We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Save
Share
One Bay Street, Nassau New Providence Island
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Snaptravel
Agoda.com
eDreams
Hilton.com
WIOL.com
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2227)
Room & Suite (522)
Dining (113)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Updated 07/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 37 hotels in Nassau
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This historical masterpiece is located in the heart of downtown Nassau, the Bahamas capital is the perfect mix between business and pleasure. Our hotel offers a taste of the island’s rich Colonial flair, paired with modern amenities that are ideal for the business or pleasure traveler. Our urban resort, which overlooks the picturesque views of the Nassau cruise port, offers a private powder sand beach and an outdoor freshwater pool surrounded by day beds and colorful cabanas. If you’re in the mood to do something daring, hop on one of our paddleboards and kayaks and get soaked into our culture. When the fun is done, get ready to have your taste buds tantalized by one of our two restaurants, or enjoy a coffee at our coffee shop.
Read more
Room & Suite (522)522
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Car hire
Secured parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Snorkeling
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Laptop safe
Tile / marble floor
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
4,187Reviews196Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,338
  • 1,345
  • 732
  • 445
  • 327
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
travels wrote a review Jul 2020
Bahamas60 contributions6 helpful votes
After experiencing a let down from another hotel my "old faithful " saved the day. Was able to check in within 10 minutes and was able to enjoy the rest of my trip. Great hotel great location. The breakfasts were the best part. Friendly staff to take the order to the service. Thanks again and you will be my #1 choice in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Shanasco Campbell, Guest Services / Front Office at British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Responded Jul 18, 2020
Thank you for staying with us at the British Colonial Hilton. We look forward to seeing you in the very near future.
Read more
Karen1911 wrote a review Jul 2020
Christchurch, United Kingdom149 contributions57 helpful votes
+1
The Hilton used to be be on my favourite list but not anymore. We booked a suite, as we were staying a long time so we could have space. Already paying a premium for Christmas I was shocked that I was told I had to pay an additional charge (x 2 as we had a suite) to have my room cleaned everyday. The other thing that annoyed us was that this is supposed to be an ocean view suite so looking out of the bedroom window on to a newly built apartment building does NOT make it ocean view only the sitting room had the view. Also the construction workers worked on Christmas Day waking us up at 7am! The hotel is very tired and in desperate need of a good clean and redecoration. The air con kept breaking down, the windows let in water when it rained and rattled when the wind got up. Upgraded to use the Club Lounge which is only really available in the evening between 5pm and 7pm. Asked to have cups and saucers rather than paper cups for coffee machine and was told that would be a room service charge -what happened to customer service? No pool service and yet was charged for it but you have to get your own drinks from the bar, no help with sun beds and hotel guests do not get first pick of sun beds as the hotel rents them out to the cruise ships. Breakfast was basic continental but no juice if you’re not there early and they do not replenish that often. Had to clear table to be able to get a place to sit. Also watch the bar as you can order one wine and they bring you another of the same type but more expensive without telling you.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: If you ask for ocean view make sure it is not partial view, watch out for additional charges like...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lashonna Dean, Revenue Management at British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Responded Jul 8, 2020
Thank you again for your recent stay at the British Colonial Hilton hotel. We apologize that we did not fully meet your expectations during your recent visit with us. We will share this feedback with our Executive Committee to improve our product, service and overall guest experience.
Read more
Melissa Martinborough wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
I booked 2-night-stay at the Hilton with the expectations that the hotel would live up to the brand name. I was extremely disappointed. My room had ac issues and I called the front desk. I was informed that the technician had already left for the day and skeleton crew was working. They sent someone upstairs with two Lasko stand up fans. I could not believe it! I mean did they really just sent two fans to my room before offering me another room. I actually had to go downstairs and told them that was not going to work. I know the hotel had just reopened but really two fans!!!! Let’s just say I had originally booked two nights and needless to say that was the last!!!!! I’m scared for life and will never forget two lasko fans that was brought to my room.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Lashonna Dean, Revenue Management at British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Responded Jul 8, 2020
Thank you again for your recent stay at the British Colonial Hilton hotel. Our sincerest apologies for the challenges with the air conditioner during your stay with us. I am pleased to advised that our Engineering department rectified the challenge and our air condition services have been restored. It is our hope that we can provide you with the exceptional service our property is known for during your next stay with us.
Read more
BahamaFam2020 wrote a review Mar 2020
Charlottesville, Virginia1 contribution
A smile and a cheerful hello will greet you and instantly you are in love with the Bahamas! We enjoyed the private beach and central location. The generosity will bring us back again!! “See you later!!”
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Lashonna D, Front Office Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Responded Mar 23, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at the British Colonial Hilton hotel and for taking the time to complete our online survey. Thank you for the positive review. We look forward to welcoming in the near future.
Read more
JAGUAR wrote a review Mar 2020
Toronto, Canada121 contributions32 helpful votes
Great location, nice pool, location right on the beach ... food was ok but did go to the McDonalds a couple of times with the kids, At $300 a night I expected like any other hotel back home that the room would be cleaned daily - we stayed 5 nights and the room was cleaned once - oh sure the cleaning staff asked if we need towels but that shouldn't be the extent of the service at that price - very disappointing,.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Rooms on the east side of the hotel have better views.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Lashonna D, Front Office Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Responded Mar 18, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at the British Colonial Hilton hotel and for taking the time to complete our online survey. We apologize that we did not fully meet your expectations during your stay with us. Thank you for the valuable feedback provided. We will use this to improve our product, service and overall guest experience. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of service.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$229 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
british colonial hilton nassau hotel nassau, hilton hotel nassau, hilton nassau, nassau hilton
LOCATION
CaribbeanBahamasNew Providence IslandNassau
NUMBER OF ROOMS
288
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Which popular attractions are close to British Colonial Hilton Nassau?
Nearby attractions include Blackbeard's Escape - pirate themed escape room (0.1 miles), Kay's Fine Jewelry (0.2 miles), and Tag Heuer Boutique (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at British Colonial Hilton Nassau?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at British Colonial Hilton Nassau?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at British Colonial Hilton Nassau?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at British Colonial Hilton Nassau?
Yes, paid public parking on-site and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to British Colonial Hilton Nassau?
Conveniently located restaurants include Crabs and Ting, Hooters Bahamas, and Athena Cafe & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at British Colonial Hilton Nassau?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at British Colonial Hilton Nassau?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does British Colonial Hilton Nassau offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at British Colonial Hilton Nassau?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to British Colonial Hilton Nassau?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Queen's Staircase (0.5 miles), Fort Charlotte (0.8 miles), and Fort Fincastle (0.6 miles).