We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Road Town, 00801 2409 Peter Island
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (1030)
360
Panoramas (21)
Pool & Beach (344)

About

Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.0
This place is temporarily closed due to Hurricanes Irma and Maria. The resort will remain closed for the duration of 2017 and into late 2018.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Wifi
Hot tub
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Spa
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
968Reviews36Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 688
  • 155
  • 65
  • 42
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
SuEatsOut wrote a review Nov 2018
Knebworth, United Kingdom7 contributions7 helpful votes
I have always wanted to visit the BVI and my boyfriend surprised me with this holiday! Stunning views, would be difficult to beat. Don't miss out on the hilltop spa, treatments were luxurious and I have never had a more relaxing massage. Deadmans beach is a must, just glorious. The staff can make or break a holiday and they were just so friendly, I did not want to go home!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Capsgl wrote a review Aug 2018
6 contributions2 helpful votes
The location is beautiful. The options for dining and relaxing range from formal to beach side bar. The island allows for nice hikes and a beautiful remote romantic beach that is isolated fort eh main hotel and bungalos
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ClaireConvey wrote a review Apr 2018
London, United Kingdom11 contributions14 helpful votes
Huddled high in the hills, it has four colourful bedrooms with wraparound views, a butler, and a chef who'll whip up any meal you can dream of. Wonderful. Zip straight to the enormous hilltop spa (space really is in abundance here), where the 10 treatment rooms have 180˚ views of hammock-strung Big Reef Bay. Forget gadgets and gimmicks - this is all about the power of touch. The fab spa specialises in Ayurvedic treatments to detoxify and rejuvenate, and the Abhyanga four-hand treatment is the Rolls-Royce of massages. As the name suggests, you have not one but two therapists working their magic as warm herbal oil is melted into the skin with a delightful combination of varying strokes and intuitive movements. On a clear evening, it's worth taking a buggy ride to the highest point of the resort (it is steep!) to watch the sunset over the neighbouring islands. The staff will pack you a picnic - make sure to order the famous BVI cocktail of spicy ginger with zesty lemons, served on the rocks with rum.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Stacy P wrote a review Feb 2018
Cedar Hill, Texas19 contributions8 helpful votes
Peter Island is an amazing place; can't wait for it to re-open and be restored from the Hurricane. Everything about Peter Island is first class - from the rooms to the people, the manager and everyone there. Favorite food is their eggs benedict and conch fritters! The dive company was great and really enjoyed the diving and other activities.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Lori N wrote a review Feb 2018
Lynn43 contributions42 helpful votes
We stayed in June of 2017 and it was our second visit to the island. We've been thinking of all the wonderful staff we met while staying on Peter Island. Keeping all of you in our prayers and hoping for another stay when you reopen. This a special place for us. Our first trip just the two of us after taking a couple years from travel after having our son. It was a truly wonderful experience and the perfect resort for reconnecting. Our second stay was also a special one as we were there for a wedding of our close family. This resort has everything. Amazing beaches, amazing food and wine list, amazing staff. We are hoping to get there again one day!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Jacob S wrote a review Jan 2018
London, United Kingdom7 contributions31 helpful votes
Traveled here in June with my wife and truly was the vacation of a lifetime. We are big fans of the BVI and we both agreed that had found the ultimate vacation spot. The service and location are the two things that really set Peter island as one of the top resorts in the world. Deadmans beach is probably the best beach I've ever been lucky enough to visit. The staff here are amazing! Personal and friendly, everyone knew our name within 2 days... we really felt like we had become part of the family before we sadly said good bye. Understand that Peter island was hit pretty bad by the hurricanes, we wish you the best of luck and can't wait to return!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Chantelle0711 wrote a review Nov 2017
7 contributions9 helpful votes
Only spent one night here as unfortunately hurricane Irma struck so had to leave the Island. Food was acceptable and the bar served a good selection of drinks. Rooms were spacious and comfortable and bathrooms well presented. We were right on the beach which was nice if only for the day. Didn't really get to experience the island but willreturn one day
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Tracy356, Manager at Peter Island Resort and Spa
Responded Nov 22, 2017
Dear Chantelle0711- Thank you for your kind words regarding our resort. We're happy you could enjoy it at least for the short time you were here. Unfortunately, we cannot control the weather and definitely put safety first where hurricanes are concerned. We apologize Hurricane Irma cut your trip short, and look forward to welcoming you back once we're back online. At your service, Tracy
Read more
Catriona E wrote a review Nov 2017
1 contribution6 helpful votes
We were severely disappointed in our stay here (July 22nd-28th). The island was beautiful, however the service was horrible and not at all what we were expecting of a high-end resort. Prior to booking, we had asked the resort if any corporate events were to take place during the week and we were affirmed that regardless, it would have no effect on our stay. This turned out to be completely and utterly false. We were repeatedly told that we were unable to dine in the finer restaurant due to the 'corporate party'. Furthermore, a 5 course wine dinner we had pre-reserved was cancelled DAY OF to accommodate the corporate event, with merely a 'sorry' from management and no sort of rectification. In addition to this, we routinely waited 20+ minutes to be served with water/drinks almost every dining experience, which unfailingly was surrounded by flies. No measures are put in place to alleviate this issue, leaving you fanning your food for the duration of the meal. Furthermore, we had requested that hair conditioner be brought to our room after asking and not receiving any for 3 days, and were told that they 'ran out'. Honestly, this was a complete waste of money in my opinion.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tracy356, Manager at Peter Island Resort and Spa
Responded Nov 13, 2017
Dear Catriona E- We're sorry to hear of your disappointment in your stay with us this past July. While there may not have been a group reserved when you booked, they may have booked after your reservations were made. Our staff has always placed value in making every guest feel welcome here, regardless of whether they are with a group or not. However, there may be times when groups may displace something like our wine dinner due to size or weather issues where adjustments need to be made to accommodate. All of our guests are a priority and our team goes out of their way to make sure they feel that way. We're sorry you did not and were not able to share that with our management team while you were there. We appreciate feedback and will take it into account when we are able to reassemble our staff. At your service, Tracy
Read more
Arthur K wrote a review Sep 2017
Sea Girt, New Jersey15 contributions11 helpful votes
Private, secluded, friendly, scenic--what more could you ask for? The staff is almost uniformly polite and friendly, especially the guys at the sports shack on the beach. They gave me a few sailing lessons in the catamaran and I was sailing within an hour--loved it! The staff will drive you anywhere on the island. There are off-island excursions available, but we had no need of them. We spent almost every day on Deadman's Beach. Couldn't have been more relaxing. Lovely place!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: The area near the marina where you disembark is less expensive, I believe, but still high and and...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Taylor von Richter wrote a review Sep 2017
Dallas, Texas17 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
My husband and I honeymooned in Peter Island in late August and had the time of our lives. The island is spectacular - everything about it is gorgeous and prestige. The staff has the friendliest people you will ever meet who are truly genuine and care about you. From the moment we arrived, they were very helpful and friendly with constant smiles on their faces. The island has two restaurants - Tradewinds which was open for breakfast / dinner and Deadman's which is open for lunch and an occasional dinner such as Caribbean night. Do NOT miss this night - the dinner is a buffet type dinner on Wednesday's and was phenomenal. We wish we could've stayed another day to have one more! We stayed in the beach front junior suites which were very nice and spacious for our honeymoon. We had plenty of room and never felt crowded. We had some mosquitos in our room which the rooms director immediately took care of. The staff was always so helpful in instances like this. Throughout our stay we went on the Silmaril Sail coordinated through PI (which we would HIGHLY recommend - it was our #1 must do), received a couples massage at the spa by the beach (would also recommend - the massage was a little pricey as with any resort, but it was in a room by the beach to listen to the waves and amazing), went on the trip to the loop with wine and cheese (a must-do one night), went to Honeymoon beach (nice and secluded, but we liked Deadman's / Little Deadman's / White Bay Better), spent a day on Tortola (would also recommend - the PI staff set us up with the friendliest driver throughout the day on Tortola for a very reasonable price where we went ziplining / enjoyed a lunch by the beach, etc) and spent a day on White Bay. We wish we had spent another day on White Bay. The beach was gorgeous with our own hut. We went during a slow time so we had this beach to ourselves to snorkel, lay out and relax. We met the nicest people while on the island. If you are looking for a place to relax, Peter Island is the place to go. There isn't much going on at night as the island sort of "shuts down" by 9 pm, but this is exactly what we were looking for on our honeymoon. We bought the meal plan but not the drink plan. Next time, we probably wouldn't buy either. The meal plan had us eating more than we normally would order and next time, we would probably come out a little under if not even as we wouldn't have eaten as much. The island had nice selections of wine as well which we were able to enjoy different bottles each night. If you're looking for a nice place to relax, spend time with close family, honeymoon, etc., Peter Island is your place to go. If you fly into Saint Thomas, make sure you book the yacht / Peter Island transportation. It was the best decision we made getting to / from the island as it was so easy and smooth. We can't wait to come back for a future anniversary! Peter Island & Staff - stay strong throughout Irma and Maria. We are thinking and praying for all of you and your beautiful island!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Beach Front Junior Suite - right on the beach, very spacious, large bathroom - would highly...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
peter island hotel peter island, peter island resort
LOCATION
CaribbeanBritish Virgin IslandsPeter Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
53
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Peter Island Resort and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Peter Island Resort and Spa?
Nearby attractions include The Indians (4.0 miles), Norman Island Caves (4.3 miles), and Deadman's Beach (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Peter Island Resort and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Peter Island Resort and Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Peter Island Resort and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brandywine Estate Restaurant, Cooper Island Beach Club, and Pirates Bight Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Peter Island Resort and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Peter Island Resort and Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Peter Island Resort and Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Peter Island Resort and Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Peter Island Resort and Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Peter Island Resort and Spa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Peter Island.
Are any cleaning services offered at Peter Island Resort and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Peter Island Resort and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Peter Island Resort and Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Callwood Distillery (7.3 miles).