We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 270: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
 Click to rate
Tonyrefail, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Me and my wife travelled here for a birthday party. We always try and book with Travelodge when away for a short break. The reception area was very clean and well maintained, the receptionist was very polite and asked if we needed to order breakfast. Our room was very spacious and very clean. Bedsheets were crisp and like new, thank...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank martin01443
Hampshire, UK
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our second stay at this Travelodge and we once again had a good experience. On arrival we were met by a friendly reception staff member who gave us good advice and made us feel welcome. Spare tea & coffee supplies were at the reception desk and our room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WidleyTraveller
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was a very nice stay for a budget hotel, well worth the money however the pillows were too big. They gave me and my partner bad backs as they were that big but there was no other smaller pillows that they could offer. However i would recommend this because of the price!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Le4nne97
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to learn that your stay was overall positive. However, we're sorry to hear you found our pillows uncomfortable during your visit. Feedback such as yours is invaluable and we will ensure the hotel receives a copy of your comments. We do hope you choose to visit Travelodge again soon.

Hengoed, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Can't fault the location, the hotel is a little rough on the edges but did the job. Main light in the room didn't work and there was a rather large hole in our duvet cover. Other than that it serves its purpose.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to learn you were happy with the Hotel’s location, however we would like to apologise for the issues that impacted your stay. Your feedback is very important as it allow us to improve the service we offer and we would like to thank you for the time...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A nice big room, good value for money. We only wanted a room and a shower as we wanted to explore the Brecon Beacons. This Travelodge was in ideal location to do so. It is in a leisure park where you have so much choice of food, things to do like cinema and bowling (not that you need to do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie_Allen22
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team. at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so pleased to hear that you were happy with the location of the Hotel and that your overall experience was a positive one. Your feedback is invaluable and a copy of your comments will be passed to the Hotel Manager. Thank you once again...

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a very noisey area, there was young kids hanging out over from the front entrance, there was no parking near the travelodge, single bed my daughter slept in was very uncormfortable "felt every spring"

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 482leighe
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Merthyr Tydfil Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's clean and basic. Bed is comfortable and room is big and warm. Only issue is that it feels like the room has been robbed. Just feels like half the furniture is missing. Also the plastic chair is bloody uncomfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank warren g
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

Many thanks for sharing your experience of our Merthyr Tydfil Travelodge. We are so happy to hear the hotel was clean and you found our Dreamer bed very comfortable, however we are sorry to learn of your disappointment with the facilities in your room. We feel that we offer all that is needed for a comfortable night’s stay. This includes...

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice clean basic accommodation at a reasonable price. The staff was helpful and smiling. Happy to stay again, as a selection of places to eat within walking distance + a cinema + gym just across the parking lot.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank U6628LRkimd
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Once Again, we have a wonderful sleep in our clean room. All the staff were really helpful and professional. Even the chamber maids were lovely. There were loads of restruants in the area, in fact too many to choose from. There was even a cinema nearby and a leisure centre. So, all in all, you hav everything you'll ever need.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tonyhedger54
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel, clean and friendly, big rooms, unlimited tea and coffee available . Mountain biker friendly. Car parking is a bit of a nightmare if you dont get there early. Its on a retail park close to macD's, Harvester, Cinema, Chinese Buffet, Frankie and bennys and a 10 min walk to town centre. 5 min drive from Bike park wales....

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fhiyll
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to learn that you were happy with the overall experience, although we would like to apologise that your experience was impacted by the noise from outside the hotel. We strive to give customers an enjoyable stay and we are happy to see that this has been...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merthyr Tydfil
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 1 in Pentrebach
314 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tregenna Hotel
Tregenna Hotel
#2 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
110 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bessemer Hotel
Bessemer Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dowlais
123 reviews
7.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ebbw Vale Hotel
6.7 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cwmtaf
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil

Address: Merthyr Tydfil Leisure Village, Merthyr Tydfil CF48 1UT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Merthyr Tydfil County > Merthyr Tydfil
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil Hotel Merthyr Tydfil
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Once you book on line, phone the lodge to request a ground floor room if you need it.”
 of 5 bubbles tonyhedger54, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“2nd floor at front”
 of 5 bubbles L2859WBpeters, Dec 12, 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor if with a bike (although there is a lift)”
 of 5 bubbles MarkGa1971, Nov 23, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room at the back. When we were there the leisure park was not too busy, so not sure what rooms would be like at front.”
 of 5 bubbles 685margb, Nov 4, 2016 | Read review
“Top floor was quiet”
 of 5 bubbles weloveholidays007, Oct 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question