We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sugar Bay Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

774 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 769: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I am so happy I choose Sugar Bay for us to stay at for our honeymoon/birthday. The staff there made us feel right at home from the time we arrived until the day we left. Our scenery from our room was amazing, our room was very nice and clean. The restaurants were great buffet style. I like the fact that... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

After reading all of the reviews I was a little nervous before arriving. We were pleasantly surprised. The staff at the front desk were very nice and accommodating. J'wanni, Austin and Jennifer Wilson got us checked in even upgrading us to an ocean view room. Any questions we had they were happy help. The staff at the Manor House restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Renee H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Bought out by DREAMS and now Sugar Bay is a nightmare- no water in gym bathroom- no wifi at all- power God in and out- no ice machines- 9/19/2016 Only a Bad Dream-- the Beach towels are bath towels and the shampoo are covered by printer labels to cover over Dreams -

Helpful?
2 Thank Heather M
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Heather M, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of our resort via Trip Advisor. We would like to apologize for the Wifi and power outage. We understand that an apology will not change the outcome of what you have experienced however we offer it with sincerity. Please know that our engineering and IT team has... More 

Travelers are raving about these East End hotels

Norwalk, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I was so excited to be spending our honeymoon at this resort & was so disappointed when there was nothing in the room waiting for us...no champagne, not even a rose pedal...nothing...just felt like another vacation. The very nice & awesome bartender David went out of his way to make sure we were treated amazing the rest of the stay,... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Sparta91016
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear trspaar, Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experiences of our resort on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the level of housekeeping, wifi and phone service as well as room confusion. Your feedback is valuable to us and we would like to apologize for what you experienced. This review... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Horrible customer service. The staff treats you like you are an inconvenience to them if you make any requests. I fell on the steps to the pool and my son went to get help. No one came to help. I sprained my ankle, wrist and fractured my arm. Finally made it to my room and called the front desk to... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear A TripAdvisor Member, Please allow us to apologize for the poor customer service you received from our Front Desk team after your mishap on our resort. We take these things very seriously and your entire review has been shared with the highest levels of our executive leadership team. Your comments are quite concerning regarding the way in which your... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I and my 6 year old daughter stayed there over Labor Day weekend. First of all the hotel is huge but there was only a handful of people staying there. Yes, the property has a lot of stairs to get to the beach and pool area...138 in total, we counted. But there is shuttle minivan that travels back and forth,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret Z
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Margaret Z, Thank you for sharing your recent experiences of your stay on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your last visit and although an apology will not alter your experience we offer it with sincerity. Your review will be shared with the highest levels of management within the resort as we strive... More 

Sulphur Springs, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great time as Sugar Bay. It was well worth the money we spent to enjoy the all-inclusive resort. The staff were absolutely WONDERFUL! We were able to upgrade our rooms at no charge due to the rooms not being available when we arrived at 4pm. (check in was at 3pm). The Manager was eager to make us... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank t3xasgal
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear t3xasgal, Thank you for taking the time to write and share your review of your stay with us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our team our team took very good care of you while you were here. We appreciate your feedback and would like to apologize... More 

Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I think their website could be a little more informative. We spent 7 days here so I'm going to fill you in. We had 15 people for my daughter's wedding off property at St. John. This resort is under new management so pay no attention to the old horrible reviews. Upon arrival they bring you rum punch. Front desk staff... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Ruby8831200
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ruby8831200, Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review to Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you and your family had a great stay with us. We'll pass along your compliments to Anna at the Front Desk and Pam in the Weddings department of their great service to you and we appreciate your... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I do not recommend this facility to anyone . First off let me start by saying Anna and Michelle as well as one more lady at the counter are the sweetest most helpful people . This rating is not based on them at ALL but the facility . So when you arrive you are given a bracelet the acts as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tasha H
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Tasha H, Thank you for taking the time to write and post your review to Trip Advisor of your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that it was a disappointment and while an apology will not alter the outcome of what you experienced we offer one with sincerity. Your feedback regarding employee service, wifi, housekeeping and the facilities... More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been to my share of all inclusive and this place ranks as pretty good on my list. The grounds are beautiful. I really liked the view from our room in building 200s as it over looked the pool and had a partial ocean view. You cannot see the sunset from the hotel, but if you get the right... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie B
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Julie B, Thank you for taking the time to write and share this very detailed review on Trip Advisor. Your thoroughness will definitely assist future travelers that are looking to stay with us on St. Thomas. The all-inclusive package is a great way to experience all of the food & beverage outlets at our resort and not have to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,236 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (851)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (143)
Viewed
Room/Suite (92)
Viewed
View from Room (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (126)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (351)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (362)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Beach (19)
Viewed
Beach Pool (23)
Viewed
Garden Plus Room (29)
Viewed
Interior Pool (26)
Viewed
Oceanview Room (34)
Viewed
Oceanview Suite (40)
Viewed
Premium Oceanview Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
1.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
4.1 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 stars 800 reviews
0.3 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
4.0 of 5 stars 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, you can enjoy amenities including gorgeous inter-connecting pools, an award-winning spa, and private balconies! This St. Thomas resort is located just 15 minutes from the famous Mahogany Run Golf Course. Sugar Bay Resort & Spa is located on a secluded white beach with breathtaking, panoramic ocean, bay, and mountain views. The Sugar Bay Resort & Spa is the perfect destination for your next St. Thomas vacation! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sugar Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 6500 Estate Smith Bay, 00802-1350, St. Thomas (Formerly Dreams Sugar Bay)
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Price Range: $218 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sugar Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sugar Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Sugar Bay Hotel
Wyndham Sugar Bay Resort St Thomas
Wyndham Hotel St Thomas
Wyndham St Thomas
Wyndham East End
East End Wyndham
Wyndham Sugar Bay St Thomas
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay