We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, US Virgin Islands

Save
Share
Estate Davis Bay, 00851-3031 St. Croix
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
$299
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/03/22
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
$299
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/03/22
Booking.com$299
Travelocity$299
Priceline$299
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1613)
Room & Suite (371)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 01/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, US Virgin Islands
Updated 01/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 17 in St. Croix
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
3.9
Value
4.0
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Snorkeling
Taxi service
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Wardrobe / closet
Microwave
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
1431Reviews146Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 637
  • 450
  • 146
  • 97
  • 101
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sharon99407 wrote a review Jun 23
Verona, New Jersey38 contributions4 helpful votes
The best and fresh seafood as always. My go to place when I have friends that are lovers of seafood and I want to “wow” them. Everyday it’s a fresh catch and specials. We had delicious mussels, soft shell crabs, cajan whole red snapper, fish tacos, crab cakes. All delicious with great seasonings. Note, small dining and bring your own wine. My secret places.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
ViperGirlNY wrote a review Dec 2020
Watertown, New York100 contributions44 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
The resort is located very privately and secluded on the north side of the island, in itself that makes is heaven on earth to me! Entrance is gated with a guard on duty 24/7 to restrict entrance to guests and authorized parties (and currently is also doing temperature checks on everyone entering in accordance with Covid regulations). Due to its location a rental car is pretty much a must unless you are planning on just hanging out on the resort's beach or are willing to pay the $30 one way taxi fare to get into Christiansted or Frederiksted. Parking is free in the guest parking lot just across from the lobby and within easy, though slightly downward sloping (or upward on your way back to the car) walk on paved walkways that are easily navigated even with luggage or a stroller. It is set right on a wonderful sandy beach with just enough coral and a couple of tide pool areas to make it equally nice for sunseekers as those that like to snorkel and enjoy some sea life... the beach teams with crabs, the tide pools hold urchins, tiny fish and snails, the water teams with tropical fish such as tangs, damsels, angelfish and even stingrays. There are beach chairs available for use (beach towels available at the front desk) and a volleyball net set up for those that like to be a bit more active. And though all beaches on St. Croix are public this beach certainly at least felt private and probably doesn't get much outside traffic due to it's location. There is a hiking trail that leads from the resort up a steep hill through dense foliage (very pretty) to a rocky beach and a set of gorgeous tide pools to the west of the resort... well worth the hike! The 2-story buildings are spread out over beautiful and well maintained resort grounds, providing an open feel with a sense of privacy not often found. Our room was on the ground floor and the patio just steps off the beach... we kept the patio doors wide open day and night to let in the ocean breeze and the sound of the waves, truly exceptional! Inside it was clean and comfortably furnished including a king bed and a separate sitting area (both of which had a TV though other than watching the Bills play on Sunday we didn't turn either one on). There were 6 units in our building (3 ground level, 3 on 2nd floor) and they were so well insulated that we couldn't hear any other guests at all. Due to Covid restrictions housekeeping was reduced to Mondays and Thursdays but if needed fresh towels and/or supplies were available through the front desk. The pool and spa were sparkling clean and set right off the Beach Bar with a gorgeous view of the beach. There were plenty of lounge chairs as well as tables with chairs and umbrellas set around it to offer guests room to sunbathe or even work from their laptops via free WiFi. The Saman restaurant was unfortunately still closed due to renovation, however, a breakfast buffet was available daily and the Flamboyant Lounge & Beach Grill was open daily from 4-9pm. Though it was not a full up restaurant it offered sit down service with a selection of appetizers as well as pizza and a small selection of entrées. Food was good, staff friendly and accommodating giving off a warm island feel and working hard to keep customers satisfied. There was a full bar with a sufficient selection of beer as well as wine, and the mixed drinks were great (the Cruzan Confusion being my favorite). There are several really good/excellent restaurants within a 15 mile radius though a few were closed due to Covid... two are an absolute must for dinner, AMA at Cane Bay (about 2 miles from Carambola) which is right on the beach with the waves literally crashing at your feet) and Savant on a quiet street in Christiansted away from the hustle and bustle (about 12 miles from resort). Both offer an amazing atmosphere and excellent food (fine cuisine) with full bar and ample wine lists. Other great restaurants we tried were The Beach Cafe at Sandcastle, Louie & Nacho's (both on Dorsch Beach Frederiksted), Leatherback Landing (Cane Bay), and The Mill (Christiansted boardwalk)... food and drink as well as service was good at all of them! In conclusion, we were more than happy having chosen the Carambola Resort as our accommodation for our trip to St. Croix. It fit our bill to the T and exceeded our expectations. Is it for everyone? Certainly not if you expect to be in the middle of the action, crammed into a hotel bunker with rows upon rows of multi-level buildings and entertainment presented to you every moment of the day. But should you be like us and seek a tranquil, intimate retreat to just relax, take in the natural beauty of the island and make your own plans, to explore St. Croix as you wish... all at a very very reasonable price... then it doesn't get any better than this!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
20 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
jorichards622 wrote a review Jun 21
13 contributions
+1
I booked this because it is a Marriott resort, but Marriott has forgotten this one. The Beach and Sea View was amazing, Mother nature did her part. The room wasn't as pictured (maybe years ago). We booked the best room they had, Deluxe Studio beachfront suit. There wasn't anything deluxe about this room. The bed was shot, with springs popping every time you moved. we couldn't hardly sleep on it, we didn't lounge around on it for long, the sofa was about the same. The bedding was stained and the pillows cases were in varying shades of white. The bathroom shower door leaked a river every time you showered. You can tell this has not been taken care of in a long time. The AC worked great. We apparently had pot smoking neighbors as many time we'd wake up to the smell of pot in our room, the fire alarm was even set off after 2am one night. The restaurant at the resort was decent but would recommend not eating supper there often. The servers were more concerned with socializing with each other during dinner service then waiting on the guest. The food was nothing special and over priced for what it was. Breakfast was wonderful with a friendly crew. Most of the bar tenders are great. All I really wanted was a clean comfortable room with a view for our honeymoon. I can overlook a lot but this failed on to many fronts. The Island is Great but find another option if staying. I rated it a 2 because it was a beautiful beach.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Kara McKowen, General Manager at Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, US Virgin Islands
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you Joririchards, for taking the time to write about your stay. By telling us where we can focus our daily training, you are helping us better serve our future guests. I apologize for your disappointment. We are currently working on our renovations to bring us back to being a Renaissance brand again. We hope you will come back to enjoy our beautiful location and give us the chance to exceed your expectations.
Read more
John E wrote a review Jun 7
San Antonio, Texas180 contributions76 helpful votes
One of the best resorts on the still struggling island of St. Croix (post-COVID, and Hurricanes Irma & Maria). Nice westerly facing beach and very quiet. It does require a bit of a drive to get here. Good bar, ok restaurant, polite staff. A/C in rooms is great. Layout is multiple bungalow type buildings. Remember everything here is “island time”. Plan for long waits for meals, etc.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kara McKowen, General Manager at Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, US Virgin Islands
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you John for choosing to stay with us for your quiet, beach front vacation. We appreciate your comments as we work on our renovations and enhance our beautiful property. We hope you will choose us again this time next year and enjoy our cold A/C and large bungalow rooms.
Read more
Ruth W wrote a review Jun 5
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The carambola beach is beautiful . The staff is wonderful. The rooms are HORRIBLE! Moldy, dilapidated, bugs, noisy. I thought we would be safe selecting an unknown hotel owned by marriot…I was wrong. We all returned to the states after my 60th birthday celebration there with cold symptoms…perhaps a “mold cold”?
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kara McKowen, General Manager at Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, US Virgin Islands
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Rdwblch, thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your kind words about our very fresh staff working hard to deliver wonderful service. I do apologize for your disappointment in our rooms , we kindly ask you please contact the hotel directly. We hope you will come back and give us the chance to exceed your expectations.
Read more
Lori B wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We always use Marriott properties when we travel and we always count on them to deliver a superb experience. However, the photos we saw on this resort’s website were very misleading. The room was not clean, the service was slow and poor, they were obviously understaffed. Even when they came to clean the room during our stay they did a poor job - the floor never was cleaned properly from the beginning to the end of our trip. We paid a lot for a room that overlooked the ocean but the balcony was in very poor condition and our particular building was very rundown. This experience with a Marriott property is not one I would like to repeat in the future. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: We would never return to this property.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kara McKowen, General Manager at Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, US Virgin Islands
Responded May 16, 2022
Thank you Lori for taking the time to review your stay with us at Carambola. We are working to bring in new team members, most of which have never worked in hospitality before. We are training our teams daily and we will use your comments to better serve our future guests. We hope you will come back again and give us the chance to exceed your expectations.
Read more
Leslie W wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Bad service, unfriendly staff, dirty room, slow service at the restaurant, rude office staff buildings in bad need of repairs grounds and location is good and the is nice wouldn’t return here, island is not very clean and there is some crime so be careful
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Pick a different hotel
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kara McKowen, General Manager at Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, US Virgin Islands
Responded May 16, 2022
Thank you Leslie for taking the time to review your stay with us. By telling us where we can improve, you are helping us to better focus our daily trainings and meetings with our team. I apologize we did not meet your expectations and I hope you will give us another chance next year.
Read more
Ryan K wrote a review May 2022
10 contributions
We had a wonderful time staying at the Carambola resort. The location is perfectly secluded with an amazing beach. We really liked the large room and patio overlooking the beach. We enjoyed good snorkeling and a wonderful hike to the tide pools. The staff are awesome and very helpful. If you need anything just ask. The hotel does need a renovation and more staff to get it back to it's former glory. But considering what they have been through over the past few years we were impressed. I can't wait to come back in a couple years to see this wonderful resort at 100%.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: If you need something while staying at the resort just ask for it.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kara McKowen, General Manager at Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, US Virgin Islands
Responded May 16, 2022
Thank you Ryan for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words about our team and the beauty of our property. We are getting ready to ramp up and start our renovations which we are very excited to have our guests come back and see us fly the Renaissance flag again next year. We hope you will choose Carambola again the next time you visit St. Croix so we can exceed your expectations.
Read more
bobandcindy wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We had a wonderful stay . Kamiesha and Elizabeth , as well all staff were friendly and attentive. Front desk manager Kamiesha went out of her way , We had champagne and cheesecake as a nice surprise in our room from front desk . Our room was sea front . We had increduble evenings listening to the waves . The grounds are very lovely and tropical .We are looking forward to our next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kara McKowen, General Manager at Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, US Virgin Islands
Responded Apr 20, 2022
Thank you Bob and Cindy for choosing Carambola for your anniversary trip this year. We truly appreciate being able to share this moment with you. Our tropical seclusion and rooms right on the beach offer a relaxing environment for our guests to enjoy their stay with us. We look forward to having you both back for your next visit.
Read more
E T wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed at the Carambola for 5 nights from Feb 1, 2022 to Feb 6, then spent the last 5 days at the Hotel on the Cay in Christiansted. I had read negative reviews before arrival and was shocked at how great the place was. The scenery and the beach are beautiful and the service and food were great. Our room was spotless and we received cleaning and bed service three out of five days. The omelette station and breakfast were outstanding. The staff and bartender were all polite and friendly. The room was like a small apartment with a screened porch, so we could here the ocean surf, a large refrigerator, a microwave, a large flat screen TV and a large bathroom with a walk in shower. The poll as clean and alrge with excellent towel service and adjacent to the bar for easy beverage service. Of note, you need to rent a car if you stay here as it is remote. That is a positive for the natural beauty but a negative for access to a grocery store. I have already reserved a room for next Feb. I recommend a stay at Carambola for its natural beauty and excellence in service and accommodations combined with a stay in Christianstad to be near the culture and restaurants. Looking forward to Feb, 2023!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kara McKowen, General Manager at Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, US Virgin Islands
Responded Apr 15, 2022
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your family trip to St. Croix. We are always focused on offering our guests friendly service, large clean rooms and a beautiful setting. We do suggest our guests rent a car as a way of being able to experience all our island has to offer. We can't wait to have you back this time next year!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$281 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
renaissance st. croix carambola beach hotel st. croix, renaissance st. croix carambola beach resort and spa, carambola beach hotel, carambola beach resort
LOCATION
CaribbeanU.S. Virgin IslandsSt. Croix
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, US Virgin Islands
Which popular attractions are close to Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, US Virgin Islands?
Nearby attractions include St. George Village Botanical Garden (3.2 miles), Rhythms at Rainbow Beach (4.4 miles), and Frederiksted Pier (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, US Virgin Islands?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, US Virgin Islands?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, US Virgin Islands?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, US Virgin Islands?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, US Virgin Islands?
Conveniently located restaurants include Polly's at the Pier, La Reine Chicken Shack, and Rhythms at Rainbow Beach.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, US Virgin Islands?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, US Virgin Islands?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, US Virgin Islands offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, US Virgin Islands?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, US Virgin Islands?
Many travelers enjoy visiting St. George Village Botanical Garden (3.2 miles), Estate Mount Washington Plantation (4.5 miles), and Hams Bluff Lighthouse (2.6 miles).