel is located just a mile from Cockfosters Tube station where there is a large car park and frequent trains on the Piccadilly Line to all the sights of central London. Around the hotel is the magnificent Beale Arboretum, with over 800 species of trees from around the world, 2 national collections of hornbeams and swamp cypresses, and plentiful hard paths and interpretive signage. The hotel is also home to the Edward Beale collection of Old master paintings, most of which have been painted by the ancestor of the family, Mary Beale, who was Britain's first professional woman artist, painting at the time of Charles II. It would be a pleasure to welcome you to this beautiful hotel. Andrew BealeManaging DirectorBeales Hotels ... more   less 

Additional Information about West Lodge Park Hotel

Address: West Lodge Park Cockfosters Road, Barnet EN4 0PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Barnet
Price Range: $94 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — West Lodge Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your West Lodge Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hotel Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from West Lodge Park Hotel staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from West Lodge Park Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“this is the place to pamper yourself”
 of 5 bubbles StephenSmith198, 1 week ago | Read review
“not room 27 birch which is above the noisy kitchen prep area”
 of 5 bubbles 198davido, Jan 23, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms and suites in the annexes are well worth the upgrade.”
 of 5 bubbles andrewmbnl, Jan 13, 2017 | Read review
“The lodges (chestnut and cedar) have wonderful rooms and are away fro the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles SteffyEAnglia, Jan 10, 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in The Lodge. Short walk to main hotel but rooms lovely and large”
 of 5 bubbles 428beverlyb, Dec 30, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question