We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3 AAA Gallows Point Rd, Cruz Bay 00831 St. John
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
travelup.com
Priceline
Agoda.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (983)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (715)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/17/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Gallows Point Resort
Updated 07/17/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 4 hotels in Cruz Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Beach
Diving
Car hire
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Rooftop bar
Breakfast available
Snorkeling
Fishing
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Bay View
969Reviews39Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 747
  • 155
  • 42
  • 17
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Heidi_G503 wrote a review Yesterday
Kalamazoo, Michigan5 contributions2 helpful votes
Gallows Point is located on a quiet peninsula, within walking distance to Cruz Bay and its restaurants, shops and bars. My family and I stayed in three upper level, harbor view units, which were all spacious, well appointed and very comfortable. While the grounds and rooms are beautiful, what we love most about Gallows Point is its location and staff. Located on the southwest side of St. John, it's a perfect mid-way point to all of the island's incredible hiking trails and beaches. This trip was originally scheduled as a birthday celebration in 2020, which was sadly cancelled due to Covid 19. The staff at Gallows Point went above and beyond to help us rebook for this year. My family and I had a much needed and amazing vacation. Thank you, Gallows Point! We'll be back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
blondfromBeantown wrote a review Apr 7
Boston, Massachusetts52 contributions60 helpful votes
My husband and I greatly enjoyed our 6 night stay in 5B at GP, a lower level ocean view unit. I think the first thing that people should understand about GP is that it is more a condo association than a "resort." Each unit is individually owned, so the decor and level of updatedness (not a word, I know, lol) will vary. Our unit was very clean but like others, felt a little dark with dark wood cabinets and brown rattan furniture. Second, because it is not a "resort" there are not such amenities as breakfast or lunch served at the lovely on-site restaurant. There is no drink or food service at all on the waterfront or pool areas. They do have daily maid service, a gym and a helpful staff at the gift/coffee shop who also serve as concierges to help you arrange excursions and jeep rental etc. Lastly, people need to understand that there is only a small, rocky beach although the resort is waterfront and the views are fantastic! We really liked snorkling and swimming at the resort but understand that the world class beaches that St John is known for are a taxi ride away. Easy to get a taxi from the center of town to any beaches for $5 or $7 per person. Since we understood all of this, we were very happy with our stay with the exception of one thing: the rooster(s) who wander the island and woke me up morning after morning. I understand that there is very little GP can do about the roosters but be forewarned if you are a light sleeper and perhaps bring earplugs. When I commented on the roosters to the friendly front desk staff, they were kind enough to send a bottle of Cava to our unit with an nice note. I did sleep better that night : ) We'd happily return to Gallows Point (with ear plugs!) until our all time favorite, Caneel Bay opens back up!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Location
Room Tip: Units with ocean view will be quieter as the harbor view will have ferry and boat noise.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
BarbieLatina wrote a review Mar 2021
California3 contributions3 helpful votes
Loved our stay at Gallows Point Resort, the staff was attentive and the rooms were very clean. We were a group of 4 girls and we stayed 3 nights in a harbor view upper. We had ample room, as there was a king bed upstairs with a half bath, and a queen sofa bed downstairs and a full bath. The sofa bed was uncomfortable and the staff was very accommodating and brought a rollaway bed over. There is a full kitchen including all dish ware and utensils. The view from our room was spectacular (we stayed in 13D) and had a very large balcony with outdoor seating. The location of this resort is VERY convenient, less than a 5 minute walk to all the restaurants, bars, and boat dock. There is one Pool and jacuzzi, although I wish there were more jacuzzis as it can fill up rather quickly. There is ocean access from the pool area, but no beach. Honeymoon beach (my favorite beach on the island) is a 30 min hike from the hotel if you take the Lind point trail. We did this one morning and it was well worth it! The hotel is not very luxurious but perfect for a relaxing beach vacation. Considering that there aren’t many options on St. John in the 5 star range, this is definitely still nice enough.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Gallows Point Resort, General Manager at Gallows Point Resort
Responded Mar 7, 2021
Thanks so much for your review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you can return again soon.
Read more
Anca K wrote a review Feb 2021
Broadview Heights, Ohio2 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked an Upper Bedroom Ocean view suite for 7 days based on the beautiful pictures on line. The level of service at Gallows is very disappointing. We paid almost $6,000 for one week and had high expectations when we checked in. When we arrived to the suite (2C) it had no AC on, miserable to wait in 90 degree heat for the room to cool off, the suite is painted in dark colors so is pretty gloomy. The windows were dirty therefore blocking the beautiful view. The furniture is pretty bit up. The cleanliness of the suite was lacking. I went to the front desk to ask for a different suite and they told me they were booked for the week and could not accommodate the move. They also told me I was lucky I wasn't in the suite below that was all painted in PINK. Front desk also mentioned that each owner decorates and furnishes their suite to their preference: something I was not aware when I booked at Gallows, I had a hard time accepting this suite and on our second day my husband and I decided to move to a different resort/hotel, even go to St. Thomas. I went to the front desk to tell them we will check out sooner and we would like a refund and only then we were offered a beautiful suite: 6D. I have only positive things to say about this suite: renovated, nice furniture, bedroom, clean windows: everything the other suite did not have, I am not sure why Gallows did not switch us to this suite from the beginning and let us be miserable on suite 2C for 2 days ( not a great start to our vacation). Also, when we moved rooms my Apple watch was lost. Positive things about Gallows: great location (within walking distance to restaurants, hiking), could hear the ocean waves at night, beautiful views and the restaurant Ocean 362 was really good. Hope Gallows will change the way they are booking their rooms, yes, we are willing to pay top dollars for a great room but DO NOT CHARGE the same amount for an inferior room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Tamara G wrote a review Feb 2021
Weirton, West Virginia69 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
We stayed three nights at Gallows Point Resort (we were in 10C) which was a loft type room. Queen bed and small bathroom upstairs and lower level was spacious with plenty of closet space, full kitchen, bathroom with large shower, nice seating and dining area with a balcony with a killer view. We had trouble sleeping at night because the room (assuming it’s because it’s a metal roof) made loud noises throughout the night. Our first night we literally thought someone was in the room! Imagine the sound of someone loudly crushing a plastic bottle and this is the exact sound the roof made above our heads as we tried to sleep. That is our only complaint. Everything else was wonderful- there is also a fantastic restaurant on site (the Edamame is SUPERB). Great staff. Nice little gift shop with limited grocery items as well. I enjoyed grabbing the daily paper each day. There is also access to the water right from the pool deck so if you enjoy snorkeling, they have a very nice area for that (including steps right into the water). King size bed was super comfortable with very soft sheets. We’d definitely stay here again!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gallows Point Resort, General Manager at Gallows Point Resort
Responded Mar 7, 2021
Thanks for your review! We are so sorry about that noise you heard from roof! We are not sure what the sound was you heard but have had maintenance look into it to resolve the issue. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$405 - $669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gallows point hotel cruz bay, gallows point cruz bay
LOCATION
CaribbeanU.S. Virgin IslandsSt. JohnCruz Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gallows Point Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Gallows Point Resort?
Nearby attractions include Our Lady of Mount Carmel Catholic Church (0.09 miles), Love City Food Tours (0.3 miles), and Island cork (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Gallows Point Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Gallows Point Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Gallows Point Resort?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Gallows Point Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gallows Point Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Drink St. John, North Shore Deli, and The Lime Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gallows Point Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Gallows Point Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Gallows Point Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cinnamon Bay Nature Trail (3.3 miles) and Catherineberg Ruins (1.9 miles).
Does Gallows Point Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.