We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Show Prices
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for: 1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Frenchman\\
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,764 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 3,714: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Enjoyed my trip me and my husband will be going back in the near future with my children the Marriott Frenchman reef awesome hotel would recommend to couples nice getaway vacation for two or even for the family.

Helpful?
Thank Diane L
FReef_MGMT, Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Diane L., Great! Call ahead so we’ll know you are a returning guest. We strive to create the kind of BRILLIANT Caribbean hospitality experience that makes guests come back again and again. I am so happy we have succeeded in winning your confidence in bringing the family here. Sincerely, Harmeet Chugh, Hotel Manager More 

McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
221 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

good size room. clean and comfortable beds. great location. view is just awesome. great swimming infinite pool and open 24 hours. love it. restaurant food kinda expensive. glad i rented a car and found a great seafood restaurant downtown which is less than 10 minutes drive.had a great time too at the beach area. overall, i will definitely come back....

Helpful?
Thank wakisobol
FReef_MGMT, Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Wakisobol, Thank you! Great comments about our infinity pool, beach, restaurants, views and comfortable beds. All the mattresses on the property are less than two years old. Feel free to call or stop by the concierge desk to get additional dining & transportation recommendations. Dining - We have 5 restaurants in our hotel offering our guests casual to fine... More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location of this hotel is exceptional. The views are beautiful and the staff was very accommodating. The building, however, appears to need some updating and some repair. Our room had a great view. However, it was not as clean as one might expect from a Marriott. It was very very late in the day before it was cleaned, towels... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank hockeygypsy
FReef_MGMT, Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Hockeygypsy, Thank you for highlighting our location, views and staff. I am also reviewing your suggestion comments with our room hosts. We look forward to welcoming you again and be sure to call or stop by the front desk if there is ever anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable. If your stay falls on a... More 

Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Our Morningstar room had no AC & paint was peeling of the walls. The room should have been taken out of service. They did move us to the main tower after we insisted we needed a different room. It gets worse. They told us that they would put a hold on my credit card for incidentals each room. We had... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mike R
FReef_MGMT, Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mike R., Please accept my apologies for the frustrations you describe in your review. It sounds like there were some miscommunications that added up to some temporary inconvenience for you, and it is with regret from our end that we were unable to resolve this during your time with us. The authorization to your card upon check in is... More 

Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

On the way back from BVI Scrub Island we spent one night at the property. Stunning views from the top of the hotel. The hotel rooms need attention. I think they were outdated compared with other Marriott Properties. Taxi services to restaurants or other attractions very expensive. Food was decent.

Helpful?
Thank elenxhi
FReef_MGMT, Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Elenxhi, Thank you for choosing Frenchman’s Reef as your spot to stay on St. Thomas. Glad to hear our famous views were stunning! You’ll be pleased to know that we’re in the process of making several improvements to our hotel. I hope you’ll visit again this year! Call ahead so we can be sure to explore all your room... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We enjoyed the hotels happy hours and live music night. The beach is fantastic. We rented snorkeling equipment and enjoyed swimming around around the shore. There are paddle board yoga and numerous tours offered. We did sailing, snorkeling and night kayaking tours.

Helpful?
1 Thank Olga R
FReef_MGMT, Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Olga R., Wow! Sounds like a very exciting vacation: live music, snorkeling, swimming, SUP Yoga, sailing, night kayaking and happy hours! Our 6 Bars offer happy hours from 12:00 noon to 9:00pm at varying times during the day and our guests love to enjoy the happy hour beverage specials where drinks start from $5. We also have 2 retail... More 

boulder, colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a nice room with a wonderful view. Enjoyed the beach and the use of the kayaks. It is the off season, so I imagine it would be a different experience during peak season. We have had good experiences with employees and pretty good service. The food was just okay probably the most disappointing thing was the quality of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank happycoloradan
FReef_MGMT, Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear HapppyColoradan, Hearing the names of the team members mentioned here put a smile on my face. We will be sure to give Deidre and Austin recognition for making your stay extra memorable. Deidre is one of our shining stars and has been with us many years. Austin always gets recognized for his guiding skills! This is the quiet season!... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a great way to learn about the wild life at St. Thomas and a lot of tips for the rest of your time on the island. As honeymooners, we had no idea what to expect for our first excursion on the island while staying at the Marriott, but Sam, our tour guide was incredible. He was incredibly knowledgeable... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer L
FReef_MGMT, Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer L., Congrats! Thank you for choosing Frenchman’s Reef for your honeymoon celebration. Glad to hear your first visit to St. Thomas turned into a great adventure. Sam will be thrilled to know you had such nice things to say about him. Best wishes from all of us! Sincerely, Harmeet Chugh, Hotel Manager More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

WE wanted the Morning Star, had two rooms booked but only got the hotel for both rooms. One room with the bed upstairs thru a revolving spiral staircase not meant for us over 50 crowd. Beds and rooms were ok. Older hotel, a bit disappointed we didn't get the room at Morning star. Pool was crowded with lots of people,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynma1959
FReef_MGMT, Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lynma1959, Thank you for the feedback. It is regrettable we were unable to exceed expectations and I am looking into the reservation. This is an atypical situation for our property. While it sounds like our team gave you an upgraded suite, we’re sorry it was not comfortable. Please feel free to contact Guest Relations if there is anything further... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wasn't a fan of the place. We splurged and got an awesome room but this resort seems a little shady. They charge $45 a day for a resort fee and tell you that you can have a snorkel and kayak to rent for free. No thank you. And the food at these extremely expensive restaurants was just horrible. And they... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsi W
FReef_MGMT, Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kelsi W., My apologies for not meeting your full MARRIOTT expectations. It sounds like there were things you weren’t informed of before your trip. I’m sorry we didn’t have the chance to give you personalized dining recommendations. We have 5 restaurants in our hotel offering our guests casual to fine dining experiences and allowing our guests to make informed... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2,628 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2265)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (547)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (472)
Viewed
View from Room (205)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (194)
Viewed
Dining (76)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
0:10
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (732)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (266)
Viewed
Infinity Pool (9)
Viewed
Main Pool (30)
Viewed
Morningstar Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Amenities (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (97)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.4 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#2 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 stars 1,279 reviews
3.8 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
4.0 of 5 stars 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $244 - $541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay