We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Montpelier Plantation & Beach

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 337: English reviews
Start your review of Montpelier Plantation & Beach
 Click to rate
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

My wife and I and our two children - ages 13 and 10 - just spent a wonderful week on Nevis at the Montpelier plantation. We absolutely fell in love with the place and had a hard time leaving. The resort grounds were once a sugar plantation and the ruins of the several hundred year old mill are still there....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sshasan
New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Overall, we had a great time at Montpelier. The grounds are beautiful and are constantly maintained. The pool is large and refreshing and the pool bar has ample seating. It's a historic property and you can feel it as you walk the grounds. The restaurant was decent, but not excellent, although the breakfasts are amazing with choices ranging from eggs...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CCG1982
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had an amazing stay! The grounds are beautiful, the pool is stunning and the food is great (mmm the french toast). There were complimentary cocktails the evening I was there and it was great to mingle with the other guests. I had great customer service the entire time. The wifi did sometimes cut out but you are on an...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kathleen H
woodstock,ny
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A truly magical, beautiful place that I hope to return to again and again. Thanks to EVERYONE at Montpelier for having me and making me feel welcome and cared for. The best compliment for any hotel is a return trip...planning one right now!

Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katewoodstock
Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Montpelier is an amazing place! I've visited it previously on tours just to look around the grounds, but my bestie and I stayed there this past weekend to attend the Nevis Blues Festival and celebrate our birthdays. We stayed for only one night (only because we had a prior commitment the next night, we would have loved to stay longer)....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pam B
Sydney
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Poor guest service, lack of basic infrastructure, and global poor organisation in this property This property has no consistent wifi, no running water or even hot water after 9pm, and poor guest consideration. Lack of running water was not brought to my attention once during my three night stay. Hotel allowed the problem to re-occur three nights in a row...

Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyHuangSteak
Montpelier H, Owner at Montpelier Plantation & Beach, responded to this review

Dear Dr Yeh, It would be helpful to us to understand why a comment was posted on TripAdvisor that seemed to contradict your email correspondence and our conversation while you were at Montpelier. As you know we have valued your feedback and have responded to your input with all due haste. Please let us know what further response we could...

London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the moment we arrived at the small wooden dock (from the short water taxi trip from St Kitts to Nevis) I knew we had made the right decision about where to take our honeymoon. There is just something about this island that feels magical. The transit was flawless, I would definitely recommend the water taxi service as it is...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank princess_incognita
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The magic that is Montpelier plantation soon settles over you. After long flight and boat and taxi you arrive. The rooms are cool and spacious the linen white and crisp. The champagne is waiting a lovely touch for returning guests The food is superb, staff are friendly and efficient. Muffin makes a point of talking to everyone and making them...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Annette T
New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we were there to have dinner, so not sure about the hotel. With respect to the restaurant Food was good, not superb but good. Service was great and the ambiance was fantastic, a great place overall. We were placed in the old sugar mill and it was a place with some magic!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fernaca
New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There are alot of rave reviews of this hotel and unfortunately I booked a week long stay here based on them, so I am posting my honest candid review to help others looking for a place to stay in St Kitts. If you’re the kind of traveler that doesn’t want to leave the small resort and hotel pool or interact...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NYC-TRAV-FAM
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

868 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (436)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (88)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (90)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
3:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (108)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (390)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Plantation Room (102)
Viewed
Pool (Pre-Renovation) (64)
Viewed
Dining (64)
Viewed
The Hotel (131)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
5.1 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
187 reviews
19.3 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 5 in Basseterre
510 reviews
5.7 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
13.3 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
5.6 mi away
Oualie Beach Resort
Oualie Beach Resort
#3 of 3 in New Castle
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Montpelier Plantation & Beach is an elegant hideaway in the heart of the Caribbean. Nevis is an unspoiled island with stunning natural beauty. Only 6 miles from the beach, the hotel is idyllically situated 750 feet above the Caribbean Sea in the foothills of Nevis Peak. Surrounded by 60 acres of lush tropical gardens and built around one of the island’s original 18th century sugar plantations, this charming getaway is delightfully secluded. Carefully designed to let the fresh sea air and tranquility connect you to a simpler way of life. This unique getaway proudly offers Relais & Chateaux hospitality including fine wine and food with wellness that is both active and relaxing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Montpelier Plantation & Beach

Address: Pond Hill, Montpelier Estates | P. O. Box 474, Charlestown, Nevis
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > Charlestown
Price Range: $167 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Montpelier Plantation & Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montpelier Plantation & Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montpelier Plantation And Beach
Montpelier Plantation & Beach Hotel Charlestown
Montpelier Plantation Hotel
Hotel Montpelier Plantation
Montpelier Plantation & Beach Nevis/Charlestown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Montpelier Plantation & Beach staff and other travelers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Montpelier Plantation & Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I was in room 12 and had an amazing view of the sunset!”
kathleenhansma, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Please stay at Four Seasons”
JohnnyHuangSteak, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“The Plantation rooms are updated, some with partial sea views.”
139leighf, Mar 10, 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are cottages, and all are excellently situated.”
  • The room
JakeYYZ, Feb 10, 2017 | Read review
“All the views from the rooms are stunning!”
margaretd227, Jan 22, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question