Gallows Point Resort

Gallows Point Resort

Traveler (1071)
Panorama at the Gallows Point Resort
360
Panoramas (12)
Views!
Room & Suite (723)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 resort in Cruz Bay
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Beach
Snorkeling
Free shuttle or taxi services
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Rooftop bar
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Canoeing offsite
Car hire
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English

Location

3 AAA Gallows Point Road, Cruz Bay 00831 St. John
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 89 out of 100
89
Cyril E. King Airport
11.2 mi
See all flights
Charlotte Amalie Harbor Seaplane Base
1,023Review44Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 787
  • 160
  • 46
  • 17
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
blondfromBeantown wrote a review Apr 2021
Boston, Massachusetts49 contributions66 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I greatly enjoyed our 6 night stay in 5B at GP, a lower level ocean view unit. I think the first thing that people should understand about GP is that it is more a condo association than a "resort." Each unit is individually owned, so the decor and level of updatedness (not a word, I know, lol) will vary. Our unit was very clean but like others, felt a little dark with dark wood cabinets and brown rattan furniture. Second, because it is not a "resort" there are not such amenities as breakfast or lunch served at the lovely on-site restaurant. There is no drink or food service at all on the waterfront or pool areas. They do have daily maid service, a gym and a helpful staff at the gift/coffee shop who also serve as concierges to help you arrange excursions and jeep rental etc.

Lastly, people need to understand that there is only a small, rocky beach although the resort is waterfront and the views are fantastic! We really liked snorkling and swimming at the resort but understand that the world class beaches that St John is known for are a taxi ride away. Easy to get a taxi from the center of town to any beaches for $5 or $7 per person.

Since we understood all of this, we were very happy with our stay with the exception of one thing: the rooster(s) who wander the island and woke me up morning after morning. I understand that there is very little GP can do about the roosters but be forewarned if you are a light sleeper and perhaps bring earplugs. When I commented on the roosters to the friendly front desk staff, they were kind enough to send a bottle of Cava to our unit with an nice note. I did sleep better that night : )

We'd happily return to Gallows Point (with ear plugs!) until our all time favorite, Caneel Bay opens back up!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
Room Tip: Units with ocean view will be quieter as the harbor view will have ferry and boat noise.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gallows Point Resort, General Manager at Gallows Point Resort
Responded Apr 14, 2021
Thanks for your detailed review! We appreciate you sharing your knowledge of the resort with others, it will surely be helpful to those who haven't stayed with us before. We are SO sorry the island roosters disturbed your sleep! We are looking into how we can remove them from the property without them coming right back and will hopefully find an animal-friendly solution soon so our light sleepers can sleep in peace.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rhens88 wrote a review Jul 2020
Christiansted, St. Croix15 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed at Gallows Point with friends and had an incredible weekend. The staff's attention to detail and commitment to provide a safe environment during these uncertain times was obvious from the time of booking. The property was well stocked with hand sanitizer, plexiglass shields and more to promote a safe experience for their guests. The room was very well cleaned and featured all of the amenities we could possible need. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and willing to help assist. We would highly recommend this property to others and will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gallows Point Resort, General Manager at Gallows Point Resort
Responded Jul 16, 2020
Dear Rhens88, we so appreciate your review and are glad you felt our resort was a safe environment fro your throughout your stay. Each member of our team has worked hard to learn and instill the new cleaning protocols and safety measures to ensure everyone on property is as safe and healthy as possible. It is always so good to hear positive feedback from our guests; we have shared your words with the entire team. We thank you again, and look forward to your return.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ozzydog7 wrote a review Mar 2020
Wisconsin17 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in unit 10a for 1 week in early March 2020. We had stayed in the other lower unit in building 10 in the past. We continue to love the space and ocean or harbor side views but were disappointed in this unit.
The refrigerator was dented, with a dirty looking handle and rusty areas. Thankfully we didn’t need to store much fresh or unwrapped food in it. It did keep water and other drinks cool. The whole unit needs to be painted as well, especially the bathroom.
The king bed was comfortable and linens were clean and replaced daily.

I will stay here in the future but not in this unit.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GallowsPointMGMT, Public Relations Manager at Gallows Point Resort
Responded Jun 16, 2020
Thanks so much fro your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay but so sorry you were not satisfied with your unit. Please note that in May we replaced ALL the appliances in that unit with brand new appliances, and made the necessary improvements you mentioned. If you choose to rebook with us within 1 year, we will offer you a 10% discount on your stay. We hope you return to Gallows Point soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anca K wrote a review Feb 2021
Broadview Heights, Ohio2 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked an Upper Bedroom Ocean view suite for 7 days based on the beautiful pictures on line. The level of service at Gallows is very disappointing. We paid almost $6,000 for one week and had high expectations when we checked in. When we arrived to the suite (2C) it had no AC on, miserable to wait in 90 degree heat for the room to cool off, the suite is painted in dark colors so is pretty gloomy. The windows were dirty therefore blocking the beautiful view. The furniture is pretty bit up. The cleanliness of the suite was lacking. I went to the front desk to ask for a different suite and they told me they were booked for the week and could not accommodate the move. They also told me I was lucky I wasn't in the suite below that was all painted in PINK. Front desk also mentioned that each owner decorates and furnishes their suite to their preference: something I was not aware when I booked at Gallows, I had a hard time accepting this suite and on our second day my husband and I decided to move to a different resort/hotel, even go to St. Thomas. I went to the front desk to tell them we will check out sooner and we would like a refund and only then we were offered a beautiful suite: 6D. I have only positive things to say about this suite: renovated, nice furniture, bedroom, clean windows: everything the other suite did not have, I am not sure why Gallows did not switch us to this suite from the beginning and let us be miserable on suite 2C for 2 days ( not a great start to our vacation). Also, when we moved rooms my Apple watch was lost.
Positive things about Gallows: great location (within walking distance to restaurants, hiking), could hear the ocean waves at night, beautiful views and the restaurant Ocean 362 was really good.
Hope Gallows will change the way they are booking their rooms, yes, we are willing to pay top dollars for a great room but DO NOT CHARGE the same amount for an inferior room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heidi H wrote a review Feb 2020
Minneapolis, Minnesota21 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Gallows Point Resort was everything we hoped it would be! The oceanfront location is stunning and provides gorgeous ocean and sunset views. We stayed in an upper level ocean view room which had beautiful vaulted ceilings and was very spacious for two of us. We loved being able to snorkel the reefs in front of the resort. The lush tropical grounds were beautiful and inviting. The grounds and our unit was very well maintained. Also, the close proximity to town was very convenient for walking to restaurants. We enjoyed a delicious Valentine's Day tasting menu up on the third floor bar seating area. The sunset views were amazing and the food was excellent. We were so happy we chose Gallows Point Resort and hope to return soon!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GallowsPointMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at Gallows Point Resort
Responded Feb 24, 2020
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are delighted you chose Gallows Point Resort as well, and that you enjoyed the entire property, including the reef and our onsite restaurant, Ocean 362. We look forward to your return!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maureen wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just came back. This is perfect location - close enough to walk to shops, ferry, restaurants, etc, but not so close it is noisy. Wonderful on-site restaurant with creative and delicious meals, great views of sunset, friendliest wait staff who make the dining experience special and memorable. Nicest bell men ever, so helpful. Spent many hours at the pool/hot tub/beach part of resort. Loved the peacocks and iguanas roaming the grounds! Because the room had a full kitchen, we were able to make our breakfasts and pack lunches for our adventures. This was our second stay at Gallows, and we will go back again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gallows Point Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Gallows Point Resort
Responded May 26, 2021
We SO appreciate your review and are delighted you enjoyed all we have to offer at our property. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BarbieLatina wrote a review Mar 2021
California12 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Loved our stay at Gallows Point Resort, the staff was attentive and the rooms were very clean. We were a group of 4 girls and we stayed 3 nights in a harbor view upper. We had ample room, as there was a king bed upstairs with a half bath, and a queen sofa bed downstairs and a full bath. The sofa bed was uncomfortable and the staff was very accommodating and brought a rollaway bed over.
There is a full kitchen including all dish ware and utensils.

The view from our room was spectacular (we stayed in 13D) and had a very large balcony with outdoor seating. The location of this resort is VERY convenient, less than a 5 minute walk to all the restaurants, bars, and boat dock.

There is one Pool and jacuzzi, although I wish there were more jacuzzis as it can fill up rather quickly. There is ocean access from the pool area, but no beach.

Honeymoon beach (my favorite beach on the island) is a 30 min hike from the hotel if you take the Lind point trail. We did this one morning and it was well worth it!

The hotel is not very luxurious but perfect for a relaxing beach vacation. Considering that there aren’t many options on St. John in the 5 star range, this is definitely still nice enough.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gallows Point Resort, General Manager at Gallows Point Resort
Responded Mar 7, 2021
Thanks so much for your review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you can return again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AUSAGUY007 wrote a review Jun 2022
Houston, Texas4,555 contributions2,477 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Perry cool I would stay here again. It's a condo not a resort. It's quiet.. next to water but no beach. Beach is 6 dollars a person to get to the beach u should also bring ur own washing detergents with u they have washer and dryer here too ask for simmone at the front desk she's cool
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Call simmone at the front desk and tell here the USA guy sent u.. Bring cash for cab rides and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gallows Point Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Gallows Point Resort
Responded Jun 19, 2022
Thank You for your review! We are pleased that our Front Office staff was able to provide you with the assistance that you needed. We do have a beach on property and we are sorry that you did not get to experience it. Perhaps on your next visit, we can point out its exact location, its great for snorkeling!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Browneyegirl wrote a review Mar 2020
San Antonio, Texas55 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hubby and I finishing up a week here to celebrate 25 yrs of marriage. It was a stop on our honeymoon cruise and we always wanted to come back to St John VI. Lots of life to celebrate. It’s beautiful. We stayed in 6c. Great view of the sunset over St Thomas. The facilities are perfect. The little store has all the essentials and Cruz Bay is a short stroll down the hill to restaurants, bars, shops, a Catholic Church, and a bigger grocery store. Free access to laundry machines. Everyone on the island is nice. Easy to take the open air taxies by the ferry dock at Cruz Bay to the main beaches but we saw more wildlife just snorkeling off the shore in front of our cottage - even a sea turtle! Having a lazy breakfast on the balcony was a highlight to our stay. I will also be dreaming about the restaurant’s lobster ravioli. This is the perfect place to relax!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GallowsPointMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at Gallows Point Resort
Responded Mar 4, 2020
A sincere thanks for your lovely review! We are honored that you chose to celebrate your 25th anniversary with us and are so happy that it seemed to be a delightful and memorable week! Congratulations once again from all of us at Gallows Point Resort on your union of 25-years-and-counting. We hope you return for more relaxation soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cyntia wrote a review Jan 2020
new york28 contributions81 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Where to start? Love everything. Our unit, the pool, the views, the staff: dial it down, it's a gift to be in a place where they have all the time in the world to chat and laugh, get you a cab, fix your windblown door screens, and get rid of the lizard in your living room. (I was ok with the lizard - my husband not so much.) Our unit, upper harbor this time, was lovely and luxurious. Rainbows, earthquake waters, high winds and rainy weather made our week that much more beautiful and dramatic. Sun always prevails, we hiked and snorkled every day. Gallow's lovely gardened grounds, the frogs singing at night. Pool, hot tub with ever-changing, sweeping VI views, and best of all the local coral reef to visit from the Gallows dock and floating raft.
St John is doing well, town restaurants are many and delicious (pricey of course but you're on vacation), and the roads in decent shape for jeep adventures. Oceans 362 at Gallows has very good food, the 3rd floor bar a great place to hang. Noise from town? All we heard were waves sweeping in and out, we slept like babes. The poolside cocktail party on Monday was convivial and fun, excellent Painkillers. Love Gallows. Thanks for taking such good care of us!
Vincentia was very valiant with the lizard, just don't tell her you have a frog in your room.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GallowsPointMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at Gallows Point Resort
Responded Jan 21, 2020
Hi Cyntia, thank you so much for taking the time to leave this detailed review! We really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the rain did not dampen your spirits! It was a pleasure meeting you at our weekly cocktail party - glad you liked our Painkiller cocktails too! We look forward to your next visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from docJCM
Poquoson, Virginia9 contributions6 helpful votes
Suggest 7D or 8D. Great view, less afternoon sun, not as much night noise from the restaurant or the bars in Cruz Bay.
Answer from Jamaica H
U.S. Virgin Islands14 contributions
Hi there! For the best half day excursions please contact our concierge desk at 340-776-6434. Many people visit Waterlemon Cay via boat and have a great time so yes, I would definitely say it's worth it! I hope this helps!
Answer from Jamaica H
U.S. Virgin Islands14 contributions
I would recommend our onsite restaurant Ocean 362, Morgan's Mango, and Zozo's at Caneel Bay. Morgan's Mango and Zozo's have more outdoor seating while Ocean 362 and Zozo's have amazing sunset views! I hope this answers your question!
Mark In The Mountains asked a question Nov 2022
Estes Park, Colorado29 contributions3 helpful votes
Is smoking permitted outside the units, on deck or balcony?
Answer from AUSAGUY007
Houston, Texas4,555 contributions2,477 helpful votes
probally the best place to stay I found but tried all the food on the island not so.great
Evan Z wrote a tip Jul 2023
Olney, Maryland13 contributions38 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We loved unit 10B...got to enjoy the views of the ocean and the boats in Cruz Bay. "
Read full review
louraedude wrote a tip Jun 2023
New York218 contributions74 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Restaurant only serves dinner. Rent a Jeep if you want to explore the park and beaches. You need a Jeep. Roads windy and steep. "
Read full review
Heston L wrote a tip Apr 2023
Wilmington, North Carolina60 contributions68 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very quiet location so good for a relaxing chill vacay"
Read full review
Adrienne wrote a tip Apr 2023
Charlotte, North Carolina12 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a room with a view if you can - we had an ocean view and it was amazing. "
Read full review
Christina M wrote a tip Mar 2023
Boone, North Carolina180 contributions73 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Units 3-D, 4-D, and 5-D have two-sided views of ocean. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cruz Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
$469 - $689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gallows point hotel cruz bay, gallows point cruz bay
LOCATION
CaribbeanU.S. Virgin IslandsSt. JohnCruz Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GALLOWS POINT RESORT - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Gallows Point Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Gallows Point Resort?
Nearby attractions include Drink St. John (0.1 miles), Coconut Coast Studios (0.2 miles), and Love City Food Tours (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Gallows Point Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Gallows Point Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Gallows Point Resort?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Gallows Point Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gallows Point Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Our Market Smoothies, The Lime Inn, and The Beach Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gallows Point Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and fitness classes during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Gallows Point Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cinnamon Bay Nature Trail (3.3 miles) and Catherineberg Ruins (1.8 miles).
Does Gallows Point Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
All Cruz Bay HotelsCruz Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Cruz BayHotels near Gallows Point Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars