We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Veterans Shore Drive, Frederiksted 00840-3677 St. Croix
E-mail hotel
Hotel direct offer!Book on our website for 10% off!
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (649)
Room & Suite (79)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Frederiksted
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.5
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
Sand Castle on the Beach is an intimate, beachfront hotel on Saint Croix's most beautiful swimming beach. We offer 5 room types from beachfront villas to economical studios, affording you multiple options in the size of your accommodations. Choose from spacious villas overlooking the beach, queen studios, king studios with balconies, one-bedroom suites or a roomy two-bedroom suite. Our award-winning restaurant - the Beach Side Café - offers daily fresh-catch seafood specials . The lounge at the café serves craft-made cocktails and mocktails prepared with fresh local juices. Owners Chris and Ted invite you to share in the laid back, inclusive atmosphere of Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Baggage storage
Concierge
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Diving
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkeling
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Price:Book on our website for 10% off!
585Reviews50Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 397
  • 125
  • 28
  • 13
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mark W wrote a review Yesterday
5 contributions15 helpful votes
The resort is awesome, especially the staff. One thing to keep in mind that while definitely gay friendly, it is not exclusively LGBTQ+. Then again, the Caribbean is not, anyway, so still the best place for us.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
ADTK wrote a review Mar 2022
Massachusetts61 contributions63 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
From check in to check out, our stay here was top notch. The attention to detail was the best we have ever experienced. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The beach was beautiful. We could always get a chair and umbrella. The pool area was clean. The hotel grounds were clean and beautiful. Ted and Chris were completely engaged in the experience that their guests were having. We saw them almost every day and they were always interested in how our day was going. The whole team was always pleasant and helpful. There are so many "little" things. When we asked about taxi's, we were given a card with phone #'s and names they recommended. Towels for our room were like towels from home. Chair cover along with a beach towel. Snorkel equipment available. Because it is an adult only hotel, there was a tremendous feeling of relaxation. We will absolutely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ted Bedwell, Owner at Sand Castle on the Beach
Responded Mar 6, 2022
ADTK, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are blessed to have such a amazing staff and beautiful property. We look forward to hosting you again. Much Appreciation, Ted & Chris
Read more
Christina M wrote a review Jun 2022
Tampa, Florida3 contributions4 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed at the Sand Castle on the Beach for 4 nights in June and absolutely loved it!! The service and attention to detail from the staff was absolutely phenomenal. The owner’s Ted and Chris are so friendly and they want you to have a great time. Our AC broke the first night and they upgraded our room to a beach front balcony room immediately! The food and drinks at the restaurant and bar are awesome!! The bar tenders make fantastic drinks 🍹. We will definitely be back in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ted Bedwell, Owner at Sand Castle on the Beach
Responded yesterday
Christinam, It was a pleasure to host y’all. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to your next visit. Much Appreciation, Ted
Read more
Sophia Q wrote a review Jun 2022
17 contributions7 helpful votes
Peaceful spot to stay. Friendly owners, staff, and fellow visitors. Rooms r well equipped. Could eat in/cook every night if so inclined, but onsite restaurant was very good, with many vegetarian options. Beach is beautiful. Chairs and beach service r great. Hotel is just a walk to the pier. Comfortable, unpretentious, safe stay in Frederkisted. Thank u Chis, Ted, and All!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ted Bedwell, Owner at Sand Castle on the Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Sophia, Thank you for taking the time to review us. So glad you enjoyed. We are blessed to have such a great staff. We look forward to your next visit. Much Appreciation, Ted
Read more
Dennis B wrote a review Jun 2022
Hollywood, Florida65 contributions60 helpful votes
Friends and I were in St Croix celebrating a birthday. We decided to stop by the Sandcastle for some beach time. They do have a day pass charge to use the facilities. I thought the price was very fair. The staff was very friendly and alway s making sure we had what we needed. We had brought our own custom glasses with us that a member of the group had made with our names on them. I had forgotten the coup by the pool when we left to return to our resort. I didn’t realize I had left it behind until the following day. I figured I would give it a shot and hopefully someone had grabbed it. When I called the bar, a lady answered ( I’m sry but I don’t remember her name). She was absolutely awesome. She had put the glass behind the bar for me. We were actually leaving that day and I did not have time to go get it. I asked them if they would ship it to my home for me. ( I was an idiot and not thinking we were in another country basically and the shipping would cost more than what the glass cost). The women called me back to get my flight information and told me that they would have someone take the glass to the airport and leave it at the ticket desk for me. NOW THIS IS GREAT CUSTOMER Service. Not only did they take it to the airport, they called me to verify that it was dropped off and wished us safe travels. Now yes, this was a small jester, however it shows even the small details are covered at this resort. Needless to say, I highly recommend you give them a try.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Ted Bedwell, Owner at Sand Castle on the Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dennis, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We were happy to return your cup. I hope the entire island was a great time for your group and that y’all will return again one day. Much Appreciation, Ted
Read more
Jeff H wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
+1
Very clean rooms, well kept property, Crystal clear beach water, staff that's extremely friendly who go out of their way to make sure you don't need anything. I was so impressed that I booked a return trip before checking out.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Ted Bedwell, Owner at Sand Castle on the Beach
Responded May 21, 2022
Jeff, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are excited for your next visit. We will be ready to spoil you. Much Appreciation, Ted
Read more
brad l wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Beautiful resort! One of the best beaches on Saint Croix! Very friendly staff. When you walk onto the beach they make sure to help you set up your umbrella and chairs. There’s a waitress that comes by often to ask for food or drink. The restaurant on site is very nice! And the resort is walking distance to other restaurants and the pier. Diving is also very close by. Really enjoyed our time at Sandcastle!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Polly at the peir was a great breakfast spot!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Ted Bedwell, Owner at Sand Castle on the Beach
Responded May 21, 2022
Brad, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so glad you enjoyed our beautiful property and hospitable staff. We look forward to seeing you again. Much Appreciation, Ted
Read more
RDanie5 wrote a review May 2022
14 contributions1 helpful vote
Had dinner there with my husband. Don't be fooled by the hotel front from the street. The inside was beautiful, the views amazing and food was excellent! So worth the wait. Hopefully will back someday.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ted Bedwell, Owner at Sand Castle on the Beach
Responded May 21, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We hope you will come back again and enjoy our hospitality. Much Appreciation, Ted
Read more
TNott wrote a review May 2022
Lexington, Kentucky10 contributions
+1
My wife and I stayed at Sandcastle on the beach at the end of April 2022. It was a much-needed vacation after being homebound through the pandemic. Everyone was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Having a restaurant and beachside bar onsite was a definite plus. I understand that Chris and Ted are recent new owners of the resort and judging from past photos, they have done major improvements in the last couple of years. They both are wonderful hosts and can be seen working alongside the staff and greeting guests every day. It makes sense why people rave about them in reviews. We stayed in one of the beachfront patio rooms. It’s next on the remodeling list so will be even better after this summer. There were a couple of times the room needed attention (light bulb replaced, housekeeping, etc.), all were taken care of within a few hours. This is a nice hotel if you want to get away and relax. For us, we found Frederiksted limited on restaurants and shops, so we made several trips into Christensted, which was 30-ish minutes trip. I highly recommend renting a car on the island due to the distance between activities like boat charters, upscale dining options, shopping, etc. Renting a Jeep is even better. The roads are terrible. The beach at the Sandcastle was okay, but the water was rough the week we stayed and there was sand erosion that caused exposed rocks. also, the beach is not the white sand like other Caribbean islands. (Buck island is close, but still a light tan in color) It could stand to be raked each day to clean up the tree and palm debris, but this is not a deal breaker by any means. We went to the beach vs the pool daily. I found a lot of sea glass and a few pieces of Chaney during our visit. A cruise ship came in during the week which livened up Fredericksted. Overall, I would recommend this hotel because of the location and owner hospitality. If you are searching for a hotel on St. Croix for a friends get together, wedding or other group, this is a great hotel for that. My suggestions for improvements would be: 1. Add hooks in the bathroom to hang towels, swimsuits, etc. (None in our room) 2. Add a small bench in the shower or add a ledge for people who shave and who are older who may need to sit. 3. Add a long sleeve (UV Protection) shirt to the merch rack. 4. Add reef safe sunscreen for sale. (This may have been an item you could buy and I didn’t see it)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Beachfront villas are being remodeled in May 2022. I recommend these over a standard room for the...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Ted Bedwell, Owner at Sand Castle on the Beach
Responded May 14, 2022
Teressa, So glad you enjoyed. Much Appreciation, Ted
Read more
brina1120 wrote a review Apr 2022
Bronx, New York2 contributions3 helpful votes
The property was great, but there are just a few things I did not like. I was assigned to room 101, which is the first room in the front of the property which caused disruption while trying to sleep as the front desk opens up at 7:00am, so you could every conversation that occurred and all the cars with loud music driving by. and they played music very early there. I would suggest not having guest stay in these rooms, especially with this disruption. The mirrors behind the door are very cheap. Something you get for less than 20 in the states, which happen to break easily as was charged a ridiculous incident fee. Then need to have brunch during the week, as breakfast places on that side of the island is limited, and the continental breakfast, consisted on boiled eggs, rolls and fruit. Overall, the place is nice, especially since its right on the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Be sure to avoid the front rooms, 101 and 103. I wish I knew this
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ted Bedwell, Owner at Sand Castle on the Beach
Responded Apr 23, 2022
Brina, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Unfortunately we do have 2 rooms facing the road. We have put in new privacy windows to cut down on noise. Much Appreciation, Ted
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$246 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanU.S. Virgin IslandsSt. CroixFrederiksted
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sand Castle on the Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Sand Castle on the Beach?
Nearby attractions include Sandy Point National Wildlife Refuge (1.8 miles), St. George Village Botanical Garden (3.8 miles), and Rhythms at Rainbow Beach (1.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sand Castle on the Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sand Castle on the Beach?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sand Castle on the Beach?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Sand Castle on the Beach?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sand Castle on the Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Polly's at the Pier, Turtle's Deli, and Rhythms at Rainbow Beach.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sand Castle on the Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sand Castle on the Beach?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Sand Castle on the Beach?
Many travelers enjoy visiting St. George Village Botanical Garden (3.8 miles), Estate Mount Washington Plantation (1.1 miles), and Hams Bluff Lighthouse (4.8 miles).
Does Sand Castle on the Beach have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.