We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mafolie Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

549 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mafolie Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 541: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed February 25, 2017

We went for lunch. Glorious view. But not much else. Meal was mediocre and service island sloppy. Wines were ok . A bit out of the way, but okay for a lunch. Can't imagine dinner would be very good, except for wine and view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill60763
Blacksburg, Virginia
Reviewed February 20, 2017

We've eaten at the wonderful Mafolie Restaurant for many years and have always wondered what it would be like to stay at the hotel. We were not disappointed! We had a lovely room with a spectacular view. It's not the Ritz Carlton, but it was clean and adequate with a very comfortable bed. Also enjoyed the view from the pool...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary H
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Reviewed February 19, 2017

I don’t think anybody can beat the location and the unbelievable view over Charlotte Amelie and the harbor and far on the horizon St Croix. Not so good: We had booked online a room with a king bed, a sofa, and a balcony. What was offered was a tiny room, with a balcony and a queen bed. Facing our disappointment,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christian D
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewed February 19, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on an overnight back home from the BVI and found the hotel to be quaint, calm and friendly with a great view of Charlotte Amalie Harbor. Our suite room was comfortable and met all our basic needs with a nice balcony and view. The food at the adjoining restaurant was fantastic Caribbean cuisine. Nice staff, great food, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tyler L
Reviewed February 17, 2017 via mobile

The only good thing about this hotel is the magnificent view! I should add the staff is very nice too. However, this hotel is more of a motel in my opinion. If you're used to staying at a normal hotel or resort, you will not be happy here whatsoever. My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. When we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank areinlatif
Boise, Idaho
Reviewed February 15, 2017 via mobile

We arrived late and checked into a very small room. It was clean and cool. Our group was going on a sailing trip for 10 days and we stayed here at beginning and end. The views are AMAZING!! It's got lots of character. Great pool!Our room at the end was bigger and great. Nice people. We will be back!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SDoozen
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Reviewed February 14, 2017

Worst hotel we have ever stayed at. Didn't sleep for the car noise. Floor broken- yes the floor. A dump. Car noise all night long. Nice people at the bar but the hotel service was nonexistent. Buyer beware

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 169jennifer
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed February 11, 2017

We initially booked this hotel for four nights through the Booking .com. Per Booking.com website the cancellation was free until April 24. We cancelled this reservation a week later due to changing our itinerary.The hotel charged us $ 260 which is not refunded.We informed our bank to dispute these charges based on the free cancellation policy of Booking.com .A month...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leldeb
MafolieManagement, Owner at Mafolie Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leldeb, Our cancellation policy is and has always been 100% penalty free up to two weeks prior to your stay with us. If you cancelled outside of two weeks prior to your stay and we did not refund your money I apologize. This is certainly not a practice or ours. We are are human and we make mistakes. If...

Reviewed February 5, 2017 via mobile

Great location, beautiful views; helpful and pleasant staff 24/7 !! Great value for money food was excellent and well presented. Our junior sweet was perfect in so many ways! Will defiantly visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
Canada
Reviewed February 3, 2017

We stayed at the Mafolie 4 years ago for a couple of extra nights of St. Thomas following a charter in the BVI's, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay and meals at this hotel restaurant. We returned this week with our crew for our last dinner of the trip, to take in the incredible view, and enjoy a delicious meal. My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank borealowl13
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

635 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (402)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (53)
Viewed
View from Room (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Dining (59)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (109)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (218)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (49)
Viewed
Pool (40)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Standard Room (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Mafolie Hotel

Address: 7091 Estate Mafolie | Mafolie Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802-3419, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $236 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mafolie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Mafolie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mafolie Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Mafolie Hotel staff and other travelers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Mafolie Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Stayed in room 104 with stunning view and large room. Friend in 102 with smaller room, wine cooler and better more spacious view and deck.”
BelleonWheels, 1 week ago | Read review
“Definitely ask for a room with a view of the harbor.”
lsfritts, 1 week ago | Read review
“Amazing views very comfortable loved it!”
Animallover1111, Mar 4, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view.”
carribeantravele2017, Mar 1, 2017 | Read review
“Great view if you are lucky...”
950christiand, Feb 19, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question