We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3 AAA Gallows Point Rd, Cruz Bay 00831 St. John
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (1010)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (715)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/17/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Gallows Point Resort
Updated 07/17/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 5 hotels in Cruz Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Beach
Diving
Car hire
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Rooftop bar
Breakfast available
Snorkeling
Fishing
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shops
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Bay View
982Reviews39Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 757
  • 155
  • 44
  • 17
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
LMThompsonKY wrote a review Sep 2021
Louisville, Kentucky1 contribution
This was our first trip to St John and we traveled with several other couples to celebrate some birthdays and finally getting a break from all of our young kids after a year and a half of COVID. We rerouted to St John instead of our fav place, Bermuda, because of the more relaxed COVID procedures. Booking was super easy and accommodating. Once we arrived we were excited about the view, the pool and the location in proximity to the town. Maybe it was because we were there off season, but the islanders both at the hotel and in Cruz Bay time and time again at different places annoyed that we were there. They yelled at people without warning about wearing masks. The hotel rooms were “ok”. Certainly not the cleanest for a four star place. We found an unknown substance on the painting above our bed. We had to put the sign out for our room to actually be cleaned when we were initially told every other day (which was fine). One very important NOTE is that the pool and hot tub closes not a minute past 9 and you are no longer allowed to even hang out on the seating on a giant three tiered deck. There will be no compromise about the “Peaceful Pool Rules”. One final note that matters to me is that we were all eaten up by bugs throughout the week. One local told me that St John has no-see-ums, mosquitoes and sand fleas. Yikes.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring bug spray, rent a boat!! (Island Roots), rent a car (you really will need it).
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
FaeriSteedMom wrote a review Aug 2021
Fulton, Maryland11 contributions
We managed to get a room when we were in a bind with the villa we had rented. The unit had everything we needed for nights we chose to stay in and cook, and the bed was super comfortable. The living room was decorated with wicker furniture, pretty typical for Caribbean accommodations, but it’s not the most plush stuff for sitting. That’s okay though- no need for sitting there when you can chill out on the patio and watch the boats go by. We were also happy about being able to walk to Cruz Bay for dinner and shopping. Most importantly- the staff were friendly and helpful, and they maintain their facilities very well. Everything was clean and orderly. Grounds are beautiful, on land and sea- snorkeling off the point is a must! Only issue we found is not enough parking- but you can just park in their lot and leave the keys with the front desk. No big deal :)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Gallows Point Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Gallows Point Resort
Responded Aug 27, 2021
Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
Nathan L wrote a review Jul 2021
4 contributions2 helpful votes
The rooms at Gallows Point are pretty good. They have basic kitchen setup and average decor. We were there for a week (April 2021) and three of the nights during our stay, the neighbors came in after the bars had closed and acted like it was the first time they had ever partied. They cranked the tunes and then had to yell over the music to hear each other. Security was called each time and they basically stood outside the door while the drunk neighbors argued with them for 30 minutes. It was ridiculous. They did nothing to enforce their quiet hour rules which meant my family was awake for a couple hours each night from 11:30 to whenever they passed out. The management offered to move us to a new room on our last night there. REALLY, we are the ones you're going to inconvenience and move and not the drunk folks that are causing the trouble. Other than that, I love St John and Cruz Bay and can't wait to return. But we will def stay at a different location.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Bring ear plugs
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gallows Point Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Gallows Point Resort
Responded Jul 22, 2021
Thank you for your review!
Read more
Linda B wrote a review Jul 2021
Frisco, Texas84 contributions24 helpful votes
Gallow’s Point is a very nice property with spacious units and lots of storage and nice kitchen. Staff there is excellent. They were always very helpful and responsive. The location is very hard to be beat. We felt they could enhance the space with more amenities like a bar and food service at the pool. They have an EXCELLENT restaurant upstairs, so we don’t understand why they could not expand and offer more full service. We were very disappointed in the Concierge. After taking our order for groceries for our room, we felt it was almost non-existent. We requested three different times for help in securing reservations for two of our five nights and nothing. The owner of the boating company we hired for a day tour actually helped us with two restaurants. We actually went in and also called with no response. We would definitely come back but hope they take some of the input to heart to improve an already nice and beautiful resort.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Gallows Point Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Gallows Point Resort
Responded Jul 22, 2021
Thank you for your review!
Read more
Christian E wrote a review Jul 2021
Santa Barbara, California67 contributions43 helpful votes
Gallows Point Resort was great for our honeymoon. We did 9 days on St Thomas and 5 on St John, which was a pretty good balance (would probably swap in future). Gallows is located right near Cruz Bay, the biggest 'town' on St John. It is a 5 minute walk into town where you can find restaurants, dive shops, gift shops, ferries to St Thomas, etc. The resort itself was pleasant, though not overly indulgent. The views seem amazing from every room (we had a harbor view and loved the view). The resort is generally uncrowded, we never had trouble fitting in the pool or jacuzzi, no lines at reception, etc. The room was nice and big and comfy, we only wish there was a view from the bedroom instead of just the living area. We definitely appreciated the free laundry machines and beach chair rentals.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms seem great
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Gallows Point Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Gallows Point Resort
Responded Jul 16, 2021
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us! Congratulations on your nuptials and we hope to see you again!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$405 - $669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gallows point hotel cruz bay, gallows point cruz bay
LOCATION
CaribbeanU.S. Virgin IslandsSt. JohnCruz Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gallows Point Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Gallows Point Resort?
Nearby attractions include Our Lady of Mount Carmel Catholic Church (0.09 miles), Love City Food Tours (0.3 miles), and Island cork (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Gallows Point Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Gallows Point Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Gallows Point Resort?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Gallows Point Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gallows Point Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Lime Inn, Cruz Bay Landing, and De' Coal Pot.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gallows Point Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Gallows Point Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Gallows Point Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cinnamon Bay Nature Trail (3.3 miles) and Catherineberg Ruins (1.9 miles).
Does Gallows Point Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.