We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Chancellor Hotel

5a Saint Ann's Avenue | Saint Ann's, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Chancellor Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 45: English reviews
Pelham, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I recently stayed at the Chancellor Hotel with a Habitat for Humanity house building team of 15 people in Trinidad. We all found this hotel to be a very relaxing place to stay after a day's project work. It has a nice pool with an overhead waterfall to swim in, with an adjacent bar where you can... More 

Helpful?
Thank tombo454
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2016

The Chancellor's staff was very helpful and friendly. They all tried their best to make our stay enjoyable. The suites were spacious enough to sleep four adults and two children. We had eleven people in our party, ranging in ages from two to sixty six; all felt comfortable in the bar and pool lounge area. It was perfect for causal... More 

Helpful?
Thank selinabarron2012
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Selina, It was wonderful to have you and your extended family at the hotel for Easter. We are truly happy you enjoyed our hospitality,your compliments will have everyone on my team joyous. Hope to see you soon and make sure you give batman a hug for me. Lisa More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2016

This is a basic, clean and quiet hotel. The rooms all overlook a massive courtyard and there is a large gate that is closed at night that ensures you have the feeling of security. There is a large supermarket within walking distance and the Botanical gardens are a short walk away which is one a peaceful garden worth an evening... More 

Helpful?
Thank sheldus
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2016

The staff does not know the area - they couldn't give us directions to restaurants within walking distance. The room may have been nice for the area, but really no better than a motel 6. The bathroom was in desperate need of maintenance. The pool was a nice area to relax by, but devoid of other guests and the bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank ajdizzybird
flipsideofacoin, Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your response. I must apologize if you were not directed to the mini cards or the map of things or the creole food magazine which provides information about places in and around the area. However, would look into ensuring information is accessible. In low season we close the bar at 6PM , but provide little items... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015 via mobile

Wonderful place. The staff is very helpful, they do their best to make sure you have every thing you need. If there is anything wrong they fix it as soon as possible. We had a great time. We'll go back. And we recommend it. Have fun

Helpful?
Thank Jose C
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015

The room is spacious, ideal for a family of four, very tastefully furnished, quiet and homely. The staff was so friendly, check in was speedy and efficient, and the service there is great. My kids loved the waterfall pool, and the bar and restaurant is small but very comfortable and intimate. A big plus when compared to the larger busier... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarlonEspinoza
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

I have stayed here before and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated, and have the iron bedsteads that are locally made to bring visitors the island atmosphere. The location is just down the hill from the Hilton in Port of Spain. I was there in February 2015 for the carnival period where... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank samfromham
La Grange, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The location to Chancellor is fantastic to overall access to Port of Spain. Plus you can walk to the Botantical Gardens for a relaxing stroll. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms were well equipped and clean. We will definitely stay here again. I loved the quaint courtyard.

Helpful?
4 Thank llcotton
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Did you know that the hotel has thirteen varieties of palm trees in that average. The seedlings of three Royal palms imported from India for the Botanical Gardens were precariously placed around the property which the builders had to modify the architecture to accommodate.stages. Just thought i would share this information with you. We are currently replanting with buttercup... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

This is is our second time at The Chancellor Hotel...Both times we have had wonderful experiences...rooms clean and well equipped...friendly helpful staff...parking always available. ..superb location...very peaceful. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I am a journalist for various travel magazines and would never ever recommend this hotel. The rooms were smelly, food was horrible and the service unethical. They are thief's and charged me for extra room nights and never reimbursed me. Do not stay here, EVER

Helpful?
9 Thank viajera54321
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Our hotel policy is quite clear which you have disregarded. All documentation has been submitted to your bank which have been approved. Your writing is malicious and deceitful which i have asked trip adviser to review. More 

Travelers are raving about these Port of Spain hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#1 of 22 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 stars 1,554 reviews
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#2 of 22 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 stars 746 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#5 of 22 in Port of Spain
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
1.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 22 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Carlton Savannah
The Carlton Savannah
#12 of 22 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Chancellor Hotel

Address: 5a Saint Ann's Avenue | Saint Ann's, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Price Range: $130 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chancellor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Chancellor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel Port Of Spain
The Chancellor Hotel Trinidad/Port Of Spain
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay