We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
605 Strand St, Frederiksted 00840-3534 St. Croix
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$213
Travelocity$213
Booking.com$264
Orbitz.com$213
Vio.com$213
eDreams$264
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (275)
Pool & Beach (71)
Videos (7)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.

About

#3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.5
Value
4.3
2022 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
"The Fred", is a historic 22 room, eco-friendly, beachfront, boutique resort, spa, restaurant, bar & gift shop named after King Frederik V of Denmark who is also the namesake for our town of Frederiksted on the US Virgin island of St. Croix. The Fred is the only beachfront hotel that is also located in town on the island and it’s the first new hotel to open on St. Croix since 1986.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Bar / lounge
Beach
Spa
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Pool / beach towels
Full body massage
Massage
Outdoor furniture
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Clothes rack
Iron
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Laptop safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
347Reviews10Q+A23Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 248
  • 37
  • 29
  • 12
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ronda G wrote a review Mar 2022
slidell, United States4 contributions6 helpful votes
This place wasn’t what we expected…it was FAR BETTER! You walk down the steps from the pool/bar area and now you are right ON the beach literally a few steps from the sea. That was EXACTLY what I had hoped The Fred would be and it didn’t disappoint. I can’t even describe how gorgeous the sunset view is right from the outdoor dining area and the upstairs patio area. A short walk to the pier area and restaurants in one direction and even more in the other direction. We never needed a car. We tried the restaurant at least once for a breakfast/lunch/dinner meal and all were very good. The live entertainment almost every day was fabulous and great Painkillers at the Bar. The room was small but very well appointed and great bedding. Loved the shared balcony in the front and back
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Beachy B wrote a review Mar 2022
3 contributions9 helpful votes
As a local, I have been coming to enjoy the Fred's pool, bar, and hot tub using my annual pass for the past three years. My most recent visit was downright appalling. The staff, unfortunately, show no desire to perform even basic customer service. The bar staff hides behind the bar talking with each other and pays no regard to those who approach, making them wait. Even worse, they do not come out to those lounging at the pool, hot tub, or beach to ask for drinks or food. Very disappointing. Further, the place was just an absolute mess. There had been no event or large crowd, as there were only 20 customers - pool and restaurant. Towels, cups, food and plates, trash were all over the place and I observed seven employees "working." I say that in quotes as two were
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
7 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from The Fred Hotel, Owner at The Fred
Responded Mar 24, 2022
We are sorry you encountered those problems. The vast majority of our guests are very pleased with their experience and enjoy the beautiful property. We are aware that rules were not enforced when you were there regarding kids using the pool and we have discussed that with the staff and it will not happen in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
deja wrote a review Mar 2022
Miami, Florida6 contributions4 helpful votes
The General Manager of the hotel and restaurant was just horrible. we had the worst service and food on island hands down, and restaurant management every night left there before 9. excuse me?! where, and why? you are management more importantly as you told me more than once you are the GM of everything, so I have to deal with your unpleasantness, no other option. Where do you go when your establishment is still open? I will never return here as long as the restaurant has the same people in charge and cooking. overpriced and much MUCH better locations for your valued time. One particular time we waited over 1 hour for food, received burnt lobster and more, ok. There was a table next to us who seemed lovely, but they complained about the food as well and received a fully comped
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
kenneth wrote a review Mar 2022
Edison, New Jersey5 contributions3 helpful votes
loved everything about the hotel and rooms, I see people complain about the rooms and some cleanliness, well I can tell you from living in hotels basically, this is very well kept and you just can't please everyone. not to mention if you don't live on an island or know how the beach can destroy your property you won't appreciate what it takes to keep this place looking so beautiful. friendly staff, and crystal the hotel manager was the best thing there. she helped us with EVERYTHING and made our trip more memorable for us by suggesting the best places for us. she took the time to find out what we liked or was into and had the best suggestions on how to maximize our adventures, and still went out of her way to help and make sure we had the best time, she is sooooo knowledgeable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Robert C wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
From the moment we arrived we felt at home. Carol the GM was welcoming and very professional. Moe at the bar and Tim/Flo jack of all trades were awesome. Olivia and Leilani made us feel at home as did all the staff. Our room was beautful and comfortable. Food at restaurant was great. We had fresh lobster our last night right off the boat. Chef prepared it perfectly and her Mac and Cheese was off the hook. This will be a regular visit destination. One minor negative that they are in the process of changing is they did not serve breakfast. Thanks Fred staff. Spectacular!! Rob and Todd
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dean G wrote a review Feb 2022
3 contributions
We loved our stay at the Fred. It is a small luxury boutique hotel with great personality. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful; and added to the fun atmosphere. The pool and outdoor bar area is fantastic and the adjacent beach and lounging area are great. Lots of beach toys to play with and great snorkeling just off the beach. Excellent SCUBA diving is a short walk away. We will definitely return!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Shirley M wrote a review Feb 2022
Palm Springs, California30 contributions18 helpful votes
This shows a 5 star and that's crazy. After 2 ½ hours we got our food. 3 of order the colada French Toast. We received two pieces of ¼" Thick bread no flavor & burnt. & one piece of bacon. One of us had chicken & waffle waffle was dry but the chicken was good. A tablespoon of syrup which ordered more but never arrived.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
drlouden wrote a review Feb 2022
Christiansted, St. Croix1 contribution1 helpful vote
Make sure all meals are being served as breakfast was not while we were there. Some sounds from the street could be heard in our room. Staff super friendly. Drinks are fun. Views are some of the best.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Elena H wrote a review Feb 2022
San Juan, Puerto Rico47 contributions11 helpful votes
Great for Pleasure, expensive for business. By the time you get back from work the music was done. Not many places around for dinner. Masseuse also left early. Their is no one around at night in case there is an emergency.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
welin2015 wrote a review Jan 2022
Evanston, Illinois4 contributions10 helpful votes
Second time in St Croix we thought it would be nice to spend Christmas weekend at a nice boutique hotel. It turned out to be the most disappointing hotel stay our family has ever had. I had booked two rooms, The Arlington suite and the KIng James suite for two nights dec 25th to dec 27th 2021, for a total price of 1900 dollars. For that price you would at least expect to have your room cleaned, towels changed and the minibar restocked. We got neither. At noon I asked the front desk if there would be any housekeeping and was told yes. At 6 pm the rooms still weren’t cleaned and I went back to the front desk and only got the answer that housekeeping had left for the day! There we were with wet towels on the floor and empty minibar and messy rooms. I wanted to get in contact with
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
PRICE RANGE
$275 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanU.S. Virgin IslandsSt. CroixFrederiksted
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE FRED - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews (St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands)