We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
6B Estate Caneel Bay, Cruz Bay 00831-1360 St. John
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (628)
360
Panoramas (5)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.

About

#2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cruz Bay
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.5
2022 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
Historic intimate tropical inn within the VI Nat'l Park, overlooking picturesque Cruz Bay harbor - walking distance to gorgeous white sandy beaches and the shopping and restaurants of town. Modern, comfortable rooms, with all amenities. Charming old-world ambiance with beautiful gardens. A rare property, with very personal attention.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Diving
Hiking
Adults only
24-hour security
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Snorkeling
Water sport equipment rentals
Aerobics offsite
Patio
Walking tours
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Deal:Free breakfast with your stay
584Reviews35Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 518
  • 47
  • 11
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
REW wrote a review Yesterday
Newburyport, Massachusetts6 contributions2 helpful votes
Estate Lindholm is simply fantastic. On our second visit, we found the room just as luxurious, the views just as fantastic, the tree frogs just as soothing, and the hospitality just as warm. Brian continues to treat a guest as a family member, and Tim is a fine manager. It would be difficult to do better on St. John.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Haulover and Solomon have the best views.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Amy B wrote a review Nov 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Property's Favorite Review
We came to the Estate for a 4 night stay to celebrate our 20th anniversary. We couldn't have asked for a better location. The room was clean, quiet and well air conditioned, and the view from the balcony was amazing. The grounds have a lot of stairs (!) but it's worth it to explore, and see the amazing views. We also recommend having breakfast with Brian - he is a great conversationalist and a wonderful host and local guide!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Anything with a balcony for the view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Estate Lindholm, General Manager at Estate Lindholm
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello Amy! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You were a lovely guest to host. Be well and Im sure we will see you here in Love City again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Catherine R wrote a review Yesterday
Hollis, New Hampshire
Wonderful ! We loved our stay at Estate Lindholm . They truly went out of their way to show us kindness. Beautiful boutique style hotel showing the charm of St. John! A family owned business and they went way beyond the call of duty. Highly recommend!!! Catherine Roukas
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Susan F wrote a review Dec 6
7 contributions
The room was comfortable and clean. The owner Brian had breakfast with the guests each morning and was a wealth of information in regard to beaches, trails and island history. The breakfast area was kept clean and became a perfect gathering place to start each day with both the staff and other guests. Our host provided chairs, snorkel gear and towels, along with a cooler and ice for trips to the beach. The hotel is walking distance to Cruz Bay and close to the national park making it both tropical and peaceful. We could not have asked for a more relaxing vacation. My compliments to the entire staff for their hospitality and newfound friendship Susan and Rick
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: no matter which room you choose, all had sunset views and balcony to see them from
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nino S wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
We stayed two nights in the Caneel room to get a first glimpse of both the hotel and the island. We were not disappointed. From the moment we checked in (which we were able to do really early) to sorting out some issues with our tax exemption on check-out we felt taken care of in a great way. Room was clean and spacious, views over Cruz Bay and the ocean were fantastic, the garden-like outdoor area of the hotel well-maintained and lovely decorated. The included breakfast was basic but very welcome on an island with limited resources and options. Location is fantastic - at the gates of the Virgin Islands National Park but also very close to the few restaurants and shopping places of Cruz Bay. So all in all a great place that is highly recommended - although it comes at a price, like nearly everything on the island. We will come back and we will stay longer next time.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jack c wrote a review Nov 2022
Little Compton, Rhode Island35 contributions34 helpful votes
Stayed 5 nights before Thanksgiving. 5plus ! Easy booking with April. April picked us up at ferry. Great view from room (Caneel) even tho it was on first floor. Again , recommended by April. Free parking. Breakfast daily 7-10 AM. Brian, the owner was there every morning with advise, suggestions, whatever. Never rushed, he was our GoTo guide daily. Small pool overlooking Cruz Bay. Plenty of comfy seating with fabulous views day or night. Can rent snorkle gear daily or more.Even the maintenance guy ( sorry, forgot his name ) was extremely friendly . Any negatives ? Short walk down steep dark road at night to Cruz Bay (5 minutes) .The way back sometimes we took a cab for cheap . Will be back and thank you Brian, April and crew.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: About 18 rooms, all good, most with great views , all with balconies.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Joseph C wrote a review Nov 2022
Hudson156 contributions47 helpful votes
Beautifully landscaped property with comfortable, well appointed rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. We arrived a bit early and they picked us up at the ferry. The pool isn't large but is great for a refreshing soak and a chance to chat with other guests. Overall just a great stay. Adjoins the park and a short downhill walk to Cruz Bay shopping and restaurants. Taxi back from town after dark as the road is narrow and unlit.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Cliff39 wrote a review Nov 2022
Sterling, VA33 contributions37 helpful votes
Our 12th visit to St. John. Stayed in the LOVANGO ROOM for 7 nights - Nov. 2022. For $346 a night ($2426 for the week), not a real happy customer. Won't return here. PRO'S - beautiful outside patio deck view that faces west overlooking Cruz Bay and distant St. Thomas. Continental breakfast from 7-10 very nice, with tables in a courtyard with views. WiFi good. Beach chairs and coolers available to use. Plenty of ice. Pleasant staff. Buy your rum at Starfish - cheapest on the island at $12.95 a bottle. Best meal for lunch is 'The Green Olive' food truck - Wed, Thurs, Fri only 11am-3pm. CON'S - not a place to sit in the room - no chairs. Unable to sit on the deck in the afternoon if the sun is out - no shade, unbearable heat (and sometimes many mosquitoes). Water pressure from bathroom sink and shower a dribble - forget taking in a long hot shower, as hot water lasts just two to three minutes, then barely warm. Worst of all - no live TV and no sport stations. Streaming service for movies is it. TV is very small hanging off the wall above the downstairs bed. The refrigerator is a mini one. Couldn't eat lunch one day on the deck, as someone smoking. Had 3 small gecko lizards join us in the bathroom during our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Brion Morrisette, Owner at Estate Lindholm
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for all of the kind and complimentary things that you had to say about our property and our staff. The nice breakfast that you also are good enough to mention saves each couple staying with us about $80-100/day, not to mention the convenience of enjoying breakfast and harbor views from our flagstone patios. We are very proud of our staff, and we work hard at keeping our property well-maintained, and our guests happy. I am so sorry that during your week’s stay here that you experienced several problems with your room, but never mentioned them to us. Beyond the 2 rocking chairs and the other 2 chairs on your porch, we have additional chairs that could have been provided to you, had we known of your need. No other guests in that building were experiencing the low water pressure or mosquito issues that you did, and since we heard of no issues, we assumed all was well. Water pressure and mosquitos can be readily addressed. The TV has a 32” screen, and we provide Roku internet service. Our full-time maintenance man is happy to assist guests with their TV, or with any other matters. Our guests enjoy the same entertainment services here (Netflix, Amazon, etc) that they use at home. Both for our desired maintenance standards, and so that we can ensure our guests’ comfort and happiness, we ask that guests please-please let us know, right away, of any problems. Best wishes with your future travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maureen wrote a review Aug 2022
9 contributions
Our wonderful stay began the moment we arrived.April checked us in, walked us all about for a tour. It was thoughtful and welcoming. Our rooms were very clean. The view was great from our decks.The landscaping was interesting and equisite. Location in close to the north shore beaches and town. Brian , the owner was helpful with suggestions and interesting with island lore and history. All we can say is we can not wait to return to this beautiful place where we were treated like family!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lauren wrote a review Jul 2022
Willingboro, New Jersey7 contributions
We had a wonderful time staying at Estate lindholm. The grounds are beautiful and the view from the pool is awesome! The breakfast in the morning is included and was always stocked up. The people were all very friendly. It is a nice location because it is close to all of the amazing beaches. The hotel provides beach chairs, towels, and coolers which came in handy. The manager April was helpful in checking us in and answering any questions. The rooms are definitely very traditional and plain but we only really used the room for sleeping. Thanks for an awesome stay!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$382 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
estate lindholm hotel cruz bay
LOCATION
CaribbeanU.S. Virgin IslandsSt. JohnCruz Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ESTATE LINDHOLM - Updated 2022 Prices & B&B Reviews (St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands)

Frequently Asked Questions about Estate Lindholm
Which popular attractions are close to Estate Lindholm?
Nearby attractions include Bamboo Studio (0.2 miles), Scott Bay Beach (0.2 miles), and Salomon Beach (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Estate Lindholm?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Estate Lindholm?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Estate Lindholm?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Estate Lindholm?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Estate Lindholm?
Conveniently located restaurants include Our Market Smoothies, North Shore Deli, and Sun Dog Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Estate Lindholm?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Estate Lindholm?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Estate Lindholm?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Annaberg Sugar Plantation (4.6 miles), Cinnamon Bay Nature Trail (2.9 miles), and Catherineberg Ruins (1.5 miles).
Does Estate Lindholm have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.