We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
6345 Estate Smith Bay Adjacent to Sapphire Beach Resort, 00802-1341 St. Thomas
E-mail hotel
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (47)
Room & Suite (24)
Pool & Beach (22)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 02/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 02/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#16 of 45 Specialty lodging in St. Thomas
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.1
Value
4.4
Crystal Cove Villas will be your home by the sea in the Caribbean. Escape to your own private retreat when you stay in one of our fully equipped condo villas with spectacular beach and ocean views. Whether you're relaxing by the pool or gazing upon a gorgeous sunset, your experience here will leave you wanting more.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Coffee shop
Beach
Diving
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Saltwater pool
Snack bar
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Private check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
54Reviews5Q+A9Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 25
  • 16
  • 4
  • 5
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
daner1105 wrote a review Aug 2021
Ct38 contributions23 helpful votes
My fourth time staying at the beautiful Sapphire Beach Crystal Cove B-11 condominium owned by Steve and Honey Fein. I can't say enough about this condominium and the location! The condo is gorgeous and spacious with everything one needs for cooking, sleeping, and fun in the sun! (Including snorkeling equipment and tubes for just lazing in the beautiful multiple shades of blue clear water). Sargassum was a little bit of an issue but they worked tirelessly to keep it under control and it did not smell at all. I actually preferred it to the slimy seaweed we have in the Northeast. But this is Mother Nature after all and happens every year. Steve is the most responsive and accommodating owner who absolutely does his best to make sure everything is perfect for a real vacation in Paradise.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Bill H wrote a review Jul 2021
Columbia, South Carolina37 contributions10 helpful votes
We booked a 2 bedroom condo through Hotels.com and were notified by the facility that they would not honor that reservation and instead put us in a one bedroom with an uncomfortable futon (we would have changed but the facility notified us so late that everywhere else on the island was booked, other than $1400 per night at Ritz-Carlton). Hotels.com said they spoke with the property manager and they declined to do anything about it, so the Hotels.com "guarantee" was essentially meaningless. The grounds are pretty, but the property is very dated and dumpy. Also, although the beach is close, due to location, there is a lot of seaweed so it's not a good place to swim or snorkel. If you are spending the time and money to get to the Caribbean, find another place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Liv wrote a review Jul 2021
7 contributions
+1
We booked a two bedroom unit for our stay and to find out when we got there that we were put into a one bedroom unit that was absolutely disgusting. I have attached pictures of the unit that had a musty wet smell -that they hid an oder bomb under the couch, floors were dirty, doorways rotted out, a hole in the ceiling of the shower, water leaking down the wall on the outside of the bathroom, a dirty shower curtain, and I left there with welts on my feet from being bit by something. Needless to say we are getting rid of everything we brought because of bed bugs. When we had showed them the confirmation email of the accommodation we booked and they said “oh sorry it must’ve been a computer glitch. We don’t have this room available.” They were in no way shape or form accommodating to ANYTHING. Finally we complained for the 3rd time and they then said they would no longer charge us a two bedroom condo price and took off the occupancy charge for having more than two guests FOR THEIR MISTAKE. An absolutely pathetic way of guest recovery. The lady at the front desk was suppose to contact me when she arrived and never did so I went back to the front office and she finally had arrived and said she was in the middle of something and couldn’t assist or talk to me at that moment as she was writing on wash clothes. They did offer another unit that was even dirtier and in worse condition than ours which we said no to and asked for money to be taken off for the inconvenience. The whole point of this trip was to look into things for my wedding which we were hoping this was going to be a nice place to stay and also have my guests book there too. I will make sure that none of my guests even consider booking here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Jane M wrote a review Aug 2020
Minneapolis, Minnesota108 contributions4 helpful votes
Great location by sapphire beach. Great snorkeling. Very kind and generous property managers. Best side of the island for snorkeling. Nice kitchen and there was a grocery store nearby. Would recommend getting at least the one bedroom.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Alice Tuitt, Owner at Crystal Cove Villas
Responded Aug 20, 2020
Thank you for your comments.
Read more
Jana F wrote a review Feb 2020
Salt Lake City, Utah117 contributions89 helpful votes
+1
The last four nights have been the worst hotel experience of my life. It’s also the reason I’ll never believe positive reviews again. I’m one of the top on Trip advisor in my city and rarely leave bad reviews, if ever. And I’ve traveled a lot. Been to this island 3 times. But as I lie here in bed at this place on the last morning of my trip getting bit by bugs on my wrists and face which are the only exposed parts of my body because there is no working fan and no air conditioner I just have to start this bad review because I feel like I’m doing a public service hopefully preventing someone else from having the worst vacation of their life as I have had during my stay at Crystal Cove. Over 4 nights I’ve been switched to 3 different rooms for different reasons. I’ve missed sunsets, nights sleep, dinner reservations and planned get togethers with friends because we have to re-pack up and haul our luggage from one part of this disgusting resort to another THREE times and I’d be doing it again if I wasn’t checking out in 3 hours. Where shall I start. Check in. A-13. The chairs had MOLD on them, the tile had not been vacuumed and there was sand, crumbs, dirt on the floor but it also had not been mopped, so there was piss droplets around the toilet. Aside from this, the room had such a horrible musty dinge scent that we were getting dizzy. I won’t even start on the rust on the appliances or the fact that some of the doors didn’t even open or close right. I felt like I was on an actual historical tour of a meth lab from 1960. Also the Wi-Fi did not work as promised. After asking the front desk (which you have to walk a long way to so this takes TIME) they said they’d move us. They did NOT seem surprised in the least at our request and it was obvious this happens a lot. So we pack up, miss the sunset and move to D 30. Now D 30 was night and day difference on aesthetics and cleanliness. It was like going from a war zone to the Ritz. At least we thought. After unpacking thinking this room would be great, we go off with friends who were patiently waiting (and not staying at this hell hole). We get back to our room at night and realize, the AC doesn’t work. Our room is 86 degrees. We turn on fans, some of which don’t work, we fiddle with the AC all night long but we couldn’t get it to work and meanwhile we got completely hammered by bugs in our room so badly that we still have itchy welts all over us days later. There is no way to call any front room for help and what are they going to do for you at 4am? There was no ceiling fan above the bed. It was the most miserable nights sleep I’ve ever had sweating and getting bit by bugs all night. The ONE floor fan they had didn’t help because the cord was so short it couldn’t get close enough to keep the bugs away. I cut my thumb badly trying to move it at 3am. The next day the front desk said they would have someone “come put Freon in our A/C”. They promised it would work by the time we got back from our excursion. Well, we get back to our room again late at night and guess what! No A/C. Again a night of pure hell and we may as well have been sleeping in the jungle. We literally had to take the mattress off the bed, move it by the front door and sleep on the floor because that was the only way to feel the slightest bit of relief from the heat. Yet guess what, we didn’t realize there were tears in the screen. So that’s why we suffered yet another round of nonstop mosquito and noseeum bug bites on any exposed part of our bodies. Needless to say as soon as the desk opens at 9am I asked if we could check out of our room entirely and find somewhere else the next two nights. It seemed like they would let us leave, but they suggested we move to a room that has working A/C. Apparently.....there were roofing issues and the workers cut the water line and they KNEW the room would have no A/c but failed to mention it! I can’t believe I wasted two nights and three days of my life and vacation here (so far...) I stupidly agree to move rooms to D22 and although it was nowhere near as nice (aesthetically- didn’t even have a handle on the fridge, it broke off) it had a working A/C and let me tell you that felt like paradise. UNTIL. They freaking knew that last room had no AC and did not mention anything to us. Apparently.....there were roofing issues and the roofers cut the line to the water, killing the AC in our room. Why did they move us there when they knew this happened? Why did they not warn us? Well this THIRD room D 22 which I am in now did have AC and when we walked in it felt like paradise even though it was very outdated, not as clean and kind of gross. Didn’t even have a handle on the refrigerator because it broke off. But yet again – we pack up everything and move all of our luggage because we had friends waiting for us. What a complete and total mistake that was. Guess what happens now. At 7 AM on a Sunday and again right now as we speak on Monday morning, they are doing roof repairs right above our ceiling. You know that beat beat beep when something tries to back up? That’s what’s happening right outside my window this very moment. It’s 7 o’clock in the morning. Not only are they banging and pounding, they are now painting the roof with sealant and the smell is so strong that I’m going to stop this review and get the hell out of this disaster.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
8 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Alice T, General Manager at Crystal Cove Villas
Responded Jul 22, 2020
We apologize that you experienced units that were not “guest ready.” Our staff has reviewed the units in response to your remarks and have made changes that we believe are appropriate. A guest's dissatisfaction with a unit where they have been placed is not an uncommon occurrence in the accommodation industry. Our staff is trained to accept this calmly and to move the guest to the best available accommodation available. We believed we had accomplished that by placing you in a beautiful and luxurious condominium. Unfortunately, our office was not notified that roof repairs, ongoing since 2018 as a result of the damage due to two catastrophic hurricanes in the fall of 2017, had shifted to the building and the particular units to which you were assigned. We truly regret this unexpected and untimely occurrence. Fortunately, the roof work has been completed and the damaged air conditioner line has been repaired. In addition to the reimbursement we have provided you because of this error, we have discussed this situation with the association office and have asked that our office be informed of any known scheduling of repairs and renovations that may affect our guests. We regret that your stay was less than you expected. And we are sorry for the loss of even one breathtaking sunset on our island.
Read more
carol c wrote a review Oct 2019
7 contributions
It was great. Unit was very comfy with everything available. Love Sapphire beach. It was our 3rd time there. Felt very safe & Norma, Diane & Janet were great. Met a lot of nice people & the beach bar & coffe shop are an awesome addition since the last time. Hoping to go back next year! Thanks for everything & making our stay amazing. Carol & Greg Carter Chester, VT
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: It was a great value for what we had & very quiet (except for the roosters every AM but it...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from 9paradise, Manager at Crystal Cove Villas
Responded Nov 14, 2019
Thank you so much for the great review! We're so glad you enjoyed your 40th anniversary with us. Please come again soon. Alice T
Read more
Pat F. wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We just returned from a family trip to St. Thomas and am very happy to have stayed at the Crystal Cove Villas. Our condo was so roomy, extremely clean and was stocked with everything we needed for our vacation. The property being on Sapphire Beach was the reason I booked and loved the beautiful beach with the free beach chairs! Having the Sapphire Beach Bar next door for a quick bite was great and the shop that sold breakfast and coffee was nice to have. Although the owners of the coffee place could be a bit nicer, they were the only people we ran into on this island that had a bad attitude. Norma the property manager on the other hand was a true GEM!!!! She gave us such good advice on how to get around the island and saved us so much money on taxis. Always with a smile on her face and pleasant words. Loved her! While we didn't get an opportunity to use the pool it was a nice size and extremely well maintained. Overall, loved our stay and would book again if we head back to the islands.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alice T, Manager at Crystal Cove Villas
Responded Jul 23, 2019
Thank you for you comments
Read more
RusPat_704 wrote a review May 2019
San Juan, Puerto Rico940 contributions281 helpful votes
We stayed here visiting a friend. The location next to Sapphire Beach makes it great. However, they were fixing the roofs while we were here this week and the seven o’clock construction start was annoying. These units are dated but nice. There is beach chairs and towels available to guests. The staff is really friendly and nice. Be aware it is best to take a taxi into Red Hook as there are no sidewalks. It is located close to the ferry to St. John and the Virgin Island National Park for a wonderful day trip.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Alice T, General Manager at Crystal Cove Villas
Responded May 24, 2019
Thank you for your comments. We're glad that you were pleased with our location. We regret the inconvenience of roof work during your stay. However we are recovering from the damage caused by 2 major hurricanes in 2017 and the roof job is part of our recovery.
Read more
Christine F wrote a review Apr 2019
New York City, New York4 contributions1 helpful vote
I think it depends on which unit you get. I booked late and think I got the last available one. It was a ground floor studio w Murphy beds. It was OK but it looked like it had not been touched since the 1970s. Decor was definitely 70s. Needs refurbishing. Patio area had chairs stacked up for storage and we had to look at these stacked upside down chairs when we came in. The porch was not really usable. Lamps looked like they hadn’t been plugged in in years and didn’t work. Made a sizzling sound when I tried to plug them in. The door was hard to lock. Curtains couldn’t be opened. The pole and strings were gone. Afraid to touch anything in case I broke it. Closets were cheap tin doors w a dresser that didn’t fit so you couldn’t open the drawers. Appliances were dated and cooking utensils and pots and plates were pretty cheaply made. Stove gets super hot when you use it. Even the handles and knobs get so hot you need to use the flimsy potholders. Bathroom was very basic w no outlets, and toilet water no matter how many times you flushed, it smelled like the fish tank the time the filter broke for a week. Couple of creatures came out of the drawer when I opened it in the morning so they need to spray. Other than that the place was clean and safe, and good for a couple of nights. Beach was nice but what was weird was there are deck chairs stacked and chained and not clear if we can even use them. Didn’t see an attendant. Same for all the kayak/paddleboard stuff. There’s a nice restaurant/bar but only saw it open once. Think it closes at 6 so forget going there for a drink in the evening. Have to drive into town for that. Property was clean and quiet and staff were very nice. It’s fine if you are looking for a location close to the ferry and coki beach, which is fun. But if you are looking for lots of amenities you’ll prob be a bit disappointed. From the sound of it, it depends on which unit you book. Ours just needs some work put into it. Wifi worked fine. I might stay there again but not in that unit and not without a car.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Alice T, Manager at Crystal Cove Villas
Responded Jul 26, 2019
We thank you for your comments.
Read more
Arthur B wrote a review Aug 2018
New York, New York, United States15 contributions4 helpful votes
Well I happened upon this place during my recent visit to St Thomas. The original hotel we booked just would not do. So after contacting my Travel Agent they recommended Crystal Cove Villas. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by to one of the Property Management office agents. After checking in she offered to come with us to ensure we found our unit and that we had the necessary Bathroom amenities. The unit was spacious, the Living room was large enough that part of it was setup with a mid sized Dining table that could accommodate 6 people. 2 Sofas one was a pullout Sofa. The Kitchen was great, fully equipped for entertaining. Plenty of Closets. A washer and Dryer. The Bedroom ( it was a 1 Bedroom King bedded ) had its own Bathroom, and there was another full bathroom more forward in the villa. The great thing is that the Villa also came with it's preassigned BBQ grill ! That came in handy later in the week. I was able to have my family come over and we had a great time. BBQ charcoal and lighter also came with the unit. The Pool....brace yourself, it's a Salt water Pool !!! AWESOME! It is huge, complete with His / Her bathrooms, and a pool Shower. Plenty of room to Sunbathe. It is situated on Sapphire beach, just a 2 minute walk from our unit. You will hear the waves at night, from the Living room of the villa, great fro sleeping. Some tips; to get to Main street, for shopping, it's just $2 ( per person ) via Safari bus and to Red Hook, Dining, Bars, and additional shopping it's just $1 ( per person ) by the same Safari bus. Just head to the end of the road ( the entrance to the property ) and stand on the Property side of the street ( as the Safari bus are those prices going only to those destinations ) As it approaches just hail them they will stop. If they don't stop don't get offended it just means he is either full on has pre-booked passengers. Pool towels are supplied as well. You will not regret staying here. The neighbors, the ones we met, ( this is a Condo community as well so some of the owners live here ) were great and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Go for the King bed Suite!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Alice T, Manager at Crystal Cove Villas
Responded Aug 29, 2018
Thank you for the great review, we enjoyed having you here. We look forward to your next visit.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$248 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
crystal cove villas hotel st. thomas
LOCATION
CaribbeanU.S. Virgin IslandsSt. Thomas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crystal Cove Villas
Which popular attractions are close to Crystal Cove Villas?
Nearby attractions include Lindqvist Beach (0.4 miles), Virgin Islands Boat Rental (0.7 miles), and Sapphire Beach (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Crystal Cove Villas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Crystal Cove Villas?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a dining area.
What food & drink options are available at Crystal Cove Villas?
Guests can enjoy a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Crystal Cove Villas?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crystal Cove Villas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Latte's In Paradise, Pangea Terra Table Restaurant, and The Tap & Still Redhook.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crystal Cove Villas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Crystal Cove Villas?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Annaberg Sugar Plantation (8.3 miles), 99 Steps (5.1 miles), and Blackbeard’s Castle (5.1 miles).
Is Crystal Cove Villas accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.