We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Seahorse Rd At Port Lucaya, Freeport Grand Bahama Island
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$144
View deal
Hotels.com$144
Booking.com$144
Priceline$144
Travelocity$144
Pelican Bay$214
eDreams$144
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (803)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (327)

About

#3 of 15 hotels in Freeport
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.1
Value
4.1
As Grand Bahama Island's most hospitable hotel, the Pelican Bay is a joyful mix of colorful Bahamian architecture and the finest guest service in the Caribbean. Unique waterside rooms and waterside state rooms enfold you in comfort, while offering special guest touches. Renowned standards of hospitality and attention to guest happiness assure you of a memorable stay in the Bahamas.Part of the Pelican Bay experience is located within steps of your room. In addition to our waterfront Sabor Restaurant and Bar, more than 30 restaurants, bars, shops, live entertainment, the Dolphin Experience, scuba diving, snorkeling, and deep-sea fishing trips are a short stroll away.Immediately across the street are two miles of white sand beach, a full service spa, four "Grand Slam" surface tennis courts and a casino. All this is the happy Pelican Bay experience, one you will remember with fondness.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Diving
Snorkeling
Babysitting
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Fishing
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Quiet
1124Reviews72Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 477
  • 417
  • 131
  • 57
  • 42
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Karen P wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
A lovely stay as always! Stayed in a beautiful room right at the back of the property. The new bathrooms and dreamy beds - yum! The staff are always extraordinarily welcoming and accommodating. I am for sure, a confirmed repeat guest!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Taz wrote a review May 2022
Laguna Beach2 contributions1 helpful vote
At Pelican Bay Hotel, having a reservation does not mean they hold a room for you. My family and I had spent a week on a boat and had our last night in the Bahamas booked at Pelican Bay hotel before flying out the next day. Our reservation was booked months in advance. We arrived earlier than check in and were told our room wasn’t ready. We decided to have lunch and enjoy the pool for a few hours before checking in. At 3pm when it was time to check in we were told they didn’t have a room for us!! We made this reservation 4 months prior. They finally admitted that they didn’t have a room for us, and that it was because they let guests who wanted to extend their stay have our room instead of letting us check in!!!! My family and I were completely shocked. Never in my life has someone not honored a RESERVATION!! The manager had nothing to say except a shoulder shrug and “sorry”!!! After the shock that we literally had no room to check in to, they told us they could drop us off at another property that they said was comparable to theirs. We were shuttled to a property 10 minutes away, that was not a hotel and the manager of the property had no idea why Pelican Bay sent us there!!! It was condominiums that were several miles away from everything, with no restaurants nearby, and KIDS WERE NOT ALLOWED!!!! Once again we were stranded! We had to pay a taxi driver to take us around searching for a last minute room. Taxis are expensive in the Bahamas, so it cost roughly $20 each time we had to go to a new hotel. By the third attempt we finally found a vacancy, but it was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. The room smelled like an ashtray so we all smelled like cigarette butts getting on our flight the next day. I am still shocked that we had to spend our last night in the Bahamas like this because Pelican Bay would not honor our reservation and then stranded us basically on a island with very few options. I have traveled all over the world and have never experienced such terrible customer service. We were told by several of the other hotels’ front desk staff that we weren’t the only people that Pelican Bay had done this to, so it was not an isolated mistake.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Della Bridgewater, Owner at Pelican Bay Hotel
Responded Jun 9, 2022
Dear 7Taz7, We understand and fully accept your review. It was an unfortunate day I must admit with chaos and an unusual amount of business on that particular weekend. We had major issues with availability and the staffing needed at the desk that day due to persons being out sick. We tried our best to manage the situation, while trying to relocate some reservations and pay for taxis, we apologize if we did not get it right and we're happy to rectify. The agent that directed you to Dolphin Cove did not realize they were an adults only hotel. It was truly an honest mistake and on top of everything happening that day we would not have sent you there intentionally to make things worst. Apart from your negative experience which we are again sincerely apologetic of. It is not the way we run our hotel, we are always about guest happiness and if we have our shortcomings we aim to recover. We have reached out to you directly in an attempt to rectify.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sara G wrote a review Apr 2022
New York City, New York36 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
The grounds at Pelican Bay are very well-kept and nice and it's walkable to most things- a marketplace with some restaurants, a taxi stand, dive shop and the beach. As a note- most of the marketplace was closed as of April 2022 and the beach is lined with abandoned hotels leftover after a business pullout post-Dorian. That said, the restaurants around the hotel that were open are good and serve decently-priced Bahamian food. For a better beach experience, the ferry to Taino Beach runs hourly and we were able to use the beach chairs and pool free of charge and the ride over is nice and quick. The beds at the hotel are comfortable and stay is very relaxing. Breakfast is served on a 4th floor overlook of the marina. To get around the island it's cheaper to hire a driver or take a tour than to find someone at the taxi stand. We used Tryone and is prices are fair- 242.815.0555
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: As for a pool view- there are 3 on the property.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
BrianLucaya wrote a review Apr 2022
Neath, United Kingdom21 contributions22 helpful votes
We parked our rental car in the Pelican Bay Hotel car park while we had a meal at a restaurant adjoining the hotel. We returned to our car at approx 8-30pm to find the battery absolutely dead. I locked up the car and went to the security office to advise them the car would be left there overnight and to ask them if they were able to call us a taxi. This was extremely stressful for us as it was our last day on the island the following day and we had to go for pre travel Covid tests etc.the young lady on the security gate advised me she would get a work colleague to jump start me, they tried with no success until it was discovered the problem was a bad connection to the battery. My wife age 74 and I age 77 wish to thank Pelican Bay hotel for having such great staff.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ramsay M wrote a review Apr 2022
Fortrose, United Kingdom286 contributions145 helpful votes
Enjoyed one night in Pelican Bay. Very comfortable, rooms were clean and fresh, staff were very welcoming. Breakfast in the hotel was excellent but didn't eat in the hotel otherwise. Bar facilities were good with plenty variety. If I'm ever back on Grand Bahama - that's the place for me.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
100marthar wrote a review Oct 2021
Lugoff, South Carolina61 contributions12 helpful votes
Nice clean room. Friendly staff. The restaurant down by the pool was very good with a nice presentation. The only downfall was if you have a boat they do not allow overnight parking. You will have to dock at the yacht club and taxi over because the Lucaya Marina is closed. The Lucaya Market is in walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Della Bridgewater, Guest Services / Front Office at Pelican Bay Hotel
Responded Dec 9, 2021
Thanks very much for your review!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matt T wrote a review Sep 2021
Charleston, South Carolina45 contributions17 helpful votes
I stayed at pelican Bay before and I was happy to see that the hotel has been renovated. Two of the current buildings have been renovated and are being occupied and the suite building He’s currently undergoing renovations. My stay was great the rooms were very clean all the air-conditioning worked. There was a issue with water supply one day but that was because the city supply water had a broken pipe.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mendy G wrote a review Jul 2021
Miami, Florida734 contributions63 helpful votes
Stayed here during my birthday and had a nice stay. Considering the island suffered damages from Hurricane Dorian two years ago and repairs are still being done, the hotel, the grounds and staff are amazing. There are restaurants and shops in walking distance and a restaurant and bar on the resort grounds. The only negative thing is that the hot water in the shower takes about 10-15 minutes to heat up. Other than that our stay was perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Anthony H wrote a review Jan 2021
Gold Coast, Australia332 contributions119 helpful votes
+1
Stayed for 3 weeks. The staff were excellent even during this tough times. They were always friendly. Rooms were very clean. Had great stay. The food was also good. The prices were reasonable. I recommend staying here. It’s close to some nice beach’s and a very safe area
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Tiahjah Smith wrote a review Jul 2020
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island2 contributions
I am a local here who visited Bones Bar last night at this hotel and while in the pool, someone stole my shoes. I reported the matter to the hotel’s security and management who were both very nonchalant and refused to assist me in reviewing the cameras to see who stole my shoes. Security made me aware that it is common for people to steal others properties at that particular bar. I then had to go to the nearest police station barefoot to report this incident that took place on the hotel’s property.This hotel needs better security and a more friendlier staff!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$151 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pelican bay at lucaya hotel freeport, pelican bay at lucaya freeport, pelican bay lucaya
LOCATION
CaribbeanBahamasGrand Bahama IslandFreeport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
186
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pelican Bay Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Pelican Bay Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Count Basie Square (0.2 miles), Leo's Art Gallery (0.2 miles), and Bones Bar (0.02 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pelican Bay Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Pelican Bay Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Pelican Bay Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Pelican Bay Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pelican Bay Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Daddy Brown’s Conch Stand, Flying Fish GastroBar, and Cappucino's Fine Italian Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pelican Bay Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Pelican Bay Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Pelican Bay Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Pelican Bay Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.