We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3 AAA Gallows Point Rd, Cruz Bay 00831 St. John
E-mail hotel
Hotel direct offer!August Special
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1042)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (722)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 08/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Gallows Point Resort
Updated 08/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 6 hotels in Cruz Bay
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Beach
Diving
Car hire
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Rooftop bar
Breakfast available
Snorkeling
Fishing
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shops
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Harbor View
Hotel links
Special Rate:August Special
998Reviews39Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 769
  • 156
  • 44
  • 17
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Miguel wrote a review Jul 2022
Luquillo, Puerto Rico2 contributions
Driving around St. Johns looking for coffee, we found this place and decided to go in. They were the most welcoming and warm people we encountered on the island, especially Missy; she was great and gave amazing recommendations… even went out of her way and got a map for us so we could find our way around the island. Missy definitely loves her job and it shows, the short experience was lovely and would visit again just to get my morning coffee made by her. It was a real pleasure, thanks for everything. Much love from your friends from Puerto Rico.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gallows Point Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Gallows Point Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your 5 star review and your lovely words! We are so pleased that Missy went above and beyond to make your short visit worthwhile. We hope you visit us again very soon!
Read more
Jennifer wrote a review Jan 2022
6 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
Paradise found. Beautiful grounds, excellent views and snorkeling. So close to town you can walk to every restaurant even mongoose junction. Maids were great. Gift shop has drinks and some food. You can walk to grocery store. Snorkel out to platform and look for the octopus on your way! Can’t wait to go back!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Gallows Point Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Gallows Point Resort
Responded Jan 14, 2022
Dear Jlcnole25, thank you so much for your review! We appreciate you sharing your feedback and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us (and got to see an Octopus at our reef)! We look forward to your return.
Read more
AUSAGUY007 wrote a review Jun 2022
Houston, Texas2714 contributions2323 helpful votes
+1
Perry cool I would stay here again. It's a condo not a resort. It's quiet.. next to water but no beach. Beach is 6 dollars a person to get to the beach u should also bring ur own washing detergents with u they have washer and dryer here too ask for simmone at the front desk she's cool
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Call simmone at the front desk and tell here the USA guy sent u.. Bring cash for cab rides and...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gallows Point Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Gallows Point Resort
Responded Jun 19, 2022
Thank You for your review! We are pleased that our Front Office staff was able to provide you with the assistance that you needed. We do have a beach on property and we are sorry that you did not get to experience it. Perhaps on your next visit, we can point out its exact location, its great for snorkeling!
Read more
mrpuppyshouse wrote a review Jun 2022
Dallas, Texas17 contributions8 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed at Gallows Point in June 2022. Great spot. You can walk to the bars/restaurants in Cruz bay easily. We snorkeled right off the property dock and saw a lot of fish. I would recommend an ocean view as opposed to harbor view as the noise from the Cruz bay bars is less. Staff responded to our requests and needs very promptly. Pool area was nice. Peacock roaming the property was cool. A small convenience store is on site. Expensive but handy. We rented a jeep from Mr. Piper's jeep and it was delivered to us at the property and less expensive than going thru the property. We drove to several beaches/hikes across the island but there are plenty of restaurants in walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: best view and quietest would be ocean view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Akhil Deshwal, Owner at Gallows Point Resort
Responded Jun 16, 2022
Thanks so much for your 5-star review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you can return soon for another amazing trip!
Read more
Pat B wrote a review Jun 2022
Mokena, Illinois54 contributions44 helpful votes
Anna Walters: remember that name if you need anything exceptional done for you at this resort. My daughter and her husband went to the resort for their anniversary. I spoke with several people at the resort and Anna was the ONLY ONE who took the initiative, was proactive and creative in designing a fabulous welcome basket for them, including all the healthy options, a bottle of champagne and she did a great job with the in-room presentation of the gift certificates we purchased for them. I could not thank her enough for doing a really exceptional job for me and making their stay a little more memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Akhil Deshwal, Owner at Gallows Point Resort
Responded Jun 16, 2022
Thank you so much for your review! It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback about our staff. We are happy that Anna made their stay a little more memorable, and hope they had a FANTASTIC anniversary!
Read more
ElQuetoudou wrote a review Jun 2022
Agadir, Morocco13 contributions29 helpful votes
Poor quality for the price The room rate, get ready to add 12.5% tax and 5% if you used a credit card -who doesn’t use a credit card when the bill is in the thousands? So more than $820 for thé night and in low season. And no breakfast! The phone service is abysmal-says dial 500 for the restaurant-doesn’t work, dial 9 for an outside line but actually it is 8. Finally had to use a Swiss mobile phone in 3G to call their restaurant to order a dish listed in their menu and they said they didn’t have it. Could go on but you get the idea. On positive side has a wonderful view on sea and sunset.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gallows Point Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Gallows Point Resort
Responded Jun 11, 2022
Dear guest, we sincerely apologize that your experience with us was not what you expected. The 12.5% hotel tax is issued by the Government of the USVI and is something that we have no control over. We also have no control over the credit card fees, they have become more normal in the past couple years and we do not decide the percentage. We do not mislead our guests as we strive to make our website as transparent as possible by informing potential guests of the credit card fees and hotel tax prior booking. We will make all necessary corrections to our phone system to ensure that our onsite restaurant can be reached. Thank you for your positive feedback on our sunset views! If given a second chance, we would love for you to take advantage of our 10% repeat guest discount AND we will tell you how to avoid the 5% credit card fee once booked 60 days or more in advance!
Read more
♥️2travel wrote a review May 2022
Harrisville, West Virginia26 contributions9 helpful votes
First class resort for an ideal vacation. The 362 Restaurant and Bar offers exquisite dining with the best Caribbean sunset view on St. John. The seaside accommodations are perfectly located and just a short walk to the Cruz Bay attractions. The staff was friendly, helpful & attentive to every request. Vehicles can be rented here to explore the island. Recommend highly.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gallows Point Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Gallows Point Resort
Responded May 10, 2022
Thank you so much for your lovely review and recommendation! We are delighted you enjoyed your vacation and your experience at the resort in particular! We hope you return soon.
Read more
TrekAbout4Fun wrote a review Apr 2022
Boston, MA5 contributions10 helpful votes
Pros: Lovely place, friendly staff, nice pool and snorkeling. Grounds kept so nice, with peacocks and other cool critters walking around. Able to rent cars directly from resort huge plus. Concierge very nice and helpful. Perfect big enough not too big type of place. Good to know: I requested anything but near pool, and got right by pool. This was a bummer as multiple Marco Polo games where played daily. One bonus though, was able to see when pool was clear and quiet and could head down for peaceful swim. Between you and the beaches is Cruz Bay and it is kind of a bummer having to deal with getting through that each day. Cruz Bay shouldn’t be Disney or Nantucket but could use a little bit of upgrades here and there. Very friendly place that seems like there is some more potential to be unlocked. Can walk to restaurants though walking back is a little interesting sometimes. We definitely had fun hitting all the great restaurants in town.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Room Tip: Bay side if you want to see boats, but loud at night. Ocean side is great but farther from pool...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gallows Point Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Gallows Point Resort
Responded Apr 27, 2022
Thank you for your review! While we try our hardest to honor all requests, we sincerely apologize that your request was unfulfilled. We are pleased that your stay was enjoyable and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
amysj307 wrote a review Apr 2022
Milton, Massachusetts13 contributions12 helpful votes
We stayed in unit 10A which we really liked for location-- views of the harbor and ocean and close to the pool, but not close enough to get any of the noise. The unit itself was a bit dated, but otherwise had everything we needed. It fit our family of four comfortably with the pull out couch and roll-a-way bed. The views from the pool and the various communal decks are fantastic and a great place to watch the sunset. All around very relaxing spot. For food we walked to town (5-10 minutes but the roads aren't great) or picked up food for a picnic. We visited the restaurant for dinner one night, and it was decent. The store has coffee and snack items. I would stay here again for location and ambiance. I might try another unit on the ocean side but I would be happy with 10A again as well.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gallows Point Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Gallows Point Resort
Responded Apr 27, 2022
Thank you for your delightful review! We are so pleased that your stay was relaxing and hope to see you and your family again soon!
Read more
Frequent traveler wrote a review Mar 2022
3 contributions6 helpful votes
We were overcharged and now can’t get anyone to return our calls or emails. The resort has a $75 per person surcharge over two people. We had four for the first four nights and two (my husband and college-aged son went home) for the last two nights. We notified the resort in advance and can’t get them to correct the error. In addition, they charged us a $261 Egencia booking fee (they claim Egencia charged them, Egencia knows nothing about it) and a 5% credit card fee which they disclose if you read the fine print. Only way around it was to pay by check 60 days in advance or pay in cash (seriously?) We loved the resort but feel a bit taken advantage of. Read the fine print and don’t leave without making sure your bill is correct.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Gallows Point Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Gallows Point Resort
Responded Mar 29, 2022
We sincerely apologize that your calls and emails went unanswered. We assure you that we do not overcharge guests, we charge the amount that is presented by the Third Party, and ONLY that amount. We do not make modifications, nor do we charge booking fees. We sincerely apologize that you felt taken advantage of, that was never our intention. We are pleased that you did indeed enjoy your stay otherwise. If granted a second chance, please reserve directly with us!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$521 - $766 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gallows point hotel cruz bay, gallows point cruz bay
LOCATION
CaribbeanU.S. Virgin IslandsSt. JohnCruz Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gallows Point Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Gallows Point Resort?
Nearby attractions include Our Lady of Mount Carmel Catholic Church (0.09 miles), Love City Food Tours (0.3 miles), and Island cork (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Gallows Point Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Gallows Point Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Gallows Point Resort?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Gallows Point Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gallows Point Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Lime Inn, The Beach Bar, and Cruz Bay Landing.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gallows Point Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Gallows Point Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Gallows Point Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cinnamon Bay Nature Trail (3.3 miles) and Catherineberg Ruins (1.9 miles).
Does Gallows Point Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.