We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
5001 Tamarind Reef, Christiansted 00820-4582 St. Croix
E-mail hotel
2 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$305
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/18/22
Hotels.com
$305
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/18/22
Tamarind Reef
$199
View deal
Booking.com$239
Travelocity$305
Priceline$239
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (253)
Room & Suite (131)
Pool & Beach (80)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#4 of 13 hotels in Christiansted
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.2
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina on St Croix USVI is ideal for relaxed family vacations, destination weddings, honeymoons, beach and watersport retreats, business travel and small group events. This intimate resort features 40 oceanfront rooms on 40+ acres with private marina; casual and fine-dining restaurants; seaside pool; water sports; spa with massage, hair and nail care; tennis courts; fitness center; wedding/event coordinator, and of course a palm tree lined beach with shade huts and 154-slip marina for day/sunset sailing and fishing excursions. The resort is nestled into a private neighborhood 10 minutes from historic Christiansted yet feels light years from everyday worries and stress. No passport required for US Citizens.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Tennis court
Spa
Wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Poolside bar
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
266Reviews22Q+A84Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 116
  • 103
  • 31
  • 8
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Karen S wrote a review Aug 12
Hampton, Virginia3 contributions
An absolutely beautiful place to stay, with lots of activities to enjoy and good restaurants nearby. The staff is very helpful. I recommend the five-day stay that includes the boat trip out to snorkel and lounge on the beach at nearby Buck Island. The only drawback is that it is about 2.5 miles to the nearest convenience store, so stock up or have a car before you get here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Discover09076230790 wrote a review May 2022
Colquitt, Georgia3 contributions
Words can not describe the beautiful experience of having breakfast on the balcony with a constant sea breeze. Star gazing, fun beach activities nestled in a prefect location. Don't miss out, book this location.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tamarind SM, Marketing at Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Responded Jun 8, 2022
Hey there Discover09076230790! We are so happy you had an amazing time at our location. We always aim to provide an excellent experience for our valued guests. Thanks for your awesome review and feel free to share any photos you may have taken during your wonderful time😀 Have a great one!
Read more
Trip43583 wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions
+1
We stayed at Tamarind Reef Resort in St Croix from April 23rd through April 30th. Not happy with our first room by bar so we were upgraded to Room 5 in the building next to the office. The view of Buck Island from the large patio was gorgeous. We had a kitchenette with microwave, cooktop and mini fridge. Air conditioner worked well had plenty of hot water and water pressure unlike room 23. It was very quiet. The trade winds were very strong so spending time on the patio listening to the waves crash on the rocks was very soothing. The restaurant had very good food, Lacey remembered our breakfast order after the second day and service was always great except for Carribean night on Friday. The drinks were perfect…not to strong.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tamarind SM, Marketing at Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Responded Jun 8, 2022
Hey Trip43583! Thank you for your positive review, and we hope to sea you again soon!
Read more
nitroxscubadiver wrote a review May 2022
Pinckney, Michigan178 contributions53 helpful votes
This review is for the first 3 nights of our stay, my wife will leave a review of the last 3 nights. I knew I should've said something at check in when they put us all the way down in the very last room next to the bar but so close to the pool. After night one when the bar didn't shut down at 9:30 and the drunks we still out making noise at midnight and the rooster woke up at 4:30 we should've moved. We put up with no water pressure, very little hot water in the shower, and the bar and hotel workers parking in the very limited 6 parking spaces for 3 days before we had enough and told the front desk that we wanted to move. When we went to the desk they told us that that building was being renovated. I don't understand why they put us there knowing that because there were very few people staying at the resort to begin with. The pool was cold and is a lap pool. To the resorts credit after we went to the front office they moved us up to building 1, room 5 which was much quieter, had more parking, lots of hot water, and a kitchenette (we didn't use it). I'd consider staying here again but only if guaranteed a spot in building 1. Building 3 is always going to be noisy at night and the parking situation is never going to change. Also this is a look at the ocean only place the sea was pretty rough during our entire stay and there are signs to beware of Sea Urchins.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid building #3
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tamarind SM, Marketing at Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Responded May 11, 2022
Hey nitroxscubadiver, We are sorry you had this experience. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, and we are working hard to improve each and every guest experience. We have some exciting renovations underway in 2022, and will be sure to incorporate your feedback as we continue to grow and improve. Some of the issues you mention are being worked on as we speak, and we appreciate your willingness to work with us. Thank you for your fairness in offering a positive review about the room you were moved to. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Patricia R wrote a review Apr 2022
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania1 contribution3 helpful votes
I have been involved in a continuing billing nightmare since I departed this facility in February. At checkout I paid the bill in full, as verified on receipt. Upon reviewing my credit card statement at home, I found approximately $300 in additional, inexplicable charges. I immediately contacted the resort and received no explanation or satisfaction….was told to take it up with my credit card company. Hotel management would not speak to me or return my calls. I was sent copy of original receipt that verified the charges I paid at checkout. Two months later, hotel is now claiming to Capital one that these charges are valid, sending information to Cap 1, but not to me. This is a nightmare that has not concluded. Never contacted or assisted in this matter in ANY way by hotel management. Nice property, but VERY poorly managed.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tamarind SM, Marketing at Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Responded Apr 28, 2022
Hey Patricia, Thanks for reaching out. We are sorry you are having this experience. This issue is being addressed, and we aim to resolve it immediately. We are upgrading our systems to ensure these types of issues don’t affect our valued guests in the future. We are glad you enjoyed the property and we look forward to providing a satisfactory resolution for you.
Read more
CyclistDC wrote a review Mar 2022
11 contributions5 helpful votes
This is a motel with each room having a great view of water. Water was really gorgeous and hearing the waves from room was really nice. Balcony was big but not much separation from other balconies. Balcony doors need locks. Overall quiet stay. Room needed better lighting and was furnished in average manner but fairly clean. No bugs. Shower faucet was rusty. Grounds were kept average manner, needing some tlc. Not sure why motel had some extraneous items blocking view from pool to water. The small beach was pretty rocky. The restaurant was open and friendly, but the food generally was below average. Breakfast was pretty good though. Food prices seemed very reasonable. I was glad to get an ocean view room on short notice and enjoyed a short stay with the gorgeous water and quietness of the property.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tamarind SM, Marketing at Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Responded Mar 25, 2022
Hey CyclistDC! We are so happy to hear you had a great time at Tamarind Reef Resort, and we really appreciate the 3-star review. Whenever you are back on the island, be sure to visit us as we have been making improvements to the rooms and property. We always aim to provide the best guest experience we can, and it’s a joy to hear that you had a blast. See you next time!
Read more
Ankit G wrote a review Feb 2022
Westborough, Massachusetts8 contributions11 helpful votes
We went for a family vacation to St Croix. We spent first 4 days at different part of St Croix and reached Tamarind Reef to spend 2 nights and 3 days at the property to enjoy all the offering of the property. Following are our experience: - Spa - no one was available to pick up the phone, not enough staff to service the people staying in the property. No Service. - Kayaking and Snorkeling - No staff was available and water current given as the excuse. Same service was available in nearby resort at the same time / same day. - WiFi - No WiFi in the room, post our complain technician came twice but detected the same problem.. router missing, no resolution. - Sleep disturbance - Property have many roosters, they make lots of noise and we could not sleep after 3AM in the morning!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tamarind SM, Marketing at Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Responded Mar 25, 2022
We are sorry you had this experience Ankit. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, and we are working hard to improve each and every guest experience. We have some exciting renovations underway in 2022, and will be sure to incorporate your feedback as we continue to grow and improve.
Read more
Sandra W wrote a review Feb 2022
Brighton, Michigan9 contributions
Resort was great. Right on the water. Could listen to the waves all night. Only downside was the large tree in our view. We were in the quiet building away from the restaurant. They are working on refurbishing the rooms but even though ours was not it was a great space and clean. Large pool at the resort and good restaurant on site we were not able to use the snorkel trail due to high winds but the beach was nice and pretty empty. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Definitely rent a car. By car about 10 minutes to town.
Read more
Review collected with Tripadvisor’s Reputation Pro
Date of stay: February 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tamarind SM, Marketing at Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Responded Mar 25, 2022
Hey F1290JKsandraw! We are so glad that you enjoyed your experience at Tamarind Reef Resort, and we really appreciate the 5-star review. We always aim to provide the best guest experience we can, and our other team members are essential to making that happen! It’s a joy to hear that you and your loved ones had a blast. See you all next time!
Read more
Ann B wrote a review Feb 2022
Syracuse, New York136 contributions39 helpful votes
New owners are fine tuning this resort which has one of the best locations on the east end of St Croix. You can watch the sail tour boats go by all day from any room in this hotel and if you choose, you can walk to one of those sails to Buck Island right from the hotel which should be on every guest's adventure plan while vacationing here. My room had a new kitchenette and the room and bathroom had been upgraded. There was still a lot to do, but workers were about and very receptive to guest observations. This is a small resort so there are not any planned acitivities. Bingo on Thursdays was fun but music was way too loud. Deep End restaurant is right on the property just a few steps away from the hotel rooms. Hotel maids are like family.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: There are roosters roaming the property so they are the alarm clock for light sleepers. All...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dave W wrote a review Jan 2022
Christiansted, St. Croix2 contributions
fantastic stay at Tamaring reef resort! Front desk is friendly and so accomodating! My room was on the second floor and the sound of the waves crashing as you fall asleep is AMAZING! Two great restaurants on site, Deep end for casual breakfast, lunch and dinner and an amazing meal at the galleon for dinner! Hotel room was huge, great, newly renovated bathroom and the oceanfront, private deck was so relaxing, my new "go to" spot on St. Croix for sure
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$249 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanU.S. Virgin IslandsSt. CroixChristiansted
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Which popular attractions are close to Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina?
Nearby attractions include ib designs (2.4 miles), Buck Island Reef National Monument (3.3 miles), and Crucian Gold (2.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Fresco, Blues' Backyard BBQ & Grill, and Ziggy's Island Market.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fort Christiansvaern (2.3 miles), Old Danish Customs House (2.6 miles), and Scale House (2.6 miles).
Does Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.