We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel direct offer!Receive 500 free points
Expedia.com
Booking.com
WIOL.com
Riu.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1765)
Dining (199)
Videos (1)

About

#8 of 14 hotels in Paradise Island
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.1
Value
4.1
The All Inclusive 24h Adults Only Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island opens all year round and lies directly on a spectacular 4 km stretch of white, sandy beach, next to Atlantis, the biggest casino in the Caribbean. Riu Palace is the most elegant category in the RIU hotel chain, with hotels that meet the highest standards in terms of luxury, excellence and sophistication, creating a unique experience. The location is ideal due to its proximity to Downtown Nassau (3.3 km) and Lynden Pindling International Airport (NAS) (20 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 379 comfortably furnished rooms with free WiFi and offers many amenities. Relax in our spa or get in shape at the gym. 1 outdoor pool and 1 infinity pool with swim up bar. Daytime and evening entertainment, beach volleyball court and group fitness activities. For lovers of gastronomy, live cooking stations and themed buffets at our main restaurant, as well as Japanese, Fusion and Steakhouse specialty restaurants; 3 bars, jerk station and pâtisserie & ice cream parlor.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Aerobics
Car hire
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Adults only
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Ocean view
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Mid-range
Hotel links
Special Offer:Receive 500 free points
1803Reviews174Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 618
  • 533
  • 277
  • 169
  • 206
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Rob O'Leary wrote a review Dec 6
Glenwood Springs, Colorado73 contributions56 helpful votes
By all accounts this should probably be a 3 star review, but I would go back in a heartbeat so could it really be that bad? In short, all the reviews you've read about this place, both the good and the bad ones, are true. Confused? I'll break it down; Yes, the rooms are in desperate need of an update. Everything is rusted out or moldy, the beds are springy and pillows lumpy. The a/c unit is an antique, and the sound of all the units on the roof running the hotel will drown out any soothing ocean noises you'd hope to hear when your patio door is open. Yet the water pressure is fantastic and shower always warm, and we found the amenities in the room more than adequate for our seven night stay. I mean they have a fully mini fridge and liquor dispenser for gods sake, don't be such a snob. Sure stuff is a little damp and mildew smelling, but hey welcome to the tropics! Yes, the beach vendors are obnoxious and it can get quite rowdy and packed on the weekends since it's next to a popular cruise ship destination beach. Yet the vendors WILL eventually leave you alone if your polite and persistent enough, and we found it quite easy to relax all day on one of the most remarkable stretches' of water you will ever see. Plus the cruisers start packing up at three and a 5 minute walk down the beach will give you unlimited privacy any time of day. Yes, the food at the al la cart restaurants is barely edible, (we got sick off of the "shrimp risotto" from Krystal, thank you Imodium A.D. for saving the vacation!) and the buffet spread can be lukewarm at best when it's not fresh. Yet the buffet food is still well above average in quality for an all-inclusive, and the selection is impressive and diverse. The jerk chicken stand by the pool for lunch is also more delicious than it had any right to be. We never went hungry and we are guilty of having classier than average palates. Yes, the drinks are quite low shelf to put it mildly and the cocktails are all sugar no flavor. There really isn't much to do past 9PM unless you just want to relax over drinks and take in a low production, (but still entertaining) show. Yet the entertainment crew works their butts off day and night and are the absolute highlight of the resort. We never had a lack of fun day or night, and you could always find a bartender that knew how to make a drink if you looked hard enough, thanks Donny! The espresso martinet is the best cocktail made there by far and had us jittering our teeth well into the wee hours of the morning. Yes, the staff can sometimes be dismissive or even downright rude at times. Yet we found just as many genuinely kind and helpful employees as well. The ladies at the front desk are Rockstar's, and Shaniqua is the pure embodiment of everything customer service can and should be. Housekeeping never left us wanting for anything and were a delight. They folded our blanket into a goose, what more do you want? In conclusion, the cons of this place are very real and very prevalent, but it's up to you and your attitude to decide if they're a deal breaker to the enjoyment of your vacation. This place is without a doubt the best value anywhere on the island if you want a beachfront resort experience, and it's location phenomenal. So go enjoy yourself and stop being such a prude, or go to the Atlantis next door if you like watching your money wash away into the sea everyday. The choice is yours
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Kate C wrote a review Jun 2021
4 contributions23 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We stayed at the Riu last week and I have to admit we were super skeptical leading up to it because there were so many bad reviews. I’m here to tell you DO NOT read into them. We have been to the Riu in Punta Cana and in Jamaica and this one was equally as good. Yes you have to wear a mask to go up to the pool bar and yes the swim up bar is closed. We had absolutely no issues getting drinks from the bar or from the drink ladies. The worst part was the Covid test. We stood in like for over an hour and a half to get ours. This was not the resorts fault and when we got to the airport and saw the line to get it we were so glad the Riu offered it for free to guests! I would definitely recommend going at the end of the day (7 pm vs when we went at 3:00 when we they opened. We did have one issue with a very obnoxious group of girls at the pool bar who were partaking in what appeared to be some illegal activities but the security guard quickly acted on it and kept his eye on them the rest of the time. Overall we had a great stay and we will definitely be back! Also, a taxi to Atlantis is only $10 and worth it! We had a lot of fun at the casino there multiple nights.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
11 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Responded Jun 10, 2021
Dear katec708, Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us! We are truly glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We certainly wish that you will come and stay with us once again in a close future! Kind regards, Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island Online Reputation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PercyPee wrote a review Dec 6
Chester, United Kingdom23 contributions7 helpful votes
A pre-Christmas trip that exceeded all expectations. We anticipated that it may be a little too lively given the all-inclusive nature but were pleasantly surprised at how chilled everyone was. The FOOD was excellent. The buffet was plentiful and healthy. After the first night we used the app to book the restaurants which were relaxed, unrushed and offered fine food/service. The ROOMS were spacious and had everything required - even a mini bar. All rooms have a sea-view in the distance. From floor 3 we looked down on a roof below... but the bonus was a perfect position to watch the winter sun-set. Thankfully we didn't ask to change. THE POOLS were lively and there appeared to be plenty going on for the younger guests. We chose the BEACH which was superb. The staff will take a bed to whatever area you ask for and there was plenty of space. The sea was clear blue and beautiful to swim in. Yes, there were some beach vendors but they were polite and were far less bother than many other countries. To reach 5 star status from a very solid 4 star the hotel needs to improve the ELEVATOR situation. Only 2 of 3 were working and at busy times lines good-natured queues developed. We didn't mind walking down from floor 3 but you can't walk up. The GYM was good but a little dated and usually out of towels. The evening entertainment was fun but not our thing. The sports bar had NFL and World Cup football on and the staff were excellent. Overall, a great winter vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms have sea view in distance. Factor in the late evening winter sunset before changing...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
wayneh wrote a review Dec 6
London, Canada11 contributions20 helpful votes
Well, we returned to the Riu palace paradise island for the sixth consecutive year, other than the Covid year and found that nothing had changed. Everything still was amazing and the people went out of their way to be obliging. Cindy in the Buffet was outstanding as she was last year, the weather was great other than the last day of the seven that we were there which was windy but the temperatures were good. We went to Margaritaville one day had a great time and also at Violas. We tried one of the sit down restaurants but preferred the service and food at the buffet. It appears that the music has been turned down at the pool which was great. Definitely be back again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
CorporateYardie wrote a review Dec 6
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania1 contribution
Great get away absolutely better than my first time a year ago. The food was amazing. Best bartenders on the island. My only problem was the pool and pool bars close way too early to be a adults only resort. People come here to party not go to sleep at 6pm. Other than that we enjoyed ourselves.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kayla S wrote a review Dec 5
+1
First time at a RIU resort and definitely OUR LAST! Would not recommend! I will also start off by saying we are not hard to please people- we just want to relax and enjoy food and drinks on our vacations. Rooms- When we arrived/checked in the lobby smelt like sewage. The very first night we got checked into our room the A/C was not working (yes, correct, no A/C on a 90 degree day). We put in a maintenance request and impressively the maintenance guy showed up in 30 minutes (so kudos there). The next day the A/C started leaking from the ceiling creating a nice puddle on the floor in front of the bathroom. Maintenance came again and fixed it. The next night it started leaking again but this time worse and started to flood our hallway to the bathroom (pic attached). We called maintenance again and instead the hotel moved us rooms at 10:30 at night! They told us we didn’t have to move rooms but they were doing this as a convenience to us…. —What!?!? The new room they moved us to had black mold (pic attached) growing on the ceiling in the bathroom! The bathrooms have no fan/ventilation so if you take a shower don’t plan on using the mirror for at least an hour. All the fixtures are rusted in the bathroom because it’s so damp! The next day in the elevator another couple mentioned they had to move rooms because their room flooded! Then we heard from multiple others that they had to move as well due to same issue. Rooms are outdated and old- the pictures on the website do not represent what they are today. Food- I have never experienced food like this at an all-inclusive resort. It sits out most of the day, it’s never hot, and the options are very limited! The restaurants are the worst. You make reservations every night only to be disappointed. Food is dry/overcooked, no flavor. Also they will have food on the menu but when you order it they will say they don’t have that and instead they have this- (for example, ordered sea bass but they had snapper instead- ordered shrimp from menu but they said they didn’t have any). We watched another table send back their food three times. If you do not like the options on the menu you can order from the vegetarian menu which is the same 3 options every night at every restaurant. The coffee bar hours state it is open at 7am- not one day was it open at 7am. I went down at 9:30am and it still was not open. Spa- There is no ‘spa’- although that’s what they call it. There are two tiny massage rooms in a boxed in room in front of the hotel. Deep tissue massage is just a light rub of oil. Beach- The beach is noisy and confined and sits between two public beaches. They do provide beach loungers and umbrellas but the amount of vendors that constantly bother you makes it impossible to relax. Not to mention this is right next to the public beach so people will come onto the resort beach with their kids (at an adults-only resort) and park right beside you for the day. On the other side of the beach is where the jet skis park and the vendors constantly walk by asking you to rent the jet skis. It’s not relaxing whatsoever. The staff was cordial but definitely not overly friendly or welcoming. They just did the bare minimum and moved on. We also found this to be true off the resort as well. I have previously stayed at a Sandals, Secrets, and Excellence resorts in different countries and they were wonderful. I even got food poisoning at Sandals once and it was better experience than this RIU resort! I will say the Bahamas is beautiful! Go explore and see the other islands! Or even stay on one of the other islands (I wish we would have stayed on Exuma). We did an excursion one day and ate at a restaurant off site (because we were tired of the resort food) and I will say those two trips off property were the highlight of the whole trip!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MARC M wrote a review Dec 4
Cornwall, Canada18 contributions11 helpful votes
Aside from the fiasco at check-in, our week at the RIU Paradise Island was amazing. We have been to 18 RIUs and check-in seems to always be a problem at many of these RIUs. It was our second time at the RIU Paradise Island and the employees did not disappoint. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel like a valued customer. We were so happy to see Cornell again, he is an extremely amazing human being. Another shout-out goes to Denzaneea, Agatha, and Shaniqua for being to attentive to us and always having beautiful smiles on their faces. It is people like them that makes your vacation so much more enjoyable and want to come back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Paul W wrote a review Dec 4
George Town, Grand Cayman1 contribution1 helpful vote
Very nice hotel , good customer service and excellent food catering for the number of guest over the 4 restaurant's and choice of branded drinks . Coffee bar in lobby was a great idea and well used by the guests . They had a lot of indoor seating around the 1st floor area which was really good . Room was clean , well equipped and of a good size but the balcony was very small , generally over all the room was starting to show signs of age . We had a great time with the people and staff being very friendly and would visit the hotel again . Good value for money .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
robbymc67 wrote a review Dec 3
Wallkill, New York2 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel was great! Completely renovated since our last visit about 6 years ago. Food was great and friendly staff. Beautiful beach front. Highly recommend this location. Will return to this island. Place appears very safe.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jennifer C wrote a review Dec 2
New York City, New York3 contributions1 helpful vote
The staff was lovely but......The hotel is in need of a major renovation. The hotel is in disrepair. Pool has broken tiles everywhere. Hotel looks very dated and rundown. Ramp to the beach broken. The food at the buffet was fair but nothing was hot, everything was cold by the time you got to your table. The ala carte restaurants had very limited selections, and the food was not good. Only 2 of the 3 elevators work so you always waited for an elevator. late morning is a joke with guests checking out. Elevators open and they are full with guests with their luggage. Guest rooms are dated and gross. Safe did not work and the mirror in the bathroom had the wood broken off. It might be ok for college kids with low expectations. For me I was turned off by the RIU brand and would not stay at another RIU property.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Jennifer C, Thank you for your comment, Please allow us to comment that we are sorry to hear that you left our facilities with those feelings. We regret that we did not live up to your expectations, neither with the wide and varied gastronomic offer, nor with the elevators. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to one of our facilities in the near future so that we can provide you with a better experience. Yours faithfully, Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island Online Reputation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$374 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
riu palace paradise island hotel paradise island, riu hotel paradise island, paradise island sheraton, paradise island riu hotel, riu paradise island bahamas
LOCATION
CaribbeanBahamasNew Providence IslandParadise Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
379
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL RIU PALACE PARADISE ISLAND - Updated 2022 Prices & Resort (All-Inclusive) Reviews (Bahamas/New Providence Island)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island?
Nearby attractions include Marine Habitat at Atlantis (0.3 miles), Predator Lagoon (0.2 miles), and Versailles Gardens and Cloisters (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Martinique- Atlantis Paradise Island, Bahamian Club, and Viola's Bar & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Queen's Staircase (1.4 miles), Fort Charlotte (2.7 miles), and Fort Fincastle (1.6 miles).
Does Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.