We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Save
Share
Jl. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233 Indonesia
Lowest prices for your stay
$40
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia.com$40
Orbitz.com
MGallery$41
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (3696)
Room & Suite (1019)
Dining (559)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 12/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Updated 12/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 333 hotels in Yogyakarta
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.4
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Car hire
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Indonesian
4246Reviews37Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,590
  • 1,236
  • 314
  • 63
  • 43
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Guildev-Paris wrote a review Sep 12
Paris, France156 contributions27 helpful votes
You will enjoy this hotel with exquisite charm in Yogyakarta central area. External swimming pool in a cosy surrounding and quality spa where you can have numerous treatments and access to a sauna on reservation. Pleasant restaurant with a la carte menu and large choice buffet breakfast. I particularly enjoyed the cut fresh fruits. Gentle welcome and helpful staff.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Office Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guildev-Paris, We would like to take this chance to thank you for staying at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta and taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to read your feedback which is full of compliments and attractive words. Thank you for highlighting our facilities and style. We will share them all with the team as an encouragement to consistently make better improvements. We would love to host you on your next trip to Yogyakarta for another enjoyable experience. Sincerely Yours, Rulvastina Randy General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Justin M wrote a review Sep 11
Melbourne, Australia71 contributions45 helpful votes
Lovely, but room for improvement. I’m Still here and got a few more nights. Beautiful hotel, grounds and rooms, great location, but still room for improvement. Shower didn’t work well. I’m only a Silver Accor member and got nothing extra ( I’m Diamond Hilton and platinum Marriott so accustom to upgrades and benefits). Bfast was ok, but many things were empty and not replaced whilst I was there. Wifi is poor, not good enough. Also have to separately specify deposit amount to charge things to your room, weird for an international hotel, I don’t know how much I’ll spend and didn’t always carry credit card. I’d prob stay again as prefer old classic hotels, but don’t expect a refined hotel. But you are not paying refined prices I guess
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Their deluxe rooms are nice but pool view would be nicer
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Office Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Justin M, Thank you for staying at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta and sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to know that you find our hotel beautiful and at a strategic point. However, we are sorry that you have an unpleasant experience with the room situation, breakfast, wi-fi quality, and deposit matter during your stay with us. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience that happened. Your comment will be definitely shared with the team for further follow-up and improvement. It is our commitment to reach the top guest satisfaction and your feedback is helping us to fulfill that point. Once again, thank you for sharing your comment and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back for a much better experience. Sincerely Yours, Rulvastina Randy General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew Tengku D... O wrote a review Jul 2022
Mataram, Indonesia24 contributions1 helpful vote
Lovely colonial hotel. At first we saw great history of the hotel. Good pool. Great room. Spacious. Gym and sauna was a treat. Foods were amazing. Overall good stay. Will soon come back here again. Thankyou phoenix.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Office Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Responded Jul 26, 2022
Dear andrewtengkudewio Thank you so much for your positive review. We are happy to find that you enjoyed almost everything provided in The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. Your comments are highly motivating to the entire team. We aim to always give a distinctive experience to each of our guests and we are glad that you can feel it. We definitely look forward to meeting you again here for another enjoyable experience. Sincerely Yours, Rulvastina Randy General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lightningboy wrote a review Jul 2022
Surrey, Canada2866 contributions397 helpful votes
+1
This hotel is centrally located and close to Jl. Malioboro without all the noise. There are several restaurants within walking distance. Check in was easy and the front staff were very helpful with recommendations of where to go and things to do. We had a pool view room which is quite far at the back of the hotel, but isolated from street noise. The moderately sized room comes equipped with the usual amenities, however our in-room safe was not working and the hair dryer barely had any output. A small balcony with 2 chairs overlooks the pool. The AC was adequate and the in room WiFi was a little slow but good enough for social media and web browsing. The dining area serves breakfast and dinner. There is a spa and gym as well. Although clean and comfortable, the hotel shows its age with peeling paint and stained walls and could use a renovation. Overall we had a good experience at the Phoenix hotel. In my opinion it is not a luxury hotel, but does represent good value.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Office Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Responded Jul 10, 2022
Dear lightningboy, Thank you for dedicating the time and effort to write us your valuable feedback. We were pleased knowing that you enjoyed our location in the city center and our professional staff services. Your kind review has sincerely boosted the spirit of the entire team here. We took notes of your detailed comment, especially about the room amenities, WiFi quality, AC, and wall condition. Please accept our sincere apology for our flaws. Your remarks will enable us to improve the quality of our services. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you better in the future and to welcome you back to the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta for another enjoyable experience. Sincerely Yours, Rulvastina Randy General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
antoniuskristyanto wrote a review Jul 2022
Jakarta, Indonesia1 contribution
This is our first experience staying at this hotel. This hotel is old but it turns out to provide a very different experience, the hotel is very clean, beautiful and feels very luxurious. We were just not happy because we happened to get a room at the back facing another hotel area, the village entrance, where there was a former garbage dump. But overall we happy with the hospitality and for sure will stay again when we back to Jogja
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Office Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Responded Jul 4, 2022
Dear antoniuskristyanto, Thank you so much for choosing our heritage hotel for your stay during your visit to Yogyakarta and for sharing your positive review with us. We are flattered and indeed so happy to hear that you love the beauty of this hotel and the genuine services from our staff. Yet, we are sorry that we have not made your stay entirely the best possible one due to your room location. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings happened. Again, thank you very much for your comments to us as they definitely served as encouragement to our team. We look forward to your next arrival in The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta for a much better and more enjoyable experience. Sincerely Yours, Rulvastina Randy General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Isabelle H wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed for one week at Phoenix exploring Yogya and it’s surroundings. From the moment we arrived the staff was incredibly helpful! Especially Alfil was terrific and helped us plan our days, arrange transportation and gave us a tour through the heritage hotel. We will definitely come back again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Office Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Responded Jun 14, 2022
Dear 99isabelleh, Thank you for sharing your memorable experience following your stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. We are delighted to be part of your fantastic vacation to Yogyakarta. It's nice to learn that it was indeed a wonderful stay experience with us. We have shared your kind review with the team, surely including Alfil. It has really boosted our spirit to give the best service to our guests. Thank you once again for your wonderful compliment. We are very pleased to welcome you back here for another memorable experience. Sincerely, Rulvastina Randy General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
refreshCatering wrote a review Jun 2022
Cairns Region, Australia2 contributions
This is really silly why need 200 character, this hotel really nice spot, great food and fantastic staff so nothing to write now but need 200 characters so silly so there for only dot dot dot till enough 200 characters ……………………..>……………. ……………………………………………………………………………….>
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Office Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Responded Jun 10, 2022
Dear refreshCatering, Thank you so much for the great compliment. We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable moment with us. It appears that you like almost every aspect of us; the hotel’s beauty, food, and our professional staff, and it is all wrapped in a very positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back here to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta for another superb experience. Sincerely, Rulvastina Randy General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mrscoml wrote a review May 2022
Walmer, United Kingdom407 contributions221 helpful votes
We stayed here twice on our visit to Java. Beautiful colonial style building which has been tastefully enlarged. We think we were upgraded to a mini suite/ suite which overlooked the swimming pool. The location was great, lots of main streets to explore and a food court nearby. The staff and food on offer were great. The hotel was full with corporate events but we were well looked after. On our return we had a room with direct access to the swimming pool, that was perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Would guess all rooms are good, around the swimming pool was quiet.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Office Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Responded Jun 2, 2022
Dear mrscoml, We thank you very much for the feedback and compliments to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. We are thrilled to learn that you truly enjoy almost everything during your stay. Nothing beats a positive review from our loyal guests. Your review is helping other travelers that look for the best accommodation in the city of Yogyakarta. Again we thank you so much for that. We wish to welcome you back here for another enjoyable experience with us. Sincerely, Suhardi Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MrReviewer wrote a review May 2022
Bangkok, Thailand2 contributions1 helpful vote
jump off from the cab, there's no one helping me with my luggage. I saw no concierge standby, ok fine. Entering the lobby, I arrived at The Phoenix Hotel in the middle of the day when there were a lot of people queueing for registration. Only 1 staff present to handle all the guests and the buzzing phone line, and poor reception, and then I see why no one helping me with my luggage. The registration process is very quick, the reception was informed me my room not ready yet, and offered me to wait in the lounge enjoying poor presented "welcome drink" on the corner. It has to be a 5-star hotel, I guess, but the quality of the "welcome drink" makes it like 2 stars bungalow. After 3 o'clock the room wasn't ready yet. And the receptionist kept apologizing for that. Not only me, but many others seems angry they didn't get a room too. I am curious how many staff they have to handle room preparation. After the room is ready (thank god), still see no one in the lobby except that one reception, I guess I need to go by myself to the room, but the old and not-so-informative old style room direction gives me a headache just to look at it. The lift is old style and very slow to open and close (heritage things I guess), the aisle to the room is dark and smells funny. The room is also moldy, smells horrendous, and is dark. And the amenities they provide in the room are far from what 5 stars quality should have. At breakfast time, food is astonishingly poor for a 5-star hotel, lack of selection for international cuisine also tasted far from what you should expect. And the restaurant staff takes time to clean up tables and refill the food. A small swimming pool in the back courtyard is unpleasant to stay in. They only have a couple of sun decks to use compared to the rooms and guests they have. And the last straw is, In the afternoon when its raining and I need to walk to stores, funny thing is, they didn't have an umbrella to borrow, even when they said it was set up in the room, I can't find it, named itself as 5 stars but they didn't have umbrella for guest, it makes me wowed. Pros: nearby many city attractions Cons: as you can read above. Conclusion: should be ashamed of naming their self as a 5-star hotel, should be 2 or 3 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Bring your own amenities and toiletries, order food from online because it has tastier and...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Office Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Responded May 26, 2022
Dear Ssba012, First of all, we would like to thank you very much for your visit to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. We really appreciate the time you have taken to share your detailed comment and experience following your stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. However, it is truly disappointing to learn that you had an unpleasant impression of us and that we failed to meet your expectation in the area that you had mentioned. We are sorry that your stay experience was not the best one for you. Please allow us to express our sincerest apologies for the disappointment. We understand how disappointed you were with the check-in process, room facilities, breakfast situation, our attendant services, swimming pool situation, and the availability of umbrellas for the guests. Please rest assured that we have shared your comments with our team and taken action plans to address your remarks. We also have ensured the standards of our services so that our guest's experiences are flawless. We wish to have another opportunity to serve you so much better in the future. Sincerely, Suhardi Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
flyerkris wrote a review May 2022
Khao Lak, Thailand74 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
In adoration with this iconic Colonial Javanese blend in European elements of The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta – M Gallery since my first Java's journey in Feb 2020, then what to make a return for Waisak day in in May 2020, but regretfully with the Pandemic circumstance for almost 2 years international border closure, then I make a return back in May 2022, which I have far too much looked forward to a glimpse of Deluxe Room with balcony over the pool view. The hotel itself is situated at the heart of Yogyakarta, in a convenient spot where you can grab an hour Grab to Borobudur Temple, Waisak Lantern Festival, and Prambanan Temple on another day, where is just a few minutes from the old Adisucipto International Airport (during my last visit), but it wasn't too far from Togu Railway Station, where I catch the KAI from / to the new Yogyakarta International Airport in Kulon Progo (ticket in advance is a must). Paprika Restaurant offers more in the evening with Javanese traditional and worldwide options, but I recommend the slow cooked beef rendang, which is extremely outstanding here. PS: Please notify me if I have forgotten anything left behind there. I could use that as an excuse to come back. Thank you for looking after me. 🙏🙏🙏 ꦩꦠꦸꦂꦤꦸꦮꦸꦤ꧀
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Office Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Responded May 25, 2022
Dear flyerkris, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We feel honored for your wonderful compliments and generous review. We are very pleased to finally welcome you back again here, in The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. We are also extremely happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our heritage hotel and also excited to read that you enjoyed our restaurant’s offers. It is our goal to always reach guest satisfaction. We sincerely hope to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to Yogyakarta again. Best Regards, Suhardi Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$47 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
phoenix hotel yogyakarta, yogyakarta phoenix hotel
LOCATION
IndonesiaJavaYogyakarta RegionYogyakarta
NUMBER OF ROOMS
144
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Which popular attractions are close to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection?
Nearby attractions include Vino Bar (0.03 miles), Museum Sandi (0.2 miles), and Dowa Bag & Factory (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Roaster and Bear, Rustik Bistro & Bar, and Madam Tan Resto.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection have airport transportation?
Yes, The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Yogyakarta.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.