We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Panoramas (38)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

502 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 495: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2006

This is truly a wonderful place to regain your sanity, relax, enjoy the islands, and just hang out. It's located on the beach, literally! We stayed in the "big house" with 2 other couples who joined us on our vacation. There was plenty of privacy in our villa (each bedroom had its own bath), yet it was open in the... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2006

My family and I (8 all together) just returned from a week long stay at Fort Recovery (12/28/05 - 01/04/06). I am not sure what some people expect when they visit the Caribbean, but those who complain need to remember that they are on vacation and not to get so upset about the little things that may go wrong. I... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank bmoran
Maine
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2006

Where do I start? Lets start at the beach. Swam only once during a 5 night stay. Tried to snorkel, saw grass, seaweed and rocks. I didnt want to swim because I couldnt put my feet down. The bottom is slimy and icky. The wind came across the beach so hard everyday that it blew the sand around. On to... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank zachsaunt
Management response:

Where do we start? Let's start at the beach. We pointed out the main area to walk out into the sea and swim without sea grass. The reason why we don't clear away coral and sea grass is because it creates one of the best snorkeling areas around. Coincidentally, a guest just walked in to the office and reported an... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2006

My husband and I stayed here for four nights following a wonderful chartered sail around the BVI. This resort is a cluster of simple apartment style rooms with kitchenettes set upon a small man-made beach facing the channel between St. John and Tortola. The grounds are nice, simple and well maintained. The rooms themselves are lacking any luxury that you... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Cabobride
Management response:

Where did you ever get the idea that Fort Recovery has a man made beach? The beach is part of Fort Recovery’s history, Jean LaFitte supposedly landed here on our beach by boat. We have never dredged! Seaweed occurs on every beach from time to time, which is why we have someone raking our beach every morning. We definitely have... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2005

We stayed at Fort Recovery from December 11 to 18, 2005. We have traveled all over the world and this was the worst managed hotel at which we've ever had the displeasure to stay. My main points are as follows: (1) don't believe the web site -- there is no restaurant on site, the beach is full of seaweed, there... More 

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

We feel this unfavorable review must be addressed in a serious manner, as they make it a point to blast Fort Recovery Villas. In response to the comments: 1. For people that claim to be seasoned ravelers, one would expect a kind of awareness, and sophistication to be present. They should have an equivalent of a Foder's, AAA, or Frommer's... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2005

Crane Lake, Mn - We are looking out the window at the snow going down on Crane Lake. It is 9 below zero this morning and our screen saver was flashing pictures of our stay at Fort Recovery. There goes “Perfecto” keeping the beach in perfect condition. Living on the edge of the wilderness of Canada makes finding a warm... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Glastonbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2005

Fort Recovery is a group of small 'villas' or apartments and an incredible house (where we stayed) which sit RIGHT on the beach looking out to the almost undeveloped side of St. John. The sound of the water lapping, the green hills of St. John, and the sunsets are exactly what we look for to rest our souls and psyche... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Mark H
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2005

Our stay at Fort Recovery was disappointing, given how highly rated it is on this forum. My family and I did not feel particularly welcome by the "front desk" at Fort Recovery. Construction was underway which went from 7am to 7pm (mad rush for the Christmas season?) The cathedral style ceilings rendered the window air conditioners nearly useless for the... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank GSP_Exit_109
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2005

We stayed at Ft. Recovery from 11/19 - 11/26 2005 and would recommend it to people who like unstructured vacations (not the all inclusive type). The beach is not as beautiful as the web site makes it out to be but it is good enough. We had the 7 night pkg. with a jeep and 3 meals -- which was... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Lot418
La Jolla
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2005

This is just an average place, located on the water. I don't know why so many people gave it an excellent rating. Have they never been anywhere? I've used TripAdvisor for years and usually the ratings have been accurate and reliable. In this case, people are way too optimistic. I will say that there didn't seem to be many good... More 

Helpful?
12 Thank More_More_More_Yoh
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,070 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (415)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (87)
Viewed
View from Room (59)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (93)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
1:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (91)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (610)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Beach (30)
Viewed
One Bedroom Villa (65)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Big House (200)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Villa (140)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Villa (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
1.3 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 14 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
11.3 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#6 of 26 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 stars 668 reviews
4.2 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
16.5 mi away
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
#1 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
4.5 of 5 stars 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel is a small, unique hotel located on Tortola, British Virgin Islands and is family owned & operated since 1969. Chosen by Discovery's Travel Channel, Fort Recovery was the only Hotel Selected on Tortola for their exclusive Caribbean showcase. They were also chosen as the Captain's Guide Magazine's "Best Resort," by the Reader's of the Captain's Guide Magazine. All suites are directly on the beach with Cable TV, A/C, free WI-FI, housekeeping, private balcony/patio/deck, living room, kitchen, master bedroom, full bathroom and more. Views are unmatched and completely unobstructed, right on the calm, Caribbean side of Tortola. On site is a full service Spa with professionally trained staff. There is an in-house, private restaurant also serving breakfast and dinner daily. 24/7 on-site management and knowledgeable front desk staff are always there at your service! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel

Address: Towers | West End, Road Town VG1110, Tortola
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Price Range: $268 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, West Indies, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa Hotel Road Town
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa And Suites Hotel
Fort Recovery Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Fort Recovery Beachfront
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel Tortola/Road Town
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Road Town
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Road Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay